Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 lacks support for “the precursor” in line 1 with respect to claim 1 to which this claim is dependent upon. Presumably, claim 1 or claim 7 inadvertently omitted the limitation “wherein the first shell component comprises a condensed layer and a nanoparticle layer, wherein the condensed layer comprises a condensation product of a precursor” as supported in the specification on page 13, line 19 to page 14, line 4.
Claims 8-11, being dependent from claim 7, inherit the same rejection as in claim 7 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaccaro et al. (US 2017/0137758), hereinafter “Vaccaro.”
Regarding claims 1-5, Vaccaro teaches a water-soluble unit dose article comprising a water-soluble film and at least a first internal compartment, wherein the first internal compartment comprises a first liquid laundry detergent composition comprising a gel and a particle (see abstract; [0001] and [0006]), wherein the particle comprises an active material (see [0106]), wherein the active material includes perfume microcapsules (see [0113]) comprising a core comprising the perfume and a wall material that at least partially surrounds the core (see [0123]), and wherein the wall may comprise silica, as one of the selections (which reads on the first and second shell components; see [0125]). Vaccaro, however, fails to specifically disclose the capsule comprising a shell having about 90%-100%, by weight of the shell of an inorganic material like silica, and the microcapsules having a fracture strength between 1MPa and 10MPa as recited in claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected silica as the specific microcapsule wall material because this is one of the selection of wall or shell materials as disclosed by Vaccaro in [0125]), and considering no other wall or shell material is included, the silica is present in the wall or shell within those recited, i.e., almost 100%.
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect the perfume microcapsules of Vaccaro to exhibit a fracture strength within those recited because similar microcapsules having similar wall materials have been utilized, hence would behave similarly.
Regarding claim 6, Vaccaro further teaches that at least 75%, 85% or even 90% of said microcapsules may have a particle size of from about 10 microns to about 50 microns (wherein the particle size is indicative of the microcapsule diameter; see [0124[).
Regarding claims 12-13, Vaccaro further teaches that the Gel 2 composition comprises 8 wt% of perfume microcapsules and 3.53 wt% deionized water (see Table 1).
Regarding claims 15-16, as discussed above, Vaccaro teaches a water-soluble unit dose article comprising a water-soluble film (see [0006]). Vaccaro also teaches that the most preferred film materials include polyvinyl alcohols, i.e., polyvinyl alcohol homopolymers, polyvinyl alcohol copolymers or combinations thereof (see [0141]).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Vaccaro as applied to claims 1-6, 12-13 and 15-16, and further in view of Cardoso et al. (US 2020/0330948, already cited in IDS dated 03/07/2025), hereinafter “Cardoso.”
The applied reference to US 2020/0330948 has five (5) common inventors (i.e., A. Barros, M. Cardoso, S. Smith, P. Verstraete, and V. Wong)) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claims 7-11, Vaccaro teaches the features as discussed above. Vaccaro, however, fails to disclose, presumably the shell comprising a first shell component having a condensed layer and a nanoparticle layer, and wherein the condensed layer comprises a condensation product of a precursor as recited in claims 7-11.
Cardoso, an analogous art, teaches a population of capsules, the capsules comprising an oil-based core comprising a benefit agent like perfume raw materials (see paragraph [0136]), and a substantially inorganic shell surrounding the core, wherein the shell comprises a first shell component comprising at least one of a metal oxide or a semi-metal oxide (see paragraph [0010]). The shell can include a first shell component and optionally a second shell component that surrounds the first shell component, wherein the first shell component can include a condensed layer formed from the condensation product of a precursor, the first shell component can include a nanoparticle layer (see paragraph [0040]), and wherein the condensed layer is disposed between the core and the nanoparticle layer(see paragraph [0053]). The first shell component comprises a condensed layer comprising a condensation product of a precursor of at least one of formula (I) or formula (II) or both:
(MvOzYn)w (Formula I),
where M is one or more of silicon, titanium and aluminum, v is the valence number of M and is 3 or 4, z is from 0.5 to 1.6, each Y is independently selected from
—OH, —OR2, halo,
wherein R2 is a C1 to C20 alkyl, C1 to C20 alkylene, C6 to C22 aryl, or a 5-12 membered heteroaryl comprising from 1 to 3 ring heteroatoms selected from O, N, and S, R3 is a H, C1 to C20 alkyl, C1 to C20 alkylene, C6 to C22 aryl, or a 5-12 membered heteroaryl comprising from 1 to 3 ring heteroatoms selected from O, N, and S, n is from 0.7 to (v-1), and w is from 2 to 2000;
(MvOzYnR1p)w (Formula II),
