Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 07/31/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/31/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, “the valve cover assembly having a hex nut”; “the valve cover assembly having a hydraulic jack”; “the valve cover assembly having a valve”; and “the valve cover assembly having a valve seat” in Claims 2 and 13 must be shown in the drawings or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Therefore, “the lower shoulder” in Claims 10 and 12 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Item 31 and 32 in Figure 24; Item 33 and 34 in Figure 27; Item 111 in Figure 27. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the lower shoulder”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 11 recites “a threaded expander”. Claim 1 recites “an expander….the expander having threads”. It is unclear whether Claim 11 is referring to the expander in Claim 1, or a new expander.
Claim 12 recites “the jaw assembly” before reciting “a jaw assembly”.
Claim 12 recites “the lower shoulder”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawless (US4104775A) in view of Chen (DE102015106691A1), further in view of Poehls (US20210316430A1).
Claim 1
Lawless teaches a seat puller system (This is the intended use of the system. Lawless teaches an extraction tool for removing a piece from within another piece (See Abs), which is capable of performing the intended use.), comprising: stem (rod, 12); the stem extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the stem (12) has a length.); the stem having a threading (threaded ends, 14 and 16) an expander (expander head, 24); the expander extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has a length.); the expander having a flange (There are at least two alternative locations on the expander (24) that constitute a flange. The first is the flat surface that projects from the end of the threaded extension (32) towards the outer diameter of the conical surface (23). The second is the projection (30) that extends from the surface of the conical surface (23).); the expander having threads (Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has threads (32) on the exterior surface. The expander (24) also has internal threading (28).); a jaw assembly (Figure 1, Items 34 and 36 are “jaw segments” that make up an assembly.); the jaw assembly extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the jaws (34 and 36) have a length.); the jaw assembly having a jaw segment (34 or 36); a lower retaining nut (expander head, 22); the lower retaining nut extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a length.); the lower retaining nut having threads (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has threads (26).); the expander having a disengaged position ; wherein the disengaged position is when the expander is disengaged from the jaw assembly (Col. 4, Lines 60-65 teach that the expander (24) is slid onto the rod over the threaded end (16) and threaded onto threads (20). As the expander is being threaded onto the threads (20), it is not engaged with the jaw assembly (34, 36).); the expander having an engaged position (Figure 2); wherein the engaged position is when the expander is engaged with the jaw assembly (Figure 2 shows the expander (24) is engaged with the jaw assembly (34, 36).); wherein the expander is rotated and forced to travel down the stem (Col. 4, Lines 60-65 teach that the expander (24) is slid onto the rod over the threaded end (16) and threaded onto threads (20). Looking at Figure 1, this direction of travel is “down” the stem (12).); wherein continued rotation of the expander as it travels down the stem causes the expansion of the jaw segments due to downward force on the jaw expander. (Col. 5, Lines 25-30 teach that the expander heads (22, 24) are drawn towards each other. Col. 5, Lines 35-40 teach that the expander heads both move during operation and this causes the jaw segments to separate radially.)
Lawless does not explicitly disclose the stem having a through hole;
However, Chen (DE102015106691A1) teaches a tool having a rotating shaft (spindle, 31) that is analogous to a stem. The stem has a through hole. (Figure 2 teaches a through hole (where the pin, 36) is inserted) in the stem (31).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known drive (5) and second pin (36) of Chen with the handle structure of Lawless in order to allow for the drive to be driven by a drive tool (including a ratchet wrench) and allow for the drive to be replaced quickly if damaged. (See Chen, ¶0017)
The predictable result of the combination of references is the handle of Lawless will have the structure and attachment capabilities of the drive of Chen, which requires a through hole in the stem.
Lawless does not explicitly disclose the jaw assembly having an elastomer band.
