DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment filed 06/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 7, and 8 have been amended. Claim 6 has been canceled. Claims 1-5, 7, and 8 are now pending.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 USC 119 (a)-(d) to application JP2023-168951 filed 09/29/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. As such, the effective filing date of the application is 09/29/2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the amendments to the claim language have necessitated new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20240182052 A1), hereinafter Kim in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20190256104 A1), hereinafter Shimizu and Frankovics (US 20210188343 A1), hereinafter Frankovics.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses:
A vehicle control device comprising: a recognizer that recognizes a surrounding situation of a vehicle (see at least [0067]: “The camera 110 may include a plurality of lenses and an image sensor. The image sensor may include a plurality of photodiodes for converting light into electrical signals, and the plurality of photodiodes may be disposed in the form of a two-dimensional matrix.”)
a vehicle controller that executes vehicle control for controlling at least one of acceleration/deceleration and steering of the vehicle when there is a probability of contact between the vehicle and an obstacle on the basis of recognition results of the recognizer (see at least [0025]: “The driver assistance method may further include controlling at least one of the steering, the acceleration, or the deceleration in order to avoid the collision with the object when not detecting the driver's intervention in the autonomous traveling after outputting the second warning.”)
and a driving state detector that detects a driving state of an occupant of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle control comprises: an alarm control for notifying the occupant when the vehicle approaches the obstacle (see at least [0109]: “When the driver's manipulation for driving the vehicle 1 is detected after the first warning is output, the control module 250 follows the driver's manipulation with respect to a factor for which the driver's manipulation has been detected among main factors related to the traveling of the vehicle 1, such as an acceleration, a deceleration, and a steering, according to the detected driver's manipulation.”)
and an avoidance control for avoiding contact with the obstacle when the vehicle and the obstacle come closer to each other, and the alarm control operates (see at least [0025]: “The driver assistance method may further include controlling at least one of the steering, the acceleration, or the deceleration in order to avoid the collision with the object when not detecting the driver's intervention in the autonomous traveling after outputting the second warning.”)
and wherein the vehicle controller suspends the alarm control when a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from a reference value is detected due to a steering operation of the occupant detected by the driving state detector during the alarm control (see at least [0111]: “When the driver's manipulation for driving the vehicle 1 is not detected after the first warning is output, the collision prediction module 210 determines whether it is predicted that the object 2 will collide with the vehicle 1 within a second time.”)
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
a centering steering control for causing a vehicle behavior comprising a movement of the vehicle toward a center of the traveling lane, wherein the alarm control notifies the occupant by the causing of the vehicle behavior;
and does not suspend the avoidance control in response to detection of a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from the reference value during execution of the avoidance control.
Shimizu, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
a centering steering control for causing a vehicle behavior comprising a movement of the vehicle toward a center of the traveling lane, wherein the alarm control notifies the occupant by the causing of the vehicle behavior (see at least [0047]: “In the example of FIG. 7, when the vehicle M0 driving on a vehicle traffic zone LA comes close to crossing the mark line LI dividing vehicle traffic zones, the assistance process for preventing lane departure is executed. Further, in general, the vehicle traffic zone LA is also called a (traffic) lane, and a mark line LI dividing vehicle traffic zones is also called a white line or a yellow line. In the assistance process for preventing lane departure, when the vehicle M0 come close to crossing the mark line LI without operating a direction indicator, the steering angle is controlled and steering assistance is executed so that the vehicle M0 is driven at the center of the lane.”)
Frankovics, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
and does not suspend the avoidance control in response to detection of a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from the reference value during execution of the avoidance control (see at least [0003]: “One embodiment is a vehicle steering intervention system for preventing a loss of control condition or a vehicle rollover condition for a vehicle. The vehicle steering intervention system includes a driver input torque sensor for sensing a torque applied by a driver to a steering device, a steering angle sensor for sensing a steering angle, a speed determination device for determining a vehicle speed, and an electronic power steering unit including an electronic processor and a memory. The electronic processor is configured to: determine a vehicle steering intervention threshold based on the torque sensed by the driver input torque sensor, the steering angle, and the vehicle speed, and execute a prediction model. The prediction model includes determining a torque gradient of the torque sensed by the driver input torque sensor, predicting whether the vehicle steering intervention threshold will be exceeded within a predetermined time based on the torque gradient, and when the vehicle steering intervention threshold is predicted to be exceeded within the predetermined time, the electronic processor reduces a power steering assist and/or provides a counter steer force to the steering device to avoid the loss of control condition or the vehicle rollover condition.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Kim with the method of lane centering as taught by Shimizu. This is because, as stated in [0004]-[0003]: “However, even when switching the modes of driver assistance, when a change in behavior of the vehicle is not smooth, a problem of giving the driver and others in the vehicle a sense of discomfort or anxiety arises. On the other hand, switching the modes of driver assistance is determined on the basis of the driving conditions of the vehicle and the driving environment of the vehicle, and prompt switching is desired. It is, therefore, an object of this disclosure to provide a driver assistance control apparatus designed to keep a balance between suppressing behavior change of a vehicle and rapidly switching modes of driver assistance.” It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Kim with the method of steering control as taught by Frankovics. This is because, as stated in [0024] of Frankovics: “The electronic processor 50 prevents a sudden change in steering direction from causing loss of vehicle control or a vehicle rollover condition. The electronic processor 50 executes the prediction model by determining that the torque gradient and/or the steering angle gradient has/have value(s) that will exceed the vehicle steering intervention threshold within the predetermined time.”
