DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-42, 45, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0370552 (“LAMBOURN”) in view of US 2019/0384011 (SEITA”).
Regarding claim 35, LAMBOURN teaches a fiber optic adapter holder (170), comprising: a base member (161), the base member including a first surface facing a first direction and a second surface facing a second direction that is opposite the first direction (FIGs. 5, 6, 12); and two pairs of arms (171a, 171b) extending from the base member in the first direction on opposite sides of the base member, and the two pairs of arms and the first surface together defining a pocket region having an open, U-shape for receiving a fiber optic adapter (FIGs. 12, 13).
LAMBOURN does not teach that one of the two pairs of arms defines two fully enclosed openings that face each other. SEITA teaches a pair of arms (34) of an optical fiber adapter holder which defines two fully enclosed openings (36) that face each other (FIGs. 3, 4A, 4B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the arms of LAMBOURN so as to define two fully enclosed openings, as taught by SEITA. The motivation would have been to provide an alternative means for engaging connection with the fiber optic adapter (par. [0040]).
Regarding claim 36, LAMBOURN teaches that the other of the two pairs of arms does not define any fully enclosed openings (FIGs. 3-5, 9, 10, 12-14).
Regarding claim 37, LAMBOURN teaches that the one of the two pairs of arms are thinner than the other of the two pairs of arms (178; FIG. 13; par. [0084]).
Regarding claim 38, LAMBOURN in view of SEITA renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 35. The additional limitation; namely that each arm of the two pairs of arms is T-shaped, appears to involve mere changes in shape. It has been held that particular spatial configurations are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration imparts functional significance. As such persuasive evidence is presently absent in the current case, Examiner maintains that the particular change in shape set forth in the instant claim would have been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 39, SEITA teaches that the one of the two pairs of arms includes chamfer surfaces (34c) adjacent the two fully enclosed openings (FIG. 4A).
Regarding claim 40, SEITA teaches that the chamfer surfaces face each other (FIG. 4A).
Regarding claim 41, LAMBOURN teaches a mounting feature (130) projecting from the second surface of the base member in the second direction (FIGs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 42, LAMBOURN teaches that the mounting feature includes dovetail structures (131, 132).
Regarding claim 45, LAMBOURN teaches that an entirety of the mounting feature is positioned offset from a center of the base member (FIGs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 48, LAMBOURN teaches a fiber optic adapter (210).
Claims 46, 47, 49, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAMBOURN in view of SEITA and in view of US 2012/0027361 (“BROWER”).
Regarding claims 46 and 47, LAMBOURN in view of SEITA renders obvious the limitations of the respective base claims. LAMBOURN does not teach that the fiber optic adapter holder is constructed of plastic. BROWER teaches a plastic fiber optic adapter holder (par. [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to construct the fiber optic adapter holder of LAMBOURN out of plastic, as taught by BROWER. The motivation would have been to utilize a sturdy, inexpensive material.
Regarding claim 49, LAMBOURN teaches a fiber optic adapter holder (170), comprising: a base member (161), the base member including a first surface facing a first direction and a second surface facing a second direction that is opposite the first direction (FIGs. 5, 6, 12); and two pairs of arms (171a, 171b) extending from the base member in the first direction on opposite sides of the base member, the two pairs of arms and the first surface together defining a pocket region having an open, U-shape for receiving a fiber optic adapter (FIGs. 12, 13); a mounting feature (130) projecting from the second surface of the base member in the second direction (FIGs. 3, 4); wherein the other of the two pairs of arms does not define any fully enclosed openings (FIGs. 3-5, 9, 10, 12-14); and wherein an entirety of the mounting feature is positioned offset from a center of the base member (FIGs. 3, 4)
LAMBOURN does not teach that one of the two pairs of arms defines two fully enclosed openings that face each other. SEITA teaches a pair of arms (34) of an optical fiber adapter holder which defines two fully enclosed openings (36) that face each other (FIGs. 3, 4A, 4B); the one of the two pairs of arms includes chamfer surfaces (34c) adjacent the two fully enclosed openings (FIG. 4A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the arms of LAMBOURN so as to define two fully enclosed openings, as taught by SEITA. The motivation would have been to provide an alternative means for engaging connection with the fiber optic adapter (par. [0040]).
LAMBOURN also does not teach that the fiber optic adapter holder is constructed of plastic. BROWER teaches a plastic fiber optic adapter holder (par. [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to construct the fiber optic adapter holder of LAMBOURN out of plastic, as taught by BROWER. The motivation would have been to utilize a sturdy, inexpensive material.
The additional limitation; namely that each arm of the two pairs of arms is T-shaped, appears to involve mere changes in shape. It has been held that particular spatial configurations are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration imparts functional significance. As such persuasive evidence is presently absent in the current case, Examiner maintains that the particular change in shape set forth in the instant claim would have been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 50, LAMBOURN teaches a fiber optic adapter (210).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43 and 44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious that the mounting feature includes bumps, the dovetail structures being positioned between the bumps.
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874