DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 11-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12110781. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by the claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12110781. Thus, the claim limitations although broader are obviously met by the patent. Therefore, the claims are obviously directed toward the same invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mercer 5764062 in view of Rempe et al. 20170335677.
Referring to claims 11,21 and 30, Referring to claims 11, 21 and 30, Mercer discloses a horizontal directional drilling (HDD) system comprising a drill head configured to drill through a terrain, the drill head including an underground transmitter (see col. 2, lines 36-40 transmitter in boring tool 28), the underground transmitter configured to transmit at least a signal corresponding to the pitch of the drill head (see col. 5, line 61-col. 6, line 4) ; a walk-over locator (36’) for use on the terrain generally above the underground transmitter, the walk-over locator configured for receiving at least the signal corresponding to the pitch of the drill head, the walk-over locator configured to determine the pitch of the drill head based on the signal (see col. 5, line 61-col. 6, line 4); and the remote display (522 of 500) or controller (516) configured to determine a depth (see fig. 1, pitch depth) of the drill head at a given drilling distance based on the pitch and a length of at least one of a given drill rod or a set of drill rods (see col. 12, lines 37-42), the depth being at least one of stored or displayed as part of a pilot bore profile (see fig. 11), the pilot bore profile comprising a plot of one or more depths at one or more respective drilling distances, the remote display configured to overlay the depth in the drilling process with the pilot bore profile (see col. 10, lines 65-col. 1, line 7). Mercer does not disclose the walk-over locator configured to provide a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) geolocation of the drill head at a given instance in the drilling process (see figure 18, step 1106 and see paragraph 0114, capture GPS location of drill head) , the walk- over locator configured to relay the GNSS geolocation of the drill head, the remote display configured to receive the relayed GNSS geolocation of the drill head from the walk-over locator, the GNSS geolocation being at least one of stored or displayed as part of a pilot bore profile or remote display is configured to overlay the GNSS geolocation in the drilling process with the pilot bore profile. Rempe teaches an horizontal drilling system with a walk-over locator (704) configured to provide a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) geolocation of the drill head at a given instance in the drilling process (see figure 18, step 1006 and see paragraph 0116, capture GPS location of drill head) , the walk- over locator configured to relay the GNSS geolocation of the drill head ( figure 8 at 228, see paragraph 0054 communication interface 228) to a remote display ( display 206 of machine 702), the remote display configured to receive the relayed GNSS geolocation of the drill head from the walk-over locator ( with communication interface 210’), the GNSS geolocation being at least one of stored or displayed as part of a pilot bore profile and the remote display is configured to overlay the GNSS geolocation the drilling process with the pilot bore profile ( see paragraph 0119 and paragraph 0061, GPS data can be displayed). Rempe further teaches the GPS data can be used to determine current location of drill head (see paragraph 0116). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system disclosed by Mercer to have walk over locator provide GNSS geolocation of the drill head to a remote display and overlay the GNSS geolocation on a pilot bore profile in view of the teachings of Rempe with a reasonable expectation of success as an alternative way of having a current location of the drill head.
Referring to claim 12, and 22, Mercer discloses the underground transmitter (65) is configured to register and transmit data associated with at least one of: drill head yaw, drill head pitch, drill head roll, drill head acceleration, ground temperature, or ground saturation (see col. 1, lines 53-59, yaw , pitch, roll, pitch) .
Referring to claim 13 and 23, Mercer discloses the walk-over locator (36’) and the remote display (522 of 500’) each are configured to communicate to each other via at least one of: a short-range wireless communication unit, a Wi-Fi wireless communication unit, a radio frequency (RF) unit, or a cellular communication unit (see paragraph figure 6 using antenna 504).
Referring to claims 14 and 24, Rempe teaches the walk-over locater ( 704) where the walk-over locater includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) (see fig. 8, 222, GPS) configured to determine a geolocation of the walk-over locater (see paragraph 0084).
Referring to claims 15 and 25, Rempe teaches the walk-over locater (704) is configured to transmit the determined geolocation of the walk-over locater to the remote display (using communication interface 228, see paragraph 0086).
Referring to claims 16 and 26, Rempe teaches wherein the remote display ( see fig. 8 , at 702) includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) (212, GPS) configured to determine a geolocation of the remote display (see paragraph 0107).
Referring to claims 17 and 27, Rempe discloses the remote display ( at 702) is configured to transmit the determined geolocation of the remote display to the walk-over locator ( using communication interface 210).
Referring to claim 18 and 28, Mercer discloses the walk-over locator (80) includes a first three- dimensional (3D) antenna (122), the first 3D antenna configured to receive signals from the underground transmitter.
Referring to claim 19 and 29, Mercer discloses the walk-over locator (80) includes a second three- dimensional (3D) antenna (126), the second 3D antenna configured to receive signals from the underground transmitter.
Referring to claim 20, Mercer discloses the underground transmitter is configured to transmit a magnetic signal (see col. 5, lines 19-21).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As a terminal disclaimer has not been filed, the double patenting rejection also remains.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672