DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Seki reference (WO 2018/142751 A1).
4. Regarding claim 1, the Seki reference discloses:
an automotive storage device (FIG. 2) comprising:
a nonvolatile memory device [FIG. 2 Paragraph 0008—nonvolatile memory element] configured to store data [FIG. 2 Paragraph 0008—stores a program]; and
a storage controller (13) configured to receive a first request from a first host [Staring from when FIG. 2 is discussed count to Paragraph 0008—stores a program executed by the CPU 11 and data necessary for execution—Paragraph 0005—program realized by CPU 11 . . . can be transferred by information transmission from a computer device such as a server computer], control the nonvolatile memory device so that the nonvolatile memory device performs an operation corresponding to the first request by using a first function including a first physical function [Paragraph 0008—program which is a physical function], receive a second request from a second host [Paragraph 0008—update program from DL server 6] having a safety integrity level that is different from that of the first host [Function configuration of DL server], and control the nonvolatile memory device so that the nonvolatile memory device performs an operation corresponding to the second request by using a second function including a second physical function [Paragraph 0008—update program from DL server 6].
5. Regarding claim 16, the Seki reference discloses:
an automotive electronic system (FIG. 2) comprising:
a first host processor (11) [Paragraph 0005—server 5] with a first safety integrity level;
a second host processor [Paragraph 0008—processor for DL server 6] with a second safety integrity level that is higher than the first safety integrity level [Functional configuration of DL Server]; and
an automotive storage device (13) configured to perform an operation corresponding to a first request of the first host processor based on a first function including a first physical function in response to the first request [Paragraph 0008—stores a program], and
perform an operation corresponding to a second request of the second host processor based on a second function including a second physical function in response to the second request [Paragraph 0008—update a program].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 2-3, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Seki reference in view of the Nakahara reference (WO 2018/139296 A1).
8. Regarding claim 2, the Seki reference fails to disclose:
wherein the second function includes an error detection function for detecting generation of errors of the second function.
The Nakahara reference teaches it is conventional in the art of vehicle control devices to provide as taught in [FIG. 13 Description Paragraphs 0005-0006] wherein the second function includes an error detection function for detecting generation of errors of the second function [FIG. 13 Description Paragraphs 0005-0006]. Such configurations/structures would allow checking the current program area information of the vehicle control device [Paragraph 0006].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the reference, such that the device further includes wherein the second function includes an error detection function for detecting generation of errors of the second function, as clearly suggested and taught by the Nakahara reference, in order to allow checking the current program area information of the vehicle control device [Paragraph 0006].
9. Regarding claim 3, the Seki reference fails to disclose:
wherein the error detection function is configured to allow access to registers storing the second function based on access right information included in the second request.
The Nakahara reference teaches it is conventional in the art of vehicle control devices to provide as taught in [FIG. 13 Description Paragraphs 0005-0006] wherein the error detection function [FIG. 13—Paragraph 0005—notifying the error] is configured to allow access to registers [Paragraph 0003—Flash ROM 122] storing the second function [Paragraph 0003—update package 5] based on access right information included in the second request [Paragraph 0003—comparison operation]. Such configurations/structures would allow checking the current program area information of the vehicle control device [Paragraph 0006].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the reference, such that the device further includes wherein the error detection function is configured to allow access to registers storing the second function based on access right information included in the second request, as clearly suggested and taught by the Nakahara reference, in order to allow checking the current program area information of the vehicle control device [Paragraph 0006].
10. Regarding claim 12, the Seki reference fails to disclose:
wherein the error detection function is configured to allow access to registers storing the second function based on access right information included in the second request.
The Nakahara reference teaches it is conventional in the art of vehicle control devices to provide as taught in [FIG. 13 Description Paragraphs 0005-0006] wherein the error detection function [FIG. 13—Paragraph 0005—notifying the error] is configured to allow access to registers [Paragraph 0003—Flash ROM 122] storing the second function [Paragraph 0003—update package 5] based on access right information included in the second request [Paragraph 0003—comparison operation]. Such configurations/structures would allow checking the current program area information of the vehicle control device [Paragraph 0006].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the reference, such that the device further includes wherein the error detection function is configured to allow access to registers storing the second function based on access right information included in the second request, as clearly suggested and taught by the Nakahara reference, in order to allow checking the current program area information of the vehicle control device [Paragraph 0006].
11. Regarding claim 17, the Seki reference further discloses:
wherein the automotive storage device (13) includes a storage controller [Paragraph 0008]. The Seki reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Seki reference fails to disclose to detect an error of the second function while performing an operation corresponding to the second request.
