DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is responsive to the applicant’s filling the application on 09/24/2024.
The application has claims 1-20 present. All present claims have been examined.
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited references filed 9/24/2024, have been reviewed by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a “System” comprising steps that may be mental process (prong 1). The overall process presented in the claim is determining a tension-based feature on a thin film. Based on the determination discern the system is in a fault state (abnormalities on the film production), and provide a notification to remedy the fault. See par. 5 of the specification. The steps taken provide an opportunity identify an issue and notify the issues for a solution.
Limitations under prong 1:
The specific limitations of
- “detect that the manufacturing system is in a fault state…” (this is a mental process determining that there is an issue with the film).
Limitations under prong 2:
The limitations of "identify…a tension induce feature”, is insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as mere data gathering (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitations to include “execute a remedial action…” is interpreted as merely using instructions or a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (for example displaying a notification for the fault) (see MPEP 2106.05 (f)).
Step 2B – not significant more.
Thus, the recited “System” is an abstract idea in that it is not tied to a particular machine or apparatus and it does not transform a particular article into a different state or thing. Furthermore, the additional element of using a computer as a tool to perform the recited steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply a judicial exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Accordingly, the recited system is non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 2: “identify the tension-induced feature on at least one of an anode thin film substrate surface, a cathode thin film substrate surface, a or separator thin film substrate surface, for a lithium-ion battery cell” further describes the abstract idea previously identified in the independent claims. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea and are not patent-eligible.
Claim 3: “identify an expected tension-induced feature characteristic on the surface of the thin film substrate, the expected tension-induced feature characteristic is associated with a target state for the manufacturing system; and compare the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic.” (obtaining and comparing data to make a determination), further describes the abstract idea previously identified in the independent claims. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea and are not patent-eligible.
Claim 4: “detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state responsive to the characteristic of the tension-induced feature differing from the expected tension-induced feature characteristic by a threshold amount.” (making a determination based on expected data or behavior) further describes the abstract idea previously identified in the independent claims. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea and are not patent-eligible.
Claim 5: “compare the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare at least one of a depth of ridges in the thin film substrate, a width of the ridges, a length of the ridges, a longitudinal angle of the ridges, or a number of ridges to corresponding expected tension-induced feature characteristics.” (making a determination based on obtained data against expected data) further describes the abstract idea previously identified in the independent claims. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea and are not patent-eligible.
Claim 6: “detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises an instruction that causes the processor to detect, using a machine-learning operation, that the manufacturing system is in the fault state” (using a ML algorithm and its rules as a tool to apply the abstract idea ), further describes the abstract idea previously identified in the independent claims. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea and are not patent-eligible.
Claim 7: “generating a notification; halting operation of the manufacturing system; or adjusting an operation of the manufacturing system based on the characteristic of the tension-induced feature.” (providing/displaying a notification) further describes the abstract idea previously identified in the independent claims. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea and are not patent-eligible.
Claim 8: “causes the processor to identify a source of the fault state based on the characteristic of the tension-induced feature” (making a determination based on obtained/observed data) further describes the abstract idea previously identified in the independent claims. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea and are not patent-eligible.
Claims 15-20 provide the same limitations as those on claims 1-8 in a method embodiment. As such are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 11, 14, 15, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US 20180022563).
In regards to claim 1, Liang discloses a system, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
identify, from an output of a sensor directed towards a thin film substrate, a tension-induced feature on a surface of the thin film substrate that is under tension in a manufacturing system (see at least para 26-29, on a manufacturing line sensors are used to detect tension issues a non-uniform tension on the surface of the film substrate. See para 26: “When a thin substrate 30 is attached on the roller 20, and it is also attached on the pressure sensor 10 and the pressure sensing units 12, the tension of a surface of the thin substrate 30 that contacts with the roller 20 must be uniformly distributed, so that transferring the thin substrate 30 may be stable. Oppositely, in case that the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension.” Also para 29 “In an embodiment, it may be arranged to completely wrap the pressure sensor 10 around the roller 20, so that when the thin substrate 30 is moved on the roller 20, the voltage distribution on the thin substrate 30 can be detected, thereby to identifying the pressure distribution on the thin substrate 30. Therefore, a voltage signal is transmitted to the controller 40 for controlling a motor to adjust the rollers 20 to uniformly transfer the thin substrate 30. Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner.”); detect that the manufacturing system is in a fault state based on a characteristic of the tension-induced feature (see para 26: “in case that the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension”); and execute a remedial action responsive to the manufacturing system being in the fault state (see para 26: “the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension. The inform scheme may be implemented by an alarm light, an alarm sound, or a numeric abnormality notification”. On para 29: Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner”. Also on para 33: “Since the pressure sensor 10 (the pressure sensing units 12) of the roller 20 may detect axial pressure distribution of the roller 20, Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the speeds or the spacing distance of the front roller and the rear roller are adjusted, or the location of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the level of tightness of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the dust particles are removed, according to the problems occurring, such as the tension of the thin substrate 30”… “Afterwards, a check is conducted to determine if it is within the desired range. When the check is within the desired range, the process is terminated and Step 101 is re-started. The adjustment of the spacing distance of the two rollers 20 may comprise adjusting the spacing distances of the unwinding roller, the intermediate roller(s), and the winding roller”).
