Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 6-9, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0221516 A1) in view of Ghosh et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0373599 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ouchi et al. teach a method performed by a source electronic device (see Abstract and Fig.9, AP 101 for source electronic device), the method comprising: generating, by the source electronic device, a group addressed frame comprising a specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame (see Fig.9 and para [0066] wherein the AP 101 transmitting an NDP report TF 901 frame with the Starting AID=1 & N=18 to a group of electronic devices 102 a to 102q, is mentioned, and also the AP 101 transmitting a basic trigger frame (TF) 903 whose destinations are set to be the STA 102a and the STA 102b, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0038] & [0053]) and transmitting, by the source electronic device, the group addressed frame to a sink electronic device (see Fig.9 and para [0066] wherein the AP 101 transmitting an NDP report TF 901 frame with the Starting AID=1 & N=18 to a group of electronic devices 102 a (that includes sink electronic device) to 102q, is mentioned, and also the AP 101 transmitting a basic trigger frame (TF) 903 whose destinations are set to be the STA 102a and the STA 102b, is mentioned and also see para [0053]).
Ouchi et al. teach the above method comprising generating, by the source electronic device, a group addressed frame comprising a specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame, but Ouchi et al. is silent in teaching the above method comprising generating, by the source electronic device, a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame.
However, Ghosh et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.2) comprising generating, by the source electronic device, a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame (see para [0022] wherein the AP being a basic service set (BSS) AP 102 configured to communicate with the STAs 103, is mentioned, also see para [0028] wherein the master station (e.g., an AP 102) and/or HE devices 104 generating an HE packet in accordance with a short/long preamble format, is mentioned, also see para [0052] wherein an AID being used to identify the associated STAs, is mentioned and also see para [0110] wherein the STAs 103 may receive a trigger frame (TF) in a channel from a basic service set (BSS) AP 102 during a TXOP obtained by the BSS AP 102, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “generating, by the source electronic device, a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of Ouchi et al. to include generating, by the source electronic device, a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame, disclosed by Ghosh et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of an access point for efficiently providing range estimation of wireless STAs in a wireless network by using transmissions between the AP and STAs to estimate distances from the STAs to the AP and also providing efficient data transmission between the STAs and the AP in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Ouchi et al. teach a source electronic device (see Abstract and Figures 2/9, AP 101 for source electronic device), comprising: a memory (see Fig.2, storage unit 201/memory and para [0030]); and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory (see Fig.2, units 202/203 for memory and para [0031]) and configured to: generate a group addressed frame comprising a specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame (see Fig.9 and para [0066] wherein the AP 101 transmitting an NDP report TF 901 frame with the Starting AID=1 & N=18 to a group of electronic devices 102 a to 102q, is mentioned, and also the AP 101 transmitting a basic trigger frame (TF) 903 whose destinations are set to be the STA 102a and the STA 102b, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0038] & [0053]); and transmit the group addressed frame to a sink electronic device (see Fig.9 and para [0066] wherein the AP 101 transmitting an NDP report TF 901 frame with the Starting AID=1 & N=18 to a group of electronic devices 102 a (that includes sink electronic device) to 102q, is mentioned, and also the AP 101 transmitting a basic trigger frame (TF) 903 whose destinations are set to be the STA 102a and the STA 102b, is mentioned and also see para [0053]).
Ouchi et al. teach the above source electronic device comprising generating
a group addressed frame comprising a specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame as mentioned above, but Ouchi et al. is silent in teaching the above electronic device comprising generating a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame.
