DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on April 23, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202320958051 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 22, 2025 and February 26, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0070197).
With regard to independent claim 1, Chang teaches an eyewear system (page 1, paragraph [0003] and Figure 7, element 1) comprising: at least a base (Figure 7, element 12) and a plurality of lens inserts (Figure 7, element 2, left and right occurrences); said base including two lens rims (see annotated Figure 7 below); and said plurality of lens inserts each dimensioned and configured to be releasably mounted within corresponding ones of said plurality of lens rims (page 2, paragraphs [0032] and [0033] and page 3, paragraph [0036]).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein said base further comprises at least one retention pocket (see annotated Figure 7 above); each of said lens inserts further comprising at least one retention tab protruding therefrom (see annotated Figure 7 above).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein said base is formed with a recess in a rear face of said base (see annotated Figure 7 above).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein said recess at least partially encircles said lens rims (see annotated Figure 7 above, wherein the recess encircles each lens rim).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 4, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein each of said plurality of lens inserts are dimensioned and configured to align with a corresponding portion of said recess (page 2, paragraph [0032] and page 3, paragraph [0036], wherein the lens is fitted into the lens rim, i.e., the retention tab fits into the retention pocket).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein said base is comprises of a front face, a sidewall at least partially encircling said front face, and an open rear face (see annotated Figure 7 above).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 6, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein said sidewall extends rearwardly from said front face and at least partially defines a recess (see annotated Figure 7 above).
With regard to dependent claim 8, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein each of said lens inserts further comprises a lens held within a subframe (Figure 7, wherein lens (2) is held within element 31 (subframe)).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein each of said lens inserts further comprises a subframe encircling a lens (Figure 7, wherein the subframe (element 31) encircles the lens (element 2)).
With regard to independent claim 11, Chang teaches an eyewear system base (page 1, paragraph [0003] and Figure 7, element 1) comprising: a front surface and a sidewall at least partially encircling said front surface (see annotated Figure 7 above); said sidewall protruding rearward from said front surface and at least partially defining at least one recess in a rear face of the eyewear system base (see annotated Figure 7); said recess being dimensioned and configured to accommodate a plurality of lens inserts (page 2, paragraphs [0032] and [0033] and page 3, paragraph [0036]).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 11, and further teaches such an eyewear system further comprising a plurality of retention pockets formed within said recess (see annotated Figure 7 above, left and right occurrences), said plurality of retention pockets dimensioned and configured to receive at least one retention tab protruding from said lens insert (see annotated Figure 7, wherein the retention tabs are received in the recess).
With regard to dependent claim 13, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 11, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein the base further includes a plurality of lens rims (see annotated Figure 7 above); wherein said recess encircles each of said plurality of lens rims (see annotated Figure 7 above, wherein the recess encircles the lens rims).
With regard to independent claim 14, Chang teaches an eyewear system lens insert (page 1, paragraph [0003] and Figure 7, element 1) comprising: a lens (Figure 7, element 2) at least partially encircled by a subframe (Figure 7, element 31 encircles element 2); said subframe being dimensioned and configured to be mounted on a base (Figure 7, element 31 is mounted to element 12); at least one retention tab protruding from said subframe (see annotated Figure 7 above).
With regard to dependent claim 15, Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 14, and further teaches such an eyewear system wherein said lens is held within said subframe (page 2, paragraph [0032] and page 3, paragraph [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0070197), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of McCulloch et al (U.S. Patent Number 3,060,803).
With regard to dependent claim 10, although Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, Chang fails to teach such an eyewear system base wherein each of said lens inserts further comprises a nose pad. In a related endeavor, McCulloch et al teaches an eyewear system (column 1, lines 10-12 and Figures 1 and 5) comprising lens inserts (Figure 5, element 7) further comprising nose pads (Figure 5, element 21), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the eyewear system, as taught by Chang, with the nose pad, as taught by McCulloch et al, to provide proper support of the eyewear system for the wearer.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0070197), as applied to claim 14 above.
With regard to dependent claim 16, although Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 14, Chang fails to teach such an eyewear system wherein said subframe is formed unitarily with said lens. However, it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art (Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893)), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the eyewear system lens insert, as taught by Chang, to be constructed as a single unit without undue experimentation and reducing the number of produced parts.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (U.S. Patent Publication 2013/0070197), as applied to claim 14 above, in view of McCulloch et al (U.S. Patent Number 3,060,803).
With regard to dependent claim 17, although Chang teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 14, Chang fails to teach such an eyewear system lens insert wherein each of said lens inserts further comprises a nose pad. In a related endeavor, McCulloch et al teaches an eyewear system base (column 1, lines 10-12 and Figures 1 and 5, element 11) comprising lens inserts (Figure 5, element 7) further comprising nose pads (Figure 5, element 21), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the eyewear system, as taught by Chang, with the nose pad, as taught by McCulloch et al, to provide proper support of the eyewear system for the wearer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Santinelli (U.S. Patent Number 11,526,026), Cheong (U.S. Patent Number 6,592,220), Jackson (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0109370), Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0146240), Wilson et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0235269) and Shiue (U.S. Patent Publication 2005/0128426).
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
08 July 2026