DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2026, 05/12/2025 and 10/25/2024 have been considered by the examiner and have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20210136556.
Claim 1. Lee et al. disclose A method implemented by a first device (read as performing ranging using an ultra-wide band (UWB) communication method and an operation method of the electronic device [0002]), wherein the method comprises:
sending, using a first narrowband communication system in the first device (read as An electronic device according to an embodiment of the disclosure may first set up a communication connection using a certain communication method (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or the like) and then exchange parameters necessary for UWB communication through the communication method [0067]), a first message to initiate discovery of a second device (read as the first electronic device 201 may transmit a discovery signal to the second electronic device [0063]. FIG. 2 step 203); and
sending (read as link generation process 204, each of the first electronic device 201 and the second electronic device 202 may create a link for data transmission [0064]. FIG. 2 step 204), to the second device, using the first narrowband communication system to the second device, and when the discovery is successful, a second message (read as link generation process 204, each of the first electronic device 201 and the second electronic device 202 may create a link for data transmission [0064]. FIG. 2 step 204),
wherein the second message carries ranging parameter information (read as a controller 100 may control ranging by transmitting a ranging control message to a controllee 200 and define ranging parameters [0076]), and
wherein the ranging parameter information is for ranging by a first ultra-wideband (UWB) system in the second device (read as a controller 100 may control ranging by transmitting a ranging control message to a controllee 200 and define ranging parameters [0076]).
The combined teaching of different embodiments disclosed by Lee et al. were used in the rejection, namely the idea of using different communication devices to exchange ranging information and establishing connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Lee et al. in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention namely the idea of transmitting ranging parameters trough a narrowband element and connecting through a UWB one. The motivation is related to when an electronic device is out of a UWB communication range, providing a method of reducing power consumption for the electronic device to wait for UWB communication. (Lee et al. [0006]).
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein the second message is an extended broadcast frame (read as second ranging frame [0023]), wherein the ranging parameter information is carried in a data content field in the extended broadcast frame, wherein the extended broadcast frame further carries a data type field indicating a type of broadcast data carried in the extended broadcast frame, and wherein the method further comprises setting the data type field to a reserved value indicating that the extended broadcast frame carries the ranging parameter information (read as The ranging control message may be a data frame that carries an Advanced Ranging Control IE (ARC IE [0076] …Referring to Table 1, the connection start message may include a UWB message identifier and a UWB session identifier. The UWB message identifier may indicate information about a type of a UWB message. For example, the UWB message identifier may be an identifier indicating that a corresponding message is a UWB connection start message. The UWB session identifier may be an identifier of a UWB ranging session. [0110]).
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein the ranging parameter information is carried in a payload of the second message, and wherein before sending the second message (FIG. 8 step S820), the method further comprises:
receiving, using the first narrowband communication system and from a second narrowband communication system in the second device, an access request message requesting to establish a connection to the first narrowband communication system (FIG. 8 step S820);
sending, using the first narrowband communication system, in response to the access request message, an access response message granting access to establish the connection (read as electronic devices may communicate in a one-to-one manner, a one-to-many manner, or a many-to-many manner. In D2D communication, unlicensed frequency bands such as Wi-Fi Direct and Bluetooth may be used [0060]. FIG. 2 all steps can be accomplished Bluetooth (i.e. a narrowband system)); and
obtaining, using the first narrowband communication system, the ranging parameter information from a second UWB system in the first device connection (read as electronic devices may communicate in a one-to-one manner, a one-to-many manner, or a many-to-many manner. In D2D communication, unlicensed frequency bands such as Wi-Fi Direct and Bluetooth may be used [0060]. FIG. 2 all steps can be accomplished Bluetooth (i.e. a narrowband system)).
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein the ranging parameter information comprises one or more of:
a ranging method comprising a single-sided two-way ranging (FIG. 3) or a double-sided two-way ranging;
an identifier of the second device as a ranging device (read as … Referring to Table 1, the connection start message may include a UWB message identifier and a UWB session identifier. The UWB message identifier may indicate information about a type of a UWB message. For example, the UWB message identifier may be an identifier indicating that a corresponding message is a UWB connection start message. The UWB session identifier may be an identifier of a UWB ranging session. [0110]);
a ranging role of the ranging device;
a ranging mode comprising a one-to-one ranging, a one-to-many ranging, or a many-to-many ranging;
a ranging frame format;
a ranging slot assignment;
an angle measurement requirement; or
a measurement value report manner.
