DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on September 24, 2024. Claims 1-28 have been canceled and Claims 29-40 are pending. Of such, claims 29-34 represent a device, claims 35-39 represent a method, and claim 40 represents a non-transitory computer program product directed to network function messaging.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because
The abstract contains acronyms that must be expanded upon (i.e. SEPP and TLS).
The abstract contains a label for “Fig. 1” and should be removed.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The label “Fig. 3” represents two different figures on separate pages.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 32 discloses the term “wherein:” should be corrected to “wherein”
Claim 32 discloses the term “the-application” should be corrected to “the application”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 29-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12206774.
Presently Presented 18894179 - Claim 29
US 12206774 - Claim 1
A first security edge proxy serving a first network function, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first security edge proxy at least to:
An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
form a transport layer security protected first control plane connection between a first security edge proxy and a second security edge proxy so that the first security edge proxy is a transport layer security client and the second security edge proxy is a transport layer security server for the first control plane connection;
form a transport layer security protected first control plane connection between a first security edge proxy and a second security edge proxy so that the first security edge proxy is a transport layer security client and the second security edge proxy is a transport layer security server for the first control plane connection;
and form a transport layer security protected second control plane connection between the first security edge proxy and the second security edge proxy so that the first security edge proxy is a transport layer security server and the second security edge proxy is a transport layer security client for the second control plane connection;
and form a transport layer security protected second control plane connection between the first security edge proxy and the second security edge proxy so that the first security edge proxy is a transport layer security server and the second security edge proxy is a transport layer security client for the second control plane connection;
derive an N32-f context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection, wherein the context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection identifies a different security context;
form a first unique identifier representing a logical connection context information for message protection on a first logical connection that is associated with the first control plane connection; and form a second unique identifier representing a logical connection context information for message protection on a second logical connection that is associated with the second control plane connection, derive an N32-f context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection, wherein the context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection
derive a pair of session keys and an initialization vector randomizer for each first of the first security edge proxy and the second security edge proxy to use to set up the first logical connection and the second logical connection to send protected API messages across an N32 interface,
identifies a different security context derive a pair of session keys and an initialization vector randomizer for each first of the first security edge proxy and the second security edge proxy to use to set up the first logical connection and the second logical connection to send protected API messages across an N32 interface,
wherein the pair of session keys and the initialization vector are derived using one N32- f Master key and the N32-f context identification derived for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection;
wherein the pair of session keys and the initialization vector are derived using one N32- f Master key and the N32-f context identification derived for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection;
wherein the first control plane connection is an N32-c connection;
wherein the first control plane connection is an N32-c connection;
wherein the second control plane connection is an N32-c connection;
wherein the second control plane connection is an N32-c connection;
wherein the first logical connection is an N32-f connection;
wherein the first logical connection is an N32-f connection;
wherein the second logical connection is an N32-f connection;
wherein the second logical connection is an N32-f connection;
wherein the first logical connection is protected by application layer security
wherein the first logical connection is protected by application layer security;
wherein the second logical connection is protected by application layer security
wherein the second logical connection is protected by application layer security;
and wherein the first and second logical connections are for inter-network data exchange between a first network function of a first network and a second network function of a second network.
and wherein the first and second logical connections are for inter-network data exchange between a first network function of a first network and a second network function of a second network.
Independent Claims 35 and 40 would follow the same mapping as Claim 29.
Dependent Claim Mapping:
Claims 30, 37
Claim 2
Claim 31, 38
Claim 3
Claim 32, 36
Claim 4
Claim 33
Claim 5
Claim 34
Claim 6
Claim 39
Claim 11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-34 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 29 and 40 recites the limitation "a first network function" in line 30 of the claim and it is unclear if it is the same as “a network function” on line 1 of the claim.
Claim 32 recites the limitation “cause the apparatus”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 30-31 and 33-34 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated over ETSI (NPL ETSI TS 133 501 V15.1.0 – Change Request 33.501), hereinafter referred to as ETSI.
