DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakafuji et al (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0429945 A1) in view of Ali et al (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0187883 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Wakafuji teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity (base station 100), comprising: receiving a representation of a waveform transmitted from a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 0091; 0095 disclose the modulation/demodulation unit 202 executes demodulation processing with respect to a signal being received by the transmission/reception unit 201. Further, the modulation/demodulation unit 202 is also capable of executing modulation processing with respect to a signal that is output from an amplifier of the terminal 200 and is transmitted to the base station 100. In the modulation processing, control of signal point arrangement with respect to a transmission signal may be executed based on signal point arrangement at each piece of timing during the predetermined period being set by the terminal 200); detecting at least one temperature prediction parameter associated with one or more transmit chains of the UE based on the received representation of the waveform (paragraph 0100 disclose the change prediction unit 104 predicts a change of a non-linear characteristic of the amplifier of the base station 100 during the predetermined period by using data relating to an air temperature during the predetermined period being a prediction target (step S22; non-linear characteristic change prediction step).
Wakafuji does not disclose identifying a configuration of the UE to perform a signal transmission based on the at least one temperature prediction parameter; and
outputting an indication of the configuration.
However, Ali teaches identifying a configuration of the UE to perform a signal transmission based on the at least one temperature prediction parameter (paragraph 0062; 0067; 0068 disclose overheating prediction and appropriate parameter selection to avoid overheating (410): This module takes the input from UE status/sensor information 406, service type detector 404, and communication configuration 408 to make a prediction whether the device is prone to overheating. Several embodiments in this disclosure deal with the design of this module and are discussed in detail later. Depending on the decision whether the device is prone to overheating or not, an appropriate communication configuration is selected, which the device deems suitable for temperature management); and outputting an indication of the configuration (paragraph 0062; 0067; 0068 disclose Sharing the proposed communication configuration with the BS (412): The UE shares the proposed communication configuration with the BS, which then decides whether to configure the UE with the proposed communication configuration or not. If the UE is configured with the proposed parameters, then the UE starts operation with the new communication configuration, otherwise the UE will continue the operation with the previously configured communication configuration) in order to provide UE temperature management (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Ali to the system of Wakafuji in order to provide UE temperature management.
With respect to claim 2, Wakafuji discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein identifying the configuration of the UE comprises allocating one or more resources to the UE to perform the signal transmission.
However, Ali teaches wherein identifying the configuration of the UE comprises allocating one or more resources to the UE to perform the signal transmission (paragraph 0075; 0103 disclose the BS configures the UE with proposed configuration depending on the UE proposal. There are, however, multiple compromises made with this method. First, whether the BS will configure the UE with requested/proposed configuration is up to BS discretion. This is true even though the UE is likely to request to only reduce the resources already configured by the BS) in order to provide UE temperature management (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Ali to the system of Wakafuji in order to provide UE temperature management.
With respect to claim 4, Wakafuji teaches wherein the at least one temperature prediction parameter comprises a parameter indicating a non-linearity associated with one or more amplifiers of the one or more transmit chains (paragraph 0075; 0123 disclose the non-linear characteristic of the amplifier is changed according to a temperature change. The change prediction unit 104 recognizes prediction of a temperature change before the base station 100 decides signal point arrangement, and thereby is capable of predicting an influence of the non-linear characteristic on a transmission signal).
With respect to claim 5, Wakafuji teaches predicting a temperature associated with the one or more transmit chains based on the at least one temperature prediction parameter (paragraph 0100 disclose the change prediction unit 104 predicts a change of a non-linear characteristic of the amplifier of the base station 100 during the predetermined period by using data relating to an air temperature during the predetermined period being a prediction target (step S22; non-linear characteristic change prediction step).
Wakafuji does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration is identified based on the predicted temperature.
However, Ali teaches wherein the configuration is identified based on the predicted temperature (paragraph 0062; 0067; 0068 disclose overheating prediction and appropriate parameter selection to avoid overheating (410): This module takes the input from UE status/sensor information 406, service type detector 404, and communication configuration 408 to make a prediction whether the device is prone to overheating. Several embodiments in this disclosure deal with the design of this module and are discussed in detail later. Depending on the decision whether the device is prone to overheating or not, an appropriate communication configuration is selected, which the device deems suitable for temperature management) in order to provide UE temperature management (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Ali to the system of Wakafuji in order to provide UE temperature management.
With respect to claim 7, Wakafuji discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein identifying the configuration comprises at least one of identifying a duty cycle associated with the signal transmission, identifying a bandwidth associated with the signal transmission, identifying a transmission power associated with the signal transmission, or selecting an amplifier to be used for the signal transmission.