However, Poehls (US20210316430A1) teaches a seat removal tool (Figure 3B) that includes a jaw assembly having an elastomer band. (¶0092 details an O-ring, that can be a flexible material, that fits within a groove (See Figure 11, Item 1010a) and binds the extraction segments (which are analogous jaws).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known groove and o-ring of Poehls with the jaw assembly of Lawless in order to elastically bind extraction segments to one another allowing for controlled transitions between expanded positions and contracted positions. (See Poehls ¶0092)
Claim 3
Lawless in view of Chen and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: the stem having a second hole. (In the combination with Chen as presented above, the stem of Lawless (Figure 1, Item 12) is made to incorporate the drive (5) of Chen. Figures 3-4 of Chen show that in order to implement said drive, a hole (where the drive is inserted into the top of the stem) is made in the stem. This is a second hole.)
Claim 4
Lawless in view of Chen and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: the expander having a handle. (Lawless, Figures 1-2 show that expander (24) has a handle (hollow handle member, 42).)
Claim 5
Lawless in view of Chen and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: the expander having a bevel feature. (Lawless, Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has a bevel (conical surface, 23).)
Claim 6
Lawless in view of Chen and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: the jaw assembly having a first o-ring; the jaw assembly having a second o-ring. (Poehls, which is relied upon for the elastic bands in Claim 1, teaches in ¶0092 that a plurality of O-rings can be used in the grooves. Figure 10A shows the individual jaw piece has at least three of said grooves, meaning that there is at least three O-rings in use with said jaw piece. Therefore, Poehls teaches the elastomer band of Claim 1, as well as at least two more O-rings.)
Claim 7
Lawless in view of Chen and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: the jaw assembly having an o-ring. (Poehls, which is relied upon for the elastic bands in Claim 1, teaches in ¶0092 that a plurality of O-rings can be used in the grooves. Figure 10A shows the individual jaw piece has at least three of said grooves, meaning that there is at least three O-rings in use with said jaw piece. Therefore, Poehls teaches the elastomer band of Claim 1, as well as at least two more O-rings.)
Claim 8
Lawless in view of Chen and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: the lower retaining nut having a bevel. (Lawless, Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a bevel (conical surface, 23).)
Claim 9
Lawless in view of Chen and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: the lower retaining nut having a roll pin hole. (Lawless, Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a hole (26) where the rod (12) is rotated (See Col. 5, Lines 30-40). This is a hole where a pin (the rod is a pin shape) is rolled (rotated.)
Claim 10
Lawless in view of Chen and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the lower shoulder of the jaw segments lock into place due to the downward force on the jaw expander. (The lower shoulder is not introduced previously in the claims, nor is it indicated by an item # in the drawings. As such, it is unclear what this term is referring to. In Lawless, the lower shoulder can be considered the rightmost end of the jaws (34, 36). This is locked in place when placed inside of the tubes (as shown in Figure 2) and expanded due to the force applied by the downward movement of the expander (See Col. 5 Lines 30-50).)
Claims 12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawless (US4104775A) in view of Chen (DE102015106691A1), further in view of Poehls (US20210316430A1) and Hu (US20120311836A1).
