DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi (US PG Pub 2017/0131679) in view of Nakazawa (US PG Pub 2009/0201525).
For claim 1: Koyanagi teaches an image forming apparatus (see Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: an apparatus body 1A; an opening/closing unit (see Fig. 2, open portion comprising elements 18, being the opening closing portion, see paragraph 36) provided on a side surface portion of the apparatus body 1A (see Fig. 2, see paragraph 36) and configured to be opened and closed with respect to the apparatus body 1A (see Fig. 2, open position, Fig. 1, closed position); an image forming unit 100 (see paragraph 37) configured to form an image on a sheet S; a reversing unit 14, 18 (see Fig. 2, the portion 18 being the reversing unit, the reversing path 14 being within the reversing unit) configured to reverse the sheet S having a first surface on which a first image is formed to form a second image on a second surface opposite to the first surface (see paragraph 36, duplex conveyance); a detection unit 24;, wherein a conveyance path 14 through which the sheet reversed by the reversing unit 18 is conveyed toward the image forming unit is provided in the opening/closing unit 18, and the detection unit 24 is disposed on the conveyance path.
Koyanagi does not specify that the sheet detection unit is configured to detect a position of the sheet in a sheet width direction orthogonal to a sheet conveyance direction and a control unit configured to control the image forming unit based on a detection result of the detection unit. However, Nakazawa teaches a sheet detection unit 70 that is configured to detect a position of the sheet in a sheet width direction orthogonal to a sheet conveyance direction (see paragraph 46) and a control unit 58 configured to control the image forming unit based on a detection result of the detection unit (see paragraph 58-62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Koyanagi to provide a sensor for determining the lateral registration of the substrate and align a print on the sheet as taught by Nakazawa for the purpose of printing accurately in a case where the sheet has shifted from an intended position laterally.
For claim 2: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1 and Nakazawa teaches that the image forming unit (see Fig. 2) includes an image bearing member 17 and an exposure unit 19 configured to expose the image bearing member 17, and the control unit 58 is configured to determine a writing position at which the exposure unit writes an electrostatic latent image on the image bearing member to form the second image on the second surface of the sheet whose position has been detected by the detection unit 70 based on the detection result of the detection unit 70 (see paragraph 69).
For claim 3: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 2 and Nakazawa teaches that the control unit is configured to determine the writing position based on a difference between a preset target position of the sheet and the position of the sheet detected by the detection unit (see paragraphs 80-83).
For claim 9: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, and Koyanagi teaches a sheet feeding unit 33 including a sheet supporting portion 8 configured to support the sheet (see Fig. 1, tray supporting the sheet, roller 7, 71 feeding the sheet), the sheet feeding unit 33 being configured to feed the sheet from the sheet supporting portion 8 toward the image forming unit 100, wherein the image forming unit 100 includes a plurality of image bearing members 52Y, 52M, 52C, 52Bk (see Fig. 1, particular the roller within the system 52Y), an exposure unit 2 configured to expose the plurality of image bearing members (see paragraphs 37 and 38), and an intermediate transfer member 3 to which toner images are transferred from the plurality of image bearing members (see Fig. 1), and the control unit is configured to cause the exposure unit to start writing an electrostatic latent image for forming the first image on the first surface of the sheet on the most upstream image bearing member in a rotation direction of the intermediate transfer member among the plurality of image bearing members, and then cause the sheet feeding unit to start feeding the sheet (see paragraph 53, Fig. 9, routine operation of a sheet feeding unit and printing apparatus).
For claim 10: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, and Koyanagi teaches an image forming path 63 is provided in the apparatus body 1A, the image forming unit 100 being configured to form the image on the sheet while the sheet is conveyed through the image forming path (see Fig. 1, in particular, on the path between rollers 9, 10, 5, the image forming unit would be forming the images to transfer to the sheet), the image forming path 63 is a path through which the sheet S is conveyed upward (see Figs. 1 and 2, and the conveyance path of the opening/closing unit is a path through which the sheet is conveyed downward (see Figs. 1 and 2).
For claim 11: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, and Koyanagi teaches that the opening/closing unit includes a first frame (see Fig. 2, the portion of the main body including the part which pivot portion 21 is connected to is a first frame part of the opening/closing unit) supported by the apparatus body (as seen in Fig. 2), a second frame (see Fig. 2, the open frame as seen in Fig. 2) supported by the first frame so as to be openable and closable (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 1, the open and closed position), and a conveyance roller pair 9 configured to convey the sheet S via the conveyance path 63 (see Figs. 1 and 2), and the conveyance roller pair includes a roller supported by the first frame and a roller supported by the second frame (see Fig. 2, in Fig. 2, the roller pair 9 has one roller on the first frame and one on the second frame, and is configured such that a nip portion of the conveyance roller pair is released in a case where the second frame is opened with respect to the first frame (see Fig. 2, the released portion, whereas the pair nips the sheet in the closed position of Fig. 1).
