DETAILED ACTION
This is the second Office Action regarding application number 18/894,128, filed on 09/24/2024, which claims foreign priority to EP 23199516.8, filed on 09/25/2023.
This action is in response to the Applicant’s Response received 07/20/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-15 are currently pending.
Claim 2 is canceled.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 12, and 15 are amended.
Claim 5 is withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-15 are examined below.
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 112 has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments.
Upon further examination, the Office has set forth a new ground of rejection.
No claim is allowed.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments received 07/20/2026 have been carefully considered but they are moot in light of the Office’s new ground of rejection.
The applicant argues that CORNEILLE does not disclose the local embedding of the wires, but the office action relies on a different reference to teach this features, thus the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 requires unrolling a first roll of electrically insulating material in a second direction y substantially orthogonal to the first direction x. The prior art references reviewed by this examiner only teach or suggest unrolling electrically insulating material in a direction parallel to the first direction. Claims 9-12 depend on claim 8, and are similarly clear of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CORNEILLE (US 2017/0373204 A1) in view of HASHIMOTO (US 2020/0212233 A1) and SHUFFLEBOTHAM (US 2012/0103383 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CORNEILLE teaches an assembly for electrically contacting and electrically connecting photovoltaic cells, the assembly comprising:
a first part comprising a first electrically insulating foil (24);
a second part comprising a second electrically insulating foil (26),
wherein the first electrically insulating foil and the second electrically insulating foil are arranged relative to each other in respective positions that are laterally shifted in a first direction x (see wires organized in direction “cd” in Fig. 2A); and
a wire arrangement consisting of plurality of electrically conductive wire portions arranged substantially parallel to each other in a wire direction w, and substantially extending over the first electrically insulating foil and over the second electrically insulating foil in the first direction x (see wires organized in direction “cd” in Fig. 2A),
wherein the plurality of electrically conductive wires is arranged on a first foil surface of the first electrically insulating foil and further on a second foil surface of the second electrically insulating foil, the first foil surface and the second foil surface being located at opposite sides of the assembly (see Fig. 2C, opposite sides on the solar cells),
wherein the plurality of electrically conductive wires is locally attached to the first electrically insulating foil and to the second electrically insulating foil at predetermined attachment locations without penetrating therethrough (see the zoomed in portion of Fig. 2C where the wires 24 are embedded within the insulating foils 22 without penetrating “therethrough”; “wire 24 and sheet 22 … attached together” para. 84; the “predetermined attachment locations” are throughout),
wherein at least part of the plurality of electrically conductive wires comprises at least one bend of curvature in a non-parallel direction with respect to a surface of the assembly at predetermined bend locations (please see Fig. 2C illustrating at least one bend of curvature upwards from a lower surface of a left solar cell to an upper surface of a right solar cell, non-parallel to an assembly surface), and
wherein at least part of the plurality of electrically conductive wires is locally embedded in the first electrically insulating foil and/or in the second electrically insulating foil at the predetermined bend locations (sheet 22 clearly surrounds around the conductive wire portions 24 as illustrated from the top-down and cross-section images below).
CORNEILLE discloses a single continuous wire, which comprises a plurality of substantially linear portions. CORNEILLE does not disclose expressly a plurality of electrically conductive wires separated from each other.
HASHIMOTO teaches a wire arrangement consisting of a plurality of electrically conductive wires arranged substantially parallel (Figs. 3 and 5).
SHUFFLEBOTHAM teaches a method for fabricating a solar panel where heat is applied to locally attach together interconnect wires to the associated insulating portions (pressing machine 80 is used to attach wires 60 with thermoplastic and electrode of solar cell, Figs. 7a-7c).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify CORNEILLE and substitute the continuous wire shape for discrete wire pieces taught by HASHIMOTO because this is only a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, as both single continuous wires and multiple discrete wires are well-known options for interconnecting together a string of solar cells. MPEP 2143(I).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify CORNEILLE and use a heat application process for attachment as taught by SHUFFLEBOTHAM because a pressing machine is a well-known tool used for attachment and is often employed with entirely expected and unsurprising results for solar panel manufacturing. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, modified CORNEILLE teaches the assembly for electrically contacting and electrically connecting photovoltaic cells according to claim 1 wherein at least part of the plurality of electrically conductive wires is locally embedded in the first electrically insulating foil and/or in the second electrically insulating foil at predetermined bend locations (bending portions 24S and 24C connection portion; see the zoomed in portion of Fig. 2C where the wires 24 are embedded within the insulating foils 22 without penetrating “therethrough”; “wire 24 and sheet 22 … attached together” para. 84; the “predetermined attachment locations” are throughout).
Regarding claim 3, modified CORNEILLE teaches the assembly for electrically contacting and electrically connecting photovoltaic cells according to claim 1, wherein at least part of the predetermined attachment locations is shifted with respect to each other in the first direction x between respective electrically conductive wires (see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 4, modified CORNEILLE teaches the assembly for electrically contacting and electrically connecting photovoltaic cells according to claim 1, wherein the first electrically insulating foil and the second electrically insulating foil are arranged next to each other, with a predetermined gap there in between in the first direction x (please see how 24 and 26 are arranged next to each other with a gap between solar cells).
