DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “angle adjustment component” in Claims 10-11 which uses the generic placeholder “component” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations:
The “angle adjustment component” in Claims 10-11 corresponds to the disclosure in Paragraph 0106 of the Specification which states, “the angle adjustment component 19 may be a hinged support leg as shown in FIG. 8 or may be another component that can implement a support function, which is not limited in the present application.”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “angle adjustment component” in Claims 10-11 to be a hinge and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 12-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN-212028120-U to Lu et al. (“Lu”).
As to Claim 1, Lu discloses a misting fan (See Fig. 1), comprising:
a fan assembly (#18) comprising fan blades (See BL in Annotated Fig. 1) and a first electric motor for driving the fan blades to rotate (See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 2disclosing that the fan activates via a switch therefore some electric motor drives the fan blades to rotate);
a body (See BO in Annotated Fig. 1) formed with a first frame for supporting the fan assembly (See F1 in Annotated Fig. 1) and formed with a first accommodation cavity disposed around the fan assembly for water storage (See C1 in Annotated Fig. 2. See Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 1 disclosing that #13 is a water storage cavity) wherein, in a circumferential direction, an angle of the first accommodation cavity around the fan assembly is greater than or equal to 180° (See Annotated Fig. 2, C1 substantially surrounds the fan assembly);
a nozzle disposed on the fan assembly and/or the body (See a nozzle made up of #16 and including multiple outlets at #17 disposed on #14 of the body in Fig. 2); and
a pump component (#12) for pumping water in the first accommodation cavity to the nozzle (See Machine Translation of Description Page 2 Paragraph 2 disclosing that #12 is a MINI-120 micro water pump).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above, Lu further discloses wherein, in the circumferential direction, the angle of the first accommodation cavity around the fan assembly is equal to 360° (See Annotated Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, the first accommodation cavity C1 substantially surrounds the fan assembly such that the angle of the first accommodation cavity around the fan assembly is equal to 360°), and the first accommodation cavity encircles the fan assembly so that the fan assembly is supported by a second frame of a housing of the first accommodation cavity (See F2 in Annotated Fig. 1).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above, Lu further discloses wherein the nozzle is disposed on a housing of the first accommodation cavity (See #14 in Fig. 2 and See Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 1).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 2 above, Lu further discloses wherein the nozzle is detachable (See Figs. 2-3 and See Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 1. The nozzle is configured such that it is capable of being detached from the misting fan by removing #16 from the misting fan).
As to Claim 5, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 2 above, Lu further discloses wherein the housing of the first accommodation cavity further comprises a nozzle receiving groove matching the nozzle (See #14 in Fig. 2 and See Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 1), and, when the nozzle has no need to spray water, the nozzle is received in the nozzle receiving groove and does not protrude from an outer surface of the body (See Figs. 2-3 and Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 1. The nozzle is always received in #14 and does not protrude outwardly from the outer external surfaces of the body and is only within internal surfaces of the body).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above, Lu further discloses wherein the body is further provided with a water filling port (#20) through which water is injected into the first accommodation cavity (See Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 1).
As to Claim 12, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above, Lu further discloses the misting fan comprising a battery assembly (#4) comprising a battery pack for powering the first electric motor (See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 2), wherein the battery pack is detachably connected to the body (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 3 disclosing that the battery is fixed by resin glue, therefore the battery pack is capable of being detached from the body if the retaining force of the resin glue is overcome).
As to Claim 13, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 12 above, Lu further discloses wherein the body is further formed with a second accommodation cavity (See C2A in Annotated Fig. 2), and the battery assembly is disposed in the second accommodation cavity (See Annotated Fig. 2).
As to Claim 16, Lu discloses a misting fan (See Figs. 1-2), comprising:
a fan assembly (#18) comprising fan blades (See BL in Annotated Fig. 1) and a first electric motor for driving the fan blades to rotate (See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 2disclosing that the fan activates via a switch therefore some electric motor drives the fan blades to rotate);
a body (See BO in Annotated Fig. 1) formed with a frame for supporting the fan assembly (See F1 in Annotated Fig. 1) and formed with a first accommodation cavity disposed around the fan assembly for water storage (See C1 in Annotated Fig. 2. See Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraph 1 disclosing that #13 is a water storage cavity) wherein the first accommodation cavity is disposed around the fan assembly (See Fig. 1), and a volume of the first accommodation cavity is less than or equal to 20 L (See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraphs 2-3 disclosing that the misting fan is a handheld fan, therefore the volume of C1 must be some volume that is less than 20 Liters);
a nozzle disposed on the fan assembly and/or the body (See a nozzle made up of #16 and including multiple outlets at #17 disposed on #14 of the body in Fig. 2); and
a pump component (#12) for pumping water in the first accommodation cavity to the nozzle (See Machine Translation of Description Page 2 Paragraph 2 disclosing that #12 is a MINI-120 micro water pump).
As to Claim 17, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 16 above, Lu further discloses the misting fan comprising a water inlet pipe (See WIP in Annotated Fig. 2), wherein one end of the water inlet pipe is connected to the first accommodation cavity to acquire water from the first accommodation cavity (See Annotated Fig. 2), and another end of the water inlet pipe is connected to the pump component to receive the water acquired from the first accommodation cavity (See Annotated Fig. 2).
As to Claim 18, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 16 above, Lu further discloses the misting fan comprising a water outlet pipe (See WOP in Annotated Fig. 2), wherein one end of the water outlet pipe is connected to the pump component to acquire water from the pump component (See Annotated Fig. 2), and another end of the water outlet pipe is connected to the nozzle to provide the water for the nozzle (See Annotated Fig. 2).