In regards to claim 3, Liang discloses wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises machine-readable instructions that cause the processor to: identify an expected tension-induced feature characteristic on the surface of the thin film substrate, the expected tension-induced feature characteristic is associated with a target state for the manufacturing system (see para 26 and 33 discloses abnormal state (fault state) associated with tension. The tension is associated to an expected tension threshold to maintain a normal state, if not the system determines to be in the abnormal state. Para 26: “the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension. The inform scheme may be implemented by an alarm light, an alarm sound, or a numeric abnormality notification”. On para 28: “when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by over-tightness or under-tightness of the thin substrate 30, an abnormality signal is issued to indicate there is a tightness problem occurring in the thin substrate 30 and it is needed to adjust a spacing distance between two rollers 20”. On para 33: “Since the pressure sensor 10 (the pressure sensing units 12) of the roller 20 may detect axial pressure distribution of the roller 20, Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted); and compare the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic (see at least para 33 where a comparison is made to determine if the tension is within desired range: “Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted”).
In regards to claim 4, Liang discloses wherein the machine-readable instructions further comprise a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state responsive to the characteristic of the tension-induced feature differing from the expected tension-induced feature characteristic by a threshold amount (see at least para 26 and 40, when the system is in a fault state (abnormal), the system adjust spacing distances to control the tension and accomplish reaching the desired range. See para 26: “the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension.” Para 40: “In an embodiment, the front dual-clamping roller 721, the first upper intermediate roller 731, the first lower intermediate roller 732, the second upper intermediate roller 733, the second lower intermediate roller 734, the third upper intermediate roller 735, and the rear dual-clamping roller 741 may be controlled by motors to control the spacing distance or the location of the roller 20 in order to adjust the tension and the level of tightness of the thin substrate 30.”).
In regards to claim 7, Liang discloses wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to execute the remedial action comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to perform at least one of: generating a notification; halting operation of the manufacturing system; or adjusting an operation of the manufacturing system based on the characteristic of the tension-induced feature (see para 26 “the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension. The inform scheme may be implemented by an alarm light, an alarm sound, or a numeric abnormality notification”. On para 27: “In an embodiment, alarm devices or methods are provided to respectively correspond to the tension of the thin substrate”).
In regards to claim 8, Liang discloses wherein the machine-readable instructions further comprise a machine-readable instruction that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to identify a source of the fault state based on the characteristic of the tension-induced feature (see at least para 26-29: by determining tension problem associated to the pressure sensing unit, the system determines cause, e.g. tightness problem and need for spacing of the distance between two rollers and other adjustment to the rollers. In at least Para 28-29: “A tightness problem of the thin substrate 30 may cause abnormality of transferring the thin substrate 30 and abnormal winding of the roller 20. Thus, in an embodiment, when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by over-tightness or under-tightness of the thin substrate 30, an abnormality signal is issued to indicate there is a tightness problem occurring in the thin substrate 30 and it is needed to adjust a spacing distance between two rollers 20. Details will be provided below. [0029] In an embodiment, it may be arranged to completely wrap the pressure sensor 10 around the roller 20, so that when the thin substrate 30 is moved on the roller 20, the voltage distribution on the thin substrate 30 can be detected, thereby to identifying the pressure distribution on the thin substrate 30. Therefore, a voltage signal is transmitted to the controller 40 for controlling a motor to adjust the rollers 20 to uniformly transfer the thin substrate 30. Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner”).
