DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al US 2020/0169318 (hereinafter KIM).
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting, by a first communication device, a backscatter signal;
([KIM, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4, Step S313, ¶80] The IoT device 300a (interpreted as the claimed “first communication device”) transmits a backscatter signal shown as the dashed directional lines of Backscatter communication in Fig. 3.)
wherein the first communication device obtains power through power harvesting for communication, information collection and information processing, and the first communication device supports an enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability.
([KIM, Fig. 4, Step S311, ¶30-¶32, ¶77-¶78] Device 300a performs the step of harvesting energy for cooperative/non-cooperative communication [KIM, ¶72 and ¶86], information collection through an information exchange [KIM, ¶79], and information processing via decoding the signal for information exchange for cooperative communication [KIM, ¶72].)
Regarding claim 8, KIM teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a second communication device, a backscatter signal transmitted by a first communication device;
([KIM, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4, Step S313, ¶80] The H-AP 200 (interpreted as the claimed “second communication device”) receives a backscatter signal, shown as the dashed directional lines of Backscatter communication in Fig. 3, which is transmitted by IoT device 300a (interpreted as the claimed “first communication device”).)
wherein the first communication device obtains power through power harvesting for communication, information collection and information processing, and the first communication device supports an enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability.
([KIM, Fig. 4, Step S311, ¶30-¶32, ¶77-¶78] Device 300a performs the step of harvesting energy for cooperative/non-cooperative communication [KIM, ¶72 and ¶86], information collection through an information exchange [KIM, ¶79], and information processing via decoding the signal for information exchange for cooperative communication [KIM, ¶72], and the IoT device 300a supports an enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability in the form of supporting long range backscatter communication capability [KIM, ¶80].)
Regarding claim 2, KIM teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein that the first communication device supports the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability is determined based on at least one of following: a sensitivity of a receiver of a second communication device, a receive antenna gain of the second communication device, a transmit power of a carrier signal of a third communication device, a transmit antenna gain of the third communication device, location information of the third communication device, angle information of a scanning antenna of the third communication device, an operating frequency of a carrier signal of the third communication device, an operating frequency of the backscatter signal, a frequency shifting capability supported by the first communication device, or a reflection capability of the first communication device; wherein a receiving terminal of the backscatter signal is the second communication device, and a power supply signal and/or trigger signal corresponding to the backscatter signal are transmitted by the third communication device.
([KIM, Fig. 3, ¶29-31, ¶57-¶59 and ¶80] The device 300a supports long-range backscatter communication, which is interpreted as the claimed enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability, determined based on transmit power of a unmodulated carrier signal of the WiFi Node 100 (serving as the claimed third communication device) that is able to be harvested by the IoT device 300a. The receiving terminal (H-AP 200 of Fig. 3 of KIM) is a second communication device and a power supply signal (unmodulated carrier signal) corresponding to the backscatter signal is transmitted by the third communication device (LP access point 100).)
Regarding claim 9, KIM teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein that the first communication device supports the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability is determined based on at least one of following: a sensitivity of a receiver of the second communication device, a receive antenna gain of the second communication device, a transmit power of a carrier signal of a third communication device, a transmit antenna gain of the third communication device, location information of the third communication device, angle information of a scanning antenna of the third communication device, an operating frequency of a carrier signal of the third communication device, an operating frequency of the backscatter signal, a frequency shifting capability supported by the first communication device, or a reflection capability of the first communication device; wherein a power supply signal and/or trigger signal corresponding to the backscatter signal are transmitted by the third communication device.
([KIM, Fig. 3, ¶29-31, ¶57-¶59 and ¶80] The device 300a supports long-range backscatter communication, which is interpreted as the claimed enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability, determined based on transmit power of a unmodulated carrier signal of the WiFi Node 100 (serving as the claimed third communication device) that is able to be harvested by the IoT device 300a. The receiving terminal (H-AP 200 of Fig. 3 of KIM) is a second communication device and a power supply signal (unmodulated carrier signal) corresponding to the backscatter signal is transmitted by the third communication device (LP access point 100).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, and further in view of Fukuda US 2005/0253688 (hereinafter Fukuda).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 10, KIM teaches the method according to claim 2, (See the rejection of claim 2 above) and the method of claim 9 (see the rejection of claim 9 above),
But it does not teach wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the sensitivity of the receiver of the second communication device, the receiver of the second communication device supports an enhanced sensitivity.
