DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 17, 2026 has been entered.
Claim 1, 6, 12 17, and 20 are amended.
Claim 5 and 16 are cancelled.
Claims 21-22 are new.
Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-22 are pending this application
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 21 depends upon itself. For the purpose of this office action, claim 21 will depend on claim 20. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-15, 17-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al (US 20190135229 A1) in view of Burowski et al (US 2021/0076163 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ledvina teaches a ranging method implemented by a first device, wherein the ranging method comprises [0109 for UWB devices]:
sending, to a second device and using a first resource, a ranging control frame comprising ranging parameter information [0113 for a start request and containing a set of parameters],
wherein the ranging parameter information indicates to perform ranging [0113 for a ranging session];
and interacting with, based on the ranging parameter information and using a second resource, the second device to perform the ranging [0115 for ranging by mobile device or vehicle (antenna means)],
wherein a second bandwidth of the second resource is greater than a first bandwidth of the first resource [0041 for BT of 2.4 GHz and 0046 for 1.3 GHz, with 0115-0118],
wherein the ranging parameter information indicates that the first device is a ranging initiator and the second device is a ranging responder [0118 for Initiator device has a subset of UWB sensors],
and wherein interacting with the second device comprises: sending, to the second device, a ranging initiation frame at a first time [0115 for requested device can respond with a ranging command];
receiving, from the second device, a ranging response frame at a second time [0070 for time T1 and T8];
receiving, from the second device and using the second resource, a measurement report comprising first measurement information [0070 for receiving at T8 with 0137 for exchanging messages between initiator and responder (reporting)],
and wherein the first distance information comprises a distance between the first device and the second device [0152-0153 for mobile device can determine the distance].
Ledvina fails to explicitly teach wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between a third time at which the second device receives the ranging initiation frame and a fourth time at which the second device sends the ranging response frame; and obtaining first distance information based on the first measurement information and second measurement information and using the second resource, wherein the second measurement information indicates a second time interval between the first time and the second time.
Burowski has a method for a mobile device to include ranging circuitry to determine distance to another mobile device (abstract) and teaches wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between a third time at which the second device receives the ranging initiation frame and a fourth time at which the second device sends the ranging response frame [0049 for a delta between the two times];
and obtaining first distance information based on the first measurement information and second measurement information and using the second resource [0051 for mobile device computes distance, and 0233],
wherein the second measurement information indicates a second time interval between the first time and the second time [0051 for using round trip time].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Ledvina, further including the time calculations as taught by Burowski for the purpose to synchronize wireless protocols (Burowski, 0048).
Regarding Claim 12, Ledvina teaches a ranging method implemented by a second device, wherein the ranging method comprises [0030 for vehicle can begin scanning for ranging signals at a specified time using one or more vehicle antenna units]:
receiving, from a first device and using a first resource, a ranging control frame comprising ranging parameter information [0113 for receiving device can decide whether to suggest different parameters by replying with its own ranging start request or to accept the request],
wherein the ranging parameter information indicates to perform ranging [0113 for start request];
and interacting with, based on the ranging parameter information and using a second resource, the first device to perform the ranging [0115 for respond with a ranging command complete with status code of success],
wherein a second bandwidth of the second resource is greater than a first bandwidth of the first resource [0041 for BT of 2.4 GHz and 0046 for 1.3 GHz, with 0115-0118],
and wherein the ranging parameter information indicates that the first device is a ranging initiator and the second device is a ranging responder, interacting with the first device comprises [0118 for Initiator device has a subset of UWB sensors]:
receiving, from the first device, a ranging initiation frame at a first time [0115 for requested device can respond with a ranging command];
sending, to the first device, a ranging response frame at a second time [0070 for time T1 and T8];
and sending, to the first device using the second resource, a measurement report comprising first measurement information [0070 for receiving at T8 with 0137 for exchanging messages between initiator and responder (reporting)].
Ledvina fails toe explicitly teach wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between the first time and the second time.
Burowski has a method for a mobile device to include ranging circuitry to determine distance to another mobile device (abstract) and teaches wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between the first time and the second time [0049 for a delta between the two times].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Ledvina, further including the time calculations as taught by Burowski for the purpose to synchronize wireless protocols (Burowski, 0048).
Regarding Claim 2 and 13, Ledvina teaches sending, to the second device and using the first resource, a ranging beacon frame requesting to establish a personal area network [0049 for broadcast advertisement signals at some duty cycle and 0050 with 0093 for establish a connection (PAN)].
Regarding Claim 3 and 14, Ledvina teaches establishing, using the first resource, the personal area network with the second device [0051 for BT connection is created between the two devices].
