DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Two information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 09/24/2024 and 05/09/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 6 recites the limitation that “the carbide ceramic and metal are mixed”. Applicants specification describes the carbide ceramic and metal are in a “uniform mixed state” and then “by firing the mixed particles” the particles are sintered to form the granulated sintered particles [0058]. The granulated sintered particles of claim 6 are interpreted as being mixed prior to being sintered together to form the secondary particles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation of “the carbide ceramic is one or more compounds selected from the group consisting of a carbide of a Group 4 element and a carbide of a Group 5 element”. It is unclear if the carbide ceramic is required to be one carbide of a Group 4 element in addition to a carbide of a Group 5 element or if the carbide is required to be one carbide of a Group 4 or Group 5 element. Alternatively, it is unclear whether the group is consisting of carbides of a Group 4 element or if the group is consisting of carbides of Group 4 and Group 5 elements. Clarification is required. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the group to be consisting of carbides of Group 4 or Group 5 elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurosawa (US 20230226612 A1, hereinafter “Kurosawa”) as evidenced by Glaser (Glaser, Frank W. (1955). “Metal Progress”, Volume 67, hereinafter “Glaser”), Zhang et. al. (Zhang, Sam. (2007). “Nanocomposite Thin Films and Coatings”, hereinafter ”Zhang”), and Shackelford et. al. (Shackelford, James F. “CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook”, hereinafter “Shackelford”)
Regarding claims 1-5, Kurosawa teaches “mixing a first powder containing a stainless steel powder and a second powder containing titanium carbide (TiC)” (Kurosawa, [0045]). The invention of Kurosawa “can be preferably applied to laser additive manufacturing” (Kurosawa, [0047]). Kurosawa also teaches the ratio of the first and second powder such that the second powder is in a range of 40-65 mass % relative to the total mass of the first powder and second powder (Kurosawa, [0101]). The first powder is mixed with the second powder to prepare a powdered material (Kurosawa, [0061]).
It is known in the art that the solid solubility of ceramic carbides in metals at 1260°C as evidenced by Glaser are as follows (Glaser, pg.78, Table I). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that these solid solubilities would be similar at a slightly lower temperature of 1250°C.
Ceramic Carbide
Solid Solubility in Cobalt (weight %)
Solid Solubility in Nickel (weight %)
Solid Solubility in Iron (weight %)
TaC
3
5
0.5
TiC
1
5
0.5
VC
6
7
3
It is known in the art that the density, melting point, and standard enthalpy of formation of ceramic carbides as evidenced by Zhang are as follows (Zhang, pg. 333, Table 2.1).
Ceramic Carbide
Density (g/cm3)
Standard Enthalpy of Formation (kJ/mol)
Melting Point (°C)
NbC
7.78
-139.8
3490
TaC
14.65
-159.5
3877
TiC
4.93
-179.6
3150
VC
5.36
-105.1
2770
ZrC
6.51
-181.7
3400
It is known in the art that the densities of metals as evidenced by Shackelford are as follows (Shackelford, pgs. 25-26, Table 1.15).
Solid Metal
Density (g/cm3)
Iron
7.87
Cobalt
8.8
Nickel
8.91
The powdered material being the first powder and second powder mixed of Kurosawa wherein the first powder contains stainless steel powder and the second powder contains titanium carbide corresponds to a powder material for additive manufacturing comprising a carbide ceramic and a metal of claim 1. The invention of Kurosawa being applied to laser additive manufacturing corresponds to the powder material for additive manufacturing of claim 1. However, the recitation in the claims that the powder material is “for additive manufacturing” is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Kurosawa discloses powder material as presently claimed, it is clear that the powdered material of Kurosawa would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. additive manufacturing, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
The second powder being in a range of 40-65 mass % relative to the total mass of the first powder and second powder of Kurosawa can be converted into volume % of the metal using density. The first powder of Kurosawa, being the stainless steel powder, would be in a range of 35-60 mass %. The following is an example of the mass % to volume % conversion for stainless steel and titanium carbide.