In regards to claim 9, Liang discloses a system, comprising: a manufacturing system comprising tension rollers that apply tension to a thin film substrate; a sensor directed towards the thin film substrate to capture data associated with the thin film substrate traveling under tension through the manufacturing system (see at least para 26-29, on a manufacturing line sensors are used to detect tension issues a non-uniform tension on the surface of the film substrate. See para 26: “When a thin substrate 30 is attached on the roller 20, and it is also attached on the pressure sensor 10 and the pressure sensing units 12, the tension of a surface of the thin substrate 30 that contacts with the roller 20 must be uniformly distributed, so that transferring the thin substrate 30 may be stable. Oppositely, in case that the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension.” Also para 29 “In an embodiment, it may be arranged to completely wrap the pressure sensor 10 around the roller 20, so that when the thin substrate 30 is moved on the roller 20, the voltage distribution on the thin substrate 30 can be detected, thereby to identifying the pressure distribution on the thin substrate 30. Therefore, a voltage signal is transmitted to the controller 40 for controlling a motor to adjust the rollers 20 to uniformly transfer the thin substrate 30. Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner.”); a processor; and a memory storing machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: identify, from an output of the sensor, a tension-induced feature on a surface of the thin film substrate (see para 26: “in case that the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension”. Also para 29 “In an embodiment, it may be arranged to completely wrap the pressure sensor 10 around the roller 20, so that when the thin substrate 30 is moved on the roller 20, the voltage distribution on the thin substrate 30 can be detected, thereby to identifying the pressure distribution on the thin substrate 30. Therefore, a voltage signal is transmitted to the controller 40 for controlling a motor to adjust the rollers 20 to uniformly transfer the thin substrate 30. Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner”. Also on para 33: “Since the pressure sensor 10 (the pressure sensing units 12) of the roller 20 may detect axial pressure distribution of the roller 20, Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted,); detect that the manufacturing system is in a fault state based on a characteristic of the tension-induced feature (see para 26: “in case that the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension”); and execute a remedial action responsive to the manufacturing system being in the fault state (see para 26: “the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension. The inform scheme may be implemented by an alarm light, an alarm sound, or a numeric abnormality notification”. On para 29: Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner”. Also on para 33: “Since the pressure sensor 10 (the pressure sensing units 12) of the roller 20 may detect axial pressure distribution of the roller 20, Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the speeds or the spacing distance of the front roller and the rear roller are adjusted, or the location of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the level of tightness of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the dust particles are removed, according to the problems occurring, such as the tension of the thin substrate 30”… “Afterwards, a check is conducted to determine if it is within the desired range. When the check is within the desired range, the process is terminated and Step 101 is re-started. The adjustment of the spacing distance of the two rollers 20 may comprise adjusting the spacing distances of the unwinding roller, the intermediate roller(s), and the winding roller”).
In regards to claim 11, Liang discloses wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises machine-readable instructions that cause the processor to: identify an expected tension-induced feature characteristic on the surface of the thin film substrate, the expected tension-induced feature characteristic is associated with a target state for the manufacturing system(see para 26 and 33 discloses abnormal state (fault state) associated with tension. The tension is associated to an expected tension threshold to maintain a normal state, if not the system determines to be in the abnormal state. Para 26: “the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension. The inform scheme may be implemented by an alarm light, an alarm sound, or a numeric abnormality notification”. On para 28: “when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by over-tightness or under-tightness of the thin substrate 30, an abnormality signal is issued to indicate there is a tightness problem occurring in the thin substrate 30 and it is needed to adjust a spacing distance between two rollers 20”. On para 33: “Since the pressure sensor 10 (the pressure sensing units 12) of the roller 20 may detect axial pressure distribution of the roller 20, Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted); compare the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic; and detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state responsive to the characteristic of the tension-induced feature differing from the expected tension-induced feature characteristic by a threshold amount (see at least para 33 where a comparison is made to determine if the tension is within desired range: “Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted”, See least para 26 and 40, when the system is in a fault state (abnormal), the system adjust spacing distances to control the tension and accomplish reaching the desired range. See para 26: “the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension.” Para 40: “In an embodiment, the front dual-clamping roller 721, the first upper intermediate roller 731, the first lower intermediate roller 732, the second upper intermediate roller 733, the second lower intermediate roller 734, the third upper intermediate roller 735, and the rear dual-clamping roller 741 may be controlled by motors to control the spacing distance or the location of the roller 20 in order to adjust the tension and the level of tightness of the thin substrate 30.”).
In regards to claim 14, Liang discloses wherein the machine-readable instructions further comprise a machine-readable instruction that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to identify a source of the fault state based on the characteristic of the tension-induced feature (see at least para 26-29: by determining tension problem associated to the pressure sensing unit, the system determines cause, e.g. tightness problem and need for spacing of the distance between two rollers and other adjustment to the rollers. In at least Para 28-29: “A tightness problem of the thin substrate 30 may cause abnormality of transferring the thin substrate 30 and abnormal winding of the roller 20. Thus, in an embodiment, when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by over-tightness or under-tightness of the thin substrate 30, an abnormality signal is issued to indicate there is a tightness problem occurring in the thin substrate 30 and it is needed to adjust a spacing distance between two rollers 20. Details will be provided below. [0029] In an embodiment, it may be arranged to completely wrap the pressure sensor 10 around the roller 20, so that when the thin substrate 30 is moved on the roller 20, the voltage distribution on the thin substrate 30 can be detected, thereby to identifying the pressure distribution on the thin substrate 30. Therefore, a voltage signal is transmitted to the controller 40 for controlling a motor to adjust the rollers 20 to uniformly transfer the thin substrate 30. Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner”).
