DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending and under consideration in this action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022265473 (“Nam”, machine translation used for citations) in view of WO 2022265459 (“Min”, machine translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches an acrylic acid salt based superabsorbent polymer (see e.g. paragraph [0072]). Although Nam does not provide the extractable content after free swelling for 1 hour in water having an electrical conductivity of 100-130 mS/cm, the superabsorbent polymer of Nam appears to be substantially identical to that described in the instant application.
Nam teaches using a (meth)acrylic acid or salt thereof as the monomer, which is the same monomers as described in the instant application (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0071] and instant specification at paragraph [0079]). Nam teaches that the concentration of the monomer during polymerization is 20-40%, which is the same range described in the instant application (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0080] and instant specification at paragraph [0082]). Nam teaches a substantially identical list of internal cross-linking agents as the instant application (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0085] and instant specification at paragraph [0086]). Nam teaches using the crosslinker in an amount of 0.01-5 parts crosslinker per 100 parts of monomer, which is the same range described in the instant specification (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0091] and instant specification at paragraph [0091]). Nam also teaches using an azo initiator and hydrogen peroxide, while also including ascorbic acid and iron sulfate, which is also used as the initiator in the instant application (see e.g. Nam at paragraphs [0337]-[0338] and instant specification at paragraph [0097]).
Nam describes the same solvents used during polymerization as the instant application (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0131] and instant application at paragraph [0108]). Similar to the instant application, Nam describes that the polymer is not neutralized until after polymerization (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0075] and instant specification at paragraph [0081]).
Both the instant application and Nam teach using the same of surface crosslinking agents (see e.g. paragraph [0115] of the instant application compared with paragraph [0313] of Nam). Both the instant application and Nam appear to teach the same amount of the crosslinking agent as well (compare paragraph [0117] of the instant application with paragraph [0315] of Nam). Nam even uses the same temperature during the surface crosslinking (compare paragraph [0244] of the instant application with paragraph [0320] of Nam).
Further, Nam appears to use the same type, amount, and timing for neutralization of the polymer. For example, both the instant application and Nam use NaOH to neutralize the polymer (compare paragraph [0205] of the instant application with paragraph [0233] of Nam). Both use the same amount of NaOH as well (compare paragraph [0206] of the instant application with paragraph [0148] of Nam, each of which describe that the polymer is neutralized to 50-90%, which, given the identical materials, would require identical amounts of base). Both Nam and the instant application describe that the neutralization occurs after polymerization and either before or during micronization (see e.g. paragraph [0131] of the instant application and paragraphs [0149]-[0150] of Nam).
Nam teaches that micronization is carried out in the presence of a surfactant, and teaches the same types of surfactants that are used in the instant application (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0051] and paragraphs [0156]-[0175] and instant application at paragraphs [0168]-[0170]. Nam appears to use an identical or substantially identical system for micronization as the instant application as well. Nam describes that the micronization is carried out by a rotating screw type atomizer that pushes the polymer through a porous plate having openings of between 1 and 20 mm (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0279]). Similarly, the instant application describes a high-speed screw type rotating chopper that pushes the polymer through a porous plate having openings of between 3 and 25 mm (see instant specification at paragraphs [0163]-[0164]).
While Nam does not provide a precise speed for the rotating chopper, both describe the same result, which is to micronize the polymer to a size of tens to hundreds of microns (see e.g. Nam at paragraph [0151]). Similarly, Min teaches micronization of a superabsorbent polymer using the same type of apparatus to result in particles having a size of tens to hundreds of microns (see e.g. Min at paragraph [0279]). To achieve this result, Min teaches rotating the system at 1500 rpm (Id.). Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a rotation speed during micronization of 1500 rpm with the method of Nam because Min teaches that this rotational speed results in the desired particle size. Similarly to Min, the instant application uses a rotational speed during micronization of 500-4,000 rpm (see instant specification at paragraph [0160]).
Although there may be very slight differences between the process of Nam in view of Min and that described in the instant application, these differences, such as the precise type of equipment used, are unlikely to make any significant difference in the resulting structure of the superabsorbent polymer. As such, the superabsorbent polymer of Nam in view of Min is considered to be substantially identical to that of the instant application. As noted in MPEP 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” Here, given the identical or nearly identical processes to make the superabsorbent polymer, the superabsorbent polymer of Nam in view of Min is considered to have the same properties and characteristics of the superabsorbent polymer of claim 1, and claim 1 is thus obvious over Nam in view of Min.
Regarding claims 2-12, as noted above the superabsorbent polymer of Nam in view of Min is substantially identical to that produced in the instant application. As such, the properties recited in claims 2-12 would also be possessed by the superabsorbent polymer of Nam in view of Min.
Conclusion
/E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736