V
o
l
u
m
e
%
M
e
t
a
l
=
(
m
a
s
s
%
M
e
t
a
l
)
/
(
m
e
t
a
l
d
e
n
s
i
t
y
)
m
a
s
s
%
m
e
t
a
l
/
m
e
t
a
l
d
e
n
s
i
t
y
+
(
m
a
s
s
%
c
a
r
b
i
d
e
)
/
c
a
r
b
i
d
d
e
n
s
i
t
y
·
100
V
o
l
u
m
e
%
I
r
o
n
=
(
35
)
/
(
7.87
)
35
/
7.87
+
(
65
)
/
4.93
·
100
=
25
%
V
o
l
u
m
e
%
I
r
o
n
=
(
60
)
/
(
7.87
)
60
/
7.87
+
(
40
)
/
4.93
·
100
=
48
%
For the stainless steel and titanium carbide of Kurosawa, the density of stainless steel is approximately the density of iron. The first powder of Kurosawa is 25-48 volume % relative to the total volume of the first and second powder, which overlaps with wherein a content of the metal is 8 to 43 volume % with respect to a total amount of the carbide ceramic and the metal in claim 1. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
The titanium carbide having a solid solubility of 0.5 weight % in iron at 1250°C of Kurosawa as evidenced by Glaser falls within in an XRD spectrum of an additive-manufactured product obtained by additive manufacturing including laser light irradiation, peaks other than those derived from the powder material before the laser light irradiation are not included; or a solid solubility of the carbide ceramic in the metal at 1250°C is 8 mass % or less of claim 1.
The enthalpy of formation for the titanium carbide of Kurosawa as evidenced by Zhang being -179.6 kJ/mol falls within the range of the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein a standard enthalpy of formation of the carbide ceramic is -90 kJ/mol or less of claim 2.
The melting point for the titanium carbide of Kurosawa as evidenced by Zhang being 3150°C falls within the range of the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein a melting point of the carbide ceramic is 2700°C or higher of claim 3.
The titanium carbide of Kurosawa being a carbide ceramic of a Group 4 element which corresponds to the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein the carbide ceramic is one or more compounds selected from the group consisting of a carbide of a Group 4 element and a carbide of a Group 5 element. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that titanium carbide is a carbide ceramic of a Group 4 element of claim 4.
The stainless steel powder of Kurosawa corresponds to the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein the metal is one or more selected from the group consisting of iron, of claim 5.
Regarding claims 7-8, Kurosawa teaches the method for manufacturing the additively-manufactured object is not limited and the powdered material “can be preferably applied to laser additive manufacturing, direct metal laser welding, or the like” (Kurosawa, [0047]). Kurosawa also teaches that the powdered material on a base metal is irradiated due to the heat input by a laser beam (Kurosawa, [0094]) and forming a cladding layer by melting and solidifying the powdered material [Kurosawa, [0106].
The powdered material of Kurosawa being applied to a method of manufacturing an additively-manufactured object, where the method can be “laser additive manufacturing, direct metal laser welding, or the like” corresponds to a method for manufacturing an additive-manufactured product, the method comprising: performing additive manufacturing using the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1 of claim 7. The powdered material being irradiated due to the heat input by a laser beam and forming a cladding layer by melting and solidifying of Kurosawa corresponds to wherein the additive manufacturing includes melting and solidifying the powder material by laser light irradiation of claim 8.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoyanov et. al. (US 20160375493 A1, hereinafter “Stoyanov”) as evidenced by Glaser (Glaser, Frank W. (1955). “Metal Progress”, Volume 67, hereinafter “Glaser”), Zhang et. al. (Zhang, Sam. (2007). “Nanocomposite Thin Films and Coatings”, hereinafter ”Zhang”), and Shackelford et. al. (Shackelford, James F. “CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook”, hereinafter “Shackelford”)
Regarding claims 1-6, Stoyanov teaches a sintered cemented carbide powder also includes a metallic binder phase (Stoyanov, [0015]). The powder metal carbide compositions are for making sintered articles by additive-manufacturing techniques (Stoyanov, [0001]). Stoyanov also teaches the metallic binder present in an amount of 3-30 weight % of the sintered cemented carbide powder (Stoyanov, [0015]). Stoyanov further teaches a sintered cermet powder having a hard particle phase including at least one of a carbide, nitride, and carbonitride of a Group IVB metal and a metallic binder phase, and that the hard particle phase can include at least one of tantalum carbide, vanadium carbide, titanium carbide (Stoyanov [0024]). Stoyanov also teaches the metallic binder phase can be selected from the group consisting of nickel, cobalt, molybdenum, and alloys thereof (Stoyanov, [0024]). Stoyanov also teaches that in being sintered, an individual particle of the cemented carbide powder is formed of smaller particles bound together by the metallic binder phase (Stoyanov, [0016]).
As noted above, known properties of relevant materials are known in the prior art as evidenced by Glaser, Zhang, and Shackelford. Glaser, Zhang, and Shackelford are taken as cited above on pages 5-6.
The sintered cemented carbide powder including a metallic binder phase of Stoyanov corresponds to a powder material for additive manufacturing comprising a carbide ceramic and a metal of claim 1. The powder metal carbide compositions being for making sintered articles by additive-manufacturing techniques corresponds to the powder material for additive manufacturing of claim 1. However, the recitation in the claims that the powder material is “for additive manufacturing” is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Stoyanov discloses powder metal carbide compositions as presently claimed, it is clear that the powder metal carbide compositions of Stoyanov would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. additive manufacturing, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
The metallic binder present in an amount of 3-30 weight % of the sintered cemented carbide powder of Stoyanov can be converted into volume %. The following is an example of the mass % to volume % conversion for cobalt and tantalum carbide.