However, Ali teaches wherein identifying the configuration comprises at least one of identifying a duty cycle associated with the signal transmission, identifying a bandwidth associated with the signal transmission, identifying a transmission power associated with the signal transmission, or selecting an amplifier to be used for the signal transmission (paragraph 0062; 0066; 0073 disclose different configurations such as bandwidth) in order to provide UE temperature management (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Ali to the system of Wakafuji in order to provide UE temperature management.
With respect to claim 8, Wakafuji teaches wherein the waveform is orthogonal with a waveform for communication traffic from the UE (paragraph 0091; 0095 disclose the modulation/demodulation unit 202 executes demodulation processing with respect to a signal being received by the transmission/reception unit 201. Further, the modulation/demodulation unit 202 is also capable of executing modulation processing with respect to a signal that is output from an amplifier of the terminal 200 and is transmitted to the base station 100. In the modulation processing, control of signal point arrangement with respect to a transmission signal may be executed based on signal point arrangement at each piece of timing during the predetermined period being set by the terminal 200).
With respect to claim 9, Wakafuji teaches further comprising allocating one or more resources for transmitting the waveform (paragraph 0091; 0095 disclose the modulation/demodulation unit 202 executes demodulation processing with respect to a signal being received by the transmission/reception unit 201. Further, the modulation/demodulation unit 202 is also capable of executing modulation processing with respect to a signal that is output from an amplifier of the terminal 200 and is transmitted to the base station 100. In the modulation processing, control of signal point arrangement with respect to a transmission signal may be executed based on signal point arrangement at each piece of timing during the predetermined period being set by the terminal 200).
With respect to claim 10, Wakafuji discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except further comprising configuring a first base station and a second base station to receive the signal transmission based on the configuration of the UE.
However, Ali teaches configuring a first base station and a second base station to receive the signal transmission based on the configuration of the UE (paragraph 0039 disclose one or more of the gNBs 101-103 includes circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof, to support traffic aware UE temperature management in a wireless communication system) in order to provide UE temperature management (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Ali to the system of Wakafuji in order to provide UE temperature management.
With respect to claim 11, Wakafuji teaches wherein detecting the at least one temperature prediction parameter comprises solving one or more non-linear equations to identify a non-linearity associated with the one or more transmit chains using a trained machine learning model (paragraph 0036-0037 disclose the setting unit 12 may use an AI model being performed learning in advance in such a way as to specify timing by using a temperature. The learning is performed by inputting, to the AI model, training data including the data relating to the temperature in the past as a sample and information (a correct answer label) indicating timing at which the signal point arrangement is to be switched being associated with the data relating to the temperature. After the AI model is performed learning by using the training data, the setting unit 12 inputs the data relating to the temperature during the predetermined period being a prediction target to the AI model).
With respect to claim 12, Wakafuji teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (terminal 200), comprising: transmitting a waveform via a first antenna (paragraph 0091; 0095); receiving the waveform via a second antenna (paragraph 0091; 0095 disclose the modulation/demodulation unit 202 executes demodulation processing with respect to a signal being received by the transmission/reception unit 201. Further, the modulation/demodulation unit 202 is also capable of executing modulation processing with respect to a signal that is output from an amplifier of the terminal 200 and is transmitted to the base station 100. In the modulation processing, control of signal point arrangement with respect to a transmission signal may be executed based on signal point arrangement at each piece of timing during the predetermined period being set by the terminal 200);
detecting at least one temperature prediction parameter associated with one or more transmit chains based on the received waveform (paragraph 0100 disclose the change prediction unit 104 predicts a change of a non-linear characteristic of the amplifier of the base station 100 during the predetermined period by using data relating to an air temperature during the predetermined period being a prediction target (step S22; non-linear characteristic change prediction step).
Wakafuji does not explicitly disclose configuring the one or more transmit chains based on the at least one temperature prediction parameter; and performing a signal transmission via the one or more configured transmit chains.
However, Ali teaches configuring the one or more transmit chains based on the at least one temperature prediction parameter (paragraph 0062; 0067; 0068 disclose overheating prediction and appropriate parameter selection to avoid overheating (410): This module takes the input from UE status/sensor information 406, service type detector 404, and communication configuration 408 to make a prediction whether the device is prone to overheating. Several embodiments in this disclosure deal with the design of this module and are discussed in detail later. Depending on the decision whether the device is prone to overheating or not, an appropriate communication configuration is selected, which the device deems suitable for temperature management); and performing a signal transmission via the one or more configured transmit chains (paragraph 0062; 0067; 0068 disclose sharing the proposed communication configuration with the BS (412): The UE shares the proposed communication configuration with the BS, which then decides whether to configure the UE with the proposed communication configuration or not. If the UE is configured with the proposed parameters, then the UE starts operation with the new communication configuration, otherwise the UE will continue the operation with the previously configured communication configuration) in order to provide UE temperature management (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Ali to the system of Wakafuji in order to provide UE temperature management.
