DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Per amendment dated 8/13/26, claims 1-6 are currently pending in the application.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 8/14/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration dates of Appl. Nos. 18452806, 18450642, 18450491, 18451525, 18453709, 18891549, 18451455 and 18893198 has been reviewed and accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura et al. (WO 2019/187725 A1), optionally in view of Blair (US 5,703,185 A) (references of record).
At the outset, it is noted that the WIPO publication to Imamura is relied upon for date purposes and the US 11,926,753 B2 patent is relied upon herein below as its English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-3, Imamura teaches a fluororesin having a number of functional groups per 106 main-chain carbon atoms at preferably 6 or less, and particularly preferably at 0, in order to obtain superior high-frequency electrical properties (Ab., col. 3, line 16-col. 4 line 6), wherein the number of functional groups may be may be the total number of -CF═CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2, and CH2OH (col. 5, lines 14-67). Thus, Imamura teaches the type of functional groups and the number thereof within the scope of the claimed invention.
Imamura teaches fluororesins comprising units of tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (PAVE), such as tetrafluoroethylene/perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (TFE/PAVE) copolymers having PAVE units preferably ranging from 1.0 to 10% by mass, and tetrafluoroethylene/ hexafluoropropylene/perfluoro (alkyl vinyl ether) (TFE/HFP/PAVE) copolymers, having PAVE units ranging from 0.1 to 25 mass%, with perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) being a preferred species of PAVE for the copolymers (col. 6, line 9-col. 7, line 61), and a melt flow rate (MFR), preferably, of from 0.1-40 g/10 min (per ASTM D1238, at 372oC) (col. 8, lines 43-47). Thus, Iwamura teaches an overlapping range for the amount of perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) and the MFR. In addition, the recitation of the transitional phrase “comprising” in claim 1 is open ended to other unrecited monomer units, e.g., of HFP.
Imamura is silent on a fluororesin having a melt flow rate and an amount of perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) within the claimed ranges and having the claimed number of functional groups, in one single embodiment as claimed.
At the outset, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Given the teaching in Imamura on TFE/PAVE and TFE/HFP/PAVE copolymers comprising PAVE monomer in an amount that overlaps with the claimed range, with perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) disclosed as a preferred PAVE species, the teaching on overlapping MFR range and the number of functional groups in the polymer chains, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for any fluororesin within the scope of Imamura, including those within the scope of the claimed invention.
In the alternative, in a related field of endeavor, the secondary reference to Blair teaches that tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoroethylene/perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) fluoropolymers can be extruded at higher rates than the corresponding copolymers containing perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) (Ab., col. 1, line 65-col. 2, line 19).
Given the teaching in Blair on the advantage of tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene/perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) fluoropolymers over corresponding copolymers containing perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether), the teaching in Imamura on TFE/HFP/PAVE copolymers comprising PAVE monomer in an amount that overlaps with the claimed range, on overlapping MFR range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for TFE/HFP/PAVE copolymers within the scope of Imamura, including those comprising units of TFE, HFP and perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) in an amount within the claimed range, and having a MFR and functional groups within the scope of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Imamura teaches extrusion and transfer molding methods for forming articles (Ab., col. 9, line 55-col. 10, line 10).
Regarding claim 6, Imamura teaches the fluororesin material in the shape of a sheet and film (col. 9-10, bridging paragraph). The limitation “for heat pressing” is an intended use of the sheet. Additionally, a skilled artisan would recognize the disclosed film shaped material to be capable of being used as a protective film or a release film, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al. (US 20050020792 A1), in view of Imamura et al. (WO 2019/187725 A1) (references of record).
Regarding claims 1-3, Aoyama teaches a copolymer (A) and having a melt flow rate (MFR) of 0.1-50 g/10 minutes (at 372oC), wherein said copolymer (A) is a copolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and a perfluorovinylether (PVFE) at 3.5 to 8 mass %, wherein said perfluorovinylethers may be, for e.g., perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) (PPVE) or perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) (Ab., [0029]-[0035], [0045], [0101], ref. claims).
Aoyama further teaches that the copolymer (A) has not more than 50, or not more than 5 unstable terminal groups per 106 carbon atoms, or that unstable terminal groups not necessarily being present, achieved by fluorine gas treatment. Disclosed unstable end groups include -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2, and/or -CH2OH ([0047]-[0058], Table 2).
Aoyama is silent on a fluoropolymer comprising units of perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) in claimed amount, having claimed melt flow rate and claimed groups within the claimed upper limit.
