DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 02/09/2026 in parent Application No. EP 23306594.5, filed on 09/24/2023.
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Amendment filed on 12/29/2025 in which claims 1 and 3-9 have been amended, claims 2 and 10 have been canceled, claims 11-17 have been added and entered of record.
Claims 1 and 3-9 have been amended herein to overcome objection for informalities. Based on the amended claims, the objections to the claims are withdrawn.
Claim 10 has been cancelled, therefore, the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C § 112(b) is/are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-17 are presented for examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to the drawing have been considered and persuasive, therefore, the objections to the drawing are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/27/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims 1 and 7 have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments are based substantially on the newly added limitations by the applicant to the independent claims. Please see the rejection below.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant argues that “Alam, however, make no mention of incrementing a counter, much less "wherein the counter is incremented by a value corresponding to an absolute value of a difference between the measured instantaneous output voltage and the reference instantaneous output voltage signal" as recited in amended claim 1” (See Applicant’s Remarks page 9-10).
In response, the arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagree because a particular claim element can be mentioned explicitly in the reference or it can be inherent. The reference does not have to describe a claim element in precisely the same words used in the application claim. The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required." (In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 832 (Fed. Cir.1990)). In this case, Alam clearly discloses “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status” (Column 21, lines 43-45) which clearly shows time counter has been performed and compared to a preset time limit when the low voltage condition persist during the time period.
Regarding independent claim 7, the responses for the claim are similar to claim 1 above.
Examiner Notes
The status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to dependent claim 3 and 4 has been changed due to newly discovered information in the reference of Alam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 11-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alam et al., US Patent 11362539; hereinafter “Alam”.
Regarding claim 1, Alam discloses a method, comprising:
ascertaining whether a voltage drop or sag is occurring in a main grid (Fig. 1, utility grid 102) (Column 2, lines 36-60 low voltage ride-through) (Column 13, lines 42-43) connected to a microgrid (Fig. 1), the ascertaining including:
measuring an instantaneous output voltage between the two lines of the main grid (Column 3, lines 53-57) (Column 13, lines 33-67; voltage sag is a multiple instantaneous continuous voltage measurement) (Column 20, lines 1-34);
comparing the measured instantaneous output voltage between the two lines with a reference instantaneous output voltage for the two lines (Column 20, line35 to Column line 36);
incrementing a counter when the measured instantaneous output voltage differs from the reference instantaneous output voltage by more than a voltage threshold (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status” indicates time counter is being used), wherein the counter is incremented by a value corresponding to an absolute value of a difference between the measured instantaneous output voltage and the reference instantaneous output voltage signal (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status” indicates time counter increase ) (Column 5, lines 39-46, “Using the LVRT status signal, the intelligent reactive power controller 112 controls the LVRT during one or more of a grid voltage sag and a voltage reduction by transmitting one or more of an active power reference value and a reactive power reference value to the distributed generation circuit 106 based on the LVRT status signal”) (Column 9, lines 30-36, “The intelligent LVRT detector 110 further includes a trip signal generator (not shown). The trip signal generator is electrically connected to the 3-phase grid circuit breaker 104. The trip signal generator is configured to turn off the 3-phase grid circuit breaker 104 when the LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit”); and
ascertaining that the voltage drop or sag is occurring in the main grid when the counter holds a value that exceeds a counter threshold (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status”); and
disconnecting the microgrid from the main grid when the voltage drop or sag occurring in the main grid has been ascertained by opening a switch connecting the main grid to the microgrid (Column 21, lines 38-45).
Regarding claim 3, Alam discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the main grid comprises a three-phase grid (Fig. 1, utility grid 102 is a 3-phase) comprising three phase lines and one neutral line (Fig. 1, neutral point of the filter 126 indicates a neutral line is present), and wherein the reference instantaneous output voltage signal is generated via a Double Decoupled Synchronous Frame Phase Locked Loop (Column 10, lines 9-30).
Regarding claim 4, Alam discloses the method of claim 1 above, Alam also discloses the main grid being a three-phase grid (Fig. 1, utility grid 102 is a 3-phase) having three phase lines. one neutral line, wherein the ascertaining is performed for two lines comprising one or more of a phase-to-phase couple or a phase-to-neutral couple (voltage drop or sag measurement either referenced between phase-to-phase or phase-to-neutral).