Claim 12
Lawless teaches a valve seat puller (This is the intended use of the system. Lawless teaches an extraction tool for removing a piece from within another piece (See Abs), which is capable of performing the intended use.), comprising: a stem (rod, 12); the stem extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the stem (12) has a length.); the stem having a threading (threaded ends, 14 and 16) an expander (expander head, 24); the expander extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has a length.); the expander having a flange (There are at least two alternative locations on the expander (24) that constitute a flange. The first is the flat surface that projects from the end of the threaded extension (32) towards the outer diameter of the conical surface (23). The second is the projection (30) that extends from the surface of the conical surface (23).); the expander having threads (Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has threads (32) on the exterior surface. The expander (24) also has internal threading (28).); the expander having a bevel feature (Lawless, Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has a bevel (conical surface, 23).); the expander having a disengaged position; wherein the disengaged position is when the expander is disengaged from the jaw assembly (Col. 4, Lines 60-65 teach that the expander (24) is slid onto the rod over the threaded end (16) and threaded onto threads (20). As the expander is being threaded onto the threads (20), it is not engaged with the jaw assembly (34, 36).); the expander having an engaged position; wherein the engaged position is when the expander is engaged with the jaw assembly (Figure 2 shows the expander (24) is engaged with the jaw assembly (34, 36).); a jaw assembly (Figure 1, Items 34 and 36 are “jaw segments” that make up an assembly.); the jaw assembly extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the jaws (34 and 36) have a length.); the jaw assembly having a jaw segment (34 or 36); a lower retaining nut (expander head, 22); the lower retaining nut extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a length.); the lower retaining nut having a bevel (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a bevel (23).); the lower retaining nut having threads (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has threads (26).); the expander rotating tool having a tube (Figure 1, Item 54 is a cup shaped finger nut, which has a tubular shape.); the tube extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the tube (54) has a length.); wherein the expander is rotated and forced to travel down the stem (Col. 4, Lines 60-65 teach that the expander (24) is slid onto the rod over the threaded end (16) and threaded onto threads (20). Looking at Figure 1, this direction of travel is “down” the stem (12).); wherein the expander is forced to travel down the stem by the rotation of the stem (Col. 5, Lines 25-30 teach that the expander heads (22, 24) are drawn towards each other. Col. 5, Lines 35-40 teach that the expander heads both move during operation. This is the expander head (22) being moved down the stem.) wherein continued rotation of the expander as it travels down the stem causes the expansion of the jaw segments due to downward force on the jaw expander (Col. 5, Lines 25-30 teach that the expander heads (22, 24) are drawn towards each other. Col. 5, Lines 35-40 teach that the expander heads both move during operation and this causes the jaw segments to separate radially.); wherein the lower shoulder of the jaw segments lock into place due to the downward force on the jaw expander. (The lower shoulder is not introduced previously in the claims, nor is it indicated by an item # in the drawings. As such, it is unclear what this term is referring to. In Lawless, the lower shoulder can be considered the rightmost end of the jaws (34, 36). This is locked in place when placed inside of the tubes (as shown in Figure 2) and expanded due to the force applied by the downward movement of the expander (See Col. 5 Lines 30-50).)
Lawless does not explicitly disclose a ratcheting expander tool; an expander rotating tool; the expander rotating tool having a ratchet; the tube having a ratchet head; the tube having a socket.
However, Chen (DE102015106691A1) teaches a tool having a rotating shaft (spindle, 31) and a ratcheting expander tool (¶0017 teaches the use of a ratchet wrench to actuate the drive part (51).); an expander rotating tool (¶0017 teaches the use of a ratchet wrench, which is a rotating tool, to actuate the drive part (51).); the expander rotating tool having a ratchet (¶0017 teaches the use of a ratchet wrench to actuate the drive part (51).); the tube having a ratchet head (Figures 3-4 show the tube, which is used with a ratchet, has a head (the lower part where the pin (36) secures it to the spindle (31).). There is no specific structure implied by the term ratchet head.); the tube having a socket. (Figures 3-4 show the tube has a socket on the top to accommodate a ratchet wrench.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known drive (5) and second pin (36) of Chen with the handle structure of Lawless in order to allow for the drive to be driven by a drive tool (including a ratchet wrench) and allow for the drive to be replaced quickly if damaged. (See Chen, ¶0017)
The predictable result of the combination of references is the handle of Lawless will have the structure and attachment capabilities of the drive of Chen, which requires a through hole in the stem.
Lawless does not explicitly disclose the jaw assembly having a first o-ring; the jaw assembly having an elastomer band.