Regarding Claim 35, ETSI discloses:
A method, comprising: performing by a security edge proxy (on page 7, section 13.2.x, ETSI discloses “secure communication between service-consuming and a service-producing NFs in different PLMNs. Security is enabled by the Security Edge Protection Proxies of both networks, henceforth called cSEPP and pSEPP respectively. The SEPPs enforce protection policies regarding application layer security thereby ensuring integrity and confidentiality protection for those elements to be protected.” See figure 13.2.x-1): forming a transport layer security, protected first control plane connection between a first security edge proxy and a second security edge proxy so that the first security edge proxy is a transport layer security client and the second security edge proxy is a transport layer security server for the first control plane connection (In section 13.2.y.1, ETSI further discloses “When the SEPPs have mutually authenticated each other and when the negotiated the security mechanism to use over N32 is Application Layer Security, the SEPPs use the established TLS connection (N32-c connection) to negotiate the N32 specific associated security configuration parameters.” And in section 13.2.y.2, ETSI further discloses “The SEPP which initiated the TLS connection sends a Parameter Exchange Request message to the responding SEPP including the initiating SEPP’s supported cipher suites.”); and forming a transport layer security protected second control plane connection between the first security edge proxy and the second security edge proxy so that the first security edge proxy is a transport layer security server and the second security edge proxy is a transport layer security client server for the second control plane connection (In section 13.2.y.1, ETSI further discloses “When the SEPPs have mutually authenticated each other and when the negotiated the security mechanism to use over N32 is Application Layer Security, the SEPPs use the established TLS connection (N32-c connection) to negotiate the N32 specific associated security configuration parameters.” And in section 13.2.a.4.1, ETSI further discloses “The keys derived with labels starting parallel are to be used for request/responses in an HTTP session with the N32-c initiating SEPP acting as the client (i.e. in parallel to the N32-c connection).”); derive a context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection, wherein the context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection identifies a different security context (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “The SEPP which initiated the TLS connection sends a Parameter Exchange Request message to the responding SEPP including the initiating SEPP’s supported cipher suites. The cipher suites are ordered in initiating SEPP’s priority order. The SEPP provides a N32-f precontext ID for the responding SEPP. The precontext IDs are 32-bit random integers, represented as 0-left padded strings of hexadecimal digits” and further discloses “The SEPPs create the N32-f context Id as follows: Initiater's N32-f precontext ID | responder's N32-f precontext ID”), derive a pair of session keys and an initialization vector randomizer for each first of the first security edge proxy and the second security edge proxy to use to set up the first logical connection and the second logical connection to send protected API messages across an N32 interface (In section 13.2.y.4.3, ETSI discloses “The N32-c initial handshake establishes session keys, IVs and negotiated cipher suites.”), wherein the pair of session keys and the initialization vector are derived using one N32- f Master key and the N32-f context identification derived for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection (In section 13.2.a.4.1, ETSI discloses “The N32-f key hierarchy is based on the N32-f master key generated during the N32-c initial handshake by TLS key export. Each run of the N32-f key derivation creates two pairs of session keys and IV salts. The two pairs are used in two different HTTP/2 sessions. In one Session the N32-c initiatior acts as the HTTP client and in the second the N32-c responder acts as the client. ”) wherein the first control plane connection is an N32-c connection (In section 13.2.y.1, ETSI further discloses “When the SEPPs have mutually authenticated each other and when the negotiated the security mechanism to use over N32 is Application Layer Security, the SEPPs use the established TLS connection (N32-c connection) to negotiate the N32 specific associated security configuration parameters.” And in section 13.2.y.2, ETSI further discloses “The SEPP which initiated the TLS connection sends a Parameter Exchange Request message to the responding SEPP including the initiating SEPP’s supported cipher suites.”); wherein the second control plane connection is an N32-c connection (In section 13.2.a.4.1, ETSI discloses “The keys derived with labels starting parallel are to be used for request/responses in an HTTP session with the N32-c initiating SEPP acting as the client (i.e. in parallel to the N32-c connection).”) wherein the first logical connection is an N32-f connection (In section 13.2.a.1, ETSI discloses “The SEPP receives the HTTP/2 request/response messages from the Network Function. It performs the following actions on these messages before they are sent on the N32-f interface to the SEPP in the other PLMN:” Note: the request is considered the first logical connection); wherein the second logical connection is an N32-f connection (In section 13.2.a.1, ETSI discloses “The SEPP receives the HTTP/2 request/response messages from the Network Function. It performs the following actions on these messages before they are sent on the N32-f interface to the SEPP in the other PLMN:” Note: the response is considered the first logical connection); protecting the first logical connection by application layer security (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “any further N32-c communication that may occur over time while application layer security is applied to N32-f”); and protecting the second logical connection by application layer security (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “any further N32-c communication that may occur over time while application layer security is applied to N32-f”).
Regarding Claim 36, ETSI discloses::
The method of claim 35, wherein the application layer security employs JSON Web Encryption, JWE. (In section 13.2.a.4, ETSI discloses “Protection of reformatted HTTP messages between SEPPs shall use JSON Web Encryption (JWE) as specified in IETF RFC 7516 [xx].”).
Regarding Claim 37, ETSI discloses::
The method of claim 35, wherein the first network function is an access and mobility function. (In section 13.2.z.3, ETSI discloses “Larger networks can contain multiple NFs with the same API, e.g. three AMFs. The NF API policy applies to all NFs with the same API.”)
