DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the Amended Claims of July 15, 2026, Claims 1, 2, 4-13, 16, 17, 19-24 are pending. Claims 1, 7-8, 9-11, 13, 16 and 21 are amended. Claims 23-24 are new.
The amendment to the claims filed on July 15, 2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because no markups or underlines are used to show the amended subject matter. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
Since the reply filed on July 15, 2026 appears to be bona fide, applicant is given a TIME PERIOD of ONE (1) MONTH or THIRTY (30) DAYS from the mailing date of this notice, whichever is longer, within which to submit an amendment in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121 in order to avoid aban-donment. EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Please see the comparison between Claim 1 of the originally filed claims and the amended claims of July 15, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-13, 16, 17, 19-27, 29-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis (US 3653362) in view of Kumar (US 2018/0343826).
Regarding Claim 1, Davis discloses modular vessel suited for holding water or foodstuff, the vessel comprising a surround portion (40) and a basin portion (12) having a volumetric space for holding the water or foodstuff (21). The surround portion has an internal wall surface at 46 and 48 and the basin portion has an external wall, the internal and external wall surfaces being configured so that they have engaging, interlocking surfaces when assembled. Davis does not disclose external wall surface of the surround portion includes two or more spaced apart graspable elements, each graspable element being configured to receive one or more fingers of a user so that the user can grasp the graspable element and lift the vessel from a surface when the vessel is upright on the surface, without having to place the fingers within the volumetric space or under the vessel; and wherein the graspable elements are each defined by a pair of adjacent elongate grooves or apertures vertically oriented around the circumference of the vessel, and wherein each graspable elements is a vertically oriented structure separating the adjacent elongate grooves or apertures and have vertically oriented, opposing sidewalls that project inwardly or outwardly 10 mm to 76 mm beyond an outermost planar surface defined by the surround portion and the opposing sides can be pinched between fingers.
Kumar discloses a similar bowl vessel (100) and surround (20) with interlocking elements (rim 102 fits within lip 36) wherein there are a plurality of graspable elements (40) in the form of cutouts.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the basin and surround structure of Davis with the graspable cut-out elements as shown in Kumar in order to enable purchase by a user to separate the bowl from the wall section of the outer surrounding portion and assist in the removal of the bowl (Paragraph 0033).
While Kumar does not disclose the limitations regarding the size, orientation, and spacing of the graspable elements, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the cut-outs may be modified to further assist in the handling of the bowl and to ensure effective access for the user to engage with the inner basin. Such a cut-out shape would also inherently assist in a user gripping or grasping the surround portion.
Regarding Claim 2, both Davis and Kumar disclose the surround and basin portions are removably assembled.
Regarding Claim 4, both Davis and Kumar disclose the surround portion and basin portion comprise different materials.
Regarding Claim 5, while the materials are not explicitly disclosed, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious the use of metal, rubber, and plastic as commonplace in the art of pet food bowls and retainers.
Regarding Claim 6, both Davis and Kumar disclose the vessel has a low center of gravity.
Regarding Claim 7, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the height of the vessel may be modified as a matter of ordinary variance in the dimensions of the prior art that would provide only predictable results.
Regarding Claim 8, Kumar discloses the graspable elements do not extend beyond an outermost planar surface defined by the surround portion and comprise inwardly extending apertures that are configured for fingers to reach in.
Regarding Claim 9, Kumar discloses there are apertures in the surround portion that expose the outer wall of the basin portion.
Regarding Claim 10, while Kumar does not explicitly disclose the angular spacing of the graspable elements, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the spacing may be varied to provide optimal access for a user.
Regarding Claim 11, Kumar discloses the grooves or aperture and the graspable elements therebetween extend over at least a majority of the height of the surround portion from near a bottom portion of the surround portion to near a top portion of the surround portion.
Regarding Claim 12, both Davis and Kumar disclose the outer wall surface profile is different from the basin portion's inner surface profile.
Regarding Claim 13, Kumar discloses there are at least three graspable elements, the graspable elements being spaced equidistantly about the perimeter of the outer wall surface.
Regarding Claim 16, Davis in view of Kumar discloses the basin and surround as discussed above in Claim 1. Davis further discloses dimples that are configured such that when the dimples of the basin portion is pressed into a top opening of the surround portion, the dimples of the base portion moves past and below the flange of surround-base portion, and the basin portion dimples being configured so that they have abutting, overlapping and thereby interlocking surfaces when assembled. A person having ordinary skill in the art would further recognize and find obvious that the dimples of Davis may be modified to be a flange as the simple substitution of one known securement mechanism shape for another that would provide no unexpected results in the releasable attachment of the basin to the surround portion. Please see Philips (US 5031575) and Boehlert (US 3698594) Element 20.
Regarding Claim 17, both Davis and Kumar disclose the surround and basin portions are removably assembled.
Regarding Claim 19, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the surround portion and basin portion disclosed in Davis and Kumar comprise different materials.
Regarding Claim 20, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the height of the vessel may be modified as a matter of variance in the dimensions of the prior art that would provide only predictable results. Furthermore, both Davis and Kumar disclose the vessel has a low center of gravity.
Regarding Claim 21, the cut-out portions in Kumar are formed in the surround portion and include opposing sides that may be configured to be pinched by a pair of fingers on the same hand, the graspable elements being separated by apertures that expose the outer wall of the basin portion.
Regarding Claim 22, Kumar discloses there are at least two graspable elements, the two graspable elements being spaced about the perimeter of the outer wall surface between 30-180 degrees apart.
Regarding Claim 23, as discussed above, Davis in view of Kumar disclose a modular vessel suited for holding water or foodstuff, the vessel comprising a surround portion and a basin portion having a volumetric space for holding the water or foodstuff. The surround portion has an internal wall surface and the basin portion has an external wall, the internal and external wall surfaces each being configured with engageable flanges extending horizontally from the wall surface so that they have engaging, interlocking surfaces when assembled, and the basin and surround portions being configured such that when the flange of the basin portion is pressed into a top opening of the surround portion, the flange of the base portion moves past and below the flange of surround-base portion, the resilience of the vertical walls and/or flange acts so that the surround portion's flange overlaps and abuts a top, horizontally oriented surface of the basin portion's flange, and through the abutment interlocking the basin portion with the surround-portion. An external wall surface of the surround portion includes two or more spaced apart graspable elements, each graspable element being graspable by one or more fingers of a user so that the user can grasp the graspable element and lift the vessel from a surface when the vessel is upright on the surface, without having to place the fingers within the volumetric space or under the vessel; and wherein the graspable elements are defined as the cut outs between adjacent deep grooves or apertures vertically oriented around the circumference of the vessel, and wherein the graspable elements include opposing sides that can be pinched between fingers.
Regarding Claim 24, Kumar discloses the elongate apertures have a uniform shape and size and are parallel to each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previously considered claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIDEON R WEINERTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736