DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, line 22 through page 7, line 5, filed December 9, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The applicant has amended the claim to state the disturbance is being monitored rather than the phenomenon, and defined the disturbance as a “time-continuous and irregularly varying disturbance”. In the previous interpretation of Ogata, the “phenomenon” was interpreted as a differential pressure, a change in air speed, or a change in air volume, and the “disturbance” was a clog in the filter. The change in air pressure, change in air speed, or change in air volume could be interpreted as the “disturbance” under the broadest reasonable interpretation. While these disturbances are time-continuous, Ogata does not explicitly teach the disturbances are irregularly varying, and interpreting these as the “disturbance” would require another feature to be the “phenomenon”. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 9,732,976 to Wang. Wang teaches a fluid transfer system which detects a state of a structure (clogged filter) by monitoring a time-continuous and irregularly varying disturbance (monitors changes in pressure due to a filter becoming clogged) of the fluid transferred along a flow path by a fan, and the disturbances are related to phenomenon (changes in motor speed and motor power) correlated with a change in force received by a blade of the fan from the fluid.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 7, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office action on September 11, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-106323 to Ogata in view of US 9,732,976 to Wang.
In Reference to Claims 1 and 19
Ogata teaches:
A fluid transfer apparatus (air supply device 1) comprising:
a processor (electrical equipment section 1f);
a fan (1b) configured to transfer fluid along a flow path (from inlet at bottom to outlet 1e at left side in Figure 1) by a rotational motion;
a structure (filter louvers 1c) provided in the flow path, the structure being configured to generate a pressure loss in the flow path as the fluid passes through the structure; and
a memory (not shown, contained in electrical equipment section 1f and clogging detection means 4) storing one or more programs, which when executed, cause the processor to:
detect a state of the fluid (air speed or air volume and pressure differential) or a state of the structure (clogged filter) by monitoring, as a phenomenon (fan or motor speed, see paragraph 86) correlated with a change in a force received by a blade () of the fan from the fluid, a disturbance (differential pressure, see paragraph 85; and change in air speed, see paragraph 91; or change in air volume, see paragraph 94) of the fluid transferred along the flow path by the fan (see paragraphs 80-87 and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, the fluid transfer apparatus of Ogata comprises the fan, the flow path, the structure which generates a pressure loss, and performs the method comprising detecting a state of the fluid (air speed or air volume) or a state of the structure (clogged) by monitoring, as a phenomenon (fan or motor speed) correlated with a change in force received by a blade, a disturbance of the fluid transferred along the flow path by the fan (see paragraphs 80-87).
Ogata fails to teach:
The processor monitors a time-continuous and irregularly varying disturbance of the fluid as a phenomenon correlated with a change in a force received by a blade of the fan from the fluid.
Wang teaches:
A fluid transfer apparatus (HVAC system, see Figure 2) comprising a processor (in “motor controller” in Figure 2, see column 5, lines 62-64), a fan (blower in Figure 2) and a memory (inherent in controller) storing one or more programs (inherent in controller), which when executed, cause the processor to:
detect a state of a structure (clog of a filter) by monitoring, as a phenomenon (change in motor power or motor speed) correlated with a change in a force received by a blade of the fan from the fluid, a time-continuous and irregularly varying disturbance (fluctuations in pressure, column 15, lines 3-4) of the fluid transferred along a flow path by the fan (see column 14, lines 66 through column 15, line 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid transfer apparatus of Ogata by configuring the processor to detect the state of the structure, as a phenomenon correlated with a change in a force received by a blade of the fan from the fluid, a time-continuous and irregularly varying disturbance of the fluid as taught by Wang as both references are directed to fan systems having filters which become blocked, and for the purpose of being able to further determine when the filter is clogged and maintenance is required by monitoring additional properties.
Regarding claim 19, the fluid transfer apparatus of Ogata as modified by Wang comprises the fan and the structure, and performs the method comprising detecting a state of the fluid (air speed or air volume of Ogata) or a state of the structure (clogged filter of Ogata) by monitoring, as a phenomenon (fan or motor speed as taught by Wang) correlated with a change in force received by a blade, a time-continuous and irregularly varying disturbance (fluctuations in air pressure as taught by Wang) of the fluid transferred along the flow path by the fan.
In Reference to Claim 2#
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state of the fluid detected by the processor includes an amount correlated with a magnitude of the pressure loss generated in the flow path. Clogging detection means (4 of Ogata) measures the pressure differential (see paragraph 85 of Ogata).
In Reference to Claim 3#
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the state of the structure detected by the processor includes clogging of the structure (see paragraph 85 of Ogata).
In Reference to Claim 4#
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the phenomenon is a change in a power of a motor (1a of Ogata) driving the fan (column 14, line 66 through column 15, line 6 of Wang).
In Reference to Claim 5
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the phenomenon is a change in a rotation speed of the fan (the speed of the motor is the speed of the fan, column 14, line 66 through column 15, line 6 of Wang).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-106323 to Ogata as modified by US 9,732,976 to Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2010-091230 to Nakajima (the machine translation provided by the applicant on September 24, 2024 will be referred to herein).
In Reference to Claim 6
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the phenomenon is monitored.