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim, Shimizu and Frankovics teaches:
The vehicle control device according to claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein the vehicle controller suspends the avoidance control when a steering operation for the reference value is detected during the avoidance control (see at least [0024]: “The driver assistance method may further include canceling the autonomous traveling when detecting the driver's manipulation for at least one of the steering, the acceleration, or the deceleration after outputting the second warning.”)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim, Shimizu and Frankovics teaches:
The vehicle control device according to claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein the vehicle controller determines whether or not to suspend the avoidance control through a steering operation for returning to the reference value when a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from the reference value is first detected in the avoidance control (see at least [0117]: “When the driver's manipulation is not detected even after the second warning is output, the control module 250 processes the image data, the radar data, the LiDAR data, and the data received from various sensors 91, 92, and 93 of the vehicle 1 and controls the traveling of the vehicle 1, such as an acceleration, deceleration, or steering of the vehicle 1, in order to avoid the collision with the object 2.”)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim, Shimizu and Frankovics teaches:
The vehicle control device according to claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein the vehicle controller suspends the avoidance control when a steering operation for returning to the reference value is detected after a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from the reference value has been detected during the avoidance control (see at least [0116]: “ That is, unlike the case in which when the driver's manipulation is detected after the first warning is output, only the control authority of driving the vehicle 1 only with respect to the traveling factors for which the driver's manipulation has been detected is transferred to the driver, when the driver's manipulation is detected after the second warning is output, the vehicle 1 may be operated according to the driver's intention by canceling the autonomous traveling and transferring the control authority of driving the vehicle 1 to the driver.”)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim, Shimizu and Frankovics teaches:
The vehicle control device according to claim 1.
Kim further discloses wherein the steering operation comprises an operation based on an amount of change in steering derived by: an amount of steering by the occupant, and a steering angular velocity (see at least [0105]: “In addition, the collision prediction module 210 may acquire data on the speed, yaw rate, steering angle, and the like of the vehicle 1 from the sensors 91, 92, and 93 of the vehicle 1 and predict a traveling path P of the vehicle 1 based on the data (231). In addition, the collision prediction module 210 may also use data on the position of the vehicle 1 provided from the navigation device or the like when predicting the traveling path P of the vehicle 1.”)
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses:
A vehicle control method comprising:
Recognizing, by a computing system comprising at least one processor, a surrounding situation of a vehicle (see at least [0067]: “The camera 110 may include a plurality of lenses and an image sensor. The image sensor may include a plurality of photodiodes for converting light into electrical signals, and the plurality of photodiodes may be disposed in the form of a two-dimensional matrix.”)
Executing, by the computing system, vehicle control for controlling at least one of acceleration/deceleration and steering of the vehicle when there is a probability of contact between the vehicle and an obstacle on the basis of recognized results (see at least [0025]: “The driver assistance method may further include controlling at least one of the steering, the acceleration, or the deceleration in order to avoid the collision with the object when not detecting the driver's intervention in the autonomous traveling after outputting the second warning.”)
and detecting, by the computing system, a driving state of an occupant of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle control comprises: an alarm control for notifying the occupant when the vehicle approaches the obstacle (see at least [0109]: “When the driver's manipulation for driving the vehicle 1 is detected after the first warning is output, the control module 250 follows the driver's manipulation with respect to a factor for which the driver's manipulation has been detected among main factors related to the traveling of the vehicle 1, such as an acceleration, a deceleration, and a steering, according to the detected driver's manipulation.”)
and an avoidance control for avoiding contact with the obstacle when: the vehicle and the obstacle come closer to each other, and the alarm control operates, (see at least [0025]: “The driver assistance method may further include controlling at least one of the steering, the acceleration, or the deceleration in order to avoid the collision with the object when not detecting the driver's intervention in the autonomous traveling after outputting the second warning.”)
wherein the alarm control is suspended when a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from a reference value is detected due to a steering operation of the occupant during the alarm control (see at least [0111]: “When the driver's manipulation for driving the vehicle 1 is not detected after the first warning is output, the collision prediction module 210 determines whether it is predicted that the object 2 will collide with the vehicle 1 within a second time.”)