The Nakahara reference teaches it is conventional in the art of vehicle control devices to provide as taught in [FIG. 13 Description Paragraphs 0005-0006] to detect an error of the second function while performing an operation corresponding to the second request [FIG. 13 Description Paragraphs 0005-0006]. Such configurations/structures would allow checking the current program area information of the vehicle control device [Paragraph 0006].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the reference, such that the device further includes to detect an error of the second function while performing an operation corresponding to the second request, as clearly suggested and taught by the Nakahara reference, in order to allow checking the current program area information of the vehicle control device [Paragraph 0006].
12. Claim(s) 4, 6, 9-11, 13, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Seki reference.
13. Regarding claim 4, the Seki reference further discloses:
wherein the storage controller (13) includes registers storing the second function [Paragraph 0008—update function].
The Seki reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Seki reference fails to disclose the registers include bit flip correcting circuits for detecting bit flips of the second function. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in control circuits to use bit flip correcting circuits to detect and correct bit flips in programs for the purpose of rehabilitating code. See CN 106897023 B Step 1111 for one example.
14. Regarding claim 6, the Seki reference fails to disclose:
wherein the storage controller is configured to receive a third request from a third host having a safety integrity level that is different from that of the first host, and control the nonvolatile memory device so that the nonvolatile memory device performs an operation corresponding to the third request by using a third function including a third physical function.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wherein the storage controller is configured to receive a third request from a third host having a safety integrity level that is different from that of the first host, and control the nonvolatile memory device so that the nonvolatile memory device performs an operation corresponding to the third request by using a third function including a third physical function, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
15. Regarding claim 9, the Seki reference fails to disclose:
wherein the first function includes a first virtual function, the second function includes a second virtual function, the first virtual function corresponds to a first virtual machine executed by the first host, and the second virtual function corresponds to a second virtual machine executed by the second host. This is an example of the use of a known technique to improve similar devices it is well known to use virtual functions and virtual machines in controller design and applying these well known items to the already disclosed first and second functions and first and second hosts shows that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize modifying the prior art to arrive at the language of claim 9.
16. Regarding claim 10, the Seki reference further discloses:
wherein the nonvolatile memory device includes storage areas, and the storage controller is configured to control the nonvolatile memory device to store the data generated by the second virtual machine in a storage area corresponding to the second virtual function from
among the storage areas based on the second virtual function in response to the second request (implicit).
17. Regarding claim 11, the Seki reference discloses:
an automotive storage controller comprising: first registers configured to store a first function including a first physical function [Paragraph 0008—nonvolatile memory which is a program which is physical function];
second registers (13) configured to store a second function including a second physical function [Paragraph 0008—update program which is a physical function]; and
a processor (11) configured to receive a first request corresponding to a first safety integrity level from outside the automotive storage controller [Paragraph 0005—server 5], generate a command for performing an operation corresponding to the first request based on the first function [Paragraph 0008—stores a program], receive a second request corresponding to a second safety integrity level from outside the automotive storage controller [Paragraph 0008—update program from DL server 6] [Function request for DL server], generate a command for performing an operation corresponding to the second request based on the second function [Paragraph 0008—update program].
The Seki reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Seki reference fails to disclose detect generation of errors of the second function while accessing the second registers. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to detect generation of errors in a function while accessing memory for the purpose of improving the cached memory. See CN 108351818 for one example.
18. Regarding claim 13, the Seki reference fails to disclose:
third registers configured to store a third function including a third physical function, wherein the processor is configured to receive a third request corresponding to a third safety integrity level that is lower than the second safety integrity level from outside the automotive storage controller, and generate a command for performing an operation corresponding to the third request based on the third function.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use third registers configured to store a third function including a third physical function, wherein the processor is configured to receive a third request corresponding to a third safety integrity level that is lower than the second safety integrity level from outside the automotive storage controller, and generate a command for performing an operation corresponding to the third request based on the third function, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
19. Regarding claim 18, the Seki reference fails to disclose:
further comprising a third host processor with the second safety integrity level, wherein the automotive storage device is configured to receive a third request of the third host processor, and access registers storing a third function including a third physical function based on access right information included in the third request.
third registers configured to store a third function including a third physical function, wherein the processor is configured to receive a third request corresponding to a third safety integrity level that is lower than the second safety integrity level from outside the automotive storage controller, and generate a command for performing an operation corresponding to the third request based on the third function.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a third host processor with the second safety integrity level, wherein the automotive storage device is configured to receive a third request of the third host processor, and access registers storing a third function including a third physical function based on access right information included in the third request, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B).
20. Regarding claim 19, the Seki reference fails to disclose:
wherein the first function includes first virtual functions, the second function includes second virtual functions, the first virtual functions correspond to operating systems or applications performed by the first host processor, and the second virtual functions correspond to operating systems or applications performed by the second host processor.
This is an example of the use of a known technique to improve similar devices it is well known to use virtual functions in controller design and applying these well known items to the already disclosed first and second functions and first and second host processor shows that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize modifying the prior art to arrive at the language of claim 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-8, 14-15, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747