However, Ghosh et al. teach an electronic device (see Abstract and Fig.2, master station 202) comprising generating a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame (see para [0022] wherein the AP being a basic service set (BSS) AP 102 configured to communicate with the STAs 103, is mentioned, also see para [0028] wherein the master station (e.g., an AP 102) and/or HE devices 104 generating an HE packet in accordance with a short/long preamble format, is mentioned, also see para [0052] wherein an AID being used to identify the associated STAs, is mentioned and also see para [0110] wherein the STAs 103 may receive a trigger frame (TF) in a channel from a basic service set (BSS) AP 102 during a TXOP obtained by the BSS AP 102, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “generating, by the source electronic device, a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above source electronic device of Ouchi et al. to include generating a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame, disclosed by Ghosh et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of an access point for efficiently providing range estimation of wireless STAs in a wireless network by using transmissions between the AP and STAs to estimate distances from the STAs to the AP and also providing efficient data transmission between the STAs and the AP in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Ouchi et al. and Ghosh et al. together teach the method/source electronic device of claims 1/9, respectively.
Ouchi et al. further teach the method/source electronic device of claims 1/9, further comprising/wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: receiving/receive a block acknowledgment frame from the sink electronic device (see para [0067] wherein upon receiving the DL MU PPDU 906, each STA transmitting an acknowledgment (Ack 907) to the AP 101, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 15, Ouchi et al. and Ghosh et al. together teach the method/source electronic device of claims 1/9, respectively.
Ouchi et al. further teach the method/source electronic device of claims 1/9, wherein transmitting the group addressed frame comprises transmitting a physical layer convergence protocol data unit (PPDU) and wherein the PPDU comprises a plurality of group addressed frames including the group addressed frame, wherein the PPDU comprises a multi user (MU) PPDU/wherein to transmit the group addressed frame, the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a multi user (MU) physical layer convergence protocol data unit (PPDU) and wherein the MU PPDU comprises a plurality of group addressed frames including the group addressed frame (see Fig.9 and para [0066] wherein the AP 101 transmitting a trigger frame (TF) 903 whose destinations are set to be the STA 102a and the STA 102b, is mentioned and also see para [0067] wherein the AP 101 transmitting DL MU (Multi User) data (DL MU PPDU 906) after transmitting the Multi-STA BA, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 16, Ouchi et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a source electronic device (see Abstract and Figures 2/9, AP 101 for source electronic device and para [0031]), cause the source device to perform operations, the operations comprising: generating a group addressed frame comprising a specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame (see Fig.9 and para [0066] wherein the AP 101 transmitting an NDP report TF 901 frame with the Starting AID=1 & N=18 to a group of electronic devices 102 a to 102q, is mentioned, and also the AP 101 transmitting a basic trigger frame (TF) 903 whose destinations are set to be the STA 102a and the STA 102b, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0038] & [0053]); and transmitting the group addressed frame to a sink electronic device (see Fig.9 and para [0066] wherein the AP 101 transmitting an NDP report TF 901 frame with the Starting AID=1 & N=18 to a group of electronic devices 102 a (that includes sink electronic device) to 102q, is mentioned, and also the AP 101 transmitting a basic trigger frame (TF) 903 whose destinations are set to be the STA 102a and the STA 102b, is mentioned and also see para [0053]).
Ouchi et al. teach the above medium comprising generating a group addressed frame comprising a specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame as mentioned above, but Ouchi et al. is silent in teaching the above medium comprising generating a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame.
However, Ghosh et al. teach a system (see Abstract and Fig.2, master station 202) comprising generating a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame (see para [0022] wherein the AP being a basic service set (BSS) AP 102 configured to communicate with the STAs 103, is mentioned, also see para [0028] wherein the master station (e.g., an AP 102) and/or HE devices 104 generating an HE packet in accordance with a short/long preamble format, is mentioned, also see para [0052] wherein an AID being used to identify the associated STAs, is mentioned and also see para [0110] wherein the STAs 103 may receive a trigger frame (TF) in a channel from a basic service set (BSS) AP 102 during a TXOP obtained by the BSS AP 102, is mentioned, all of which clearly includes and is equivalent to “generating a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above medium of Ouchi et al. to include generating a group addressed frame comprising a preamble comprising a basic service set (BSS) specific association identifier (AID) for the group addressed frame, disclosed by Ghosh et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of an access point for efficiently providing range estimation of wireless STAs in a wireless network by using transmissions between the AP and STAs to estimate distances from the STAs to the AP and also providing efficient data transmission between the STAs and the AP in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 20, Ouchi et al. and Ghosh et al. together teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16.