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
a centering steering control for causing a vehicle behavior comprising a movement of the vehicle toward a center of the traveling lane, wherein the alarm control notifies the occupant by the causing of the vehicle behavior;
and wherein the avoidance control is not suspended in response to detection of a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from the reference value during execution of the avoidance control.
Shimizu, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
a centering steering control for causing a vehicle behavior comprising a movement of the vehicle toward a center of the traveling lane, wherein the alarm control notifies the occupant by the causing of the vehicle behavior (see at least [0047]: “In the example of FIG. 7, when the vehicle M0 driving on a vehicle traffic zone LA comes close to crossing the mark line LI dividing vehicle traffic zones, the assistance process for preventing lane departure is executed. Further, in general, the vehicle traffic zone LA is also called a (traffic) lane, and a mark line LI dividing vehicle traffic zones is also called a white line or a yellow line. In the assistance process for preventing lane departure, when the vehicle M0 come close to crossing the mark line LI without operating a direction indicator, the steering angle is controlled and steering assistance is executed so that the vehicle M0 is driven at the center of the lane.”)
Frankovics, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
and wherein the avoidance control is not suspended in response to detection of a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from the reference value during execution of the avoidance control (see at least [0003]: “One embodiment is a vehicle steering intervention system for preventing a loss of control condition or a vehicle rollover condition for a vehicle. The vehicle steering intervention system includes a driver input torque sensor for sensing a torque applied by a driver to a steering device, a steering angle sensor for sensing a steering angle, a speed determination device for determining a vehicle speed, and an electronic power steering unit including an electronic processor and a memory. The electronic processor is configured to: determine a vehicle steering intervention threshold based on the torque sensed by the driver input torque sensor, the steering angle, and the vehicle speed, and execute a prediction model. The prediction model includes determining a torque gradient of the torque sensed by the driver input torque sensor, predicting whether the vehicle steering intervention threshold will be exceeded within a predetermined time based on the torque gradient, and when the vehicle steering intervention threshold is predicted to be exceeded within the predetermined time, the electronic processor reduces a power steering assist and/or provides a counter steer force to the steering device to avoid the loss of control condition or the vehicle rollover condition.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Kim with the method of lane centering as taught by Shimizu. This is because, as stated in [0004]-[0003]: “However, even when switching the modes of driver assistance, when a change in behavior of the vehicle is not smooth, a problem of giving the driver and others in the vehicle a sense of discomfort or anxiety arises. On the other hand, switching the modes of driver assistance is determined on the basis of the driving conditions of the vehicle and the driving environment of the vehicle, and prompt switching is desired. It is, therefore, an object of this disclosure to provide a driver assistance control apparatus designed to keep a balance between suppressing behavior change of a vehicle and rapidly switching modes of driver assistance.” It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Kim with the method of steering control as taught by Frankovics. This is because, as stated in [0024] of Frankovics: “The electronic processor 50 prevents a sudden change in steering direction from causing loss of vehicle control or a vehicle rollover condition. The electronic processor 50 executes the prediction model by determining that the torque gradient and/or the steering angle gradient has/have value(s) that will exceed the vehicle steering intervention threshold within the predetermined time.”
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of network equipment comprising an upgrade controller, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
recognizing a surrounding situation of a vehicle (see at least [0067]: “The camera 110 may include a plurality of lenses and an image sensor. The image sensor may include a plurality of photodiodes for converting light into electrical signals, and the plurality of photodiodes may be disposed in the form of a two-dimensional matrix.”)
executing vehicle control for controlling at least one of acceleration/deceleration and steering of the vehicle when there is a probability of contact between the vehicle and an obstacle on the basis of recognized results (see at least [0025]: “The driver assistance method may further include controlling at least one of the steering, the acceleration, or the deceleration in order to avoid the collision with the object when not detecting the driver's intervention in the autonomous traveling after outputting the second warning.”)