Regarding claim 6, Alam discloses the method according to claim 1 above, Alam also discloses the ascertaining whether the voltage drop or sag is occurring is performed periodically (Column 7, line 64 to Column 8, line 55; furthermore, to detect grid condition for low voltage ride-through, inherently the system must monitoring repeated periodically).
Regarding claim 7, Alam discloses an electrical controller (Fig. 1) comprising:
at least one instantaneous output voltage measuring unit configured to measure an instantaneous output voltage between two lines of a main grid (Column 3, lines 53-57) (Column 13, lines 33-67) (Column 20, lines 1-34) (Fig. 1, utility grid 102 is a 3-phase and the voltage measuring the 3-phase);
at least one reference instantaneous output voltage signal generation unit configured to generate a reference instantaneous output voltage signal for the two lines (Column 20, line35 to Column line 36);
a comparing unit configured to compare a measured instantaneous output voltage between the two lines with the reference instantaneous output voltage signal for the two lines (Column 20, line35 to Column line 36);
a counter incrementing unit configured to increment a counter when the measured instantaneous output voltage differs from the reference instantaneous output voltage signal by more than a voltage threshold (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status” indicates time counter is being used), wherein the counter is incremented by a value corresponding to an absolute value of a difference between the measured instantaneous output voltage and the reference instantaneous output voltage signal (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status” indicates time counter increase ) (Column 5, lines 39-46, “Using the LVRT status signal, the intelligent reactive power controller 112 controls the LVRT during one or more of a grid voltage sag and a voltage reduction by transmitting one or more of an active power reference value and a reactive power reference value to the distributed generation circuit 106 based on the LVRT status signal”) (Column 9, lines 30-36, “The intelligent LVRT detector 110 further includes a trip signal generator (not shown). The trip signal generator is electrically connected to the 3-phase grid circuit breaker 104. The trip signal generator is configured to turn off the 3-phase grid circuit breaker 104 when the LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit”);
a counter evaluation unit configured to ascertain a voltage drop or sag occurring in the main grid when the counter holds a value that exceeds a counter threshold (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status”); and
a switch (Fig. 1, 104) configured to be arranged between the main grid (Fig. 1, 102) and the microgrid (Fig. 1, 100) and configured to be opened by the electrical controller when the counter evaluation unit ascertains the voltage drop or sag (Column 21, lines 38-45).
Regarding claim 9, Alam discloses the electrical controller of claim 7 above, Alam also discloses the reference instantaneous output voltage signal generation unit comprises a Double Decoupled Synchronous Frame Phase Locked Loop (Column 10, lines 9-30).
Regarding claim 11, Alam discloses the electrical controller of claim 7 above, Alam also discloses the electrical controller comprises a portion of a microgrid (Fig. 1, 112 is the microgrid controller).
Regarding claim 12, Alam discloses the electrical controller of claim 7 above, Alam also discloses the main grid comprises a three-phase grid having three phase lines (Fig. 1, A, B, and C of 102) and one neutral line (Fig. 1, neutral N at 102, neutral connection 146), wherein the voltage drop or the voltage sag is ascertained based on one or more of a phase-to-phase couple or a phase-to-neutral couple (voltage drop or sag measurement either referenced between phase-to-phase or phase-to-neutral).