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein after sending the second message, the method further comprises:
receiving, using a second UWB system (read as performing ranging using an ultra-wide band (UWB) communication method and an operation method of the electronic device [0002]) in the first device and from the first UWB system, a first ranging frame (read as … transmitting a first ranging frame to the second electronic device [0017]);
sending, using the second UWB system and based on the ranging parameter information, a second ranging frame (read as receiving a second ranging frame from the first electronic device, [0023]); and
sending, using the first narrowband communication system, a third message carrying a first ranging result, wherein the first ranging result comprises a first receiving time of the first ranging frame and a first sending time of the second ranging frame (read as transmitting of the ranging start message may include transmitting the ranging start message including ranging start timing information [0022]).
Claim 8. Lee et al. disclose A method implemented by a second device (read as performing ranging using an ultra-wide band (UWB) communication method and an operation method of the electronic device [0002]), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, using a second narrowband communication system in the second device and from a first narrowband communication system in a first device, a first message for discovering the second device (read as the first electronic device 201 may transmit a discovery signal to the second electronic device [0063]. FIG. 2 step 203); and
receiving, using the second narrowband communication system and from the first narrowband communication system, a second message carrying ranging parameter information (read as a controller 100 may control ranging by transmitting a ranging control message to a controllee 200 and define ranging parameters [0076]),
wherein the ranging parameter information is used for ranging by an ultra-wideband (UWB) system in the second device (read as The electronic device may start UWB ranging when the UWB communication module is activated [0069]).
The combined teaching of different embodiments disclosed by Lee et al. were used in the rejection, namely the idea of using different communication devices to exchange ranging information and establishing connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Lee et al. in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention namely the idea of transmitting ranging parameters trough a narrowband element and connecting through a UWB one. The motivation is related to when an electronic device is out of a UWB communication range, providing a method of reducing power consumption for the electronic device to wait for UWB communication. (Lee et al. [0006]).
Claim 9. The method of claim 8, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein the second message is an extended broadcast frame (read as second ranging frame [0023]), wherein the ranging parameter information is carried in a data content field in the extended broadcast frame, wherein the extended broadcast frame further carries a data type field indicating a type of broadcast data carried in the extended broadcast frame, and wherein the data type field is in a reserved value indicating that the extended broadcast frame carries the ranging parameter information (read as The ranging control message may be a data frame that carries an Advanced Ranging Control IE (ARC IE [0076] …Referring to Table 1, the connection start message may include a UWB message identifier and a UWB session identifier. The UWB message identifier may indicate information about a type of a UWB message. For example, the UWB message identifier may be an identifier indicating that a corresponding message is a UWB connection start message. The UWB session identifier may be an identifier of a UWB ranging session. [0110]).
Claim 10. The method of claim 8, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein the ranging parameter information is carried in a payload of the first message, and wherein before receiving the second message, the method further comprises:
sending, using the second narrowband communication system, an access request message requesting to establish a connection to the first narrowband communication system (read as electronic devices may communicate in a one-to-one manner, a one-to-many manner, or a many-to-many manner. In D2D communication, unlicensed frequency bands such as Wi-Fi Direct and Bluetooth may be used [0060]. FIG. 2 all steps can be accomplished Bluetooth (i.e. a narrowband system)); and
receiving, using the second narrowband communication system and from the first narrowband communication system, an access response message granting access to establish the connection (read as electronic devices may communicate in a one-to-one manner, a one-to-many manner, or a many-to-many manner. In D2D communication, unlicensed frequency bands such as Wi-Fi Direct and Bluetooth may be used [0060]. FIG. 2 all steps can be accomplished Bluetooth (i.e. a narrowband system)).
Claim 11. The method of claim 8, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein the ranging parameter information comprises one or more of:
a ranging method comprising a single-sided two-way ranging and a double-sided two-way ranging;
an identifier of the second device as a ranging device (read as … Referring to Table 1, the connection start message may include a UWB message identifier and a UWB session identifier. The UWB message identifier may indicate information about a type of a UWB message. For example, the UWB message identifier may be an identifier indicating that a corresponding message is a UWB connection start message. The UWB session identifier may be an identifier of a UWB ranging session. [0110]);
a ranging role of the ranging device;
a ranging mode comprising a one-to-one ranging, a one-to-many ranging, or a many-to-many ranging;
a ranging frame format;
a ranging slot assignment;
an angle measurement requirement; or
a measurement value report manner. Claim 12. The method of claim 8, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein after receiving the second message (read as receiving a second ranging frame from the first electronic device, [0023]), the method further comprises transmitting, using the second narrowband communication system (read as Bluetooth communication [0068]), to a first UWB system, the ranging parameter information (read as exchanging UWB ranging parameters through Bluetooth communication [0068]).
Claim 12. The method of claim 8, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein after receiving the second message (read as receiving a second ranging frame from the first electronic device, [0023]), the method further comprises transmitting, using the second narrowband communication system (read as Bluetooth communication [0068]), to a first UWB system, the ranging parameter information (read as exchanging UWB ranging parameters through Bluetooth communication [0068]).