V
o
l
u
m
e
%
M
e
t
a
l
=
(
m
a
s
s
%
M
e
t
a
l
)
/
(
m
e
t
a
l
d
e
n
s
i
t
y
)
m
a
s
s
%
m
e
t
a
l
/
m
e
t
a
l
d
e
n
s
i
t
y
+
(
m
a
s
s
%
c
a
r
b
i
d
e
)
/
c
a
r
b
i
d
d
e
n
s
i
t
y
·
100
V
o
l
u
m
e
%
C
o
b
a
l
t
=
(
3
)
/
(
8.8
)
3
/
8.8
+
(
97
)
/
14.65
·
100
=
5
%
V
o
l
u
m
e
%
C
o
b
a
l
t
=
(
30
)
/
(
7.87
)
30
/
8.8
+
(
70
)
/
14.65
·
100
=
42
%
For the cobalt and tantalum carbide of Stoyanov, the metal is 5-42 volume% relative to the total volume sintered cemented carbide ceramic, which overlaps with wherein a content of the metal is 8 to 43 volume % with respect to a total amount of the carbide ceramic and the metal in claim 1. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the other combinations of metals and carbides of Group 4 elements taught by Stoyanov would also overlap with the presently claimed range. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
The Group 4 ceramic carbides titanium carbide, tantalum carbide, and vanadium carbide of Stoyanov as evidenced by Glaser having solid solubilities of 7 weight % or less in cobalt, nickel, and iron at 1250°C fall within in an XRD spectrum of an additive-manufactured product obtained by additive manufacturing including laser light irradiation, peaks other than those derived from the powder material before the laser light irradiation are not included; or a solid solubility of the carbide ceramic in the metal at 1250°C is 8 mass % or less of claim 1.
The enthalpy of formation for the titanium carbide, tantalum carbide, and vanadium carbide of Stoyanov as evidenced by Zhang being -105.1 kJ/mol or less fall within the range of the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein a standard enthalpy of formation of the carbide ceramic is -90 kJ/mol or less of claim 2.
The melting point for the titanium carbide, tantalum carbide, and vanadium carbide of Stoyanov as evidenced by Zhang being 2770°C or greater fall within the range of the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein a melting point of the carbide ceramic is 2700°C or higher of claim 3.
The titanium carbide, tantalum carbide, and vanadium carbide of Stoyanov all being a carbide ceramic of a Group 4 element corresponds to the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein the carbide ceramic is one or more compounds selected from the group consisting of a carbide of a Group 4 element and a carbide of a Group 5 element. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that titanium carbide, tantalum carbide, and vanadium carbide are carbide ceramics of a Group 4 element of claim 4.
The metallic binder phase being selected from the group consisting of nickel and cobalt of Stoyanov corresponds to the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein the metal is one or more selected from the group consisting of cobalt, nickel, and iron of claim 5.
The sintered cemented carbide powder where in being sintered, an individual particle of the cemented carbide powder is formed of smaller particles bound together by the metallic binder phase of Stoyanov corresponds to the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1, formed of granulated sintered particles in which the carbide ceramic and the metal are mixed of claim 6.
Regarding claims 7-8, Stoyanov teaches “methods of making sintered articles from powder metal carbide compositions by additive manufacturing techniques” (Stoyanov, [0004]). Stoyanov also teaches that laser sintering is a common additive manufacturing technique where a laser beam fuses, i.e., melts and solidifies, the powder to fabricate an article (Stoyanov, [002]).
The “methods of making sintered articles from powder metal carbide compositions by additive manufacturing techniques” of Stoyanov corresponds to a method for manufacturing an additive-manufactured product, the method comprising: performing additive manufacturing using the powder material for additive manufacturing according to claim 1 of claim 7. Laser sintering being a common additive manufacturing technique where a laser beam fuses the powder to fabricate an article corresponds to the method for manufacturing an additive-manufactured product according to claim 7, wherein the additive manufacturing includes melting and solidifying the powder material by laser light irradiation of claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO 2015162206 A2 “A method of making cermet or cemented carbide power” describes producing a cemented carbide powder containing TiC or NbC and cobalt which can be used for additive manufacturing. Examples use 10 weight % of cobalt, and the balance of carbide material.
ES 2916273 T3 “Manufacturing method of composite material and composite material” describes additive manufacturing using a composite powder containing ZrC, TaC, or TiC, and Co, Ni, or Fe. The metal is described as being within 10-60 volume % of the total of the ceramic and metal. Melting and solidifying by irradiation with a laser beam is described.
/B.B.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/DANIELLE M. CARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738