DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,8-14,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Law et al(10139118).
Law et al in figure 1 teaches a modular gas concentrating system comprising:
a first module(air treatment unit 201) comprising a housing having: a system controller(CPU 117), a user interface(38-41 stating “column 10 lines 38-41 stating “the air treatment unit further contains interface ports. The central processing unit of the air treatment unit receives and transmits the message of operation setting through the interface port” ; also column 11 lines 6-9 teaches “the air treatment unit further comprises a selector. The selector is used for appointing the air treatment unit to become a master air treatment unit or a secondary air treatment unit manually”) , and one or more first module power and data ports(protruded part 115; column 8 lines 66-67 column 9 lines 1-3 stating “when the connecting components of the units are being linked together, the keys will be activated. The activated key sends out signal to the central processing units, and informs the central processing units that the connecting components are connected together”) ; a second module(air treatment unit 202) comprising a housing having: a first compressor(column 2 lines 14-42 stating “air treatment units each comprising : an air inlet; an air outlet; … wherein the air treatment device within the air treatment units comprises at least one of … a draw through fan, or a pump”) , a first concentrated gas output capacity (column 2 lines 14-42 stating “wherein the air treatment device within the air treatment units comprises at least one of … components for air purification and filtering”) , and one or more second module power and data ports (protruded part 115); a third module(air treatment unit 203) comprising a housing having: a second compressor(column 2 lines 14-42 stating “air treatment units each comprising : an air inlet; an air outlet; … wherein the air treatment device within the air treatment units comprises at least one of … a draw through fan, or a pump”) , a second concentrated gas output capacity(column 2 lines 14-42 stating “wherein the air treatment device within the air treatment units comprises at least one of … components for air purification and filtering”), and one or more third module power and data ports(protruded part 115); and wherein the first module is connectable to the second module via connection of the one or more first module power and data ports with the second module power and data ports and wherein the first module controls the second module to provide the first concentrated gas output capacity(column 10 lines 55-61 stating “when two or more of the air treatment units are built into an air treatment system, at least one of the air treatment unit is appointed as the master air treatment unit, the rest of the air treatment units are appointed as secondary air treatment units. The central processing unit of the master air treatment unit controls the central processing unit of the secondary air treatment units”) ; and wherein the first module is connectable to the third module via connection of the one or more first module power and data ports with the third module power and data ports and wherein the first module controls the third module to provide the second concentrated gas output capacity(column 10 lines 55-61 stating “when two or more of the air treatment units are built into an air treatment system, at least one of the air treatment unit is appointed as the master air treatment unit, the rest of the air treatment units are appointed as secondary air treatment units. The central processing unit of the master air treatment unit controls the central processing unit of the secondary air treatment units”; also column 5 lines 6-8 stating “the central processing unit computes the best combination and orientation manner for placing the air treatment unit based on the signal obtained from the position and environmental sensors”).
With regards to claim 2, Law et al further teaches wherein the housings of the second and third modules further each comprise a recessed space(recess 19) for receiving at least a portion of the first module.
With regards to claim 8, Law et al further teaches wherein the first module further comprises logic(logic from CPU 117) for determining a type of module connected to the first module (column 5 lines 38-42 stating “when two or more than two air treatment units are teamed up and built into an air treatment system, one of the air treatment unit is appointed as the master air treatment unit, and the rest of the air treatment units are appointed as secondary air treatment units”).
With regards to claim 9, Law et al further teaches wherein the first module further comprises logic(logic from CPU 117) for determining a type of module connected to the first module and wherein this logic comprises logic for reading an analog identification signal (column 5 lines 38-42 stating “when two or more than two air treatment units are teamed up and built into an air treatment system, one of the air treatment unit is appointed as the master air treatment unit, and the rest of the air treatment units are appointed as secondary air treatment units” ; column 4 lines 15-18 stating “user can select to exclude any air treatment unit within the air treatment system according to the environmental condition of the location where the air treatment system being employed”).
With regards to claim 10, Law et al further teaches wherein the first module further comprises logic(logic from CPU 117) for determining a type of module connected to the first module and wherein this logic comprises logic for reading a digital identification signal (column 5 lines 38-42 stating “when two or more than two air treatment units are teamed up and built into an air treatment system, one of the air treatment unit is appointed as the master air treatment unit, and the rest of the air treatment units are appointed as secondary air treatment units” ; column 4 lines 15-18 stating “user can select to exclude any air treatment unit within the air treatment system according to the environmental condition of the location where the air treatment system being employed”).