detecting a driving state of an occupant of the vehicle, wherein the vehicle control comprises: an alarm control for notifying the occupant when the vehicle approaches the obstacle (see at least [0109]: “When the driver's manipulation for driving the vehicle 1 is detected after the first warning is output, the control module 250 follows the driver's manipulation with respect to a factor for which the driver's manipulation has been detected among main factors related to the traveling of the vehicle 1, such as an acceleration, a deceleration, and a steering, according to the detected driver's manipulation.”)
and an avoidance control for avoiding contact with the obstacle when the vehicle and the obstacle come closer to each other, and the alarm control operates (see at least [0025]: “The driver assistance method may further include controlling at least one of the steering, the acceleration, or the deceleration in order to avoid the collision with the object when not detecting the driver's intervention in the autonomous traveling after outputting the second warning.”)
wherein the alarm control is suspended when a steering operation of the occupant equal to or more than a predetermined amount from a reference value, is detected (see at least [0025]: “The driver assistance method may further include controlling at least one of the steering, the acceleration, or the deceleration in order to avoid the collision with the object when not detecting the driver's intervention in the autonomous traveling after outputting the second warning.”)
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
a centering steering control for causing a vehicle behavior comprising a movement of the vehicle toward a center of the traveling lane, wherein the alarm control notifies the occupant by the causing of the vehicle behavior;
and wherein the avoidance control is not suspended in response to detection of a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from the reference value during execution of the avoidance control.
Shimizu, in an analogous field of endeavor teaches:
a centering steering control for causing a vehicle behavior comprising a movement of the vehicle toward a center of the traveling lane, wherein the alarm control notifies the occupant by the causing of the vehicle behavior (see at least [0047]: “In the example of FIG. 7, when the vehicle M0 driving on a vehicle traffic zone LA comes close to crossing the mark line LI dividing vehicle traffic zones, the assistance process for preventing lane departure is executed. Further, in general, the vehicle traffic zone LA is also called a (traffic) lane, and a mark line LI dividing vehicle traffic zones is also called a white line or a yellow line. In the assistance process for preventing lane departure, when the vehicle M0 come close to crossing the mark line LI without operating a direction indicator, the steering angle is controlled and steering assistance is executed so that the vehicle M0 is driven at the center of the lane.”)
Frankovics, in analogous field of endeavor teaches:
and wherein the avoidance control is not suspended in response to detection of a steering operation equal to or more than a predetermined amount from the reference value during execution of the avoidance control (see at least [0003]: “One embodiment is a vehicle steering intervention system for preventing a loss of control condition or a vehicle rollover condition for a vehicle. The vehicle steering intervention system includes a driver input torque sensor for sensing a torque applied by a driver to a steering device, a steering angle sensor for sensing a steering angle, a speed determination device for determining a vehicle speed, and an electronic power steering unit including an electronic processor and a memory. The electronic processor is configured to: determine a vehicle steering intervention threshold based on the torque sensed by the driver input torque sensor, the steering angle, and the vehicle speed, and execute a prediction model. The prediction model includes determining a torque gradient of the torque sensed by the driver input torque sensor, predicting whether the vehicle steering intervention threshold will be exceeded within a predetermined time based on the torque gradient, and when the vehicle steering intervention threshold is predicted to be exceeded within the predetermined time, the electronic processor reduces a power steering assist and/or provides a counter steer force to the steering device to avoid the loss of control condition or the vehicle rollover condition.”)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Kim with the method of lane centering as taught by Shimizu. This is because, as stated in [0004]-[0003]: “However, even when switching the modes of driver assistance, when a change in behavior of the vehicle is not smooth, a problem of giving the driver and others in the vehicle a sense of discomfort or anxiety arises. On the other hand, switching the modes of driver assistance is determined on the basis of the driving conditions of the vehicle and the driving environment of the vehicle, and prompt switching is desired. It is, therefore, an object of this disclosure to provide a driver assistance control apparatus designed to keep a balance between suppressing behavior change of a vehicle and rapidly switching modes of driver assistance.” It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to combine the invention of Kim with the method of steering control as taught by Frankovics. This is because, as stated in [0024] of Frankovics: “The electronic processor 50 prevents a sudden change in steering direction from causing loss of vehicle control or a vehicle rollover condition. The electronic processor 50 executes the prediction model by determining that the torque gradient and/or the steering angle gradient has/have value(s) that will exceed the vehicle steering intervention threshold within the predetermined time.”
Conclusion
/E.R.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658