DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 09/24/2024.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/24/2024, 01/29/2026, 03/16/2026, and 06/03/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The first time an acronym is mentioned it should be spelled out. For example, “downlink (DL)”.
Claims 1, 10, and 11 recites “HT” and “MAC”.
Claim 3 recites “EHT_OM”.
Claim 5 recites “NSTR”, “STR”, “EMLSR”, and “EMLMR”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (Pub. No.: US 2021/0136605 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches
A communication device that performs wireless communication communicating wireless frames complying with the IEEE 802.11 series standard (Huang [0055], [0031], and [0064]: communication device which may communicate using IEEE 802.11 communication standards), comprising:
a notification unit that notify a counterpart communication device of mode information relating to a data transmission mode for use in multi-link communication with the counterpart communication device (Huang [0083], [0150], fig. 1, fig. 16, and fig. 7: transmission (notification) of operating mode (OM) control subfield. The OM control subfield contains information related to the operating mode change of the STA transmitting the frame containing this information; [0033-0034]: multi-link communications),
wherein the mode information is contained in an HT Control field of a MAC frame of the wireless frames (Huang [0134], [0149-0150], [0153], [0033-0034], and fig. 4: MAC frame, HT Control field), and
wherein the notification unit notifies the counterpart communication device of the mode information after set-up processing for setting up multi-link communication between the communication device and the counterpart communication device is completed and before the multi-link communication is disconnected (Huang [0148] and figs. 2, 3, and 8: at block 1502, the device may generate a management or data frame for sending to a first station device of one or more station devices, the management or data frame comprising extended high throughput (HT) control information where at least data frame implies the communication is already set up, figs. Show multi-link signaling structure; [0102]: OM applies to during multi-link operation).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches
The communication device according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Huang further teaches
wherein the notification unit notifies the mode information using multiple bits within an A-control field contained in the HT Control field (Huang [0047] and [0126]: multiple bits of an A-control field in HT control field).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches
The communication device according to claim 2 (the limitations of parent claim 2 as indicated above),
Huang further teaches
wherein the multiple bits include three bits in a Reserved subfield of an EHT_OM Control subfield contained in the A-control field (Huang [0098] and [0143]: EHT, it is expected to extend the OM control ID subfield value by at least additional 3 bits).
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches
The communication device according to claim 3 (the limitations of parent claim 3 as indicated above),
Huang further teaches
wherein the multiple bits further include one or more bits in an unused area of the EHT_OM Control subfield contained in the A-control field. (Huang [0150]: new control ID may comprise an extremely high throughput (EHT) OM control comprising one control ID field of A-control)
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches
A method for controlling a communication device that performs wireless communication communicating wireless frames complying with the IEEE 802.11 series standard (Huang [0055], [0031], and [0064]: communication device which may communicate using IEEE 802.11 communication standards), comprising:
executing set-up processing for setting up multi-link communication with a counterpart communication device (Huang [0083], [0150], fig. 1, fig. 16, and fig. 7: operating mode (OM) control subfield. The OM control subfield contains information related to the operating mode change of the STA transmitting the frame containing this information; [0033-0034]: multi-link communications); and
notifying the counterpart communication device of mode information relating to a data transmission mode for use in communication with the counterpart communication device after the set-up processing is completed and before the multi-link communication is disconnected (Huang [0148] and figs. 2, 3, and 8: at block 1502, the device may generate a management or data frame for sending to a first station device of one or more station devices, the management or data frame comprising extended high throughput (HT) control information where at least data frame implies the communication is already set up, figs. Show multi-link signaling structure; [0102]: OM applies to during multi-link operation),
wherein the mode information is contained in an HT Control field of a MAC frame of the wireless frames (Huang [0134], [0149-0150], [0153], [0033-0034], and fig. 4: MAC frame, HT Control field).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a method for controlling a communication device that performs wireless communication communicating wireless frames complying with the IEEE 802.11 series standard (Huang [0055], [0031], and [0064]: communication device which may communicate using IEEE 802.11 communication standards; [0154]: non-transitory memory for storing information in a form readable by a computer), comprising:
executing set-up processing for setting up multi-link communication with a counterpart communication device (Huang [0083], [0150], fig. 1, fig. 16, and fig. 7: operating mode (OM) control subfield. The OM control subfield contains information related to the operating mode change of the STA transmitting the frame containing this information; [0033-0034]: multi-link communications); and
notifying the counterpart communication device of mode information relating to a data transmission mode for use in communication with the counterpart communication device after the set-up processing is completed and before the multi-link communication is disconnected (Huang [0148] and figs. 2, 3, and 8: at block 1502, the device may generate a management or data frame for sending to a first station device of one or more station devices, the management or data frame comprising extended high throughput (HT) control information where at least data frame implies the communication is already set up, figs. Show multi-link signaling structure; [0102]: OM applies to during multi-link operation),
wherein the mode information is contained in an HT Control field of a MAC frame of the wireless frames (Huang [0134], [0149-0150], [0153], [0033-0034], and fig. 4: MAC frame, HT Control field).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (Pub. No.: US 2021/0136605 A1) in view of Kim (Pub. No.: US 2023/0062989 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches
The communication device according to claim 2 (the limitations of parent claim 2 as indicated above),
Kim does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the mode information contains information relating to one of data transmission modes NSTR, STR, EMLSR, and EMLMR defined by the IEEE 802.11be standard.