In regards to claim 15, Liang discloses a method, comprising: identifying, from an output of a sensor, a tension-induced feature on a surface of a thin film substrate that is under tension in a manufacturing system (see at least para 26-29, on a manufacturing line sensors are used to detect tension issues a non-uniform tension on the surface of the film substrate. See para 26: “When a thin substrate 30 is attached on the roller 20, and it is also attached on the pressure sensor 10 and the pressure sensing units 12, the tension of a surface of the thin substrate 30 that contacts with the roller 20 must be uniformly distributed, so that transferring the thin substrate 30 may be stable. Oppositely, in case that the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension.” Also para 29 “In an embodiment, it may be arranged to completely wrap the pressure sensor 10 around the roller 20, so that when the thin substrate 30 is moved on the roller 20, the voltage distribution on the thin substrate 30 can be detected, thereby to identifying the pressure distribution on the thin substrate 30. Therefore, a voltage signal is transmitted to the controller 40 for controlling a motor to adjust the rollers 20 to uniformly transfer the thin substrate 30. Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner.”); detecting that the manufacturing system is in a fault state based on a characteristic of the tension-induced feature; and executing a remedial action responsive to the manufacturing system being in the fault state (see para 26: “the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension. The inform scheme may be implemented by an alarm light, an alarm sound, or a numeric abnormality notification”. On para 29: Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner”. Also on para 33: “Since the pressure sensor 10 (the pressure sensing units 12) of the roller 20 may detect axial pressure distribution of the roller 20, Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the speeds or the spacing distance of the front roller and the rear roller are adjusted, or the location of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the level of tightness of the thin substrate is adjusted, or the dust particles are removed, according to the problems occurring, such as the tension of the thin substrate 30”… “Afterwards, a check is conducted to determine if it is within the desired range. When the check is within the desired range, the process is terminated and Step 101 is re-started. The adjustment of the spacing distance of the two rollers 20 may comprise adjusting the spacing distances of the unwinding roller, the intermediate roller(s), and the winding roller”).
In regards to claim 17, Liang discloses wherein detecting that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises: identifying an expected tension-induced feature characteristic on the surface of the thin film substrate, the expected tension-induced feature characteristic is associated with a target state for the manufacturing system (see para 26 and 33 discloses abnormal state (fault state) associated with tension. The tension is associated to an expected tension threshold to maintain a normal state, if not the system determines to be in the abnormal state. Para 26: “the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension. The inform scheme may be implemented by an alarm light, an alarm sound, or a numeric abnormality notification”. On para 28: “when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by over-tightness or under-tightness of the thin substrate 30, an abnormality signal is issued to indicate there is a tightness problem occurring in the thin substrate 30 and it is needed to adjust a spacing distance between two rollers 20”. On para 33: “Since the pressure sensor 10 (the pressure sensing units 12) of the roller 20 may detect axial pressure distribution of the roller 20, Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted); comparing the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic (see at least para 33 where a comparison is made to determine if the tension is within desired range: “Step 103 is conducted to determine if the pressure distribution is within a desired range, for example the pressure distribution being less than 10%. If it is not within the desired range, then the process goes to Step 105, where the tension of the thin substrate is adjusted”); and detecting that the manufacturing system is in the fault state responsive to the characteristic of the tension-induced feature differing from the expected tension-induced feature characteristic by a threshold amount (see at least para 26 and 40, when the system is in a fault state (abnormal), the system adjust spacing distances to control the tension and accomplish reaching the desired range. See para 26: “the tension of the surface is not uniformly distributed in the thin substrate 30, different tensions may be produced in two sides of the roller 20, therefore, the pressure sensing units 12 will issue an abnormality signal to inform the thin substrate 30 of occurring a problematic transfer when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by the non-uniform tension.” Para 40: “In an embodiment, the front dual-clamping roller 721, the first upper intermediate roller 731, the first lower intermediate roller 732, the second upper intermediate roller 733, the second lower intermediate roller 734, the third upper intermediate roller 735, and the rear dual-clamping roller 741 may be controlled by motors to control the spacing distance or the location of the roller 20 in order to adjust the tension and the level of tightness of the thin substrate 30.”).
In regards to claim 20, Liang discloses further comprising identifying a source of the fault state based on the characteristic of the tension-induced feature (see at least para 26-29: by determining tension problem associated to the pressure sensing unit, the system determines cause, e.g. tightness problem and need for spacing of the distance between two rollers and other adjustment to the rollers. In at least Para 28-29: “A tightness problem of the thin substrate 30 may cause abnormality of transferring the thin substrate 30 and abnormal winding of the roller 20. Thus, in an embodiment, when the pressure sensing units 12 are affected by over-tightness or under-tightness of the thin substrate 30, an abnormality signal is issued to indicate there is a tightness problem occurring in the thin substrate 30 and it is needed to adjust a spacing distance between two rollers 20. Details will be provided below. [0029] In an embodiment, it may be arranged to completely wrap the pressure sensor 10 around the roller 20, so that when the thin substrate 30 is moved on the roller 20, the voltage distribution on the thin substrate 30 can be detected, thereby to identifying the pressure distribution on the thin substrate 30. Therefore, a voltage signal is transmitted to the controller 40 for controlling a motor to adjust the rollers 20 to uniformly transfer the thin substrate 30. Also, knowing the pressure of the rollers 20 may adjust the rollers 20 of each manufacturing line such that an entire manufacturing can be conducted in a smooth, accurate, and efficient manner”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, in view of Ichinomiya et al. (US 20140374947).