However, Poehls (US20210316430A1) teaches a seat removal tool (Figure 3B) that includes a jaw assembly having an elastomer band and an O-ring. (¶0092 details an O-ring, that can be a flexible material, that fits within a groove (See Figure 11, Item 1010a) and binds the extraction segments (which are analogous jaws). The paragraph further discloses that multiple O-rings can be used, and Figure 10A shows that there can be a plurality (at least 3) of grooves on each jaw piece. This is a teaching of at least two bands/o-rings as claimed.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known groove and o-ring of Poehls with the jaw assembly of Lawless in order to elastically bind extraction segments to one another allowing for controlled transitions between expanded positions and contracted positions. (See Poehls ¶0092)
Lawless in view of Chen teaches the use of a ratchet tool, but does not explicitly disclose the ratchet extending a length from a first end to a second end; the ratchet having a handle; the ratchet having a ratchet feature.
However, Hu (US20120311836A1) teaches a ratchet tool used for an extractor device that includes a length from a first end to a second end; the ratchet having a handle (Figure 1 shows the ratchet wrench has a handle with a length.); the ratchet having a ratchet feature (Figure 1 teaches the ratchet has a head. This is a “ratchet feature” since the claim does not require any specific structure for the feature or a functionality of the feature.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known ratchet wrench having a handle and switch of Hu with the ratcheting connection of Lawless in view of Chen in order to use a handle to generate increased leverage (General knowledge of wrenches and physics.)
Claim 14
Lawless in view of Chen, Poehls and Hu teaches the system of claim 12, further comprising: the stem having a through hole; the stem having a second hole. (In the combination with Chen above, the stem of Lawless incorporates the drive and therefore the connection method using the pin (36) of Chen. Therefore, the stem of Lawless with have a through hole to suit the pin (36) connection, as well as a second hole in the form of a socket to suit the drive (as shown in Figures 3-4 of Chen).)
Claim 15
Lawless in view of Chen, Poehls and Hu teaches the system of claim 12, further comprising: the expander having a handle. (Lawless, Figures 1-2 show that expander (24) has a handle (hollow handle member, 42).)
Claim 16
Lawless in view of Chen, Poehls and Hu teaches the system of claim 12, further comprising: the lower retaining nut having a roll pin hole. (Lawless, Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a hole (26) where the rod (12) is rotated (See Col. 5, Lines 30-40). This is a hole where a pin (the rod is a pin shape) is rolled (rotated.)
Claim 17
Lawless in view of Chen, Poehls and Hu teaches the system of claim 12, further comprising: the jaw assembly having a second o-ring. (Poehls, which is relied upon for the elastomer band and o-ring in Claim 12, teaches in ¶0092 that a plurality of O-rings can be used in the grooves. Figure 10A shows the individual jaw piece has at least three of said grooves, meaning that there is at least three O-rings in use with said jaw piece. Therefore, Poehls teaches the elastomer band of Claim 1, as well as at least two more O-rings.)
Claim 18
Lawless in view of Chen, Poehls and Hu teaches the system of claim 12, further comprising: the tube having a reversible adjustment feature (Lawless and Chen in combination teach the tube (drive (51) in Chen). The drive of Chen has an “adjustment feature” in the form of the hole the pin (36) passes through. This allows the adjustment of either an assembled or disassembled state. There is no specific structure implied by an “adjustment feature” as claimed.); the tube having an extension feature. (Lawless and Chen in combination teach the tube (drive (51) in Chen). The drive of Chen has an ”extension feature” in the form of the rod passing through it laterally (See Figure 2) that “extends” from the tube shape outward. There is no specific structure implied by an “extension feature” as claimed.)
Claim 19
Lawless in view of Chen, Poehls and Hu teaches the system of claim 12, further comprising: the ratchet having a ratchet adjustment feature. (Hu, which is relied upon for the ratchet structure, shows a switch in Figure 2 to the left of the ratchet head. This is a ratchet adjustment feature. There is no specific structure implied by “a ratchet adjustment feature” as claimed.)
Claims 1-2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deel (US20160369909A1) in view of Lawless (US4104775A), further in view of Chen (DE102015106691A1) and Poehls (US20210316430A1).