Regarding Claim 4 and 15, Ledvina teaches receiving, from the second device and using the first resource, identification information identifying the second device [0025 for MAC address with 0050 for respond with its credentials also .
Regarding Claim 6, Ledvina teaches sending, to the second device, a ranging final frame after receiving the ranging response frame [0143 for receive a final ranging packet],
wherein the measurement report further comprises third measurement information indicating a third time interval between the third time and a fifth time at which the second device receives the ranging final frame [0143 for receive time of message at each responder being sent back to initiator].
Regarding Claim 8, Ledvina teaches sending, to the second device and using the first resource, the distance information [0154 for information can be sent using either the first wireless protocol].
Regarding Claim 9 and 16, Ledvina teaches the ranging parameter information indicates that the second device is a ranging initiator and the first device is a ranging responder [0114 for Either the mobile device or the vehicle may request to start ranging],
and wherein interacting with the second device comprises: receiving, from the second device at a first time, a ranging initiation frame [0070 for ranging request sent at T1 and being received at antennas 452-456 at times T2, T3, and T4];
sending, to the second device at a second time, a ranging response frame [0070 for provide ranging responses which are sent at times T5, T6, and T7];
and sending, to the second device and using the second resource, a measurement report comprising first measurement information [0082 for o exchange ranging service messages to exchange capabilities and 0137].
Ledvina fails to explicitly teach wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between the first time and the second time.
Burowski has a method for a mobile device to include ranging circuitry to determine distance to another mobile device (abstract) and teaches wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between the first time and the second time [0049 for a delta between the two times].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Ledvina, further including the time calculations as taught by Burowski for the purpose to synchronize wireless protocols (Burowski, 0048).
Regarding Claim 10 and 17, Ledvina teaches receiving, from the second device at a third time, a ranging final frame [0143],
wherein the measurement report further comprises second measurement information indicating a second time interval between the second time and the third time [0143].
Regarding Claim 11 and 18, Ledvina teaches receiving, from the second device and using the first resource, distance information comprising a distance between the first device and the second device [0154 for distance information can be sent using either the first wireless protocol].
Regarding Claim 19, Ledvina teaches the ranging parameter information indicates that the second device is a ranging initiator and the first device is a ranging responder [0118 for Initiator device has a subset of UWB sensors],
and wherein interacting with the first device comprises: sending, to the first device at a first time, a ranging initiation frame [0115 for requested device can respond with a ranging command];
receiving, from the first device at a second time, a ranging response frame [0070 for time T1 and T8];
and receiving, from the first device using the second resource, a measurement report comprising first measurement information [0070 for receiving at T8 with 0137 for exchanging messages between initiator and responder (reporting)],
and wherein the distance information comprises a distance between the first device and the second device [0152-0153 for mobile device can determine the distance].
Ledvina fails to explicitly teach wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between a third time at which the first device receives the ranging initiation frame from the second device and a fourth time at which the first device sends the ranging response frame to the second device; and obtaining, based on the first measurement information and second measurement information and using the second resource, distance information, wherein the second measurement information indicates a second time interval between the first time and the second time.
Burowski has a method for a mobile device to include ranging circuitry to determine distance to another mobile device (abstract) and teaches wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between a third time at which the second device receives the ranging initiation frame and a fourth time at which the second device sends the ranging response frame [0049 for a delta between the two times];
and obtaining first distance information based on the first measurement information and second measurement information and using the second resource [0051 for mobile device computes distance, and 0233],
wherein the second measurement information indicates a second time interval between the first time and the second time [0051 for using round trip time].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Ledvina, further including the time calculations as taught by Burowski for the purpose to synchronize wireless protocols (Burowski, 0048).
Regarding Claim 20, Ledvina teaches first device comprising [0109 for UWB devices]:
a memory configured to store instruction; and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to [0105 for using software]:
send, to a second device and using a first resource, a ranging control frame comprising ranging parameter information [0113 for a start request and containing a set of parameters],
wherein the ranging parameter information indicates to perform ranging [0113 for start request];
and interact with, based on the ranging parameter information and using a second resource, the second device to perform the ranging [0115 for ranging by mobile device or vehicle (antenna means)],
wherein a second bandwidth of the second resource is greater than a first bandwidth of the first resource [0041 for BT of 2.4 GHz and 0046 for 1.3 GHz, with 0115-0118],
and wherein the ranging parameter information indicates that the first device is a ranging initiator and the second device is a ranging responder [0118 for Initiator device has a subset of UWB sensors],
and wherein interacting with the second device comprises: sending, to the second device, a ranging initiation frame at a first time [0115 for requested device can respond with a ranging command];
receiving, from the second device, a ranging response frame at a second time [0070 for time T1 and T8];
receiving, from the second device and using the second resource, a measurement report comprising first measurement information [0070 for receiving at T8 with 0137 for exchanging messages between initiator and responder (reporting)],
and wherein the first distance information comprises a distance between the first device and the second device [0152-0153 for mobile device can determine the distance].