In regards to claim 2, Liang teaches identifying tension induced features as taught above (see para 26-33) but doesn’t specifically teach wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to identify the tension-induced feature on the surface of the thin film substrate comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to identify the tension-induced feature on at least one of an anode thin film substrate surface, a cathode thin film substrate surface, a or separator thin film substrate surface, for a lithium-ion battery cell.
Ichinomiya teaches wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to identify the tension-induced feature on the surface of the thin film substrate comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to identify the tension-induced feature on at least one of an anode thin film substrate surface, a cathode thin film substrate surface, a or separator thin film substrate surface, for a lithium-ion battery cell (see abstract and at least para 45, 47-48: film manufacturing for battery separator. The manufacturing for films requires that at certain steps a required or specific tension to avoid issues like breakage or wrinkling of the film. See para 47: “The winding core 5 rotates about its own central shaft by a driving source 7 such as a motor while being rotatably supported by a winding shaft or a chuck and winds up the microporous plastic film 1 passed through a near roller 3 with a predetermined tension as a film roll 12. In order to wind the film roll 12 with its edge face aligned without any wrinkle, it is important to give a predetermined tension. In this case, the tension of the microporous plastic film 1 may be controlled by controlling the torque of the driving source 7 such as a motor. Alternatively, the tension may be controlled by such means, including a dancing roller and an air floater, that presses the film to give a tension arranged in a part of the upstream conveying process while controlling the speed of the driving source 7. Because the microporous plastic film 1 is relatively easily broken, and the pores are likely to be crushed, it is preferable to set the tension value to be lower than that of general pore-free films; the value is preferably 1 N/m to 50 N/m. When the tension value is less than 1 N/m, wrinkles occur, or the film slacks because of the planarity of the film. In addition, the tension control of the machine is remarkably impaired due to the friction of the drive unit. When the tension value exceeds 50 N/m, break and crush easily occur as described above.” Also, on para 48 “More preferably, specifying the tension to be within a range of 1 N/m to 30 N/m can prevent the occurrence of break and wrinkles more effectively while performing the tension control of the machine with appropriate accuracy.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ichinomiya with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the process for monitoring for tension based issues to films made for lithium-ion batteries since it enhances the system when manufacturing films for those batteries because it “can prevent the occurrence of break and wrinkles more effectively while performing the tension control of the machine with appropriate accuracy” –para 48.
In regards to claim 16, Liang teaches identifying tension induced features as taught above (see para 26-33) but doesn’t specifically teach wherein identifying the tension-induced feature on the surface of the thin film substrate comprises identifying the tension-induced feature on at least one of an anode thin film substrate surface, a cathode thin film substrate surface, or a separator thin film substrate surface, for a lithium-ion battery cell.
Ichinomiya teaches wherein identifying the tension-induced feature on the surface of the thin film substrate comprises identifying the tension-induced feature on at least one of an anode thin film substrate surface, a cathode thin film substrate surface, or a separator thin film substrate surface, for a lithium-ion battery cell. (see abstract and at least para 45, 47-48: film manufacturing for battery separator. The manufacturing for films requires that at certain steps a required or specific tension to avoid issues like breakage or wrinkling of the film. See para 47: “The winding core 5 rotates about its own central shaft by a driving source 7 such as a motor while being rotatably supported by a winding shaft or a chuck and winds up the microporous plastic film 1 passed through a near roller 3 with a predetermined tension as a film roll 12. In order to wind the film roll 12 with its edge face aligned without any wrinkle, it is important to give a predetermined tension. In this case, the tension of the microporous plastic film 1 may be controlled by controlling the torque of the driving source 7 such as a motor. Alternatively, the tension may be controlled by such means, including a dancing roller and an air floater, that presses the film to give a tension arranged in a part of the upstream conveying process while controlling the speed of the driving source 7. Because the microporous plastic film 1 is relatively easily broken, and the pores are likely to be crushed, it is preferable to set the tension value to be lower than that of general pore-free films; the value is preferably 1 N/m to 50 N/m. When the tension value is less than 1 N/m, wrinkles occur, or the film slacks because of the planarity of the film. In addition, the tension control of the machine is remarkably impaired due to the friction of the drive unit. When the tension value exceeds 50 N/m, break and crush easily occur as described above.” Also, on para 48 “More preferably, specifying the tension to be within a range of 1 N/m to 30 N/m can prevent the occurrence of break and wrinkles more effectively while performing the tension control of the machine with appropriate accuracy.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ichinomiya with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the process for monitoring for tension based issues to films made for lithium-ion batteries since it enhances the system when manufacturing films for those batteries because it “can prevent the occurrence of break and wrinkles more effectively while performing the tension control of the machine with appropriate accuracy” –para 48.