As stated in paragraph 8 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
In a related field of endeavor, the secondary reference to Imamura is drawn to fluororesins. Incorporating the discussion on Imamura from paragraphs 4 and 5 above, the reference teaches fluororesins that overlap in scope with those of Aoyama, having a number of functional groups, per 106 main-chain carbon, preferably at 6 or less and particularly preferably at 0, for providing superior high-frequency electrical properties, wherein the number of functional groups may be the total number of -CF═CF2, -CF2H, -COF, -COOH, -COOCH3, -CONH2, and CH2OH. Imamura further teaches fluorination treatment for providing fluororesins having a number of functional groups within the prescribed range (col. 5, Examples).
Given the teaching in Imamura on advantages of reduced functional groups in fluororesin chains, and the teaching in Aoyama on TFE/PFVE copolymers, perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) as a suitable PFVE monomer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for copolymers comprising perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) units in an overlapping amount and having MFR of overlapping scope, having functional groups in an amount as prescribed by Imamura.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Aoyama teaches the use of copolymer (A) in shaped articles formed by extrusion and transfer molding (Ab., [0065]-[0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Aoyama and Imamura references teach shaped articles in the form of a sheet and a film (Aoyama-[0064]-[0066], Imamura-col. 9-10, bridging paragraph). The limitation “for heat pressing” in the claim is an intended use of the sheet. Additionally, a skilled artisan would recognize the disclosed film shaped material to be capable of being used as a protective film or a release film, absent evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
27. In view of the filing of a terminal disclaimer, the double patenting rejections of record are withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments and the Declaration filed on 8/13/26 have been duly considered.
Referring to the Declaration, to the data in the disclosure and to the advantageous results of the claimed fluorine-containing copolymer disclosed therein, Applicant argues that the primary documents to Imamura and Aoyama are all very broad compared to claim 1, the documents do not disclose regulating the content of PEVE, MFR and the number of functional groups to fall within claimed ranges to provide the advantageous results of the claimed copolymer, the cited primary references teach reasons different from the advantages of the claimed invention and Blair discloses that TFE/HFP/PEVE copolymer resin can be extruded at rates surprisingly higher than possible with corresponding TFE/HFP/PPVE copolymer, but the effects of the claimed invention are unrelated -mold shape conformability and water vapor permeability. Applicant further contends that the primary documents do not disclose examples that fall within the scope of claim 1, and that the comparative Examples of the present disclosure are closer in scope to claim 1 than the closest actual embodiment of the prior art, rendering the comparisons highly probative of nonobvious.
In response, the general disclosure to Imamura teaches TFE/PAVE copolymers having PAVE units preferably ranging from 1.0 to 10% by mass, and TFE/HFP/PAVE copolymers, having PAVE units ranging from 0.1 to 25 mass%, with perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether) being a preferred species of PAVE for the copolymers, and a melt flow rate (MFR), preferably, of from 0.1-40 g/10 min (per ASTM D1238, at 372°C). In addition, the recitation of the transitional phrase "comprising" in claim 1 is open ended to other unrecited monomer units, e.g., of HFP. Disclosed total number of functional groups per 106 main-chain carbon atoms, at preferably 6 or less and particularly preferably at 0. In the alternative rejection, the secondary reference to Blair teaches PEVE as being advantageous in fluoropolymers.
Aoyama teaches a copolymer (A) having a melt flow rate (MFR) of 0.1-50 g/10 minutes (at 372°C), wherein said copolymer (A) comprises tetrafluoroethylene (TFE) and a perfluorovinylether (PVFE) at 3.5 to 8 mass %, wherein said perfluorovinylethers may be, for e.g., perfluoro(ethyl vinyl ether), while the secondary reference to Imamura provides a motivation to limit the functional groups in the main chain to a level within the scope of the claimed invention.
Although the primary documents fail to teach the claimed elements in a single embodiment, it is noted that Examiner has only relied on the cited references for obviousness rejections on the basis that all the primary documents teach the claimed elements in overlapping ranges. Moreover, a teaching contained in a reference's broader disclosure may be relied upon despite not appearing in the reference's examples. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. V. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See MPEP 2123.
Noting that the claim 1 is directed to a copolymer, Examples 1-3 in the disclosure demonstrate one or more superior properties when compared to Comp. Examples 1-6 (Tables 3 and 4). However, the data on record in support of the superior performance is limited, at best, to copolymers with monomer units of TFE and PEVE (5.0-6.0 mass%), with a MFR of 1.0-3.0 g/10 min, and having functional groups of type and amount within the scope of the Examples (at best at <6). It is not clear why this limited data would be considered reasonably representative of claim 1, which is of a much broader scope. In other words, the data on record is not reasonably commensurate in scope with the claim language to overcome the rejections of record.
Conclusion
28. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Satya Sastri at (571) 272 1112. The examiner can be reached Monday-Friday, 9AM-5.30PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Mr. Robert Jones can be reached at (571)-270-7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273 8300.
the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Satya B Sastri/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762