DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 21-28) in the reply filed on 6/3/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 21-28 read on the elected invention.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hacker (US Pub No. 2020/0038049).
Regarding claim 21, Hacker discloses (Figures 1-6A) an illumination assembly comprising:(a) a lighting element (4) configured to extend through a medical device (not positively recited in the claim and is only functionally recited) via a tube, channel or lumen in said medical device [Fully configured in doing this]; (b) an illumination assembly housing (15); and(c) a battery carriage (16) slidably disposed within the illumination assembly housing (Figures 3A-3B and 5) (Paragraph 0052) and configured to hold a battery (20).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the medical device is designed for ENT therapies and procedures (the medical device is not positively recited in the claim and is only functionally recited therefore the medical device is fully capable in being designed for ENT therapies and procedures).
Regarding claim 23, wherein the medical device is a dilation balloon device (the medical device is not positively recited in the claim and is only functionally recited therefore the medical device is fully capable in being a dilation balloon device).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the medical device is a sinuplasty balloon device (the medical device is not positively recited in the claim and is only functionally recited therefore the medical device is fully capable in being a sinuplasty balloon device).
Regarding claim 27, wherein the medical device instrument is configured to treat a frontal sinus, a sphenoid sinus, a maxillary sinus, or an ethmoid sinus of a patient, or a combination thereof (the medical device is not positively recited in the claim and is only functionally recited therefore the medical device is fully configured in treating a frontal sinus, a sphenoid sinus, a maxillary sinus, or an ethmoid sinus of a patient, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the medical device instrument is configured to treat an auditory anatomy of a patient (the medical device is not positively recited in the claim and is only functionally recited therefore the medical device is fully configured in treating an auditory anatomy of a patient).
Claims 21 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lia (US Pub No. 2015/0238070).
Regarding claim 21, Lia discloses (Figures 3A-7B) an illumination assembly comprising:(a) a lighting element (412, 416, 424) configured to extend through a medical device (not positively recited in the claim and is only functionally recited) via a tube, channel or lumen in said medical device [Fully configured in doing this]; (b) an illumination assembly housing (510) (Figure 6); and(c) a battery carriage (compartment 426 as disclosed in Paragraph 0047) slidably disposed within the illumination assembly housing (Figures 6 and 7a) (Paragraphs 0049-0051) (slidably disposed via mounting rails 554) and configured to hold a battery (420).
Regarding claim 34, wherein the lighting element is flexible (424 of the lighting element is flexible as shown in Figures 3b, 4b and 5) (Paragraph 0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hacker (US Pub No. 2020/0038049) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Wang (US Pub No. 2019/0150721).
Regarding claim 25, Hacker discloses the invention above except for wherein the illumination assembly is configured to emit light at an intensity of from 0.08 to 1.96 candela.
Wang, in the analogous art of medical devices using a light source, teaches (Figures 1A and 6A) an illumination assembly (Figure 1) being configured to emit light at an intensity from a fraction of a cd to about 100cd [Meets the claimed range from 0.08 to 1.96 candela] (Paragraph 0005). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the illumination assembly of Hacker to have been configured to emit light at an intensity from a fraction of a cd to about 100cd as taught by Wang, in order to facilitate the surgical procedure by providing a different degree of light intensity (Wang, Paragraph 0005) and also, since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 26 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hacker (US Pub No. 2020/0038049) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Swift (US Patent No. 10,959,609).
Regarding claims 26 and 33, Hacker discloses the invention above except for wherein the illumination assembly is configured to emit light for a duration of about two to twelve hours.
Swift, in the analogous art of medical devices using a light source, teaches (Figures 1A and 6A) an illumination assembly (15) being configured to emit light for a duration from two to five hours [Meets the claimed range of about two to twelve hours] (Col. 7, lines 1-11). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the illumination assembly of Hacker to have been configured to emit light for a duration of two to five hours as taught by Swift, in order to facilitate the surgical procedure by providing a longer operational time for the lighting element (Swift, Col. 7, lines 1-11) and also, since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771