Regarding claim 13, Alam discloses a device (Fig. 1), comprising:
at least one memory (Column 2, lines 62 to Column 3 line 3); and
at least one processing unit coupled with the at least one memory and operable to cause the device (Column 2, lines 62 to Column 3 line 3) to:
ascertain whether a voltage drop or sag is occurring in a main grid connected to a microgrid (Fig. 1, utility grid 102) (Column 2, lines 36-60 low voltage ride-through) (Column 13, lines 42-43), including to:
measure an instantaneous output voltage between two lines of the main grid (Column 3, lines 53-57) (Column 13, lines 33-67; voltage sag is a multiple instantaneous continuous voltage measurement) (Column 20, lines 1-34);
compare the measured instantaneous output voltage between the two lines with a reference instantaneous output voltage signal for the two lines (Column 20, line35 to Column line 36);
increment a counter when the measured instantaneous output voltage differs from the reference instantaneous output voltage by more than a voltage threshold (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status” indicates time counter is being used), wherein the counter is incremented by a value corresponding to an absolute value of a difference between the measured instantaneous output voltage and the reference instantaneous output voltage signal (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status” indicates time counter increase ) (Column 5, lines 39-46, “Using the LVRT status signal, the intelligent reactive power controller 112 controls the LVRT during one or more of a grid voltage sag and a voltage reduction by transmitting one or more of an active power reference value and a reactive power reference value to the distributed generation circuit 106 based on the LVRT status signal”) (Column 9, lines 30-36, “The intelligent LVRT detector 110 further includes a trip signal generator (not shown). The trip signal generator is electrically connected to the 3-phase grid circuit breaker 104. The trip signal generator is configured to turn off the 3-phase grid circuit breaker 104 when the LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit”); and
ascertain that the voltage drop or sag is occurring in the main grid when the counter holds a value that exceeds a counter threshold (Column 21, lines 43-45, “when a LVRT status is detected in which the low voltage persists for a duration greater than a preset time limit of monitoring the duration of the persistence of the LVRT status”); and
disconnect the microgrid from the main grid when the voltage drop or sag occurring in the main grid has been ascertained by opening a switch connecting the main grid to the microgrid (Column 21, lines 38-45).
Regarding claim 14, Alam discloses the device of claim 13 above, Alam also discloses the main grid comprises a three-phase grid comprising three phase lines and one neutral line (Fig. 1, neutral N at 102, neutral connection 146), and wherein the reference instantaneous output voltage signal is generated via a Double Decoupled Synchronous Frame Phase Locked Loop (Column 10, lines 9-30).
Regarding claim 15, Alam discloses the device of claim 13 above, Alam also discloses the main grid comprises a three-phase grid having three phase lines (Fig. 1, A, B, and C of 102) and one neutral line (Fig. 1, neutral N at 102, neutral connection 146), wherein the ascertaining is performed for two lines comprising one or more of a phase-to-phase couple or a phase-to-neutral couple (voltage drop or sag measurement either referenced between phase-to-phase or phase-to-neutral).
Regarding claim 17, Alam discloses the device of claim 13 above, Alam also discloses to ascertain whether the voltage drop or sag is occurring is performed periodically (Column 7, line 64 to Column 8, line 55; furthermore, to detect grid condition for low voltage ride-through, inherently the system must monitoring repeated periodically).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alam in view of Bock et al., US Patent Publication 20160133415; hereinafter “Bock”.
Regarding claim 5, Alam discloses the method of claim 1 above, Alam also discloses disconnecting the microgrid from the main grid when the voltage drop or sag occurring in the main grid has been ascertained comprises opening a thyristor based static switch connecting the main grid to the microgrid (Column 5, line 58 to Column 6, line 5) (Column 21, lines 38-45). Alam does not explicitly disclose the switch is a thyristor based static switch. Bock discloses a power distribution system using a thyristor based static switch [0107]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alam to incorporate the teaching of Bock and use a thyristor based static switch since thyristor based static switch use less energy to operate thus conserve energy during power outage.
Regarding claim 8, Alam discloses the electrical controller of claim 7 above, Alam does not disclose the switch comprises a fast disconnecting switch comprising one of a thyristor based static switch, a hybrid breaker, or a solid state breaker. Bock discloses a power distribution system using a thyristor based static switch [0107]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alam to incorporate the teaching of Bock and use a thyristor based static switch. Doing so would allow consuming less energy to operate thus conserve energy during power outage.
Regarding claim 16, Alam discloses the device of claim 13 above, Alam also discloses to disconnect the microgrid from the main grid when the voltage drop or sag occurring in the main grid has been ascertained comprises opening a thyristor based static switch connecting the main grid to the microgrid (Column 5, line 58 to Column 6, line 5) (Column 21, lines 38-45). Alam does not explicitly disclose the switch is a thyristor based static switch. Bock discloses a power distribution system using a thyristor based static switch [0107]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alam to incorporate the teaching of Bock and use a thyristor based static switch since thyristor based static switch use less energy to operate thus conserve energy during power outage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836