Claim 13. The method of claim 12, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein after transmitting the ranging parameter information, the method further comprises:
sending, using the first UWB system and based on the ranging parameter information, a first ranging frame (read as using the UWB communication method, the controller 100 may transmit an initial connection message [0115]); and
receiving, using the first UWB system and from a second UWB system in the first device, a second ranging frame (read as The controller 100 may repeatedly transmit the initial connection message at fixed transmission intervals or variable transmission intervals [0116]).
Claim 14. The method of claim 13, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein after sending the first ranging frame, the method further comprises receiving (read as a ranging round, the controller 100 may transmit a ranging control message 511, transmit a ranging initiation message, wait to receive a response message from another electronic device, and transmit a ranging end message 513 [0080]), using the second narrowband communication system (read as electronic devices may communicate in a one-to-one manner, a one-to-many manner, or a many-to-many manner. In D2D communication, unlicensed frequency bands such as Wi-Fi Direct and Bluetooth may be used [0060]. FIG. 2 all steps can be accomplished Bluetooth or WiFi (i.e. a narrowband system)), and from the first narrowband communication system, a third message carrying a ranging result, and wherein the ranging result comprises a receiving time of the first ranging frame and a sending time of the second ranging frame (read as transmitting of the ranging start message may include transmitting the ranging start message including ranging start timing information [0022]).
Claim 16. The method of claim 13, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein after receiving the second ranging frame (read as a ranging round, the controller 100 may transmit a ranging control message 511, transmit a ranging initiation message, wait to receive a response message from another electronic device, and transmit a ranging end message 513 [0080]), the method further comprises sending, using the second narrowband communication system, a fourth message carrying a ranging result (read as a ranging round, the controller 100 may transmit a ranging control message 511, transmit a ranging initiation message, wait to receive a response message from another electronic device, and transmit a ranging end message 513 [0080])`, and wherein the ranging result comprises a receiving time of the second ranging frame and a sending time of the first ranging frame.
Claim 17. The method of claim 16, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein before sending the fourth message, the method further comprises transmitting, using the first UWB system (read as using the UWB communication method, the controller 100 may transmit an initial connection message [0115], and to the second narrowband communication system (read as electronic devices may communicate in a one-to-one manner, a one-to-many manner, or a many-to-many manner. In D2D communication, unlicensed frequency bands such as Wi-Fi Direct and Bluetooth may be used [0060]. FIG. 2 all steps can be accomplished Bluetooth or WiFi (i.e. a narrowband system)), the ranging result (read as …transmit a ranging end message 513 [0080]).
Claim 19. Lee et al. disclose A communication apparatus (FIG. 14) comprising:
a first narrowband communication circuit configured to:
send a first message to discover a second device (read as the first electronic device 201 may transmit a discovery signal to the second electronic device [0063]. FIG. 2 step 203); and
send (read as link generation process 204, each of the first electronic device 201 and the second electronic device 202 may create a link for data transmission [0064]. FIG. 2 step 204), to the second device when the discovery is successful, a second message, wherein the second message carries ranging parameter information (read as a controller 100 may control ranging by transmitting a ranging control message to a controllee 200 and define ranging parameters [0076]), and wherein the ranging parameter information is used by a first ultra-wideband (UWB) circuit in the second device for ranging (read as The electronic device may start UWB ranging when the UWB communication module is activated [0069]); and
a second UWB circuit coupled to the first narrowband communication circuit (FIG. 14, UWB coupled to narrowband elements: Bluetooth, WiFi, NFC…) and configured to:
receive, from the first UWB circuit, a first ranging frame (read as repeatedly activate the UWB communication module and perform ranging at certain intervals until a response message is received from another electronic device [0070]); and
send, based on the ranging parameter information, a second ranging frame (read as repeatedly activate the UWB communication module and perform ranging at certain intervals until a response message is received from another electronic device [0070]).
The combined teaching of different embodiments disclosed by Lee et al. were used in the rejection, namely the idea of using different communication devices to exchange ranging information and establishing connections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Lee et al. in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention namely the idea of transmitting ranging parameters trough a narrowband element and connecting through a UWB one. The motivation is related to when an electronic device is out of a UWB communication range, providing a method of reducing power consumption for the electronic device to wait for UWB communication. (Lee et al. [0006]).