Regarding Claim 39, ETSI discloses::
The method of claim 36, further comprising: encrypting, using a first shared secret, first control data for transmission over the first control plane connection (In section 13.2.a.1, ETSI discloses “Encryption of IEs take place end to end between cSEPP and pSEPP.”); and decrypting, using a second shared secret, second control data received over the second control plane connection (in section 13.2.a.7, ETSI discloses “The receiving SEPP shall decrypt the JWE ciphertext using the shared session key and the following parameters obtained from the JWE object – Initialization Vector, Additional Authenticated Data value (clearTextEncapsulatedMessage in “aad”) and JWE Authentication Tag (“tag”).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-34, 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI (NPL ETSI TS 133 501 V15.1.0 – Change Request 33.501), hereinafter referred to as ETSI, in view of He et al. (US 20230007475), hereinafter referred to as He.
Regarding Claim 29, ETSI discloses:
A first security edge proxy serving a first network function, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first security edge proxy at least to (on page 7, section 13.2.x, ETSI discloses “secure communication between service-consuming and a service-producing NFs in different PLMNs. Security is enabled by the Security Edge Protection Proxies of both networks, henceforth called cSEPP and pSEPP respectively. The SEPPs enforce protection policies regarding application layer security thereby ensuring integrity and confidentiality protection for those elements to be protected.” See figure 13.2.x-1): form a transport layer security protected first control plane connection between a first security edge proxy and a second security edge proxy so that the first security edge proxy is a transport layer security client and the second security edge proxy is a transport layer security server for the first control plane connection (In section 13.2.y.1, ETSI further discloses “When the SEPPs have mutually authenticated each other and when the negotiated the security mechanism to use over N32 is Application Layer Security, the SEPPs use the established TLS connection (N32-c connection) to negotiate the N32 specific associated security configuration parameters.” And in section 13.2.y.2, ETSI further discloses “The SEPP which initiated the TLS connection sends a Parameter Exchange Request message to the responding SEPP including the initiating SEPP’s supported cipher suites.”); and form a transport layer security protected second control plane connection between the first security edge proxy and the second security edge proxy so that the first security edge proxy is a transport layer security server and the second security edge proxy is a transport layer security client for the second control plane connection (In section 13.2.y.1, ETSI further discloses “When the SEPPs have mutually authenticated each other and when the negotiated the security mechanism to use over N32 is Application Layer Security, the SEPPs use the established TLS connection (N32-c connection) to negotiate the N32 specific associated security configuration parameters.” And in section 13.2.a.4.1, ETSI further discloses “The keys derived with labels starting parallel are to be used for request/responses in an HTTP session with the N32-c initiating SEPP acting as the client (i.e. in parallel to the N32-c connection).”); derive an N32-f context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection, wherein the context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection identifies a different security context (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “The SEPP which initiated the TLS connection sends a Parameter Exchange Request message to the responding SEPP including the initiating SEPP’s supported cipher suites. The cipher suites are ordered in initiating SEPP’s priority order. The SEPP provides a N32-f precontext ID for the responding SEPP. The precontext IDs are 32-bit random integers, represented as 0-left padded strings of hexadecimal digits” and further discloses “The SEPPs create the N32-f context Id as follows: Initiater's N32-f precontext ID | responder's N32-f precontext ID”); derive a pair of session keys and an initialization vector randomizer for each first of the first security edge proxy and the second security edge proxy to use to set up the first logical connection and the second logical connection to send protected API messages across an N32 interface (In section 13.2.y.4.3, ETSI discloses “The N32-c initial handshake establishes session keys, IVs and negotiated cipher suites.”), wherein the pair of session keys and the initialization vector are derived using one N32- f Master key and the N32-f context identification derived for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection (In section 13.2.a.4.1, ETSI discloses “The N32-f key hierarchy is based on the N32-f master key generated during the N32-c initial handshake by TLS key export. Each run of the N32-f key derivation creates two pairs of session keys and IV salts. The two pairs are used in two different HTTP/2 sessions. In one Session the N32-c initiatior acts as the HTTP client and in the second the N32-c responder acts as the client. ”); wherein the first control plane connection is an N32-c connection (In section 13.2.y.1, ETSI further discloses “When the SEPPs have mutually authenticated each other and when the negotiated the security mechanism to use over N32 is Application Layer Security, the SEPPs use the established TLS connection (N32-c connection) to negotiate the N32 specific associated security configuration parameters.” And in section 13.2.y.2, ETSI further discloses “The SEPP which initiated the TLS connection sends a Parameter Exchange Request message to the responding SEPP including the initiating SEPP’s supported cipher suites.”); wherein the second control plane connection is an N32-c connection (In section 13.2.a.4.1, ETSI discloses “The keys derived with labels starting parallel are to be used for request/responses in an HTTP session with the N32-c initiating SEPP acting as the client (i.e. in parallel to the N32-c connection).”); wherein the first logical connection is an N32-f connection (In