DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a second groove” and “a second protrusion”, but a first groove or protrusion was not previously claimed. It is unclear if the second groove and protrusion are the only grooves and protrusions present in the structure.
Claim 4 recites “a third sealing surface”. It is unclear there is a second sealing surface present in the structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faerber et al. (US-20190344934-A1).
Faerber discloses:
1. A cup lid (12), comprising: a cup lid body (24) comprising a connection portion (48) for connecting to a cup body (14) and provided with an opening (Fig. 3A); and a connector (50) mounted at the opening and provided with at least one first mouth (50A), wherein a second mouth (50B) is provided at the opening located outside the first mouth (Fig. 3A).
6. The cup lid according to claim 1, wherein a top end face of the opening is obliquely arranged so that the top end face of the opening has a high face (at 50A) and a low face (at 50B), the first mouth and the second mouth are respectively located at a position of the high face and at a position of the low face on the opening, and a top end face of the first mouth and a top end face of the second mouth are respectively arranged flush with the high face and the low face of the opening (Figs. 2B, 3A).
8. The cup lid according to claim 1, further comprising a sealing lid (26) movably connected with the cup lid body, wherein the sealing lid is provided with a sealing surface for blocking the first mouth and the second mouth (Fig. 5B).
9. The cup lid according to claim 8, wherein a third sealing surface is formed between the connector and the opening, and the sealing surface comprises a first sealing surface which is in contact with a first brim port of the connector and/or a second brim port or an outer sidewall of the opening to achieve blocking (par. 0038).
10. The cup lid according to claim 8, wherein the sealing surface comprises a second sealing surface which is in contact with the second brim port or the outer sidewall of the opening to achieve blocking of the opening (Figs. 3A, 5B, portions are surfaces).
12. A thermos cup (10), comprising a cup body (14) and a cup lid (12) according to claim 1, wherein a cup rim of the cup body is connected with a connection portion of the cup lid (Fig. 1A), a sealing lid (26) is hinged on the cup lid (at 70), the sealing lid and the cup lid are connected by a locking structure, the locking structure comprises a limiting member connected to an outer wall of the cup lid by a pivot shaft (96, Figs. 10A-10C), the limiting member is provided with a locking hook (90) fitting with the sealing lid for limiting, a resetting member (92) is provided between the limiting member and the outer wall of the cup lid, and the resetting member and the locking hook are respectively arranged on both sides of the pivot shaft (Figs. 7A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faerber et al. (US-20190344934-A1) in view of Li (US-20240067416-A1).
Regarding claim 2, Faerber disclose wherein the second mouth is arranged on the connector (Fig. 3A), but fails to teach wherein the connector is arranged in the opening, and an outer wall of the connector and an inner wall of the opening are connected with each other.
Li teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a connector (2) such that it is arranged in an opening, and an outer wall of the connector and an inner wall of the opening are connected with each other (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the lid of Faerber with the connection structure taught by Li, so that parts could be more easily replaced or cleaned and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, the modified lid of Faerber teaches wherein the connector is arranged in the opening, and an outer wall of the connector and an inner wall of the opening are connected with each other (Li, Fig. 3), so that at least a portion of the outer wall of the connector and at least a portion of the inner wall of the opening enclose to form the second mouth (Faerber, Fig. 3A, when modified).
Regarding claim 4, the modified lid of Faerber teaches wherein a second groove (Li, above 202) is provided on the connector, the second groove is axially arranged along the connector (Li, Fig. 5), an edge of the opening forms a second protrusion adapted to the second groove, and the second protrusion is embedded in the second groove (Li, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, the modified lid of Faerber fails to teach a ring sleeve, wherein the connector is arranged in an inner hole of the ring sleeve, the outer wall of the connector is connected with the ring sleeve by an annular body, so that the second groove is formed between the outer wall of the connector and an inner wall of the ring sleeve, and the second protrusion is arranged in an annular shape.
Li teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a lid with a ring sleeve (302), wherein the connector is arranged in an inner hole of the ring sleeve, the outer wall of the connector is connected with the ring sleeve by an annular body, so that the second groove is formed between the outer wall of the connector and an inner wall of the ring sleeve, and the second protrusion is arranged in an annular shape (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the lid with a ring sleave, in order to better seal the removable connector on the lid body.
Regarding claim 7, the modified lid of Faerber teaches wherein at least a portion of the outer wall of the connector is connected with at least a portion of the inner wall of the opening by a detachable structure; the detachable structure comprises at least one first protrusion and at least one first groove adapted to the at least one first protrusion; the at least one first protrusion and the at least one first groove are respectively arranged on a second inner wall of the opening and a second outer wall of the connector; and the at least one first protrusion is embedded in the at least one first groove (Li, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, the modified lid of Faerber teaches wherein a first extension wall (Li, at 202) is provided on the cup lid body on a side in an opposite direction to the connection portion, and the first extension wall is arranged along a communication port of the cup lid body to form the opening on an inner side of the first extension wall (Li, Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733