DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This is a continuation of US Application 18/318,093, filed on May 16, 2023 and now allowed, which is a continuation of US Application 17/176,749 filed on February 16, 2021, now US Patent 11,701,415, which is a continuation of US Application 16/166,455 filed on October 22, 2018, now US Patent 10,953,080, which is a continuation of Application 14/491,414 filed on September 19, 2014, issued as US Patent 10,117,921, which is a non-provisional of U.S. Provisional Application Ser. No. 61/879,959 filed September 19, 2013, that is hereby acknowledged by the Examiner.
Status of the Claims
The amendment dated 09/24/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 45-57 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Notably, the disclosure statement filed lists a Search Report. The listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application
specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and
(b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list must be submitted on a separate paper." Therefore, the references cited in the Search Report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) they have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 46 and 56 are objected to for the following informalities:
Claim 46 and 56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 46 recites “phosphonothioate”. The claim should recite “phosphorothioate”.
Claim 46 recites “am immunostimulatory”. The claim should recite “an immunostimulatory”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 45 and 47-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dominowski et al. “Dominowski” (US PGPUB 20090324641).
The claims are directed to a method of generating antibodies as reagents or for therapeutic use, the method comprising
a) administering to a source animal a vaccine composition comprising an antigen against which said antibodies are desired and an adjuvant comprising an oily phase present in the amount of at least 36% v/v of said vaccine composition, am immunostimulatory oligonucleotide and DEAE Dextran, and wherein further said vaccine composition is a water-in-oil emulsion;
b) harvesting a source of said antibodies from said source animal, wherein said source animal is selected from the group consisting of mice, rats, hamsters, swine, guinea pigs, rabbits, goats, sheep, poultry, cattle, horses.
Regarding claims 45 and 47-49, Dominowski discloses adjuvant formulations comprising various combinations of triterpenoids, sterols, immunomodulators, polymers, and Th2 stimulators; methods for making the adjuvant compositions; and the use of the adjuvant formulations in immunogenic and vaccine compositions with different antigens (Abstract). Dominowski discloses an immunogenic composition comprising an antigen and adjuvant formulation comprising an oily phase and aqueous phase (see paragraph [0189]). Dominowski discloses in an embodiment that the adjuvant composition comprises a saponin, cholesterol and DDA (a quaternary amine) (see paragraphs [0019] thru [0021]). Dominowski teaches the oily phase can comprise at least 50% of the formulation v/v (see paragraph [0190]). Dominowski teaches the formulation can comprise a saponin and polycationic carrier (e.g. DEAE) (see Example 12). Dominowski also teaches the composition can comprise a sterol such as cholesterol (see Example 12). As for the antigen, Dominowski teaches that the antigen can be any substance that stimulates an immune response (see paragraphs [0123] and [0169]). Dominowski also discloses harvesting a source of antibodies by disclosing blood samples taken from animals and serum separation conducted (see paragraph [0238]) for detection of antibodies and quantitation of antibody titers (see paragraphs [0284] and [0304]) and virus neutralization assays (see paragraph [0346] and Table 25).
Regarding claim 50, Dominowski discloses embodiments whereby the oil is mineral oil (see paragraph [0187]).
Regarding claims 51-53, Dominowski discloses the source animal is “primates, livestock, companion animals, laboratory test animals, captive wild animals, aves (including in ova), reptiles, and fish. Thus, this term includes but is not limited to monkeys, humans, swine; cattle, sheep, goats, equines, mice, rats, guinea pigs, hamsters, rabbits, felines, canines, chickens, turkeys, ducks, other poultry, frogs, and lizards” (see paragraph [0153]).
Regarding claims 54 and 55, Dominowski discloses the antigen is FeLVgp70 (see paragraph [0180] and claim 11 of Dominowski).
Therefore, the cited prior art anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
103 are summarized as follows:
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dominowski et al. “Dominowski” (US PGPUB 20090324641, IDS of record dated 02/13/2026) as applied to claims 45, 54 and 55 above, in view of Smith et al. “Smith” (EP2023143, IDS of record dated 02/13/2026).
The teachings of Dominowski et al. are outlined above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 57, Dominowski does not explicitly teach administering harvested antibodies to subjects.
Smith, however, teaches “an immunogenic composition of the invention is also suitable for the production of a vaccine. Said vaccine is preferably capable of at least in part providing protection against a Streptococcus related disease. Preferably, said vaccine is capable of providing protection against a Streptococcus infection. The invention therefore provides a use of an immunogenic composition of the invention for the preparation of a vaccine. A protein, immunogenic part, derivative, analogue and/or recombinant carrier of the invention is preferably administered to a human individual and/or non-human animal together with a suitable carrier. Said carrier preferably facilitates the acceptance by said human individual and/or animal of said protein, immunogenic part, derivative, analogue and/or recombinant carrier of the invention and preferably increases the immunogenic effect. A suitable carrier of the invention for instance comprises a suitable adjuvant capable of increasing an immunising effect of an immunogenic composition of the invention. Many suitable adjuvants, oil-based and water-based, are known to a person skilled in the art (see paragraphs [0030], [0031] and [0061]). Further, Smith teaches administering an antibodies to an animal by stating “a protein of the invention and/or an immunogenic part, derivative and/or analogue thereof is preferably isolated and/or recombinantly produced and subsequently incubated with said serum - or with (partly) isolated antibodies and/or immune cells - derived from said animals. It is possible to administer serum, antibodies and/or immune cells derived from a first animal together with serum, antibodies and/or immune cells derived from a second animal. Alternatively, serum, antibodies and/or immune cells derived from a first animal is administrated firstly, after which serum, antibodies and/or immune cells from a second animal is added. In yet another embodiment serum, antibodies and/or immune cells of a first animal is administrated to one separate batch comprising at least one protein and/or immunogenic part, derivative and/or analogue according to the invention and serum, antibodies and/or immune cells of a second animal is administered to another batch comprising at least one protein and/or immunogenic part, derivative and/or analogue according to the invention” (see paragraph [0010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to generate a method of generating antibodies as reagents or for therapeutic use comprising administering to a source animal a vaccine composition comprising an oily phase present in the amount of at least 36% v/v comprising dextran and harvesting said antibodies as disclosed by Dominowski, whereby the antibodies are administered to target animal as taught by Smith. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success given the knowledge that Smith utilized vaccine compositions to generate antibodies in an animal in order to achieve the maximum (production or activity or therapeutic) response from the antibodies. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/BARRY A CHESTNUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672