However, Kim, in the analogous art of IEEE 802.11 communications and control fields, teaches
wherein the mode information contains information relating to one of data transmission modes NSTR, STR, EMLSR, and EMLMR defined by the IEEE 802.11be standard (Kim [0268-0270]: STR, IEEE.11be).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teachings of Kim and have the mode information contains information relating to one of data transmission modes NSTR, STR, EMLSR, and EMLMR defined by the IEEE 802.11be standard. Doing so would allow for receiving of data through one link when data transmission occurs on another link (Kim [0270]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang modified by Kim teaches
The communication device according to claim 5 (the limitations of parent claim 5 as indicated above),
Huang does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the mode information contains information relating to respective data transmission modes for an uplink and a downlink.
However, Kim, in the analogous art of IEEE 802.11 communications and control fields, teaches
wherein the mode information contains information relating to respective data transmission modes for an uplink and a downlink (Kim [0334-0335]: respective data transmission modes of an uplink and downlink).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teachings of Kim and have the mode information contains information relating to respective data transmission modes for an uplink and a downlink. Doing so would allow for avoidance of collisions and reduction of power consumption (Kim [0008]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches
The communication device according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Huang does not appear to explicitly teach the notification unit notifies the counterpart communication device of the mode information in response to a change request for changing a data transmission mode used in communication with the counterpart communication device.
However, Kim, in the analogous art of IEEE 802.11 communications and control fields, teaches
wherein the notification unit notifies the counterpart communication device of the mode information in response to a change request for changing a data transmission mode used in communication with the counterpart communication device. (Kim [0450], fig. 37: in step S3710 a multi-link device may transmit a request frame for activating a power saving mechanism to an AP through the first link)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teachings of Kim and have the notification unit notifies the counterpart communication device of the mode information in response to a change request for changing a data transmission mode used in communication with the counterpart communication device. Doing so would allow for avoidance of collisions and reduction of power consumption (Kim [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang modified by Kim teaches
The communication device according to claim 8 (the limitations of parent claim 8 as indicated above),
Huang does not appear to explicitly teach the change request is given due to a change in congestion in a frequency band used for the multi-link communication, a change in radio wave conditions, and/or a power-saving operation of the communication device.
However, Kim, in the analogous art of IEEE 802.11 communications and control fields, teaches
wherein the change request is given due to a change in congestion in a frequency band used for the multi-link communication, a change in radio wave conditions, and/or a power-saving operation of the communication device. (Kim [0450], fig. 37: in step S3710 a multi-link device may transmit a request frame for activating a power saving mechanism to an AP through the first link)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teachings of Kim and have the change request is given due to a change in congestion in a frequency band used for the multi-link communication, a change in radio wave conditions, and/or a power-saving operation of the communication device. Doing so would allow for avoidance of collisions and reduction of power consumption (Kim [0008]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (Pub. No.: US 2021/0136605 A1) in view of Xu (Pub. No.: US 2020/0260353 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches
The communication device according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), further comprising:
Huang does not appear to explicitly teach a reconfiguration unit that reconfigures a data transmission mode when restarting data transmission after interruption of data transmission, wherein the reconfiguration unit includes a first reconfiguration mode for reconfiguring a data transmission mode based on a given default, and a second reconfiguration mode for reconfiguring a data transmission mode used before the interruption.
However, Xu, in the analogous art of IEEE 802.11 data transmissions, teaches
a reconfiguration unit that reconfigures a data transmission mode when restarting data transmission after interruption of data transmission, wherein the reconfiguration unit includes a first reconfiguration mode for reconfiguring a data transmission mode based on a given default, and a second reconfiguration mode for reconfiguring a data transmission mode used before the interruption (Xu [0163]: reconfiguration of mode when restarting after interruption of data, reconfiguring a mode used before the interruption).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang to incorporate the teachings of Xu and have a reconfiguration unit that reconfigures a data transmission mode when restarting data transmission after interruption of data transmission, wherein the reconfiguration unit includes a first reconfiguration mode for reconfiguring a data transmission mode based on a given default, and a second reconfiguration mode for reconfiguring a data transmission mode used before the interruption. Doing so would allow for correction of the failure (interruption), reduce signaling overhead, and increase reliability of configuration transmissions (Xu [0162-0163] and [0113]).
Conclusion
The following prior art not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Xin et al (Pub. No.: US 2023/0199846 A1) discloses HT wireless communication in IEEE 802.11 network and multi-link devices.
Patil et al (Pub. No.: US 2021/0014776 A1) discloses multi-link communication utilizing IEEE 802.11 standards.
/R.E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412