For claim 12: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, and Koyanagi teaches that the opening/closing unit includes an engaging portion (see Fig. 2, the bulk protrusion carrying roller 5), the apparatus body includes an engaged portion (see Figs. 1 and 2, the concave portion receiving bulk protrusion 5) to be engaged with the engaging portion (see Fig. 1), and the opening/closing unit is held at a closed position by engagement between the engaging portion and the engaged portion (see Fig. 1).
For claim 13: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 12 and Koyanagi teaches that the opening/closing unit is configured to rotate around a rotation axis 21 with respect to the apparatus body, and the detection unit 24 is disposed between the rotation axis 21 and the engaging portion 5.
For claim 15: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1 and Koyanagi teaches wherein the opening/closing unit includes a first conveyance guide (see Fig. 2, the frame boundary of the device between rollers 9, 10) and a second conveyance guide that forms the conveyance path with the first conveyance guide (see Fig. 1, the frame boundary of the pivoting member 18 between rollers 9, 10), the second conveyance guide is configured to move with respect to the first conveyance guide such that the conveyance path is opened (see Fig. 2, movement relative to Fig. 1), and a protrusion 9 is provided on one of the first conveyance guide and the second conveyance guide (see Fig. 1, provided on the second conveyance guide), and is configured to come in contact with the other of the first conveyance guide and the second in a state where the opening/closing unit is closed (see Fig. 1).
For claim 16: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 15, and Koyanagi teaches that the opening/closing unit includes a first conveyance roller pair 52 disposed upstream of the detection unit in the sheet conveyance direction and a second conveyance roller pair 10 disposed downstream of the detection unit in the sheet conveyance direction, and the protrusion 9 is disposed between the first conveyance roller pair 52 and the second conveyance roller pair 10 in the sheet conveyance direction.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyanagi (US PG Pub 2017/0131679) and Nakazawa (US PG Pub 2009/0201525) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schroath et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0213590).
For claim 17: The combination of Koyanagi and Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 except a protruding portion provided on one of the opening/closing unit and the apparatus body and protruding in a direction intersecting the sheet width direction; and a recessed portion provided in the other of the opening/closing unit and the apparatus body and configured to be engaged with the protruding portion, wherein in a state where the opening/closing unit is closed, movement of the opening/closing unit in the sheet width direction is restricted by engagement between the protruding portion and the recessed portion. However, Schroath et al. teaches a protruding portion (see Fig. 3b, the bulk portion of the opening/closing unit is a protruding portion) provided on one of the opening/closing unit and the apparatus body and protruding in a direction intersecting the sheet width direction; and a recessed portion provided in the other of the opening/closing unit and the apparatus body (see Fig. 3b, the recess formed with sidewalls receiving the opening/closing door seen in Fig. 3b) and configured to be engaged with the protruding portion, wherein in a state where the opening/closing unit is closed, movement of the opening/closing unit in the sheet width direction is restricted by engagement between the protruding portion and the recessed portion (see Fig. 3b, when the door is closed, the door is restricted from lateral movement by the sidewalls of the recess). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Koyanagi and Nakazawa to provide a protruding portion on the opening/closing unit to be received in a recess portion of the main body and restrict the lateral movement of the opening/closing unit when received in the main body as taught by Schroath et al. for the purpose of more stably and securely retraining the opening/closing member.
For claim 18: The combination of Koyanagi, Nakazawa and Schroath et al. teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the detection unit, the protruding portion, and the recessed portion are disposed on the same side with respect to a center position of the conveyance path in the sheet width direction (see Fig. 3b, of Schroath et al., the recess and the protrusion are provided across the entirety of the width direction of the sheet, and in Nakazawa et al., the detection unit 70 also spans both sides of the center position of the sheet).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4: None of the prior art of record or any obvious combination thereof teaches an image forming apparatus having a first and second detection unit and the control unit is configured to determine the second writing position based on the first writing position, the first detecting result and the second detection result.
Regarding claim 14: None of the prior art of record or any obvious combination thereof teaches an image forming apparatus having an opening/closing unit held at a closed position by an engagement between the engaging and engaged portions wherein a conveyance roller is configured to be supported by the opening / closing unit and a second roller is supported by the apparatus body with an urging member configured to urge one of the rollers to the other in a case when the rollers are pressed against each other causing the opening/closing unit to receive a force in a direction in which the opening/closing unit is to be opened from the apparatus body.
Conclusion
/DAVID H BANH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853