DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 13, line 2 is unclear. Specifically it is unclear as to how a tissue defect can have a “coating” of a dental preparation containing a shaped body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wahlig et al 4291013 in view of Liu et al 20140039056.
With regard to claims 12-14, Wahlig et al discloses a method for producing a dental preparation, comprising drying a raw material aqueous solution (see column 2, lines 35-46, which discloses that injection molding may be utilized to form the shaped body, such injection molding inherently utilizing an aqueous solution, since collagen contains water). Wahlig et al also disclose that the solution may contain an active material and calcium phosphate (see column 2, lines 10-17), which is a water soluble divalent metal salt. Wahlig also discloses that the active material may be used to treat inflammation. See column 5, lines 45-57.
Wahlig et al do not disclose the active material to be a free form and/or alkali metal salt of bromfenac.
Liu et al discloses bromfenac metal salts which may be used to treat inflammation, or as an analgesic. See paragraph 1.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include a free form or alkali metal salt of bromfenac as the active material in the dental preparation of Wahlig et al, in view of the teaching of Liu et al that such forms of bromfenac may be used to treat inflammation.
With regard to claims 13 and 14, Wahlig et al/Liu et al do not specifically disclose filling or coating a tissue defect in a dental region with the dental preparation.
However, Wahlig et al specifically discloses that the dental preparation (shaped body) may be used to fill a tissue defect in the human body, such as to reduce inflammation. See paragraphs 47,48 and 51.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize the shaped body of Wahlig et al/Liu et al to fill a tissue defect in a dental region of the body, in view of the teaching of Wahlig et al that such a resorbable shaped body may be used to treat a tissue defect in the body.
With further regard to claim 14, it is noted that Wahlig et al discloses the use of calcium phosphate, which is a divalent metal salt. Thus, when the alkali metal salt of bromfenac (of Liu et al) is combined with the calcium phosphate of Wahlig et al, a divalent metal salt (calcium salt) of bromfenac is produced.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772