Regarding claim 6, modified CORNEILLE teaches a method for fabricating an assembly for electrically contacting and electrically connecting photovoltaic cells, the method comprising:
providing a first electrically insulating foil (24);
providing a second electrically insulating foil (26);
arranging the first electrically insulating foil and the second electrically insulating foil relative to each other in respective positions that are laterally shifted in a first direction x (see wires organized in direction “cd” in Fig. 2A); and
providing a plurality of electrically conductive wires substantially parallel to each other in a wire direction w, such that the plurality of electrically conductive wires substantially extends over the first electrically insulating foil and over the second electrically insulating foil in the first direction x (see wires organized in direction “cd” in Fig. 2A),
wherein the plurality of electrically conductive wires is arranged over a first foil surface of the first electrically insulating foil and further over a second foil surface of the second electrically insulating foil, the first foil surface and the second foil surface being located at opposite sides of the assembly (see Fig. 2C, opposite sides on the solar cells), and
locally attaching the plurality of electrically conductive wires to the first electrically insulating foil and to the second electrically insulating foil at predetermined locations without penetrating therethrough (see the zoomed in portion of Fig. 2C where the wires 24 are embedded within the insulating foils 22 without penetrating “therethrough”; “wire 24 and sheet 22 … attached together” para. 84; the “predetermined attachment locations” are throughout).
CORNEILLE discloses a single continuous wire, which comprises a plurality of substantially linear portions. CORNEILLE does not disclose expressly a plurality of electrically conductive wires separated from each other.
HASHIMOTO teaches a wire arrangement consisting of a plurality of electrically conductive wires arranged substantially parallel (Figs. 3 and 5).
SHUFFLEBOTHAM teaches a method for fabricating a solar panel where heat is applied to locally attach together interconnect wires to the associated insulating portions (pressing machine 80 is used to attach wires 60 with thermoplastic and electrode of solar cell, Figs. 7a-7c).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify CORNEILLE and substitute the continuous wire shape for discrete wire pieces taught by HASHIMOTO because this is only a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, as both single continuous wires and multiple discrete wires are well-known options for interconnecting together a string of solar cells. MPEP 2143(I).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify CORNEILLE and use a heat application process for attachment as taught by SHUFFLEBOTHAM because a pressing machine is a well-known tool used for attachment and is often employed with entirely expected and unsurprising results for solar panel manufacturing. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 7, modified CORNEILLE teaches the method for fabricating an assembly for electrically contacting and electrically connecting photovoltaic cells according to claim 6, but does not disclose expressly that locally attaching the plurality of electrically conductive wires to the first electrically insulating foil and to the second electrically insulating foil comprises local heating of the plurality of electrically conductive wires at the predetermined locations.
SHUFFLEBOTHAM teaches a method for fabricating a solar panel where heat is applied to locally attach together interconnect wires to the associated insulating portions (pressing machine 80 is used to attach wires 60 with thermoplastic and electrode of solar cell, Figs. 7a-7c).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify CORNEILLE and use a heat application process for attachment as taught by SHUFFLEBOTHAM because a pressing machine is a well-known tool used for attachment and is often employed with entirely expected and unsurprising results for solar panel manufacturing. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 13, modified CORNEILLE teaches the photovoltaic device comprising an assembly according to claim 1 (photovoltaic device is formed).
Regarding claim 14, modified CORNEILLE teaches a method for electrically connecting a first photovoltaic cell comprising a plurality of first metal contacts at a first cell surface to a second photovoltaic cell comprising a plurality of second metal contacts at a second cell surface by means of a first assembly according to claim 1, the method comprising (see rejection of claim 1 and 6 above; asserting that all method steps are taught by CORNEILLE):
providing the first assembly (Fig. 2C);
positioning the first photovoltaic cell on the first foil surface of the first electrically insulating foil of the first assembly, with at least one first metal contact of the first photovoltaic cell in physical contact with at least one electrically conductive wire of the first assembly (Fig. 2C);
positioning the second photovoltaic cell on the second foil surface of the second electrically insulating foil of the first assembly, with at least one second metal contact of the second photovoltaic cell in physical contact with at least one electrically conductive wire of the first assembly (Fig. 2C);
wherein at least one electrically conductive wire of the first assembly is a common wire, being in physical contact with both a first metal contact of the first photovoltaic cell and with a second metal contact of the second photovoltaic cell (Fig. 2C); and
establishing an electrical connection between the at least one first metal contact of the first photovoltaic cell and the at least one electrically conductive wire in physical contact therewith and establishing an electrical connection between the at least one second metal contact of the second photovoltaic cell and the at least one electrically conductive wire in physical contact therewith (Fig. 2C),
thereby establishing an electrical connection between the first photovoltaic cell and the second photovoltaic cell through the at least one common wire of the first assembly (Fig. 2C).
CORNEILLE does not describe expressly performing a heating process.
SHUFFLEBOTHAM teaches a method for fabricating a solar panel where heat is applied to locally attach together interconnect wires to the associated insulating portions (pressing machine 80 is used to attach wires 60 with thermoplastic and electrode of solar cell, Figs. 7a-7c).
Skilled artisans would have found it obvious to modify CORNEILLE and use a heat application process for attachment as taught by SHUFFLEBOTHAM because a pressing machine is a well-known tool used for attachment and is often employed with entirely expected and unsurprising results for solar panel manufacturing. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 15, modified CORNEILLE teaches a method for fabricating a photovoltaic device comprising a plurality of photovoltaic cells, the method comprising:
electrically connecting a first photovoltaic cell comprising a plurality of first metal contacts at a first cell surface to a second photovoltaic cell comprising a plurality of second metal contacts at a second cell surface by means of a first assembly using a method according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above),
wherein the second photovoltaic cell further comprises a plurality of first metal contacts at a first cell surface of the second photovoltaic cell; and electrically connecting the second photovoltaic cell to a third photovoltaic cell comprising a plurality of second metal contacts at a second cell surface by means of a second assembly (CORNEILLE, Fig. 2C illustrates how the multiple solar cells and respective surfaces are arranged and attached to produce a fully functional photovoltaic panel).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). The Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ANGELO TRIVISONNO/
Primary Examiner