DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guenther et al. (DE 19812091, machine translation referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 1: Guenther teaches a method of cleaning an HVAC coil unit located above a drain basin, said method comprising steps of:
providing a supply and collection assembly having a reservoir containing liquid cleaning solution (Fig. 1, water tank [0004]), a pump (Fig. 1, lower left) operative to output the liquid cleaning solution through a supply outlet, and a vacuum source (Fig. 1, upper left) operative to draw in used liquid cleaning solution through a collection inlet;
providing a nozzle device ((Fig, 2(a) or (b)) in fluid communication with the supply outlet, said nozzle device having a delivery face having a substantially planar surface for juxtaposition on a surface of the HVAC coil unit, a plurality of apertures being defined in said delivery face for passage of the cleaning solution;
providing a fluid return tool (Fig. 1, upper hose) in fluid communication with the collection inlet, and positioning the fluid return tool in the drain basin [0006];
providing a filter assembly between the fluid return tool and the collection inlet in the fluid return path (Fig. 1, [0006]); and
moving the delivery face of the nozzle device across the surface of the HVAC coil unit to deliver the cleaning solution into areas between fins thereof [0008].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther et al. (DE 19812091) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3: Guenther teaches the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above. Guenther teaches moving the delivery face of the nozzle, but is silent as to moving the face across successive horizontal courses of the surface of the HVAC unit from top to bottom. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Guenther by moving the delivery face in horizontal courses from top to bottom in order to provide an efficient cleaning over the entire surface of the HVAC unit.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther et al. (DE 19812091) as applied above, and further in view of Turner (WO 2007/063452).
Regarding Claim 4: Guenther teaches the elements of Claim 1, as described above. Guenther teaches a filter assembly, but Guenther does not expressly disclose the filter assembly comprises a hydrocyclonic filter. However, Turner teaches a scavenging cleaning system comprising a hydrocyclonic filter assembly along return piping to filter the returning fluid (Fig. 1, element 80; pg. 16, ll. 9-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the hydrocyclonic filter of Turner with the filter in the apparatus of Guenther with a reasonable expectation of efficiently filtering the returning fluid, as taught by Turner.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther et al. (DE 19812091) and Turner (WO 2007/063452) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Jackson (US 2002/0170704).
Regarding Claim 5: Guenther and Turner teach the elements of Claim 4, as discussed above. Guenther is silent as to a flush valve. However, Jackson teaches it is well known to provide a flush valve (Fig. 2, element 40) in communication with a collection container of a filter and operative to open and close so as to empty the collection chamber [0055-56]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Guenther with a flush valve in order to empty the collection chamber. Although not expressly disclosed by Jackson, it would have been further obvious to operate control circuitry as claimed in order to control the opening and closing the valve for evacuating the filter.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther et al. (DE 19812091) as applied above, and further in view of Kipp (US 2015/0129171).
Regarding Claim 6: Guenther teaches the elements of Claims 1 and 13, as described above, but do not expressly disclose introducing compressed air. However, Kipp teaches a cleaning apparatus for a heat exchanger wherein an air supply piping is configured to introduce compressed air into the cleaning solution in order to enhance the cleaning effect [0011, 0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Guenther by introducing compressed air in order to enhance the cleaning effect, as suggested by Kipp.
Regarding Claim 7: The prior art teach the elements of Claim 6, as described above. Kipp further teaches a controlled valve in the air supply piping operative to pulsate introduction of the air at a predetermined frequency [0012]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guenther by pulsating introduction of the compressed air at a predetermined frequency to enhance the cleaning effect.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther et al. (DE 19812091) and Kipp (US 2015/0129171) as applied to Claim 7 above, abnd further in view of Munoz et al. (US 9,233,404).
Regarding Claim 8: Guenther and Kipp teach the elements of Claim 7 as discussed above, but do not expressly disclose the range of the pulsing frequency. However, Munoz teaches the frequency of such pulses may range between 3-6 per second, and that such pulsing action of fluids increases the cleaning ability (col. 4, ll. 34-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Guenther to provide pulsation within the claimed range in order to enhance the cleaning efficiency, as taught by Munoz.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther et al. (DE 19812091) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Balas et al. (US 2012/0260948).
Regarding Claim 9: Guenther teaches the elements of Claim 1, as discussed above but does not expressly disclose the upper and lower level switches. However, Balas teaches a cleaning method with a system recovery and supply tank, wherein upper (Fig. 1, element 180) and lower (element 190) level switches in the interior space of a reservoir (element 105) are operated to detect the level of cleaning solution therein [0015]. Balas further teaches that the upper level switch is operative to cut off power to the pump if a threshold upper level of the cleaning solution is reached [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Guenther by operating level switches within the reservoir and cutting off power to the pump when a threshold upper level is reached, as in Balas, in order to control pump operation and fluid flow.
Regarding Claim 10: The prior art teaches the elements of Claim 8, as discussed above, but does not expressly disclose the upper and lower level switches. However, Balas teaches a cleaning method with a system recovery and supply tank, wherein upper (Fig. 1, element 180) and lower (element 190) level switches in the interior space of a reservoir (element 105) are operated to detect the level of cleaning solution therein [0015]. Balas further teaches that the lower level switch is operative to open a liquid port if a threshold lower level of the cleaning solution is reached [0033]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Guenther by operating level switches within the reservoir and opening a fresh water supply port if a threshold lower level is reached, as suggested by Bala, in order to allow cleaning to continue efficiently.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guenther et al. (DE 19812091) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ellenbecker (US 2010/0025497).
Regarding Claim 11: Guenther teaches the elements of Claim 1, as described above, but does not expressly disclose the angle range as claimed. However, Ellenbecker teaches a cleaning device wherein orifices on a cleaning head are angled to achieve maximum coverage of the surface to be cleaned (Fig. 1, [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Guenther by providing a nozzle device having angled apertures within the claimed range in order to provide greater surface coverage of the cleaning solution on the surface to be cleaned, as suggested by Ellenbecker.
Regarding Claim 12: Guenther and Ellenbecker teach the elements of Claim 11 as discussed above. Ellenbecker does not expressly disclose the predetermined angle range as claimed. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aperture angle to within the claimed range in order to enhance the surface coverage of the cleaning fluid across the HVAC surface.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,807 in view of Guenther et al. (DE 19812091).
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 12: Claims 12-14 of US 11,788,807 recite the method of cleaning the HVAC coil unit as instant claims 1, 11, and 12, except for providing a filter assembly between the fluid return tool and the collection inlet in the fluid return path. However, providing a filter is taught by Guenther for the purpose of processing the cleaning fluid before reuse [0006]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claim by reciting the limitation of providing the filter in order to process the cleaning fluid before reuse, as taught by Guenther.
Conclusion
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714