However, Fukuda teaches wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the sensitivity of the receiver of the second communication device, the receiver of the second communication device supports an enhanced sensitivity.
(Fukuda teaches that the radio communication system may be configured to improve reception sensitivity to increase the communication distance of the backscatter communication capability [Fukuda, ¶2, ¶41-¶43 and ¶48].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, indicating the ability to communicated backscatter transmissions at long range via a wireless network, with the teachings of Fukuda, indicating that the increased receiver sensitivity may be used to improve reception. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to reduce the effects of transmitter noise on the receiver while also preventing increase in costs [Fukuda, ¶2 and ¶58-¶59].
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM and Fukuda as applied to claims 3 and 10 above, and further in view of Adamec et al. US 2008/0106380 (hereinafter Adamec).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 11, the combination of KIM, in view of Fukuda teaches the method according to claim 3 and the method of claim 10 respectively (see the rejections of claims 3 and 10 above), but it does not teach wherein the second communication device causes its receiver to support the enhanced sensitivity by reducing a reception bandwidth of the second communication device; and/or, the second communication device causes its receiver to support the enhanced sensitivity by reducing an insertion loss of a conductive circuit operating on a receive frequency band of the second communication device.
However, Adamec teaches wherein the second communication device causes its receiver to support the enhanced sensitivity by reducing a reception bandwidth of the second communication device; and/or, the second communication device causes its receiver to support the enhanced sensitivity by reducing an insertion loss of a conductive circuit operating on a receive frequency band of the second communication device.
([Adamec, ¶24] The bandwidth is narrowed to increase the sensitivity of the RF receiver.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, in view of Fukuda indicating the ability to communicated backscatter transmissions at long range via a wireless network, with the teachings of Adamec, indicating that the increased receiver sensitivity may be used to improve reception. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to reduce collisions [Adamec, ¶23-¶24].
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, and further in view of Sabesan et al. US 2013/0201003 (hereinafter Sab).
Regarding claim 5 and claim 12, KIM teaches the method according to claim 2 and the method claim 9 respectively, wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined (The IoT device 300a and the second device 200 function in a determined configuration to communicate long range backscatter communication transmitted from the IoT device 300a to the second device 200 which receives the long-range backscatter communication and serves as the reader of the backscatter information from the IoT device 300a [KIM, Fig. 3-4]),
but it does not explicitly teach wherein based on at least the receive antenna gain of the second communication device, the second communication device supports an enhanced receive antenna gain.
However, Sab teaches based on at least the receive antenna gain of the second communication device, the second communication device supports an enhanced receive antenna gain.
(According to Sab the receiver of the long range backscatter may have a determined configuration of a receive antenna with an applied gain which enables improved coverage for successfully receiving the backscatter signal at distance [Sab, ¶131].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, indicating the ability to communicated backscatter transmissions at long range via a wireless network, with the teachings of Sab, indicating that the receiver gain may be used to support reception and offer improved coverage. The benefiting result of the combination would have been improved coverage through antenna optimization [Sab, ¶131]
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of Saily et al. US 2024/0163840 (hereinafter Saily).
Regarding claim 18, KIM teaches a first communication device, [KIM, Fig. 3, IoT Backscatter device 300a]
transmitting a backscatter signal;
([KIM, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4, Step S313, ¶80] The IoT device 300a (interpreted as the claimed “first communication device”) transmits a backscatter signal shown as the dashed directional lines of Backscatter communication in Fig. 3.)
wherein the first communication device obtains power through power harvesting for communication, information collection and information processing, and the first communication device supports an enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability.
([KIM, Fig. 4, Step S311, ¶30-¶32, ¶77-¶78] Device 300a performs the step of harvesting energy for cooperative/non-cooperative communication [KIM, ¶72 and ¶86], information collection through an information exchange [KIM, ¶79], and information processing via decoding the signal for information exchange for cooperative communication [KIM, ¶72].)