Deel (US20160369909A1) teaches a valve seat puller (Figure 5A shows a puller rod (502) operating on a valve seat (510).) system comprising: a stem (502) the stem extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 5A); the stem having a threading (Figure 5A shows threads on the rod.)
Deel does not explicitly disclose an expander; the expander extending a length from a first end to a second end; the expander having a flange; the expander having threads; a jaw assembly; the jaw assembly extending a length from a first end to a second end; the jaw assembly having a jaw segment; the jaw assembly having an elastomer band; a lower retaining nut; the lower retaining nut extending a length from a first end to a second end; the lower retaining nut having threads; the expander having a disengaged position; wherein the disengaged position is when the expander is disengaged from the jaw assembly; the expander having an engaged position; wherein the engaged position is when the expander is engaged with the jaw assembly; wherein the expander is rotated and forced to travel down the stem; wherein continued rotation of the expander as it travels down the stem causes the expansion of the jaw segments due to downward force on the jaw expander. Deel does not disclose the specifics of the puller.
Lawless teaches a puller system (This is the intended use of the system. Lawless teaches an extraction tool for removing a piece from within another piece (See Abs), which is capable of performing the intended use.), comprising: a stem (rod, 12); the stem extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the stem (12) has a length.); the stem having a threading (threaded ends, 14 and 16) an expander (expander head, 24); the expander extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has a length.); the expander having a flange (There are at least two alternative locations on the expander (24) that constitute a flange. The first is the flat surface that projects from the end of the threaded extension (32) towards the outer diameter of the conical surface (23). The second is the projection (30) that extends from the surface of the conical surface (23).); the expander having threads (Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has threads (32) on the exterior surface. The expander (24) also has internal threading (28).) a jaw assembly (Figure 1, Items 34 and 36 are “jaw segments” that make up an assembly.); the jaw assembly extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the jaws (34 and 36) have a length.); the jaw assembly having a jaw segment (34 or 36); a lower retaining nut (expander head, 22); the lower retaining nut extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a length.); the lower retaining nut having threads (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has threads (26).); the expander having a disengaged position; wherein the disengaged position is when the expander is disengaged from the jaw assembly (Col. 4, Lines 60-65 teach that the expander (24) is slid onto the rod over the threaded end (16) and threaded onto threads (20). As the expander is being threaded onto the threads (20), it is not engaged with the jaw assembly (34, 36).); the expander having an engaged position (Figure 2); wherein the engaged position is when the expander is engaged with the jaw assembly (Figure 2 shows the expander (24) is engaged with the jaw assembly (34, 36).); wherein the expander is rotated and forced to travel down the stem (Col. 4, Lines 60-65 teach that the expander (24) is slid onto the rod over the threaded end (16) and threaded onto threads (20). Looking at Figure 1, this direction of travel is “down” the stem (12).); wherein continued rotation of the expander as it travels down the stem causes the expansion of the jaw segments due to downward force on the jaw expander. (Col. 5, Lines 25-30 teach that the expander heads (22, 24) are drawn towards each other. Col. 5, Lines 35-40 teach that the expander heads both move during operation and this causes the jaw segments to separate radially.)
Deel in view of Lawless does not explicitly disclose the stem having a through hole;
However, Chen (DE102015106691A1) teaches a tool having a rotating shaft (spindle, 31) that is analogous to a stem. The stem has a through hole. (Figure 2 teaches a through hole (where the pin, 36) is inserted) in the stem (31).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known drive (5) and second pin (36) of Chen with the handle structure of Deel in view of Lawless in order to allow for the drive to be driven by a drive tool (including a ratchet wrench) and allow for the drive to be replaced quickly if damaged. (See Chen, ¶0017)
The predictable result of the combination of references is the handle of Lawless will have the structure and attachment capabilities of the drive of Chen, which requires a through hole in the stem.
Deel in view of Lawless and Chen does not explicitly disclose the jaw assembly having an elastomer band.