Ledvina fails to explicitly teach wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between a third time at which the second device receives the ranging initiation frame and a fourth time at which the second device sends the ranging response frame; and obtaining first distance information based on the first measurement information and second measurement information and using the second resource, wherein the second measurement information indicates a second time interval between the first time and the second time.
Burowski has a method for a mobile device to include ranging circuitry to determine distance to another mobile device (abstract) and teaches wherein the first measurement information indicates a first time interval between a third time at which the second device receives the ranging initiation frame and a fourth time at which the second device sends the ranging response frame [0049 for a delta between the two times];
and obtaining first distance information based on the first measurement information and second measurement information and using the second resource [0051 for mobile device computes distance, and 0233],
wherein the second measurement information indicates a second time interval between the first time and the second time [0051 for using round trip time].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Ledvina, further including the time calculations as taught by Burowski for the purpose to synchronize wireless protocols (Burowski, 0048).
Regarding Claim 22, Ledvina teaches the ranging parameter information comprises ranging role information, ranging moment information, or ranging duration information [0114 for ranging offset].
Claims 7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al (US 20190135229 A1) in view of Burowski et al (US 2021/0076163 A1) as applied to claim 1, above and further in view of Yoon (US 2021/0173064 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Ledvina teaches obtaining the first distance information comprises obtaining the first distance information based on the third measurement information [0143 for to compute a more-accurate range from all the timestamps].
Ledvina fails to explicitly teach and fourth measurement information, and wherein the fourth measurement information indicates a fourth time interval between the second time and a sixth time at which the first device sends the first ranging final frame.
Yoon has a method of operating a first target device for transmitting and receiving data through an ultra-wideband (UWB) channel in a wireless communication system (abstract) and teaches and fourth measurement information, and wherein the fourth measurement information indicates a fourth time interval between the second time and a sixth time at which the first device sends the first ranging final frame [0100-0101 for frame transmitted (TX) to the target device as Treply2 and including a final ranging message].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Ledvina, further including the measurement calculations as taught by Yoon for the purpose to measure a time interval by using the RMARKER (Yoon, 0096).
Regarding Claim 21, Ledvina teaches the first device comprises a first communication module configured to use the first resource and a second communication module configured to use the second resource [0084 for initiator and responder devices with means of pairing and authenticating].
Ledvina fails to explicitly teach wherein, after sending the ranging control frame, the first communication module wakes up the second communication module, and wherein the second communication module performs the interacting with the second device using the second resource.
Yoon has a method of operating a first target device for transmitting and receiving data through an ultra-wideband (UWB) channel in a wireless communication system (abstract) and teaches wherein, after sending the ranging control frame [0066 for ranging by using a ranging control frame],
the first communication module wakes up the second communication module, and wherein the second communication module performs the interacting with the second device using the second resource [0068 for controlee may be defined as a device that uses the ranging parameters received from the controller.].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the ranging position techniques, as disclosed by Ledvina, further including the measurement calculations as taught by Yoon for the purpose to measure a time interval by using the RMARKER (Yoon, 0096).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-22 have been considered but are moot because the amendments necessitated new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In applicant’s arguments page 12, second paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Li does not disclose the amended limitations. The examiner thanks the applicant for the amendments, new reference Burowski teaches the claimed timing intervals [Burowski, 009-0051].
In applicant’s arguments page 13, last paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Li does not disclose the exchanging RRMC and RMI information. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Burowski teaches having the initiator phone send a ranging request at T1 and the responder phone send back a ranging response at T3 carrying its T3-T2 reply delay [Burowski, 0047-0049]
The examiner acknowledges that this is a broader interpretation than Applicant’s.
However, examiners are not only allowed to apply broad interpretations, but are required to do so, as it reduces the possibility that the claims, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. MPEP §2111. Patentability is determined by the “broadest reasonable interpretation
consistent with the specification” (MPEP §2111), not the narrowest reasonable interpretation. And Applicant does not have an explicit lexicographical statement in line with MPEP §2111.01
subsection IV requiring a specific interpretation of the relevant phrases which forces the examiner to interpret them only one way.
The express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648