While the IoT backscatter device of KIM comprises a transceiver based on the reception of the carrier signal, transmission of a backscatter signal and other information exchanges of information signals between other devices, and a decoder which operates a processor, it does not explicitly disclose the memory and computer program as claimed.
However, Saily does teach that a backscatter device comprises a transceiver, a processor and a memory;
([Saily, Fig. 14] Transmitter and Receiver, Microcontroller and Memory)
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit signals, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communication device to perform the method processes
[Saily, Fig. 14, ¶124]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, indicating the ability to communicated backscatter transmissions at long range via a wireless network, with the teachings of Saily, indicating internal structure of the backscatter device. The benefiting result of the combination would have been create a backscatter device with readily available parts for ease of manufacturing.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of KIM, in view of Saily teaches the first communication device according to claim 18, wherein that the first communication device supports the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability is determined based on at least one of following: a sensitivity of a receiver of a second communication device, a receive antenna gain of the second communication device, a transmit power of a carrier signal of a third communication device, a transmit antenna gain of the third communication device, location information of the third communication device, angle information of a scanning antenna of the third communication device, an operating frequency of a carrier signal of the third communication device, an operating frequency of the backscatter signal, a frequency shifting capability supported by the first communication device, or a reflection capability of the first communication device; wherein a receiving terminal of the backscatter signal is the second communication device, and a power supply signal and/or trigger signal corresponding to the backscatter signal are transmitted by the third communication device.
([KIM, Fig. 3, ¶80] The receiving terminal (H-AP 200 of Fig. 3 of KIM) is a second communication device and a power supply signal (unmodulated carrier signal) corresponding to the backscatter signal is transmitted by the third communication device (LP access point 100).)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of Saily as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Fukuda.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of KIM, in view of Saily teaches the first communication device according to claim 19, (See the rejection of claim 19 above),
But it does not teach wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the sensitivity of the receiver of the second communication device, the receiver of the second communication device supports an enhanced sensitivity.
However, Fukuda teaches wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the sensitivity of the receiver of the second communication device, the receiver of the second communication device supports an enhanced sensitivity.
(Fukuda teaches that the radio communication system may be configured to improve reception sensitivity to increase the communication distance of the backscatter communication capability [Fukuda, ¶2, ¶41-¶43 and ¶48].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of KIM, in view of Saily indicating the ability to communicated backscatter transmissions at long range via a wireless network, with the teachings of Fukuda, indicating that the increased receiver sensitivity may be used to improve reception. The resulting benefit of the combination would have been the ability to reduce the effects of transmitter noise on the receiver while also preventing increase in costs [Fukuda, ¶2 and ¶58-¶59].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-7 and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The Examiner has conducted an updated search of the available Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which teaches either solely or in combination with another reference the claim features of: with respect to claim 6) “The method according to claim 2, wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the transmit antenna gain of the third communication device, the third communication device supports an enhanced transmit antenna gain; wherein the transmit antenna gain comprises a diversity gain or a beamforming gain.”, with respect to claim 7) “The method according to claim 2, wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the location information of the third communication device, a distance between the third communication device and the first communication device is less than or equal to a first preset value.”, with respect to claim 13) “The method according to claim 9, wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the transmit antenna gain of the third communication device, the third communication device supports an enhanced transmit antenna gain; wherein the transmit antenna gain comprises a diversity gain or a beamforming gain.”, with respect to claim 14) “The method according to claim 9, wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the location information of the third communication device, a distance between the third communication device and the first communication device is less than or equal to a first preset value.” and claim 15) “The method according to claim 9, wherein in a case where supporting of the enhanced backscatter coverage distance capability by the first communication device is determined based on at least the frequency shift capability supported by the first communication device, the frequency shift capability supported by the first communication device comprises increasing or decreasing a frequency with a first frequency modulation interval, or the frequency shift capability supported by the first communication device comprises increasing or decreasing a frequency with a plurality of frequency modulation intervals.”
Conclusion
/LONNIE V SWEET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467