CTNF 18/894,086 CTNF 80950 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The action is responsive to the following communication: an application filed on 09/24/2024 where: Claims 1-14 are currently pending. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 4, and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 5-8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morris et al. (US 2004/0172419, hereinafter Morris) . Regarding claim 1, Morris teaches: An information processing apparatus ([0019], A client device 12 refers to an electronic device) comprising: a storage unit configured to store a plurality of images ([0019], A client device 12 refers to an electronic device capable of storing digital files. The digital files 16 may have different Mime types, including text, images, audio, and movie files.); a reception unit configured to receive one or more narrowing conditions from an external apparatus (fig. 2 and fig. 3, step 202, [0027], Once the user has become a member of the file-service 14, the file-service 14 displays a series of configuration forms in step 202 for the user to enter filter preferences that control when each of the trigger handlers 32 are called when the user uploads files 16. In a preferred embodiment, the filter preferences forms are specific to the different types of trigger handlers 32 available, and have fields for a user to enter attribute criteria for the images that will be used to filter the files 16 to the appropriate trigger handler upon upload.); a generation unit configured to generate one or more pieces of first link information each representing a link to a screen displaying an image satisfying each of the one or more narrowing conditions among the plurality of images (fig. 4 and [0033], The notification trigger allows the user to configure the server 20 to automatically send out notifications regarding the arrival of certain files 16 to specified third parties by email, pager, and/or facsimile.); and a transmission unit configured to transmit the one or more pieces of first link information to a transmission destination designated by the external apparatus ([006], the photosharing site automatically sends an e-mail inviting recipients to view the album by clicking on the enclosed URL. And Abstract, and fig. 4). Regarding claim 2, Morris teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the generation unit generates second link information representing a link to a screen displaying all images satisfying at least one of the one or more narrowing conditions (see fig. 4), and the transmission unit transmits the one or more pieces of first link information and the second link information to the transmission destination ([0006], In the second and more common method, the user types-in the e-mail addresses of each person the user wants to view the album and the photosharing site automatically sends an e-mail inviting recipients to view the album by clicking on the enclosed URL.). Regarding claim 5, Morris teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more narrowing conditions are defined by one or more narrowing values set for one narrowing type selected from a plurality of narrowing types (see fig. 4, Attributes critea 42). Regarding claim 6, Morris teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more narrowing conditions are obtained by combining one or more first narrowing conditions each defined by one or more narrowing values set for a first narrowing type among a plurality of narrowing types and one or more second narrowing conditions each defined by one or more second narrowing values set for a second narrowing type different from the first narrowing type among the plurality of narrowing types ([0032] and figs 3 and 4. As shown in FIG. 3, for example, the user has entered preferences that will configure the server 20 to automatically store files matching the criteria in the Attribute Criteria section 42 into two albums named "Christmas 2002" and "December 2002." Any files 14 uploaded by the user whose metadata "date" field has values between "12-01-02" and "12-31-02" and whose metadata "category" field "contains" the value "holiday," will be stored in the two specified albums. If the albums do not yet exist, then the server 20 will create them. For albums, the Actions section 44 also allows the user to specify what Mime types the albums may store. If "All" is selected, then the albums will be able to store and display files of any type.). Regarding claim 7, Morris teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein for the combination, any of a combination by AND of each of the one or more first conditions and each of the one or more second conditions and a combination by OR of the one or more first conditions and the one or more second conditions is used, and which to use the combination by AND and the combination by OR is designated by the external apparatus (see figs. 3 and 4, and [0029], Referring to FIG. 3, each form 40 includes two sections, an Attribute Criteria section 42, and an "Actions" section 44. The Attribute Criteria section 42 allows the user to specify which file attributes and metadata fields from uploaded files 16 are to be matched and the nature of the match for invoking the proper trigger handler 32. In one embodiment, the Attribute Criteria section 42 includes a column for the user to enter metadata field names 46, a column for entering operators 48, and a column for entering values 50 for the corresponding field name. [0030] The Actions section 44 of the filter preferences form 40 is specific to the trigger handler 32, but allows the user to specify what actions are to be taken in response to a match, such as the creation/population of a specified album, for instance. ). Regarding claim 8, Morris teaches: The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of narrowing types include narrowing by a person, narrowing by a capturing place, and narrowing by a capturing time ([0031-0034], meta data fields). Claims 12, 13 and 14 are rejected for reasons similar to claim 1 above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW H LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7969 and fax number is 571-270-8969. The examiner can normally be reached on 9AM-5PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benny Tieu can be reached on 571-272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW H LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/894,086 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/894,086 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/894,086 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/894,086 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/894,086 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/894,086 Page 7 Art Unit: 2682