However, Poehls (US20210316430A1) teaches a seat removal tool (Figure 3B) that includes a jaw assembly having an elastomer band. (¶0092 details an O-ring, that can be a flexible material, that fits within a groove (See Figure 11, Item 1010a) and binds the extraction segments (which are analogous jaws).)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known groove and o-ring of Poehls with the jaw assembly of Deel in view of Lawless and Chen in order to elastically bind extraction segments to one another allowing for controlled transitions between expanded positions and contracted positions. (See Poehls ¶0092)
Claim 2
Deel in view of Lawless, Chen, and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a reciprocating pump (Deel ¶0002); the reciprocating pump having a power end (Deel ¶0002); the reciprocating pump having a fluid end (Deel ¶0002); a valve cover assembly (Deel Figure 5A, Item 206, valve cover assembly); the valve cover assembly having a valve (Deel Figure 2 shows the valve cover assembly (206) includes a valve (208). See also ¶0033.); the valve cover assembly having a valve seat (Deel, Figure 5A, Item 510); the valve cover assembly having a hex nut (Deel, Figure 5A, Item 232 is a stud. ¶0036 teaches that this can be a stud and nut configuration.); the valve cover assembly having a hydraulic jack. (¶0046 describes the operation of the port (224), recess (220) and piston (218) where fluid is used to fore the movement of the threaded ring (222) by hydraulic force.)
Claim 11
Deel in view of Lawless, Chen, and Poehls teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising: a valve seat (Deel, Figure 5A, Item 510); a threaded expander to engage or disengage the jaws from the valve seat. (Deel, Figure 5A shows that the puller head (508) engages with the valve seat (510). Lawless, Figure 1 teaches the expander (24) is threaded (32 or 28). Col. 5, Lines 25-30 teach that the expander heads (22, 24) are drawn towards each other. Col. 5, Lines 35-40 teach that the expander heads both move during operation and this causes the jaw segments to separate radially and therefore engage the structure around the jaws.)
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deel (US20160369909A1) in view of Lawless (US4104775A), further in view of Chen (DE102015106691A1), Poehls (US20210316430A1) and Hu (US20120311836A1).
Claim 12
Deel (US20160369909A1) teaches a valve seat puller (Figure 5A shows a puller rod (502) operating on a valve seat (510).) system comprising: a stem (502) the stem extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 5A); the stem having a threading (Figure 5A shows threads on the rod.)
Deel does not explicitly disclose an expander; the expander extending a length from a first end to a second end; the expander having a flange; the expander having threads; the expander having a bevel feature; the expander having a disengaged position; wherein the disengaged position is when the expander is disengaged from the jaw assembly; the expander having an engaged position; wherein the engaged position is when the expander is engaged with the jaw assembly; a jaw assembly; the jaw assembly extending a length from a first end to a second end; the jaw assembly having a jaw segment; the jaw assembly having a first o-ring; the jaw assembly having an elastomer band; a lower retaining nut; the lower retaining nut extending a length from a first end to a second end; the lower retaining nut having a bevel; the lower retaining nut having threads; an expander rotating tool; the expander rotating tool having a ratchet; the ratchet extending a length from a first end to a second end; the ratchet having a handle; the ratchet having a ratchet feature; the expander rotating tool having a tube; the tube extending a length from a first end to a second end; the tube having a ratchet head; the tube having a socket; wherein the expander is rotated and forced to travel down the stem; wherein the expander is forced to travel down the stem by the rotation of the expander rotating tool; wherein continued rotation of the expander as it travels down the stem causes the expansion of the jaw segments due to downward force on the jaw expander; wherein the lower shoulder of the jaw segments lock into place due to the downward force on the jaw expander. Deel does not disclose the specifics of the puller.