With respect to claim 14, Wakafuji teaches wherein the at least one temperature prediction parameter comprises a parameter indicating a non-linearity associated with one or more amplifiers of the one or more transmit chains (paragraph 0075; 0123 disclose the non-linear characteristic of the amplifier is changed according to a temperature change. The change prediction unit 104 recognizes prediction of a temperature change before the base station 100 decides signal point arrangement, and thereby is capable of predicting an influence of the non-linear characteristic on a transmission signal).
.
With respect to claim 15, Wakafuji teaches further comprising predicting a temperature associated with the one or more transmit chains based on the at least one temperature prediction parameter, wherein the one or more transmit chains are configured based on the predicted temperature (paragraph 0100 disclose the change prediction unit 104 predicts a change of a non-linear characteristic of the amplifier of the base station 100 during the predetermined period by using data relating to an air temperature during the predetermined period being a prediction target (step S22; non-linear characteristic change prediction step).
With respect to claim 16, Wakafuji discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein configuring the one or more transmit chains comprises at least one of configuring a duty cycle associated with the signal transmission, configuring a bandwidth associated with the signal transmission, configuring a transmission power associated with the signal transmission, or selecting an amplifier to be used for the signal transmission.
However, Ali teaches wherein configuring the one or more transmit chains comprises at least one of configuring a duty cycle associated with the signal transmission, configuring a bandwidth associated with the signal transmission, configuring a transmission power associated with the signal transmission, or selecting an amplifier to be used for the signal transmission (paragraph 0062; 0066; 0073 disclose different configurations such as bandwidth) in order to provide UE temperature management (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Ali to the system of Wakafuji in order to provide UE temperature management.
With respect to claim 17, Wakafuji teaches wherein the waveform is orthogonal with a waveform for communication traffic from the UE (paragraph 0091; 0095 disclose the modulation/demodulation unit 202 executes demodulation processing with respect to a signal being received by the transmission/reception unit 201. Further, the modulation/demodulation unit 202 is also capable of executing modulation processing with respect to a signal that is output from an amplifier of the terminal 200 and is transmitted to the base station 100. In the modulation processing, control of signal point arrangement with respect to a transmission signal may be executed based on signal point arrangement at each piece of timing during the predetermined period being set by the terminal 200).
With respect to claim 18, Wakafuji teaches further comprising receiving an allocation of one or more resources for transmitting the waveform, wherein the waveform is transmitted via the one or more resources (paragraph 0091; 0095 disclose the modulation/demodulation unit 202 executes demodulation processing with respect to a signal being received by the transmission/reception unit 201. Further, the modulation/demodulation unit 202 is also capable of executing modulation processing with respect to a signal that is output from an amplifier of the terminal 200 and is transmitted to the base station 100. In the modulation processing, control of signal point arrangement with respect to a transmission signal may be executed based on signal point arrangement at each piece of timing during the predetermined period being set by the terminal 200).
With respect to claim 19, Wakafuji teaches wherein detecting the at least one temperature prediction parameter comprises solving one or more non-linear equations to identify a non-linearity associated with the one or more transmit chains using a trained machine learning model (paragraph 0036-0037 disclose the setting unit 12 may use an AI model being performed learning in advance in such a way as to specify timing by using a temperature. The learning is performed by inputting, to the AI model, training data including the data relating to the temperature in the past as a sample and information (a correct answer label) indicating timing at which the signal point arrangement is to be switched being associated with the data relating to the temperature. After the AI model is performed learning by using the training data, the setting unit 12 inputs the data relating to the temperature during the predetermined period being a prediction target to the AI model).
The limitations of claim 20 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
3. Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakafuji et al (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0429945 A1) in view of Ali et al (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0187883 A1), and further in view of Bourdoux et al (US PATENT No. 12,736,611 B2).
With respect to claim 3, Wakafuji and Ali disclose the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the waveform includes a frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform or an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform.
However, Bourdoux teaches wherein the waveform includes a frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform or an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform (col. 2, lines 62-63 disclose the transmit modulated RF signal can be a single-carrier signal, an OFDM signal, or an FMCW signal) in order to provide radio sensing (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, and further in view of Bourdoux, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Bourdoux to the system of Wakafuji and Ali in order to provide UE temperature management.
With respect to claim 13, Wakafuji and Ali disclose the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the waveform includes a frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform or an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform.
However, Bourdoux teaches wherein the waveform includes a frequency-modulated continuous wave (FMCW) waveform or an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform (col. 2, lines 62-63 disclose the transmit modulated RF signal can be a single-carrier signal, an OFDM signal, or an FMCW signal) in order to provide radio sensing (Abstract). Therefore, based on Wakafuji in view of Ali, and further in view of Bourdoux, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Bourdoux to the system of Wakafuji and Ali in order to provide UE temperature management.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
9/14/2026