DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 10-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US6866241 (“Libretto”).
Regarding claim 1, Libretto discloses a pinch valve (11) comprising:
a first valve section (bottom frame portion 13, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) having a first bottom wall (bottom wall of bottom frame portion 13), and a first top wall (top wall of bottom frame portion 13) opposite the first bottom wall, said first top wall comprising a groove (recess, which receives flexible conduit), a first fastener protrusion (right tab 15, which is connected to fastener 16) located at a first top wall first end (right end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and a first hinge protrusion (left tab 15, connected to the hinge) located at a first top wall second end (left end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1);
a second valve section (top frame portion 13, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) having a second bottom wall (bottom wall of top frame portion 13), and a second top wall (top wall of top frame portion 13) opposite the second bottom wall, said second bottom wall comprising a recess (recess, which receives clamping plate 12), a second fastener protrusion (right tab 15 having fastening slot 19) located at a second bottom wall first end (right end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and a second hinge protrusion (left tab 15 connected to the hinge) located at a second bottom wall second end (left end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and said second top wall comprising a threaded hole (threaded hole of top frame portion 13, which receives threaded rod 22) passing from the second top wall through the recess; and
a pinch mechanism (mainly defined by 12 and 21) comprising a pinch member (12), and a threaded rod (22), said pinch member having a bottom surface (surface, which pinches flexible conduit) and a top surface (surface, which receives threaded rod 24); and
wherein the first valve section is configured to connect to the second valve section by mating the first hinge protrusion to the second hinge protrusion and mating the first fastener protrusion to the second fastener protrusion (see assembly of fig. 1); the bottom surface of the pinch member is sized and shaped to mate to the groove (plate 12 applies compressive force to receiving portion 14 of bottom frame portion 13); the threaded rod is configured to advance and retract the pinch member by threading the threaded rod into and out of the threaded hole; and the top surface of the pinch member is configured to retract into the recess as the threaded rod retracts the pinch member (see partially retracted position of fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Libretto discloses a recess depth dimension (depth of recess of top frame 13, which receives compression plate 12) is at least 50% of a pinch member height dimension (height of plate 12) such that at least 50% of the pinch member retracts into the recess when the pinch mechanism is in a fully retracted position (plate 12 retracts fully into top frame 13 when retracted; see by example figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Libretto discloses the groove (recess of bottom frame portion 13, which receives flexible conduit) has a groove shape selected from the group consisting of substantially arched and substantially polygonal (groove of bottom frame 13 is substantially rectangularly shaped).
Regarding claim 6, Libretto discloses the pinch member (12) has a shape selected from the group consisting of substantially circular and substantially polygonal (compression plate 12 is substantially rectangular; see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Libretto discloses the threaded rod (24) includes a knob (23) attached to an end opposite the pinch member (12).
Regarding claim 10, Libretto discloses the groove (recess of bottom frame portion 13, which receives flexible conduit) has a groove shape selected from the group consisting of substantially arched and substantially polygonal (groove of bottom frame 13 is substantially rectangularly shaped).
Regarding claim 11, Libretto discloses the pinch member (12) has a shape selected from the group consisting of substantially circular and substantially polygonal (compression plate 12 is substantially rectangular; see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Libretto discloses the threaded rod (24) includes a knob (23) attached to an end opposite the pinch member (12).
Regarding claim 17, Libretto discloses the pinch member (12) has a shape selected from the group consisting of substantially circular and substantially polygonal (compression plate 12 is substantially rectangular; see fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US4467997 (“Ziaylek”) in view of Libretto.
Regarding claim 1, Ziaylek discloses a pinch valve (10) comprising:
a first valve section (10) having a first bottom wall (bottom wall of member 10, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and a first top wall (top wall of member 10, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) opposite the first bottom wall, said first top wall comprising a groove (V-shaped groove defined by surfaces 14; see fig. 1), a first fastener protrusion (at least partially defined by 27 and 29) located at a first top wall first end (right end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and a first hinge protrusion (34) located at a first top wall second end (left end, relative to the orientation f fig. 1);
a second valve section (38) having a second bottom wall (bottom wall of member 38, relative to the orientation of fig. 1, which receives compression pinch member 82 therethrough), and a second top wall (top wall of member 38, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) opposite the second bottom wall, said second bottom wall comprising a recess (recess within which pinch member 82 is received), a second fastener protrusion (46) located at a second bottom wall first end (right end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and a second hinge protrusion (64) located at a second bottom wall second end (left end, relative to the orientation of fig. 1), and said second top wall comprising a hole (74) passing from the second top wall through the recess; and
a pinch mechanism (at least partially defined by 77 and 82) comprising a pinch member (82), and a threaded rod (77), said pinch member having a bottom surface (mainly defined by 86) and a top surface (surface within which threaded bore 80 is defined); and
wherein the first valve section is configured to connect to the second valve section by mating the first hinge protrusion to the second hinge protrusion and mating the first fastener protrusion to the second fastener protrusion (see assembly of fig. 1); the bottom surface of the pinch member is sized and shaped to mate to the groove (to pinch hose “H”); the rod is configured to advance and retract the pinch member by engagement with the hole; and the top surface of the pinch member is configured to retract into the recess as the rod retracts the pinch member (see retracted position of fig. 1).
Ziaylek does not disclose said second top wall comprising a threaded hole, and the pinch mechanism comprising a threaded rod retractably engaging the threaded hole.
However, Libretto discloses a pinch valve wherein a second valve section (top frame portion 13, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) comprises a second top wall (top wall of top frame portion 13, relative to the orientation of fig. 1) comprising a threaded hole (threaded hole of top frame portion 13, which receives threaded rod 22) passing from the second top wall through the recess; a pinch mechanism (mainly defined by 12 and 21) comprising a pinch member (12), and a threaded rod (22); the threaded rod is configured to advance and retract the pinch member by threading the threaded rod into and out of the threaded hole; and the top surface of the pinch member is configured to retract into the recess as the threaded rod retracts the pinch member (see partially retracted position of fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Ziaylek by configuring the second top wall with a threaded hole and the pinch mechanism with a threaded rod, wherein the threaded rod engages the threaded hole to advance and retract the pinch member, as taught by Libretto, to be able to operate the pinch valve manually.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8, 9, 13-16 and 18-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the pinch valve, wherein the first hinge protrusion includes a pair of opposing cylindrical protrusion (130), the second hinge protrusion includes a pair of opposing cradles (230), and each opposing cylindrical protrusion is configured to pivotably connect to one of the opposing cradles, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious the pinch valve, wherein the first fastener protrusion includes an extension having a lip at a distal end thereof, the second fastener protrusion includes a hole passing through the second fastener protrusion, and the lip is configured to engage at least a portion of a top edge of the hole, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Claims 13-16 and 18-20 are allowable because they require all the limitations of an allowable claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US4978100 and US8177187 disclose a pinch valve having a housing with hinged housing parts.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753