However, Lawless teaches a stem (rod, 12); the stem extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the stem (12) has a length.); the stem having a threading (threaded ends, 14 and 16)
an expander (expander head, 24); the expander extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has a length.); the expander having a flange (There are at least two alternative locations on the expander (24) that constitute a flange. The first is the flat surface that projects from the end of the threaded extension (32) towards the outer diameter of the conical surface (23). The second is the projection (30) that extends from the surface of the conical surface (23).); the expander having threads (Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has threads (32) on the exterior surface. The expander (24) also has internal threading (28).); the expander having a bevel feature (Lawless, Figure 1 shows the expander (24) has a bevel (conical surface, 23).); the expander having a disengaged position; wherein the disengaged position is when the expander is disengaged from the jaw assembly (Col. 4, Lines 60-65 teach that the expander (24) is slid onto the rod over the threaded end (16) and threaded onto threads (20). As the expander is being threaded onto the threads (20), it is not engaged with the jaw assembly (34, 36).); the expander having an engaged position; wherein the engaged position is when the expander is engaged with the jaw assembly (Figure 2 shows the expander (24) is engaged with the jaw assembly (34, 36).); a jaw assembly (Figure 1, Items 34 and 36 are “jaw segments” that make up an assembly.); the jaw assembly extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the jaws (34 and 36) have a length.); the jaw assembly having a jaw segment (34 or 36); a lower retaining nut (expander head, 22); the lower retaining nut extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a length.); the lower retaining nut having a bevel (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has a bevel (23).); the lower retaining nut having threads (Figure 1 shows the lower nut (22) has threads (26).); the expander rotating tool having a tube (Figure 1, Item 54 is a cup shaped finger nut, which has a tubular shape.); the tube extending a length from a first end to a second end (Figure 1 shows the tube (54) has a length.); wherein the expander is rotated and forced to travel down the stem (Col. 4, Lines 60-65 teach that the expander (24) is slid onto the rod over the threaded end (16) and threaded onto threads (20). Looking at Figure 1, this direction of travel is “down” the stem (12).); wherein the expander is forced to travel down the stem by the rotation of the stem (Col. 5, Lines 25-30 teach that the expander heads (22, 24) are drawn towards each other. Col. 5, Lines 35-40 teach that the expander heads both move during operation. This is the expander head (22) being moved down the stem.) wherein continued rotation of the expander as it travels down the stem causes the expansion of the jaw segments due to downward force on the jaw expander (Col. 5, Lines 25-30 teach that the expander heads (22, 24) are drawn towards each other. Col. 5, Lines 35-40 teach that the expander heads both move during operation and this causes the jaw segments to separate radially.); wherein the lower shoulder of the jaw segments lock into place due to the downward force on the jaw expander. (The lower shoulder is not introduced previously in the claims, nor is it indicated by an item # in the drawings. As such, it is unclear what this term is referring to. In Lawless, the lower shoulder can be considered the rightmost end of the jaws (34, 36). This is locked in place when placed inside of the tubes (as shown in Figure 2) and expanded due to the force applied by the downward movement of the expander (See Col. 5 Lines 30-50).)
Deel in view of Lawless does not explicitly disclose a ratcheting expander tool; an expander rotating tool; the expander rotating tool having a ratchet; the tube having a ratchet head; the tube having a socket.
However, Chen (DE102015106691A1) teaches a tool having a rotating shaft (spindle, 31) and a ratcheting expander tool (¶0017 teaches the use of a ratchet wrench to actuate the drive part (51).); an expander rotating tool (¶0017 teaches the use of a ratchet wrench, which is a rotating tool, to actuate the drive part (51).); the expander rotating tool having a ratchet (¶0017 teaches the use of a ratchet wrench to actuate the drive part (51).); the tube having a ratchet head (Figures 3-4 show the tube, which is used with a ratchet, has a head (the lower part where the pin (36) secures it to the spindle (31).). There is no specific structure implied by the term ratchet head.); the tube having a socket. (Figures 3-4 show the tube has a socket on the top to accommodate a ratchet wrench.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known drive (5) and second pin (36) of Chen with the handle structure of Deel in view of Lawless in order to allow for the drive to be driven by a drive tool (including a ratchet wrench) and allow for the drive to be replaced quickly if damaged. (See Chen, ¶0017)
The predictable result of the combination of references is the handle of Lawless will have the structure and attachment capabilities of the drive of Chen, which requires a through hole in the stem.
