DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Applicant’s election without traverse of Specie B in the reply filed on 06/30/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-7 and 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Specie B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/30/26.
Examiner acknowledged that currently claims 1-4, 8 and 9 are pending.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/04/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first switch…selectively couple the at least one antenna to one of satellite transceiver via the impedance element”. This statement is not always true because a second switch is between the at least one antenna and the satellite transceiver thus making the recited claim true only when the second switch is closed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camp (US 6097974).
Regarding Claim 1, Camp teaches a system for terrestrial and satellite communication (Fig. 2), the system comprising: at least one antenna (Fig. 6: 612, 611); and a first switch (Fig. 6: 644) electrically coupled to the at least one antenna and configured to selectively electrically couple the at least one antenna to one of (1) the satellite transceiver (Fig. 6: 612) and (2) a terrestrial transceiver (Fig. 6: 611).
Camp does not explicitly teach in Fig. 6 an impedance element electrically coupled to a satellite transceiver; a first switch electrically coupled to the at least one antenna and configured to selectively electrically couple the at least one antenna to one of (1) the satellite transceiver via the impedance element; wherein: the at least one antenna has an at least one antenna impedance that is tuned for the at least one antenna to operate at a first frequency band for the terrestrial transceiver; and the impedance element is configured to tune the at least one antenna impedance for the at least one antenna to operate at a second frequency band, different from the first frequency band, for the satellite transceiver. However, Fig. 6 teaches RF filters (614, 618, 613, 617) coupled to the antenna transceivers for tuning the correct frequency band for the appropriate operation (NOTE: it’s also well known that filters are made using inductive/capacitive elements to generate impedance matching); transceivers although not shown in Fig. 6 but are show in Figs. 4-5 coupling to the corresponding antennas. [col 5 ln10-20] teaches “the cellular using bandwidth of about 30KHz…1MHz for GPS”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Camp in order to control the communication between satellite/terrestrial since it is desirable to integrate GPS signal communication into wireless mobile terminal as value-added services.
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, Camp teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the impedance element is an inductor (NOTE: it’s well known that RF filter are LC components).
Regarding Claim 8, Camp teaches a system for terrestrial and satellite communication (Fig. 2), the system comprising: a first antenna (Fig. 6: 612); a second antenna (Fig. 6: 611); and a first switch (Fig. 6: 644) electrically coupled to the first antenna, wherein the first switch is configured to selectively electrically couple the first antenna to one of (1) a terrestrial transceiver (Fig. 6: 611) and (2) the second antenna.
Camp does not explicitly teach in Fig. 6 an impedance element electrically coupled to the second antenna and a satellite transceiver; wherein the first switch is configured to selectively electrically couple the second antenna and the satellite transceiver via the impedance element; the first antenna has a first antenna impedance that is tuned to operate at a first frequency band for the terrestrial transceiver, the impedance element is configured to couple the second antenna and the first antenna into a combined antenna having a combined antenna impedance, and tune the combined antenna to operate at a second frequency band, different from the first frequency band, for the satellite transceiver. However, Fig. 6 teaches RF filters (614, 618, 613, 617) coupled to the antenna transceivers for tuning the correct frequency band for the appropriate operation (NOTE: it’s also well known that filters are made using inductive/capacitive elements to generate impedance matching); transceivers although not shown in Fig. 6 but are show in Figs. 4-5 coupling to the corresponding antennas. [col 5 ln10-20] teaches “the cellular using bandwidth of about 30KHz…1MHz for GPS”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Camp in order to control the communication between satellite/terrestrial since it is desirable to integrate GPS signal communication into wireless mobile terminal as value-added services.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Henry Luong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845