DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 9/24/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malhotra et al., (US 2016/0050315), (hereinafter, Malhotra).
Regarding claim 1, 11 and 17 Malhotra discloses a device/ non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium/system (= computing system 109, see [0080]) comprising:
a processor; and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the device to:
activate, in response to receiving an incoming telephonic event analysis application activation command from a vehicle, an incoming telephonic event analysis application (= in-vehicle computing system receives vehicle and/or driver status data, see [0071 and 0058]);
receive an incoming telephonic event (= incoming phone calls, see [0071]);
apply, based on an operative state of the vehicle, a soft block on the incoming telephonic event (= incoming call is blocked, see [0072]);
determine whether a velocity of the vehicle is a static value determined at a time of receipt of the incoming telephonic event (= all status information received before a threshold time relative to request time may be considered to be out of date, see [0064]; and threshold time may be static, see [0065 and 0030]);
compare, upon determining that the velocity of the vehicle is the static value, the velocity of the vehicle to a predetermined velocity threshold (= vehicle/driver status data is received indicating the driver is available…the vehicle may have stopped for a threshold period of time, speed equaling 0 mph, see [0078 and 0030]);
display, on a display associated with the device, a rollup including the incoming telephonic event that was blocked from being displayed upon determining that the velocity of the vehicle is less than the predetermined velocity threshold
(= information may be displayed as an indication of blocked call and/or details for returning the call, see [0077]; vehicle/driver status data is received indicating the driver is available…the vehicle may have stopped for a threshold period of time, speed equaling 0 mph, see [0078]; and information of the call may be stored at server 1404 and provided to driver device(s) at later time/ when the driver is available, responsive to reaching a threshold period of time, see [0077]); and
receive a selection of the incoming telephonic event in the rollup to respond to in a manner corresponding to a type of the incoming telephonic event (= in-vehicle computing system may store information regarding the incoming/forwarded and selectively present the information after blocking the call, see [0072]; and in-vehicle computing system may send the response to the calling party, see [0073]).
Regarding claims 2, 12, as mentioned in claims 1 and 10, Malhotra discloses the device/ non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, wherein the incoming telephonic event analysis application activation command is associated with a positive vehicle ignition event of the vehicle (= providing a driver status from a vehicle; and key/ignition event, see [0056-57]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Malhotra discloses the device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the device to: responsive to removal of the soft block on the incoming telephonic event: display, on the display associated with the device, the incoming telephonic event; and allow a driver of the vehicle to interact with the incoming telephonic event for a predetermined period of time (see, [0056-57]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Malhotra in view of Ning (US 2014/0323111), (hereinafter, Ning).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned in claim 1, Malhotra explicitly fails to disclose the device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the device to: deactivate, in response to receiving an incoming telephonic event analysis application deactivation command, the incoming telephonic event analysis application.
However, Ning, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the device to: deactivate, in response to receiving an incoming telephonic event analysis application deactivation command, the incoming telephonic event analysis application (= safe driving mode prompt is inactivated in response to a receiving control command, see [0031 and 0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ning with Malhotra for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes an automatic incoming call blocking mechanism that guaranteed safety while driving.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 3, Malhotra explicitly fails to disclose the device, wherein the incoming telephonic event analysis application deactivation command is associated with a negative vehicle ignition event of the vehicle.
However, Ning, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the device, wherein the incoming telephonic event analysis application deactivation command is associated with a negative vehicle ignition event of the vehicle (see, [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ning with Malhotra for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes an automatic incoming call blocking mechanism that guaranteed safety while driving.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 11, Malhotra explicitly fails to disclose the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the device to: deactivate, in response to receiving an incoming telephonic event analysis application deactivation command, the incoming telephonic event analysis application.
However, Ning, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the device to: deactivate, in response to receiving an incoming telephonic event analysis application deactivation command, the incoming telephonic event analysis application (= safe driving mode prompt is inactivated in response to a receiving control command, see [0031 and 0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Ning with Malhotra for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes an automatic incoming call blocking mechanism that guaranteed safety while driving.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 6-10, 14-16, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CONCLUSION
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Lorello et al., (US 2007/0086579) teaches automatic call forwarding to in-vehicle telematic system.
b. Martin et al., (US 2013/0303106) teaches auto responder.
c. Edwards et al., (US 2014/0128047) teaches system and method for call blocking and SMS blocking.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.