DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s filing filed on 09/24/2024. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/24/2024 and 02/09/2026 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawing submitted on 09/24/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The specification submitted on 09/24/2024 has been considered by Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0243769, hereinafter, “Chen”).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Chen teaches a system (see figures 1-3), comprising:
a mixer (see figures 1-2, mixer 150, [0024]);
a driver amplifier (see figures 1-2, driver 170, [0018]);
a power amplifier coupled to an output of the driver amplifier (see figures 1-2, driver 170, PV 22, [0016, 0018]);
a switchable transformer (see figures 2-3, a switchable transformer 300, [0024, 0027]), comprising:
a primary inductor coupled between a first output and a second output of the mixer (see figures 2-3, L1_MIX, a switchable transformer 300, [0024, 0027]);
a first switch (see figures 2-3, read on combination of switches Sn1 and Sp1, [0027-0028]);
a second switch (see figures 2-3, read on combination of switches Sn2 and Sp2, [0027-0028]); and
a secondary inductor coupled between a first input and a second input of the driver amplifier, wherein the secondary inductor is magnetically coupled with the primary inductor, and the secondary inductor comprises (see figures 2-3, L2_MIX, driver 170, [0016, 0018, 0027-0028]):
a first inductor coupled between the first input of the driver amplifier and a first terminal of the first switch (see figures 2-3, inductor L2_N1, driver 170, combination of switches Sn1 and Sp1, [0016, 0018, 0027-0028]);
a second inductor coupled between a second terminal of the first switch and the second input of the driver amplifier (see figures 2-3, inductor L2_P1, driver 170, combination of switches Sn1 and Sp1, [0016, 0018, 0027-0028]);
a third inductor coupled between the first terminal of the first switch and a first terminal of the second switch (see figures 2-3, inductor L2_N2, combination of switches Sn1 and Sp1, combination of switches Sn2 and Sp2, [0016, 0018, 0027-0028]); and
a fourth inductor coupled between the second terminal of the first switch and a second terminal of the second switch (see figures 2-3, inductor L2_P2, combination of switches Sn1 and Sp1, combination of switches Sn2 and Sp2, [0016, 0018, 0027-0028]).
Making Integral
In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice."); but see Schenck v. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to a vibratory testing machine (a hard-bearing wheel balancer) comprising a holding structure, a base structure, and a supporting means which form "a single integral and gaplessly continuous piece." Nortron argued that the invention is just making integral what had been made in four bolted pieces. The court found this argument unpersuasive and held that the claims were patentable because the prior art perceived a need for mechanisms to dampen resonance, whereas the inventor eliminated the need for dampening via the one-piece gapless support structure, showing insight that was contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art.).
Regarding claim 2, Chen further teaches a control circuit configured to: in a first mode, turn on the second switch and turn off the first switch; and in a second mode, turn off the second switch and turn on the first switch (see figure 3, [0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen further teaches in the first mode, the mixer is configured to output a first RF signal within a first frequency band; and in the second mode, the mixer is configured to output a second RF signal within a second frequency band that is higher than the first frequency band (see [0003, 0006, 0020]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen further teaches a frequency synthesizer coupled to the mixer, wherein the frequency synthesizer is configured to: output a local oscillator (LO) signal to the mixer; set the LO signal to a first frequency in the first mode; and set the LO signal to a second frequency in the second mode (see [0003, 0006, 0020]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen further teaches the second frequency is higher than the first frequency (see [0020]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen further teaches an antenna coupled to an output of the power amplifier (see figure 1, PA 22, antenna 40, [0016]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches a method for operating a wireless device, the wireless device including a switchable transformer coupled between a mixer and an amplifier, the switchable transformer including a primary inductor and a secondary inductor magnetically coupled with the primary inductor, the secondary inducting including a first inductor, a second inductor, a third inductor, and a fourth inductor, (see figures 1-3, mixer 151, L1_MIX, L2_MIX, inductor L2_N1, L2_p1, L2_N2, L2P2, driver 170, combination of switches Sn1 and Sp1, combination of switches Sn2 and Sp2 [0016, 0018, 0027-0028]) the method comprising:
in a first mode, coupling the first inductor, the second inductor, the third inductor, and the fourth inductor in series between a first input and a second input of the amplifier (see figure 3, [0027-0028]); and
in a second mode, coupling the first inductor and the second inductor in series between the first input and the second input of the amplifier, wherein the first inductor and the second inductor bypass the third inductor and the fourth inductor (see figure 3, [0027-0028]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen further teaches in the first mode, closing a switch between the third inductor and the fourth inductor; and in the second mode, opening the switch between the third inductor and the fourth inductor (see figure 3, [0027-0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0243769, hereinafter, “Chen”) in view of Kao et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0231642, hereinafter, “Kao”).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches mixer is connected with primary inductor (see figure 2, L1_MIX). Chen fails to teach the switchable transformer further comprises a third switch and a fourth switch, and the primary inductor further comprises: a fifth inductor coupled between the first output of the mixer and a first terminal of the third switch; a sixth inductor coupled between a second terminal of the third switch and the second output of the mixer; a seventh inductor coupled between the first terminal of the third switch and a first terminal of the fourth switch; and an eighth inductor coupled between the second terminal of the third switch and a second terminal of the fourth switch. However, Kao teaches the switchable transformer further comprises a third switch and a fourth switch, and the primary inductor further comprises: a fifth inductor coupled between the first output of the amplified and a first terminal of the third switch; a sixth inductor coupled between a second terminal of the third switch and the second output of the amplifier; a seventh inductor coupled between the first terminal of the third switch and a first terminal of the fourth switch; and an eighth inductor coupled between the second terminal of the third switch and a second terminal of the fourth switch (see figures 4B, 6, transformer 410, primary inductor 440, third switches is combine of switches 610 and 615, fourth switches is combine of switches 620 and 625, inductors 442, 444, 446 and 448, {0084-0089], it is obvious that one skill in the art can modify primary inductor of Kao into Chen primary inductor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kao into view of Chen in order to convert a differential signal into a single-ended signal, convert a single-ended signal into a differential signal, and/or provide impedance matching.
Regarding claim 7, Kao further teaches a control circuit configured to: in a first mode, turn on the second switch, turn on the fourth switch, turn off the first switch, and turn off the third switch; and in a second mode, turn off the second switch, turn off the fourth switch, turn on the first switch, and turn on the third switch (see [0084-0089]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen further teaches in the first mode, the mixer is configured to output a first RF signal within a first frequency band; and in the second mode, the mixer is configured to output a second RF signal within a second frequency band that is higher than the first frequency band (see [0003, 0006, 0020]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen further teaches a frequency synthesizer coupled to the mixer, wherein the frequency synthesizer is configured to: output a local oscillator (LO) 1signal to the mixer; set the LO signal to a first frequency in the first mode; and set the LO signal to a second frequency in the second mode (see [0003, 0006, 0020]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen further teaches the second frequency is higher than the first frequency (see [0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Kao further teaches the fifth inductor and the sixth inductor are stacked vertically with the secondary inductor (see figure 10, [0101-0104], selecting inductor stacked vertically with the other inductor is design choice, not an inventive concept).
Regarding claim 12, Kao further teaches the seventh inductor, the eighth inductor, and the secondary inductor are formed in a first metal layer, and the fifth inductor and the sixth inductor are formed in a second metal layer (see figure 10, [0101-0104]).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Kao further teaches the second metal layer is above the first metal layer (see figure 10, [0101-0104]).
Regarding claim 14, Kao further teaches the primary inductor includes one or more outer turns and one or more inner turns, the one or more inner turns and the secondary inductor are formed in a first metal layer, and the one or more outer turns are formed in a second metal layer (see figures 7A-8B, [0090-0096]).
Regarding claim 16, Kao further teaches the one or more outer turns overlap the secondary inductor (see figure 10, [0101-0104]).
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649