Ouchi et al. further teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein transmitting the group addressed frame comprises transmitting a physical layer convergence protocol data unit (PPDU) and wherein the PPDU comprises a plurality of group addressed frames including the group addressed frame and the operations further comprising: receiving a block acknowledgment frame from the sink electronic device (see Fig.9 and para [0066] wherein the AP 101 transmitting a trigger frame (TF) 903 whose destinations are set to be the STA 102a and the STA 102b, is mentioned and also see para [0067] wherein the AP 101 transmitting DL MU (Multi User) data (DL MU PPDU 906) after transmitting the Multi-STA BA, is mentioned and also wherein upon receiving the DL MU PPDU 906, each STA transmitting an acknowledgment (Ack 907) to the AP 101, is mentioned).
5. Claims 2, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouchi et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0221516 A1) in view of Ghosh et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0373599 A1) and further in view of Venkatesan (US Pub. No: 2016/0381716 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 17, Ouchi et al. and Ghosh et al. together teach the method/source electronic device/non-transitory computer-readable medium of claims 1/9/16 respectively.
Ouchi et al. and Ghosh et al. together yet are silent in teaching the method/source electronic device/non-transitory computer-readable medium of claims 1/9/16, wherein the group addressed frame further comprises data and a request for block acknowledgment for the group addressed frame.
However, Venkatesan teaches a method/source electronic device/system (see Abstract and Fig.1) wherein the group addressed frame further comprises data and a request for block acknowledgment for the group addressed frame (see para [0072] wherein in Fig.6, an example Block Acknowledge Request (BlockACKReq) frame 600 for use by an originating device (e.g., the AP 104 of FIGS. 1 and 2) to request from a destination device (e.g., the STA 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2) a BlockACK for multicast transmissions, is mentioned and also, BlockACKReq frame 600 is also to inform the destination device (e.g., the STA 102 of FIGS. 1 and 2) of a GCR mode identified in an example GCR mode field 602, is mentioned and also the BlockACKReq frame 600 may be sent by the originating device at any time during the GLK-GCR link 202 in a quality of service control frame to inform the intended recipient device how the GLK-GCR BlockACK mode 210 is to be used for the forthcoming one or more multicast transmissions, is mentioned and also see para [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method/source electronic device/non-transitory computer-readable medium of Ouchi et al. and Ghosh et al. to have the group addressed frame further comprising data and a request for block acknowledgment for the group addressed frame, disclosed by Venkatesan in order to provide an effective mechanism of wireless stations for efficiently establishing Groupcast with Retries service for wireless communications over bridged links and also confirming a General Link and the Groupcast with Retries service between the wireless station and the access point based on the association response indicating that the access point has successfully associated the wireless station with the access point in wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 3-5, 11-13, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patil et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0213933 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to methods and apparatuses for operating a wireless station in a multiple basic service set identifier (BSSID) set including a transmitted BSSID (Tx BSSID) and a number of non-transmitted BSSIDs (non-Tx BSSIDs) in wireless communication system.
Qian et al. (US Pub. No: 2009/0060009 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to generating an aggregate data frame such as an Aggregated Media Access Control Service Data Unit (A-MSDU) in wireless communication system.
Sammour et al. (US Pub. No: 2006/0252443 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to wireless packet data communication systems in general, and in particular to a method and system for efficient addressing and power savings in wireless communication systems.
Abraham et al. (US Pub. No: 2016/0249208 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to methods and devices for forming neighbor-aware or social Wi-Fi network groups and communication within neighbor-aware or social Wi-Fi network groups.
Xu (US Pub. No: 2007/0237120 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to aggregating packets in the Medium Access Control (MAC) layer of an AP in wireless communication system.
8. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
7/3/2026