section 13.2.a.1, ETSI discloses “The SEPP receives the HTTP/2 request/response messages from the Network Function. It performs the following actions on these messages before they are sent on the N32-f interface to the SEPP in the other PLMN:” Note: the request is considered the first logical connection); wherein the second logical connection is an N32-f connection (In section 13.2.a.1, ETSI discloses “The SEPP receives the HTTP/2 request/response messages from the Network Function. It performs the following actions on these messages before they are sent on the N32-f interface to the SEPP in the other PLMN:” Note: the response is considered the first logical connection); wherein the first logical connection is protected by application layer security (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “any further N32-c communication that may occur over time while application layer security is applied to N32-f”); wherein the second logical connection is protected by application layer security (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “any further N32-c communication that may occur over time while application layer security is applied to N32-f”);
However, ETSI does not explicitly disclose multiple network functions. He discloses:
and wherein the first and second logical connections are for inter-network data exchange between a first network function of a first network and a second network function of a second network. (In ¶ 604, He discloses “Step 1905. If the PLMN ID stored in the N32 interface context corresponding to the SEPP in the first network is the same as the PLMN ID in the N32 interface message, the SEPP in the second network performs other security processing on the N32 interface message to obtain a second message, and sends the second message to a network function entity in the second network, where the second message and the first message include same content.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ETSI’s approach by utilizing He’s approach of using multiple network functions when communicating over n32 as the motivation would have been obvious to allow the expansion of communication between network elements and functions (See He, ¶ 608).
Regarding Claim 30, the combination of ETSI and He disclose:
The first security edge proxy of claim 29, wherein the first network function is an access and mobility function. (In section 13.2.z.3, ETSI discloses “Larger networks can contain multiple NFs with the same API, e.g. three AMFs. The NF API policy applies to all NFs with the same API.”)
Regarding Claim 31, the combination of ETSI and He disclose the limitations of Claim 29.
However, ETSI does not explicitly disclose the access and mobility function.
He discloses:
The first security edge proxy of claim 29, wherein the first network function is an authentication server function. (In ¶ 158, He discloses “The UE, the AMF, and the AUSF complete a bidirectional authentication process based on a process defined in 3GPP 33.501.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ETSI’s approach by utilizing He’s approach of utilize an authentication server function as the motivation would have been obvious to allow the edge device to perform authentication to the home network to establish a secure connection path between the home network and the devices requesting communication (See He, ¶ 592).
Regarding Claim 32, the combination of ETSI and He discloses:
The first security edge proxy of claim 29, wherein the application layer security employs same cipher suites for the first and second logical connections (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “The two SEPPs perform a cipher suite negotiation to agree on a cipher suite to use for protecting NF service related signaling over N32-f.”).
Regarding Claim 33, the combination of ETSI and He discloses:
The first security edge proxy of claim 29, wherein the application layer security employs JSON Web Encryption, JWE. (In section 13.2.a.4, ETSI discloses “Protection of reformatted HTTP messages between SEPPs shall use JSON Web Encryption (JWE) as specified in IETF RFC 7516 [xx].”).
Regarding Claim 34, the combination of ETSI and He discloses:
The first security edge proxy of claim 29, wherein the at least one memory is storing instructions executed by the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to: exchange a different pre-context identification on each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “The SEPP provides a N32-f precontext ID for the responding SEPP.” And further discloses “The responding SEPP provides a N32-f precontext ID for the initiating SEPP.”), and combine the different pre-context identifications to derive the context identification for each of the first control plane connection and the second control plane connection (In section 13.2.y.2, ETSI discloses “The SEPPs create the N32-f context Id as follows: Initiater's N32-f precontext ID | responder's N32-f precontext ID”).
Regarding Claim 38, ETSI the limitations of Claim 35.
However, ETSI does not explicitly disclose the access and mobility function.
He discloses:
The method of claim 35, wherein the first network function is an authentication server function. (In ¶ 158, He discloses “The UE, the AMF, and the AUSF complete a bidirectional authentication process based on a process defined in 3GPP 33.501.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ETSI’s approach by utilizing He’s approach of utilize an authentication server function as the motivation would have been obvious to allow the edge device to perform authentication to the home network to establish a secure connection path between the home network and the devices requesting communication (See He, ¶ 592).
Claim 40 is directed to a non-transitory computer program product having functionality corresponding to the apparatus of Claim 29, and is rejected by a similar rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yau et al. (US 10834571) discloses a package exchange protocol in a 5G network utilizing N32 interfaces.
Hallenstal, Magnus (US 20220240172) discloses a method performed by a first network node for handling network function service requests.
/SHADI H KOBROSLI/Examiner, Art Unit 2492 /RUPAL DHARIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492