DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing on 09/24/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 15, and 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 11 recite ‘the screen size’; however, they should recite - - a screen size - -.
Claims 3, 7, 13, and 17 recite ‘the elements in the second control’; however, they should recite - - elements in the second control - -.
Claims 5 and 15 recite ‘before adjustment’; however, they should recite - - before an adjustment - -.
Claims 5 and 15 recite ‘after adjustment’; however, they should recite - - after the adjustment - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (CN 112506386 A, published 03/16/2021), hereinafter Zheng. Examiner note: English translation of foreign publication is used here as reference for rejection; all citations are to the translation
Regarding claim 11, Zheng teaches the claim comprising:
A terminal device, comprising: a display configured to display a first interface; a processor; and a memory with instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor enable the terminal device to (Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0029], an embodiment of the present application provides an electronic device. The electronic device includes a folding screen, a memory, and one or more processors; the folding screen, the memory, and the processor are coupled. The memory is used to store computer program code. The computer program code includes computer instructions; [0155], when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone transitioning from the folded state to the expanded state, as shown in FIG. 9A(b), the mobile phone displays the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen, and displays the second interface 902 in the second display area. The second interface 902 includes a plurality of second application icons shown in (b) of FIG. 9A. Both the first interface 901 and the second interface 902 are the main interfaces of the mobile phone, and the first interface 901 and the second interface 902 are different):
display the first interface on a first screen, wherein a size of the first screen is a first size, and the first interface comprises one or more controls (Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0064], For example, please refer to FIG. 2, which is a schematic diagram of a product form of an electronic device 100 that is folded outwards according to an embodiment of the present application. (A) in FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of the electronic device 100 folded outward when it is fully unfolded. The electronic device 100 can be folded along the folding edge in the direction shown in Fig. 2(a) to form the first screen and the second screen shown in Fig. 2(b), and the electronic device 100 can continue to be folded along the folding edge to form FIG. 2(c) shows the form of the electronic device 100 after being completely folded; [0066], please refer to FIG. 3, which is a schematic diagram of a product form of an electronic device 100 that is folded inward according to an embodiment of the present application. Fig. 3(a) is a schematic diagram of the electronic device 100 folded inward when it is fully unfolded. The electronic device 100 can be folded along the folding edge in the direction shown in Fig. 3(a) to form the first and second screens shown in Fig. 3(b). The electronic device 100 can continue to be folded in the folding direction to form Figure 3(c) shows the form of the fully folded electronic device 100; [0143], The above-mentioned first interface may be a main interface of a mobile phone, and the first interface includes a plurality of first application icons; [0155], when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone transitioning from the folded state to the expanded state, as shown in FIG. 9A(b), the mobile phone displays the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen, and displays the second interface 902 in the second display area. The second interface 902 includes a plurality of second application icons shown in (b) of FIG. 9A. Both the first interface 901 and the second interface 902 are the main interfaces of the mobile phone, and the first interface 901 and the second interface 902 are different; [0183], as shown in (a) of FIG. 12, when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the first screen, and the second screen may be black. The first screen serves as the first display area, and the second screen serves as the second display area. The first interface includes a plurality of first application icons, such as App icon1-App icon9 in Figure 12 (a); [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen),
adjust the one or more controls based on a layout type of the one or more controls in response to detecting that the screen size changes from the first size to a second size, and display a second interface on a second screen, wherein the second interface comprises the one or more adjusted controls, and a size of the second screen is the second size (Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0159], Assuming that when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the mobile phone displays an interface as shown in FIG. 9B. The mobile phone can display the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen and the second interface 903 in the second display area. The second interface 903 includes the application icon of the setting application, the application icon of the WeChat application, the application icon of the QQ application, and the application icon of the Alipay application; [0183], In response to the process of changing the mobile phone from the folded state to the unfolded state, as shown in (b) in Figure 12, (c) in Figure 12, and (d) in Figure 12, the mobile phone can display one in the second display area Or a dynamic picture with multiple second application icons appearing column by column; [0185], as shown in Figure 12 (a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic screen displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from (d) in Fig. 12 to (c) in Fig. 12, and switched from (c) in Fig. 12 to (b) in Fig. 12 as shown in Fig. 12. Figure 12(b) switches to Figure 12(a); [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen. When the mobile phone is in the unfolded state, the first screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In response to the unfolding and folding processes of the mobile phone, as shown in Figure 13 (b), Figure 13 (c) and Figure 13 (d), the mobile phone can display the application icons in the first interface and the application icons in the second interface A dynamic picture that appears column by column. As shown in Figure 13 (b), the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first column of application icons in the second interface. Figure 13 (c) shows that the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first and second columns in the second interface. Application icon. Figure 13 (d) shows that the first screen of the mobile phone's folding screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 13 (a) to Figure 13 (b), and from Figure 13 (b) to Figure 13 (c) , Switch from Figure 13 (c) to Figure 13 (d); [0192], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the third screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic picture displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from Fig. 13 (d) to Fig. 13 (c), and from Fig. 13 (c) to Fig. 13 (b) as shown in Fig. 13. Figure 13(b) switches to Figure 13(a). The main screen of the mobile phone in the folded state shown in Figure 13 (a) may also display the lock screen interface or the interface of the last running application of the mobile phone, which is only an example here)
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 11. Consequently, claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the layout type of the one or more controls comprises one or more of: a common layout, a grid layout, or a list layout (Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0159], Assuming that when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the mobile phone displays an interface as shown in FIG. 9B. The mobile phone can display the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen and the second interface 903 in the second display area. The second interface 903 includes the application icon of the setting application, the application icon of the WeChat application, the application icon of the QQ application, and the application icon of the Alipay application; [0183], In response to the process of changing the mobile phone from the folded state to the unfolded state, as shown in (b) in Figure 12, (c) in Figure 12, and (d) in Figure 12, the mobile phone can display one in the second display area Or a dynamic picture with multiple second application icons appearing column by column; [0185], as shown in Figure 12 (a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic screen displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from (d) in Fig. 12 to (c) in Fig. 12, and switched from (c) in Fig. 12 to (b) in Fig. 12 as shown in Fig. 12. Figure 12(b) switches to Figure 12(a); [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen. When the mobile phone is in the unfolded state, the first screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In response to the unfolding and folding processes of the mobile phone, as shown in Figure 13 (b), Figure 13 (c) and Figure 13 (d), the mobile phone can display the application icons in the first interface and the application icons in the second interface A dynamic picture that appears column by column. As shown in Figure 13 (b), the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first column of application icons in the second interface. Figure 13 (c) shows that the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first and second columns in the second interface. Application icon. Figure 13 (d) shows that the first screen of the mobile phone's folding screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 13 (a) to Figure 13 (b), and from Figure 13 (b) to Figure 13 (c) , Switch from Figure 13 (c) to Figure 13 (d); [0192], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the third screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic picture displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from Fig. 13 (d) to Fig. 13 (c), and from Fig. 13 (c) to Fig. 13 (b) as shown in Fig. 13. Figure 13(b) switches to Figure 13(a). The main screen of the mobile phone in the folded state shown in Figure 13 (a) may also display the lock screen interface or the interface of the last running application of the mobile phone, which is only an example here)
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein: the one or more controls comprise a second control; a layout type of the second control is a list layout; the second control comprises a plurality of elements presented in a dynamic loading manner; and adjusting the one or more controls based on the layout type of the one or more controls comprises adjusting a quantity of columns of the elements in the second control based on a width stretch factor (Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0159], Assuming that when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the mobile phone displays an interface as shown in FIG. 9B. The mobile phone can display the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen and the second interface 903 in the second display area. The second interface 903 includes the application icon of the setting application, the application icon of the WeChat application, the application icon of the QQ application, and the application icon of the Alipay application; [0183], In response to the process of changing the mobile phone from the folded state to the unfolded state, as shown in (b) in Figure 12, (c) in Figure 12, and (d) in Figure 12, the mobile phone can display one in the second display area Or a dynamic picture with multiple second application icons appearing column by column; [0185], as shown in Figure 12 (a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic screen displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from (d) in Fig. 12 to (c) in Fig. 12, and switched from (c) in Fig. 12 to (b) in Fig. 12 as shown in Fig. 12. Figure 12(b) switches to Figure 12(a); [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen. When the mobile phone is in the unfolded state, the first screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In response to the unfolding and folding processes of the mobile phone, as shown in Figure 13 (b), Figure 13 (c) and Figure 13 (d), the mobile phone can display the application icons in the first interface and the application icons in the second interface A dynamic picture that appears column by column. As shown in Figure 13 (b), the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first column of application icons in the second interface. Figure 13 (c) shows that the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first and second columns in the second interface. Application icon. Figure 13 (d) shows that the first screen of the mobile phone's folding screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 13 (a) to Figure 13 (b), and from Figure 13 (b) to Figure 13 (c) , Switch from Figure 13 (c) to Figure 13 (d); [0192], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the third screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic picture displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from Fig. 13 (d) to Fig. 13 (c), and from Fig. 13 (c) to Fig. 13 (b) as shown in Fig. 13. Figure 13(b) switches to Figure 13(a). The main screen of the mobile phone in the folded state shown in Figure 13 (a) may also display the lock screen interface or the interface of the last running application of the mobile phone, which is only an example here)