As to Claim 19, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 16 above, Lu further discloses the misting fan comprising a second electric motor for driving the pump component to operate, wherein the second electric motor is configured to drive the pump component to pump the water in the first accommodation cavity to the nozzle (See Annotated Fig. 2 and See Machine Translation of Description Page 2 Paragraph 2 disclosing that #12 is a MINI-120 micro water pump, therefore #12 has an electric motor in it that drives #12 to pump water from C1 to #16).
As to Claim 20, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 16 above, Lu further discloses wherein the body is further formed with a second accommodation cavity, and the pump component is disposed in the second accommodation cavity (See C2B in Annotated Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of CN-219550726-U to Chen et al. (“Chen”).
Regarding Claim 7, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above, Lu does not specifically disclose wherein the first accommodation cavity is made of a light-transmissive material and the first accommodation cavity is configured to display a water storage capacity of the misting fan.
However, Chen discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fluid spraying, a misting fan (See Fig. 1) comprising a first accommodation cavity (#300) that is made of a light-transmissive material (See Machine Translation of Description Page 8 Paragraph 4) and wherein the first accommodation cavity is configured to display a water storage capacity of the misting fan (See Machine Translation of Description Page 8 Paragraph 5 disclosing light #600 applying to #300 which is made of a transparent material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above to include the light #600 of Chen and such that the first accommodation cavity is made of a light-transmissive material and the first accommodation cavity is configured to display a water storage capacity of the misting fan, since doing so would yield the predictable result of meeting a user’s lighting needs and improving aesthetics of the misting fan (See Chen Machine Translation of Description Page 8 Paragraphs 4-5).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the misting fan of Lu in view of Chen as applied to Claim 7 above, Lu as modified by Chen further discloses wherein the first accommodation cavity is further configured to scatter a light source to provide regional lighting for a region where the misting fan is located (See Chen Machine Translation of Description Page 8 Paragraphs 4-5).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the misting fan of Lu in view of Chen as applied to Claim 8 above, Lu as modified by Chen further discloses wherein a light-emitting device is disposed at a connection between a housing of the first accommodation cavity and the fan assembly, and the light-emitting device provides, through the first accommodation cavity, the regional lighting for the region where the misting fan is located (See #600 of Chen in Fig. 6 and See Chen Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 4-5).
Regarding Claim 15, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above, Lu does not specifically disclose wherein left and right side surfaces of the first accommodation cavity are two planes parallel to each other, and the left and right side surfaces enable the misting fan to be clamped and fixed between a windowsill and a window (See Fig. 2, the sides #10 are not parallel to each other).
However, Chen discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fluid spraying, a misting fan wherein left and right side surfaces of a first accommodation cavity are two planes parallel to each other, and the left and right side surfaces enable the misting fan to be clamped and fixed between a windowsill and a window (See Machine Translation of Description Page 4 Paragraph 6 disclosing that #120 can be rectangular and #300 can be square. If #300 is square then it will have to parallel planes on left and right sides such that the misting fan is capable of being clamped and fixed between a windowsill and a window).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above such that left and right side surfaces of the first accommodation cavity are two planes parallel to each other, so that the left and right side surfaces enable the misting fan to be clamped and fixed between a windowsill and a window, since doing so would yield the predictable result of having a misting fan having a known shape configuration that can be supported on various sides.
Claims 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of US PGPUB 2005/0006497 A1 to Polak (“Polak”).
Regarding Claim 10, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above, Lu does not specifically disclose the misting fan comprising an angle adjustment component, wherein the angle adjustment component is disposed on a housing of the first accommodation cavity and configured to adjust an angle at which the misting fan operates.
However, Polak discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fluid spraying, a misting fan (See Fig. 1) comprising an angle adjustment component (#9), wherein the angle adjustment component is disposed on a housing of a first accommodation cavity (#8) and is configured to adjust an angle at which the misting fan operates (See Paragraph 0117).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above such that the misting fan comprises the angle adjustment component of Polak disposed on a housing of the first accommodation cavity and configured to adjust an angle at which the misting fan operates, since doing so would yield the predictable result of allowing a direction of a stream of misted fluid to be adjusted depending on a target being sprayed (See Polak Paragraph 0117 and Figs. 2A-2B).
As to Claim 11, in reference to the misting fan of Lu in view of Polak as applied to Claim 10 above, Polak further discloses wherein the angle adjustment component enables the misting fan to operate at an angle greater than or equal to 0° and less than or equal to 90° (See Fig. 2A showing an angle in the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 14, in reference to the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above, Lu does not specifically disclose wherein the fan assembly further comprises a fan with a diameter greater than or equal to 5 inches and less than or equal to 20 inches.
However, Polak discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fluid spraying, a misting fan (See Fig. 1) comprising a fan assembly (#12) having a fan with a diameter greater than or equal to 5 inches and less than or equal to 20 inches (See Paragraph 0157 disclosing a fan having blades with a diameter of 50 cm, which is less than 20 inches and greater than 5 inches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the misting fan of Lu as applied to Claim 1 above such that the fan assembly further comprises a fan with a diameter greater than or equal to 5 inches and less than or equal to 20 inches, since doing so would yield the predictable result of producing mist with an air stream having a desired size and speed (See Polak Paragraph 0157).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 July 13, 2026