where M is one or more of silicon, titanium and aluminum, v is the valence number of M and is 3 or 4, z is from 0.5 to 1.6, each Y is independently selected from —OH, —OR2, halo,
wherein R2 is selected from a C1 to C20 alkyl, C1 to C20 alkylene, C6 to C22 aryl, or a 5-12 membered heteroaryl comprising from 1 to 3 ring heteroatoms selected from O, N, and S, R3 is a H, C1 to C20 alkyl, C1 to C20 alkylene, C6 to C22 aryl, or a 5-12 membered heteroaryl comprising from 1 to 3 ring heteroatoms selected from O, N, and S, n is from 0 to (v-1), each R1 is independently selected from a C1 to C30 alkyl, a C1 to C30 alkylene, a C1 to C30 alkyl substituted with one or more of a halogen, —OCF3, —NO2, —CN, —NC, —OH, —OCN, —NCO, alkoxy, epoxy, amino, mercapto, acryloyl, CO2H, CO2alkyl, aryl, and heteroaryl, or a C1 to C30 alkylene substituted with one or more of a halogen, —OCF3, —NO2, —CN, —NC, —OH, —OCN, —NCO, alkoxy, epoxy, amino, mercapto, acryloyl, CO2H, CO2alkyl, aryl, and heteroaryl, p is present in an amount up to pmax, and w is from 2 to 2000; wherein pmax=60/[9*Mw(R1)+8], where Mw(R1) is the molecular weight of the R group (see paragraphs [0012]-[0013]). The compounds of formula (I) and/or the compounds of formula (II) can have a Polystyrene equivalent Weight Average Molecular Weight (Mw) of from about 100 Da to about 300,000 Da (see paragraph [0112]), a molecular weight polydispersity index of about 1 to about 50 (see paragraph [0113]), and a degree of branching of 0 to about 0.6, or about 0.2 to about 0.3 (see paragraph [0114]). The second shell component can include one or more of a metal oxide, a semi-metal oxide, a mineral, and a metal. In embodiments, the second shell component can include one or more of SiO2, TiO2, Al2O3, CaCO3, Ca2SiO4, Fe2O3, Fe3O4, clay, gold, iron, silver, nickel, and copper, and in certain embodiments, the second shell component can be silica (see paragraph [0123]). Cardoso also teaches that the capsule shells advantageously have low permeability, which advantageously allows for slow diffusion of the encapsulated benefit agent when incorporated into a formulated product; the capsules have improved storage stability, the capsule shells have low porosity and high density, thereby enhancing the stability of the capsules as compared to conventional inorganic capsules (see paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the encapsulated perfume of Vaccaro with the perfume capsules of Cardoso, the capsules having a first shell of metal oxide like silica, and a second shell, as recited above, because such substitution would provide perfume capsules having improved storage stability, the capsule shells have low porosity and high density, thereby enhancing the stability of the capsules as compared to conventional inorganic capsules, as taught by Cardoso.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacarro as applied to claims 1-6, 12-13 and 15-16 above, and further in view of Labeque et al. (US 2017/0298216), hereinafter “Labeque.”
Regarding claims 14 and 17, Vacarro teaches the features as discussed above. Vaccaro, however, fails to disclose the liquid laundry detergent composition comprising non-encapsulated perfume as recited in claim 14; and the water-soluble film comprising a blend of a polyvinyl alcohol homopolymer and a carboxylated anionic polyvinylalcohol copolymer as recited in claim 17.
Labeque, an analogous art, teaches pouches made from a water-soluble film, where the water-soluble film at least partially encloses a composition in at least one compartment, and where the film includes a polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) resin blend (see [0011], comprising a first PVOH polymer comprising carboxylated anionic monomer units and vinyl alcohol monomer units, and a second PVOH polymer consisting essentially of vinyl alcohol monomer units (see [0013] and Table A, page 19), wherein the above PVOH resin blend maintain better pouch strength upon ageing (see [0241]). Labeque also teaches that the composition is a heavy duty liquid detergent composition (see [0078]) which comprises perfume, i.e., unencapsulated perfume and perfume microcapsules (see [0131], see also Formulation P in Table 7, page 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a non-encapsulated perfume in the liquid detergent composition of Vaccaro because it is known from Labeque to combine the unencapsulated perfume with perfume microcapsules for the known use of providing fragrance during and after the wash cycle; and to have utilized a PVOH resin blend comprising a first PVOH polymer comprising carboxylated anionic monomer units and vinyl alcohol monomer units, and a second PVOH polymer consisting essentially of vinyl alcohol monomer units because said resin blend maintain better pouch strength upon ageing as taught by Labeque.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,129,448, already cited in IDS dated 03/07/2025. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to similar water-soluble unit dose articles comprising water-soluble polyvinyl alcohol films and laundry detergent compositions comprising capsules having similar first and second shell components having the same capsule fracture strengths and overlapping inorganic materials. Hence, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761