Ogata as modified by Wang fails to teach:
The phenomenon is a change in sound or vibration caused by the rotational motion of the fan.
Nakajima teaches:
A fluid transfer apparatus (ventilation device) comprising a fan (fan having blade 14 and motor 15), wherein a state (dirty/clogged) of a structure (filter, not numbered, paragraph 16, line 1) is detected by monitoring a phenomenon, wherein the phenomenon is a vibration caused by the rotational motion of the fan (see paragraphs 16, 35-36, and 63-66).
Nakajima teaches a vibration detection unit (23) detects vibrations of the motor (paragraph 36, lines 2-3). The vibration detection means can determine when the measured vibrations exceed a predetermined value which can indicate dust is stuck to the fan (paragraph 64, lines 2-4). If a user does not clean the fan after being notified and vibrations further increase, then the fan can be stopped (paragraph 64, lines 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid transfer apparatus of Ogata as modified by Wang by additionally monitoring vibration caused by the rotational motion of the fan as taught by Nakajima as both references are directed to fan systems having filters, and for the purpose of being able to further detect when the filter becomes clogged over time.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-106323 to Ogata as modified by US 9,732,976 to Wang as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of JP 2004-260870 to Uchida (a machine translation will be referred to herein).
In Reference to Claim 7
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the phenomenon is a change in the power of the motor driving the fan.
Ogata as modified by Wang fails to teach:
The phenomenon is a change in a frequency spectrum of the current, the voltage, or the power of the motor.
Uchida teaches:
An electric motor system comprising a motor (M1, M2, or M3), wherein the system detects a voltage of the motor (measured by sensor circuit 12, see paragraph 19), and a change in the voltage is associated with a change in the frequency spectrum of the voltage (see paragraphs 21-23). Figure 4 shows a graph of the frequency spectrum of the voltage of a motor. An abnormality with the motor can be detected based on the voltage value (amplitude of the graph) (see paragraph 24). Figure 5 shows a spike of the voltage in the first rotation frequency f1 which indicates a problem.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid transfer system of Ogata as modified by Wang by also monitoring a change in a frequency spectrum of a voltage of the motor as taught by Uchida as both references are directed to systems having motors which rotate devices, and for the purpose of being able to further determine when the motor has a problem.
When modifying the fluid transfer apparatus of Ogata as modified by Wang with the teachings of Uchida, the processor would monitor the frequency spectrum of the voltage, and when an abnormality – such as the clogged filter – causes a spike in the voltage, the frequency spectrum would show a noticeable change (the amplitude of the voltage would spike).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-106323 to Ogata as modified by US 9,732,976 to Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP H8-285348 to Miyazawa (a machine translation will be cited).
In Reference to Claim 16
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus according to claim 1, comprising the phenomenon.
Ogata as modified by Wang fails to teach:
The phenomenon includes a pulsation of a rotation speed of the fan.
Miyazawa teaches:
A fluid transfer apparatus (air conditioner) comprising a fan (4), wherein a state (dirty/clogged) of a structure (air filter 9) is detected based on a magnitude of pulsation of a rotation speed of the fan (paragraph 10, lines 4-6) of the fan (see paragraphs 4, 7, and 10).
Miyazawa teaches a detection means (21) detects “the extent of the decrease in rotation speed” (paragraph 10, lines 4-5) due to clogging of the air filter (9). The examiner considers the “extent” of the change in rotation speed to be a “magnitude” of the pulsation of the rotation speed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid transfer apparatus of Ogata as modified by Wang by additionally determining the state of the structure based on a magnitude of a pulsation of a rotation speed of the fan as taught by Miyazawa as both references are directed to fan systems having filters, and for the purpose of being able to further detect when the filter becomes clogged over time.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-106323 to Ogata as modified by US 9,732,976 to Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0008484 to Saneyoshi.
In Reference to Claim 17
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus according to claim 1.
Ogata as modified by Wang fails to teach:
A refrigeration apparatus comprises the fluid transfer apparatus.
Saneyoshi teaches:
A refrigeration apparatus (20) comprises a fluid transfer apparatus having a fan (208) and a filter (206), wherein the filter can be clogged by dust (see paragraphs 4-6 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid transfer apparatus of Ogata as modified by Wang by using the fluid transfer apparatus in a refrigeration apparatus as taught by Saneyoshi as both references are directed to systems having fans and filters which can be clogged, and for the purpose of being able to determine when the filter of the refrigeration apparatus becomes clogged and needs to be cleaned.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2005-106323 to Ogata as modified by US 9,732,976 to Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 7,941,294 to Shahi.
In Reference to Claim 18
Ogata as modified by Wang teaches:
The fluid transfer apparatus of claim 1.
Ogata as modified by Wang fails to teach:
A fluid cooling apparatus comprises the fluid transfer apparatus.
Shahi teaches:
A fluid cooling apparatus (fluid delivery system 100 having cooling system 111) comprising a fluid transfer apparatus (fan 105) (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid transfer apparatus of Ogata as modified by Wang by using the fluid transfer apparatus in a fluid cooling apparatus as taught by Shahi as both references are directed to systems having fluid transfer systems, and for the purpose of being able to adjust the temperature of the working fluid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are allowed.
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON G DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745