Deel in view of Lawless and Chen does not explicitly disclose the jaw assembly having a first o-ring; the jaw assembly having an elastomer band.
However, Poehls (US20210316430A1) teaches a seat removal tool (Figure 3B) that includes a jaw assembly having an elastomer band and an O-ring. (¶0092 details an O-ring, that can be a flexible material, that fits within a groove (See Figure 11, Item 1010a) and binds the extraction segments (which are analogous jaws). The paragraph further discloses that multiple O-rings can be used, and Figure 10A shows that there can be a plurality (at least 3) of grooves on each jaw piece. This is a teaching of at least two bands/o-rings as claimed.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known groove and o-ring of Poehls with the jaw assembly of Deel in view of Lawless and Chen in order to elastically bind extraction segments to one another allowing for controlled transitions between expanded positions and contracted positions. (See Poehls ¶0092)
Deel in view of Lawless, Chen and Poehls teaches the use of a ratchet tool, but does not explicitly disclose the ratchet extending a length from a first end to a second end; the ratchet having a handle; the ratchet having a ratchet feature.
However, Hu (US20120311836A1) teaches a ratchet tool used for an extractor device that includes a length from a first end to a second end; the ratchet having a handle (Figure 1 shows the ratchet wrench has a handle with a length.); the ratchet having a ratchet feature (Figure 1 teaches the ratchet has a head. This is a “ratchet feature” since the claim does not require any specific structure for the feature or a functionality of the feature.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the known ratchet wrench having a handle and switch of Hu with the ratcheting connection of Deel in view of Lawless, Chen and Poehls in order to use a handle to generate increased leverage (General knowledge of wrenches and physics.)
Claim 13
Deel in view of Lawless, Chen, Poehls and Hu teaches the system of claim 12, further comprising: a reciprocating pump (Deel ¶0002); the reciprocating pump having a power end (Deel ¶0002); the reciprocating pump having a fluid end (Deel ¶0002); a valve cover assembly (Deel Figure 5A, Item 206, valve cover assembly); the valve cover assembly having a valve (Deel Figure 2 shows the valve cover assembly (206) includes a valve (208). See also ¶0033.); the valve cover assembly having a valve seat (Deel, Figure 5A, Item 510); the valve cover assembly having a hex nut (Deel, Figure 5A, Item 232 is a stud. ¶0036 teaches that this can be a stud and nut configuration.); the valve cover assembly having a hydraulic jack. (¶0046 describes the operation of the port (224), recess (220) and piston (218) where fluid is used to fore the movement of the threaded ring (222) by hydraulic force.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited Form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20180281128A1
2018-02-26
Rasmussen teaches a valve seat puller (10) that includes a threaded stem (12) an expander (16) and a jaw assembly (18a/b) that interacts with a valve seat (24) within a pump casting (15). The system also includes a hydraulic jack (32).
US10265839B1
2014-05-01
Hunter teaches a valve seat (50) puller (10) that includes a threaded rod, and hydraulic jack (200). See Figures 5A-5D.
US20150283689A1
2015-04-07
Weaver teaches a valve seat puller (Abs) that includes a threaded rod (101, 102), an expander (108), a jaw assembly (120), and an end nut (110). The tool is intended for use with a pump (¶0004). Figure 3 shows a hydraulic jack (206) being used in conjunction with the tool.
US20230022944A1
2021-07-20
Kendrick teaches a puller device that includes a threaded shaft (3), an expander (5), a jaw assembly (7) and an end nut (19).
US4852235A
1988-08-19
Trease teaches a puller device that includes a threaded shaft (28), an expander (54) having a handle (62), a jaw assembly (46), and an end nut (40).
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726