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, in view of Kida et al. (US 20120328772).
In regards to claim 5, Liang doesn’t specifically teach wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare at least one of a depth of ridges in the thin film substrate, a width of the ridges, a length of the ridges, a longitudinal angle of the ridges, or a number of ridges to corresponding expected tension-induced feature characteristics.
Kida teaches wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare at least one of a depth of ridges in the thin film substrate, a width of the ridges, a length of the ridges, a longitudinal angle of the ridges, or a number of ridges to corresponding expected tension-induced feature characteristics (see para 50-54: teaches tension control based on the quantity of specific tension related characteristic and based on the number or identified characteristics (wrinkles) exceeding specific quantity adjusting tension control. See para 50: “information about wrinkles remaining in the web, such as the number of wrinkles in the web width concerned, how many wrinkles are included in each category of wrinkle height, and the greatest wrinkle height, from the stored data. The wrinkles are classified into, for example five categories of wrinkle height: 15 .mu.m or greater, 25 .mu.m or greater, 45 .mu.m or greater, 55 .mu.m or greater, and 70 .mu.m or greater.” [0051] Then, the controller 44 determines whether the wrinkle-related quantities as mentioned above are within their allowable ranges [step S5]. If the result of determination is "Yes", the controller determines whether reduction in tension in the web W is allowable [step S6], and if the result of determination is "Yes", sends a web W tension reduction instruction to the adjustable-speed motor 45 [Step S7]. The determination at step S6 is made on the basis of differentials between the wrinkle-related quantities obtained at step S4 and their allowable limits”. Also para 54: “If the result of determination at step S5 is "No", the controller 44 sends to the adjustable-speed motor 45 a web W tension increase instruction depending on the differentials between the wrinkle-related quantities and their allowable limits [step S9]. In this case, rotation speed of the adjustable-speed motor 45 is increased, so that the tension in the web W is increased by means of the drying roller 34 by a predetermined amount. The controller 44 then performs step S8”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kida with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the tension control and adjustment based on allowable characteristic quantities to the teachings of Liang since it enhances the system by including steps that take remedial actions when specific parameters are not within their allowable limits and thus improving quality.
In regards to claim 12, Liang doesn’t specifically teach wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare at least one of a depth of ridges in the thin film substrate, a width of the ridges, a length of the ridges, a longitudinal angle of the ridges, or a number of ridges with corresponding expected tension-induced feature characteristics.
Kida teaches wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to compare at least one of a depth of ridges in the thin film substrate, a width of the ridges, a length of the ridges, a longitudinal angle of the ridges, or a number of ridges with corresponding expected tension-induced feature characteristics (see para 50-54: teaches tension control based on the quantity of specific tension related characteristic and based on the number or identified characteristics (wrinkles) exceeding specific quantity adjusting tension control. See para 50: “information about wrinkles remaining in the web, such as the number of wrinkles in the web width concerned, how many wrinkles are included in each category of wrinkle height, and the greatest wrinkle height, from the stored data. The wrinkles are classified into, for example five categories of wrinkle height: 15 .mu.m or greater, 25 .mu.m or greater, 45 .mu.m or greater, 55 .mu.m or greater, and 70 .mu.m or greater.” [0051] Then, the controller 44 determines whether the wrinkle-related quantities as mentioned above are within their allowable ranges [step S5]. If the result of determination is "Yes", the controller determines whether reduction in tension in the web W is allowable [step S6], and if the result of determination is "Yes", sends a web W tension reduction instruction to the adjustable-speed motor 45 [Step S7]. The determination at step S6 is made on the basis of differentials between the wrinkle-related quantities obtained at step S4 and their allowable limits”. Also para 54: “If the result of determination at step S5 is "No", the controller 44 sends to the adjustable-speed motor 45 a web W tension increase instruction depending on the differentials between the wrinkle-related quantities and their allowable limits [step S9]. In this case, rotation speed of the adjustable-speed motor 45 is increased, so that the tension in the web W is increased by means of the drying roller 34 by a predetermined amount. The controller 44 then performs step S8”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kida with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the tension control and adjustment based on allowable characteristic quantities to the teachings of Liang since it enhances the system by including steps that take remedial actions when specific parameters are not within their allowable limits and thus improving quality.
In regards to claim 18, Liang doesn’t specifically teach wherein comparing the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic comprises comparing at least one of a depth of ridges in the thin film substrate, a width of the ridges, a length of the ridges, a longitudinal angle of the ridges, or a number of ridges with corresponding expected tension-induced feature characteristics.