Claim 20. The communication apparatus of claim 19, Lee et al. disclose,
wherein the second message is an extended broadcast frame (read as second ranging frame [0023]), wherein the ranging parameter information is carried in a data content field in the extended broadcast frame, wherein the extended broadcast frame further carries a data type field indicating a type of broadcast data carried in the extended broadcast frame, and wherein the first narrowband communication circuit is further configured to set the data type field to a reserved value indicating that the extended broadcast frame carries the ranging parameter information (read as The ranging control message may be a data frame that carries an Advanced Ranging Control IE (ARC IE [0076] …Referring to Table 1, the connection start message may include a UWB message identifier and a UWB session identifier. The UWB message identifier may indicate information about a type of a UWB message. For example, the UWB message identifier may be an identifier indicating that a corresponding message is a UWB connection start message. The UWB session identifier may be an identifier of a UWB ranging session. [0110]).
Claims 6-7, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20210136556 A1 in view of Henry et al. (US 20220066010 A1).
Claim 6. The method of claim 5, Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose,
wherein before sending the second message, the method further comprises transmitting, using the second UWB system, the first ranging result to the first narrowband communication system, and
wherein the first ranging result further comprises one or more of positioning coordinates,
an angle of arrival (AoA) horizontal angle of the second device relative to the first device,
an AoA elevation angle of the second device relative to the first device, or
a reliability of the first receiving time.
However, in the related field of endeavor Henry et al. disclose: read as UWB localization techniques, such as ToF, ToA, TDoA, RSSI,… AoA [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Lee et al. with the teaching of Henry et al. in order to be provide mobile devices with instructions, parameters, and/or other information related to ranging modes, ranging times, and access point/UWB anchor information that may allow each of one or more mobile devices to range securely against one or more different groups of UWB anchors (Henry et al. [0017]).
Claim 7. The method of claim 5, Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose,
wherein after sending the second ranging frame, the method further comprises receiving, using the first narrowband communication system and from a second narrowband communication system in the second device,
a fourth message carrying a second ranging result, wherein the second ranging result comprises a second receiving time of the second ranging frame and a second sending time of the first ranging frame, and
wherein the second ranging result further comprises one or more of positioning coordinates,
an angle of arrival (AoA) horizontal angle of the first device relative to the second device,
an AOA elevation angle of the first device relative to the second device, or
a reliability of the second receiving time.
However, in the related field of endeavor Henry et al. disclose: read as UWB localization techniques, such as ToF, ToA, TDoA, RSSI,… AoA [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Lee et al. with the teaching of Henry et al. in order to be provide mobile devices with instructions, parameters, and/or other information related to ranging modes, ranging times, and access point/UWB anchor information that may allow each of one or more mobile devices to range securely against one or more different groups of UWB anchors (Henry et al. [0017]).
Claim 15. The method of claim 14, Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose,
wherein the ranging result further comprises one or more of:
positioning coordinates;
an angle of arrival (AoA) ranging horizontal angle of the second device relative to the first device;
an AoA elevation angle of the second device relative to the first device; or
a reliability of the receiving time.
However, in the related field of endeavor Henry et al. disclose: read as UWB localization techniques, such as ToF, ToA, TDoA, RSSI,… AoA [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Lee et al. with the teaching of Henry et al. in order to be provide mobile devices with instructions, parameters, and/or other information related to ranging modes, ranging times, and access point/UWB anchor information that may allow each of one or more mobile devices to range securely against one or more different groups of UWB anchors (Henry et al. [0017]).
Claim 18. The method of claim 17, Lee et al. do not explicitly disclose,
wherein the ranging result further comprises one or more of:
positioning coordinates;
an angle of arrival (AoA) horizontal angle of the first device relative to the second device;
an AOA elevation angle of the first device relative to the second device; or
a reliability of the receiving time.
However, in the related field of endeavor Henry et al. disclose: read as UWB localization techniques, such as ToF, ToA, TDoA, RSSI,… AoA [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Lee et al. with the teaching of Henry et al. in order to be provide mobile devices with instructions, parameters, and/or other information related to ranging modes, ranging times, and access point/UWB anchor information that may allow each of one or more mobile devices to range securely against one or more different groups of UWB anchors (Henry et al. [0017]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
Additional prior art included in PTO-892 disclose ideas related to the claimed invention. In this regard, Ledvina et al. (US 2019/0135229 A1) disclose: …can use two different wireless protocols. The first wireless protocol (e.g., Bluetooth®) can be used to perform authentication of the vehicle and exchange ranging capabilities between a mobile device (e.g., a phone or watch) and the vehicle. The second wireless protocol (e.g., ultra-wideband, UWB) can use a pulse width that is less than a pulse width used by the first wireless protocol (e.g., 1 ns v. 1 μs). The narrower pulse width can provide greater accuracy for distance (ranging) measurements [0003].
MOHAMMED . RACHEDINE
Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/MOHAMMED RACHEDINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646