DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on 09/29/2023 of JP 2023-169016. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of this application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: please also insert the foreign publication number and date of the parent application cited in the Cross Reference to Related Applications section.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Battrell et al., (“Battrell”, US 2009/0325276).
Regarding Claims 1-3, Battrell discloses a particle separation apparatus that separates a particle from a liquid A including the particle by using a separation device configured to separate the particle from the liquid A, (See paragraph [0061]), the particle separation apparatus comprising: a liquid supply unit A that supplies the liquid A to the separation device, (Chamber 213, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0061]); a liquid supply unit B that supplies a liquid B to the separation device, (Liquid Sample/Blood 201/202, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0059]); and a control unit that controls the liquid supply unit A and the liquid supply unit B, wherein the liquid supply unit A produces a mixed liquid by mixing the liquid A and a liquid C, and supplies the liquid A to the separation device as the mixed liquid, (Buffer 212 mixes with Chamber 213 and is directed into Detection Chamber 207, See Figure 2, See paragraphs [0063] & [0061]), and the control unit controls the liquid supply unit A and the liquid supply unit B to supply the liquid B from the liquid supply unit B to the separation device so as to fill the separation device with the liquid B while producing the mixed liquid by the liquid supply unit A, (Plasma from Source 201 directed to Chamber 206/207, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0059] & [0060]), and supply the liquid A from the liquid supply unit A to the separation device as the mixed liquid after the separation device is filled with the liquid B, (Buffer 212 and Enzyme 213 directed to Chambers 206/207 afterwards, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0060] & [0061]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The particle separation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit performs control to connect the liquid supply unit A to the separation device while supplying the liquid B from the liquid supply unit B to the separation device so as to fill the separation device with the liquid B, (See paragraph [0048], [0133] & [0141], applied to Buffer 212 and Enzyme 213 directed to Chambers 206/207 afterwards, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0060] & [0061] after Plasma from Source 201 directed to Chamber 206/207, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0059] & [0060]).
Claim 3: The particle separation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit performs control to connect the liquid supply unit B to the separation device while producing the mixed liquid by the liquid supply unit A, (See paragraph [0048], [0133] & [0141], applied to Buffer 212 and Enzyme 213 directed to Chambers 206/207 afterwards, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0060] & [0061] after Plasma from Source 201 directed to Chamber 206/207, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0059] & [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battrell et al., (“Battrell”, US 2009/0325276).
Regarding Claim 4, Battrell in the recited embodiment above (Embodiment 1) discloses the particle separation apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the liquid supply unit B is configured to send out a cleaning liquid, and the control unit performs control to send out the cleaning liquid from the liquid supply unit B with the liquid supply unit B being detached from the separation device.
A second feature of Battrell discloses wherein the liquid supply unit B is configured to send out a cleaning liquid, (Lysis Buffer 303 added to Blood Sample in Chamber 302, See Figure 3, See paragraph [0066], Battrell), and the control unit performs control to send out the cleaning liquid from the liquid supply unit B with the liquid supply unit B being disconnected from the separation device, (See paragraph [0068] & [0114], Battrell).
Another feature of Battrell discloses the liquid supply unit B being detached from the separation device, (See paragraph [0137]; closes the sample inlet port from any sample fluid, hence detaching that sample fluid source).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the particle separation apparatus of Battrell by incorporating wherein the liquid supply unit B is configured to send out a cleaning liquid, and the control unit performs control to send out the cleaning liquid from the liquid supply unit B with the liquid supply unit B being detached from the separation device as in these additional features of Battrell for “capturing the medical waste in the device…and…after entry of the sample, flushing the internal surfaces…with lysis buffer substantially reduces the risk of accidental exposure”, (See paragraph [0114], Battrell), which will “transform the microfluidic device into a product that can be safely handled and used”, (See paragraph [0137], Battrell).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779