Kida teaches wherein comparing the characteristic of the tension-induced feature of the thin film substrate to the expected tension-induced feature characteristic comprises comparing at least one of a depth of ridges in the thin film substrate, a width of the ridges, a length of the ridges, a longitudinal angle of the ridges, or a number of ridges with corresponding expected tension-induced feature characteristics (see para 50-54: teaches tension control based on the quantity of specific tension related characteristic and based on the number or identified characteristics (wrinkles) exceeding specific quantity adjusting tension control. See para 50: “information about wrinkles remaining in the web, such as the number of wrinkles in the web width concerned, how many wrinkles are included in each category of wrinkle height, and the greatest wrinkle height, from the stored data. The wrinkles are classified into, for example five categories of wrinkle height: 15 .mu.m or greater, 25 .mu.m or greater, 45 .mu.m or greater, 55 .mu.m or greater, and 70 .mu.m or greater.” [0051] Then, the controller 44 determines whether the wrinkle-related quantities as mentioned above are within their allowable ranges [step S5]. If the result of determination is "Yes", the controller determines whether reduction in tension in the web W is allowable [step S6], and if the result of determination is "Yes", sends a web W tension reduction instruction to the adjustable-speed motor 45 [Step S7]. The determination at step S6 is made on the basis of differentials between the wrinkle-related quantities obtained at step S4 and their allowable limits”. Also para 54: “If the result of determination at step S5 is "No", the controller 44 sends to the adjustable-speed motor 45 a web W tension increase instruction depending on the differentials between the wrinkle-related quantities and their allowable limits [step S9]. In this case, rotation speed of the adjustable-speed motor 45 is increased, so that the tension in the web W is increased by means of the drying roller 34 by a predetermined amount. The controller 44 then performs step S8”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kida with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the tension control and adjustment based on allowable characteristic quantities to the teachings of Liang since it enhances the system by including steps that take remedial actions when specific parameters are not within their allowable limits and thus improving quality.
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, in view of SEKIGUCHI et al. (US 20210348974).
In regards to claim 6, Liang teaches determining tension problems and providing abnormality alarm as taught above (see Liang para 26-33), but doesn’t specifically teach wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises an instruction that causes the processor to detect, using a machine-learning operation, that the manufacturing system is in the fault state.
SEKIGUCHI teaches wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises an instruction that causes the processor to detect, using a machine-learning operation, that the manufacturing system is in the fault state (see at least para 199 and 203, 206-207: teaches using machine learning to make comparison related to tension values, having reference values to compare with values obtained from sensor in order to determine a normal or abnormal state based on the data. The system uses machine learning to enables more accurate detection of the presence or absence of the anomaly and the type of anomaly. Para 199: “the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a compares the belt tension state value 53 and a reference value and, on the basis of a comparison result, outputs, as the belt tension anomaly determination value 55, a value indicating whether a state of the belt tension S is normal or anomalous. The reference value that the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a uses in the determination is obtained from the machine learning device 13. The reference value that the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a uses in the determination is hereafter denoted by rv. The machine learning device 13 learns the reference value rv in accordance with a training data set created on the basis of a state variable sv. On the basis of a result of learning, the above reference value rv is determined.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SEKIGUCHI with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the tension anomality unit with machine learning to the teachings of Liang since it enhances the system by enabling more accurate detection of the presence or absence of the anomaly and the type of anomaly (see para 207).
In regards to claim 13, Liang teaches determining tension problems and providing abnormality alarm as taught above (see Liang para 26-33), but doesn’t specifically teach wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises an instruction that causes the processor to detect, using a machine-learning operation, that the manufacturing system is in the fault state.
SEKIGUCHI teaches wherein the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to detect that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises an instruction that causes the processor to detect, using a machine-learning operation, that the manufacturing system is in the fault state. (see at least para 199 and 203, 206-207: teaches using machine learning to make comparison related to tension values, having reference values to compare with values obtained from sensor in order to determine a normal or abnormal state based on the data. The system uses machine learning to enables more accurate detection of the presence or absence of the anomaly and the type of anomaly. Para 199: “the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a compares the belt tension state value 53 and a reference value and, on the basis of a comparison result, outputs, as the belt tension anomaly determination value 55, a value indicating whether a state of the belt tension S is normal or anomalous. The reference value that the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a uses in the determination is obtained from the machine learning device 13. The reference value that the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a uses in the determination is hereafter denoted by rv. The machine learning device 13 learns the reference value rv in accordance with a training data set created on the basis of a state variable sv. On the basis of a result of learning, the above reference value rv is determined.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SEKIGUCHI with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the tension anomality unit with machine learning to the teachings of Liang since it enhances the system by enabling more accurate detection of the presence or absence of the anomaly and the type of anomaly (see para 207).
In regards to claim 19, Liang teaches determining tension problems and providing abnormality alarm as taught above (see Liang para 26-33), but doesn’t specifically teach wherein detecting that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises detecting, using a machine-learning operation, that the manufacturing system is in the fault state.
SEKIGUCHI wherein detecting that the manufacturing system is in the fault state comprises detecting, using a machine-learning operation, that the manufacturing system is in the fault state.