With regards to claim 11, Law et al further teaches wherein the first module further comprises logic(logic from CPU 117) for determining if the first module is connected to the second module and logic for setting one or more system operating parameters based on the second module (column 5 lines 38-42 stating “when two or more than two air treatment units are teamed up and built into an air treatment system, one of the air treatment unit is appointed as the master air treatment unit, and the rest of the air treatment units are appointed as secondary air treatment units”; column 5 lines 25-27 stating “the central processing unit of the air treatment unit receives the signal from the sensor for controlling the operation setting of the air treatment units in the system”).
With regards to claim 12, Law et al further teaches wherein the first module further comprises logic(logic from CPU 117) for determining if the first module is connected to the third module and logic for setting one or more system operating parameters based on the third module (column 5 lines 38-42 stating “when two or more than two air treatment units are teamed up and built into an air treatment system, one of the air treatment unit is appointed as the master air treatment unit, and the rest of the air treatment units are appointed as secondary air treatment units”; column 5 lines 25-27 stating “the central processing unit of the air treatment unit receives the signal from the sensor for controlling the operation setting of the air treatment units in the system”).
With regards to claim 13, Law et al further teaches wherein the first module further comprises: logic(logic from CPU 117) for determining if the first module is connected to the second module and logic for setting one or more system operating parameters based on the second module; and logic for determining if the first module is connected to the third module and logic for setting one or more system operating parameters based on the third module (column 5 lines 38-42 stating “when two or more than two air treatment units are teamed up and built into an air treatment system, one of the air treatment unit is appointed as the master air treatment unit, and the rest of the air treatment units are appointed as secondary air treatment units”; column 5 lines 25-27 stating “the central processing unit of the air treatment unit receives the signal from the sensor for controlling the operation setting of the air treatment units in the system”).
With regards to claim 14 , Law et al further teaches wherein the user interface of the first module when connected to the second module is the same for when the first module is connected to the third module(column 11 lines 6-9 teaches “the air treatment unit further comprises a selector. The selector is used for appointing the air treatment unit to become a master air treatment unit or a secondary air treatment unit manually”).
With regards to claim 19 , Law et al further teaches wherein each of the second and third modules comprise a compressor and a plurality of sieve beds.
With regards to claim 20, Law et al further teaches wherein each of the second and third modules comprise a power source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the housings of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for each of the one or more second module power and data ports and the one or more third module power and data ports.”. Law et al teaches housings of second and third modules, however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein the housings of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for each of the one or more second module power and data ports and the one or more third module power and data ports.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the housings of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for the one or more power and data ports that comprises a cover and a bias mechanism.”. Law et al teaches housings of second and third modules, however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein the housings of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for the one or more power and data ports that comprises a cover and a bias mechanism.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the housings of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for the at least one power and data ports that comprises a camming member.”. Law et al teaches housings of second and third modules, however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein the housings of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for the at least one power and data ports that comprises a camming member.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the housing of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for the at least one power and data ports that comprises a cover, a bias mechanism, and a camming member.”. Law et al teaches housings of second and third modules, however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein the housing of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for the at least one power and data ports that comprises a cover, a bias mechanism, and a camming member.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the housing of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for the at least one power and data ports that comprises a cover, first and second guide members, a bias mechanism, and a camming member, and wherein the cover is positioned between the first and second guide members.”. Law et al teaches housings of second and third modules, however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein the housing of the second and third modules further each comprise a protective cover assembly for the at least one power and data ports that comprises a cover, first and second guide members, a bias mechanism, and a camming member, and wherein the cover is positioned between the first and second guide members.
Claim 15 recites “wherein: the first module further comprises at least one first module pneumatic port, the second module further comprises at least one second module pneumatic port, the third module further comprises at least one third module pneumatic port, the first module pneumatic port connectable to the second module pneumatic port, and the first module pneumatic port connectable to the third module pneumatic port.”. Law et al teaches a first module, second module, and third module including one or more module power and data ports however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein: the first module further comprises at least one first module pneumatic port, the second module further comprises at least one second module pneumatic port, the third module further comprises at least one third module pneumatic port, the first module pneumatic port connectable to the second module pneumatic port, and the first module pneumatic port connectable to the third module pneumatic port.
Claim 16 recites “wherein the first module comprises a plurality of pneumatic valves connectable to the second module.”. Law et al teaches a first module including one or more first module power and data ports, however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein the first module comprises a plurality of pneumatic valves connectable to the second module.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the first module comprises a plurality of pneumatic valves connectable to the third module.”. Law et al teaches a first module including one or more first module power and data ports, however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein the first module comprises a plurality of pneumatic valves connectable to the third module.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the first module comprises a plurality of pneumatic valves connectable to the second module and connectable to the third module.”. Law et al teaches a first module including one or more first module power and data ports, however Law et al does not teach or suggest wherein the first module comprises a plurality of pneumatic valves connectable to the second module and connectable to the third module.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
August 18, 2026