DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-18 are pending and have been examined in this Office Action. This is the First Office Action on the Merits.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,818,109, claims 1-4, 6, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,587,374, and claims 1-4, 6, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,142,096. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are broader than those in the issued patents and cover the same scope. The claims in the issued patents anticipate the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is taken as the representative claim. Claim 1 is directed to obtaining information and selecting subsets of cameras. The steps of obtaining information and selecting subsets can be performed within the human mind and are, thus, directed to a mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements of a processor is merely a generic computer component recited at a high level upon which the abstract idea is intended to be implemented and transmitting data is old and well-known (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Therefore, the additional elements do not provide a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements of a processor is merely a generic computer component recited at a high level upon which the abstract idea is intended to be implemented and transmitting data is old and well-known (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). Therefore, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more.
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected because it/they depend(s) from claim 1 and fail(s) to cure the deficiencies above. The dependent claims further define the mental process (e.g., define how vehicle events are determined or what the events are) or add generic components recited at a high level that perform well-known functions (e.g., sensors or cameras onboard the vehicle). Therefore, these claims do not change that the scope is directed to a mental process or provide additional elements that amount to significantly more and provide a practical application.
Similar to claims 1-9, claims 10-18 are directed to a method of the mental process. These claims do not provide any additional elements beyond those in claims 1-9 and are, thus, also directed to a mental process without significantly more or a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 12 recite the limitations "a set of cameras", “a first camera”, and “a sideways-facing camera”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is indefinite if these are new limitations or intended to refer back to a previous limitation.
Claims 8 and 17 are also rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-13, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0188376 to Chatow et al.
As per claim 1, Chatow discloses a system configured to capture information based on detected vehicle events, the system configured to couple with a vehicle having a front, a rear, and a side (Chatow; At least the abstract and paragraph(s) 13), the system comprising:
one or more processors (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 18) configured to:
obtain information regarding detected vehicle events, wherein the detected vehicle events include a first vehicle event related to the front of the vehicle and a second vehicle event related to the side of the vehicle, wherein the first vehicle event is determined to have a first event type, and wherein the second vehicle event is determined to have a second event type that is different from the first event type (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 20 and 21);
select a first subset of cameras from a set of cameras based on the first vehicle event having the first event type, wherein the first subset of cameras includes a first camera and excludes at least an individual camera from the set of cameras (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 20, 21, 23, and 28);
select a second subset of cameras from the set of cameras based on the second vehicle event having the second event type that is different from the first event type, wherein the second subset of cameras is different from the first subset of cameras, and wherein the second subset of cameras includes a sideways-facing camera (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 20, 21, 23, and 32);
transmit a first event record associated with the first vehicle event to a remote server that is external to the vehicle, wherein the first event record includes information based on image data captured by the first subset of cameras (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 15 and 29); and
transmit a second event record associated with the second vehicle event to the remote server, wherein the second event record includes information based on image data captured by the second subset of cameras (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 15 and 29).
As per claim 2, Chatow discloses further comprising a set of sensors configured to generate output signals conveying information related to current operating conditions of the vehicle, wherein the set of sensors is carried by the vehicle (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 18 and 21).
As per claim 3, Chatow discloses further comprising a set of cameras configured to capture image data, wherein the set of cameras is carried by the vehicle, wherein the set of cameras includes a first camera configured to capture first image data, and a second camera configured to capture second image data, wherein the second camera is a sideways-facing camera (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 32).
As per claim 4, Chatow discloses wherein detection of the vehicle events is based on the generated output signals (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 22 and 23).
As per claim 6, Chatow discloses wherein detection of the first vehicle event is based on a comparison of a vehicle speed of the vehicle with a threshold value (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 22).
As per claim 7, Chatow discloses wherein a current operating condition of the vehicle includes one or more of an engine load, a throttle level, a particular change in vehicle direction, or multiple changes in vehicle direction (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 18 and 35).
As per claim 9, Chatow discloses wherein the vehicle events include one or more of swerving, a U-turn, freewheeling, over-revving, lane-departure, short following distance, imminent collision, unsafe turning that approaches rollover, acceleration breaching a maximum acceleration threshold, idling, driving outside a geo-fence boundary, crossing double-yellow lines, passing on single-lane roads, a certain number of lane changes within a certain amount of time or distance, lane change within a minimum duration threshold for changing lanes, cutting off other vehicles during lane-change, speeding, running a red light, and/or running a stop sign (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 18 and 22).
As per claims 10-13, 15, 16, and 18, Chatow discloses the method (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 8) performed by the system of claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9. Therefore, claims 10-13, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected using the same citations and reasoning as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatow.
As per claims 8 and 19, Chatow discloses various sensors, such as acceleraometers (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 18), and cameras (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 31 and 32), and recording applicable camera data according to the sensed scenario (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 32 and 35), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first vehicle event is an imminent collision, wherein the second vehicle event is a swerve, wherein the first camera is a forward-facing camera, and wherein the first subset of cameras excludes the sideways-facing camera.
However, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have determined the exact scenarios and corresponding cameras during routine testing and design of the system. Determining the risks and important events of a vehicle and “determining the recording that best suits the event” (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 20) would be well-understood by one in the art under normal design and testing with no significantly inventiveness. Chatow further states “additional scenarios and corresponding schemas may be developed without departing from the scope of the invention” (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatow in view of JPH 08235484 to Nakamura.
As per claim 5 and 14, Chatow discloses sensors, used to determine the depth of an object with respect to the vehicle (Chatow; At least paragraph(s) 32), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of sensors includes a depth sensor configured to generate output signals conveying depth information, the depth information including ranges of surfaces and/or objects within an environment in and/or around the vehicle, the environment around the vehicle including an area within a first field-of-view of the first camera and/or a second field-of-view of the second camera, wherein the first vehicle event is related to a distance between two vehicles, wherein detection of the first vehicle event is based on the depth information.
However, the above feature(s) are taught by Nakamura (Nakamura; At least the abstract). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of Nakamura into the invention of Chatow with a reasonable expectation of success with the motivation of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Depth sensors, such as radar, are known sensors used to collect data about the operating environment surrounding a vehicle and would be a simple substitution for one of skill in the art to add to or replace the sensors in Chatow to detect information about the vehicle and its operations with respect to the environment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. The prior art shows the state of the art.
/David P. Merlino/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665