(see at least para 199 and 203, 206-207: teaches using machine learning to make comparison related to tension values, having reference values to compare with values obtained from sensor in order to determine a normal or abnormal state based on the data. The system uses machine learning to enables more accurate detection of the presence or absence of the anomaly and the type of anomaly. Para 199: “the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a compares the belt tension state value 53 and a reference value and, on the basis of a comparison result, outputs, as the belt tension anomaly determination value 55, a value indicating whether a state of the belt tension S is normal or anomalous. The reference value that the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a uses in the determination is obtained from the machine learning device 13. The reference value that the belt tension anomaly determination unit 10a uses in the determination is hereafter denoted by rv. The machine learning device 13 learns the reference value rv in accordance with a training data set created on the basis of a state variable sv. On the basis of a result of learning, the above reference value rv is determined.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SEKIGUCHI with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the tension anomality unit with machine learning to the teachings of Liang since it enhances the system by enabling more accurate detection of the presence or absence of the anomaly and the type of anomaly (see para 207).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Pellenc (US 20230343921) and in view of Ichinomiya et al. (US 20140374947).
In regards to claim 10, Liang teaches identifying tension induced features and manufacturing process as taught above (see para 26-33) but doesn’t specifically teach wherein: the manufacturing system further comprises a system to combine an anode thin film substrate, a cathode thin film substrate, and a separator thin film substrate into a lithium-ion battery cell.
Pellenc teaches wherein: the manufacturing system further comprises a system to combine an anode thin film substrate, a cathode thin film substrate, and a separator thin film substrate into a lithium-ion battery cell (see at least para 2, 4, 10, 137, 170-171, 181-184: teaches the process for manufacturing battery cells like lithium-ion and methods including roll to roll and combining the multiple parts e.g. anode cathode and the separator. see para 4; “In particular the invention relates to lithium ion, sodium ion or lithium sulfide type cells.” On para 10: “In these cells, a liquid electrolyte provides ionic conduction between the anode electrode and the cathode electrode and also within each of these electrodes. An electrically insulating separator film is arranged between the anode electrode and the cathode electrode. A direct electrical contact between cathode and anode can be avoided this way while allowing movement of ions.” In para 181-184 mentions controlling tension: “The signals may also be used for controlling the braking of the uncoiling rollers and/or the drive motor of the coiling roller, so as to set a constant passage speed and constant tension for the strips and the half-cells.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Pellenc with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the process for monitoring for tension based issues to films made for lithium-ion batteries since it enhances the system when manufacturing batteries because it can more effectively perform tension control in the production of batteries thus improving quality and security of the batteries.
Liang teaches identifying tension induced features in film as taught above (see para 26-33) but doesn’t specifically teach the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to identify the tension-induced feature on the surface of the thin film substrate comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to identify the tension-induced feature on at least one of the anode thin film substrate surface, the cathode thin film substrate surface, or the separator thin film substrate surface.
Ichinomiya teaches the machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to identify the tension-induced feature on the surface of the thin film substrate comprises a machine-readable instruction that causes the processor to identify the tension-induced feature on at least one of the anode thin film substrate surface, the cathode thin film substrate surface, or the separator thin film substrate surface (see abstract and at least para 45, 47-48: film manufacturing for battery separator. The manufacturing for films requires that at certain steps a required or specific tension to avoid issues like breakage or wrinkling of the film. See para 47: “The winding core 5 rotates about its own central shaft by a driving source 7 such as a motor while being rotatably supported by a winding shaft or a chuck and winds up the microporous plastic film 1 passed through a near roller 3 with a predetermined tension as a film roll 12. In order to wind the film roll 12 with its edge face aligned without any wrinkle, it is important to give a predetermined tension. In this case, the tension of the microporous plastic film 1 may be controlled by controlling the torque of the driving source 7 such as a motor. Alternatively, the tension may be controlled by such means, including a dancing roller and an air floater, that presses the film to give a tension arranged in a part of the upstream conveying process while controlling the speed of the driving source 7. Because the microporous plastic film 1 is relatively easily broken, and the pores are likely to be crushed, it is preferable to set the tension value to be lower than that of general pore-free films; the value is preferably 1 N/m to 50 N/m. When the tension value is less than 1 N/m, wrinkles occur, or the film slacks because of the planarity of the film. In addition, the tension control of the machine is remarkably impaired due to the friction of the drive unit. When the tension value exceeds 50 N/m, break and crush easily occur as described above.” Also, on para 48 “More preferably, specifying the tension to be within a range of 1 N/m to 30 N/m can prevent the occurrence of break and wrinkles more effectively while performing the tension control of the machine with appropriate accuracy.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ichinomiya with the teachings of Liang in order to incorporate the process for monitoring for tension based issues to films made for lithium-ion batteries since it enhances the system when manufacturing films for those batteries because it “can prevent the occurrence of break and wrinkles more effectively while performing the tension control of the machine with appropriate accuracy” –para 48.
Conclusion
/MARIO M VELEZ-LOPEZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 2118
/SCOTT T BADERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2118