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
wherein adjusting, by the terminal device, the quantity of columns of the elements in the second control based on the width stretch factor comprises: adjusting the quantity of columns of the elements in the second control according to the following formula: C2 = ws * C1, wherein C1 is the quantity of columns of the elements in the second control before adjustment, C2 is the quantity of columns of the elements in the second control after adjustment, and ws is the width stretch factor (Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0159], Assuming that when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the mobile phone displays an interface as shown in FIG. 9B. The mobile phone can display the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen and the second interface 903 in the second display area. The second interface 903 includes the application icon of the setting application, the application icon of the WeChat application, the application icon of the QQ application, and the application icon of the Alipay application; [0183], In response to the process of changing the mobile phone from the folded state to the unfolded state, as shown in (b) in Figure 12, (c) in Figure 12, and (d) in Figure 12, the mobile phone can display one in the second display area Or a dynamic picture with multiple second application icons appearing column by column; [0185], as shown in Figure 12 (a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic screen displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from (d) in Fig. 12 to (c) in Fig. 12, and switched from (c) in Fig. 12 to (b) in Fig. 12 as shown in Fig. 12. Figure 12(b) switches to Figure 12(a); [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen. When the mobile phone is in the unfolded state, the first screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In response to the unfolding and folding processes of the mobile phone, as shown in Figure 13 (b), Figure 13 (c) and Figure 13 (d), the mobile phone can display the application icons in the first interface and the application icons in the second interface A dynamic picture that appears column by column. As shown in Figure 13 (b), the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first column of application icons in the second interface. Figure 13 (c) shows that the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first and second columns in the second interface. Application icon. Figure 13 (d) shows that the first screen of the mobile phone's folding screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 13 (a) to Figure 13 (b), and from Figure 13 (b) to Figure 13 (c) , Switch from Figure 13 (c) to Figure 13 (d); [0192], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the third screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic picture displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from Fig. 13 (d) to Fig. 13 (c), and from Fig. 13 (c) to Fig. 13 (b) as shown in Fig. 13. Figure 13(b) switches to Figure 13(a). The main screen of the mobile phone in the folded state shown in Figure 13 (a) may also display the lock screen interface or the interface of the last running application of the mobile phone, which is only an example here; as shown, the number of columns after adjustment (C2) is show to be determined by following the formula C2 = ws * C1; C1 (the quantity of columns before adjustment) is multiplied by a width stretch factor (the ratio of the width of the second screen to the width of the first screen), such that when the screen size is doubled the number of columns is doubled)
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 5, further comprising:
wherein the width stretch factor is a ratio of a second width of the second screen to a first width of the first screen (Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0159], Assuming that when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the mobile phone displays an interface as shown in FIG. 9B. The mobile phone can display the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen and the second interface 903 in the second display area. The second interface 903 includes the application icon of the setting application, the application icon of the WeChat application, the application icon of the QQ application, and the application icon of the Alipay application; [0183], In response to the process of changing the mobile phone from the folded state to the unfolded state, as shown in (b) in Figure 12, (c) in Figure 12, and (d) in Figure 12, the mobile phone can display one in the second display area Or a dynamic picture with multiple second application icons appearing column by column; [0185], as shown in Figure 12 (a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic screen displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from (d) in Fig. 12 to (c) in Fig. 12, and switched from (c) in Fig. 12 to (b) in Fig. 12 as shown in Fig. 12. Figure 12(b) switches to Figure 12(a); [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen. When the mobile phone is in the unfolded state, the first screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In response to the unfolding and folding processes of the mobile phone, as shown in Figure 13 (b), Figure 13 (c) and Figure 13 (d), the mobile phone can display the application icons in the first interface and the application icons in the second interface A dynamic picture that appears column by column. As shown in Figure 13 (b), the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first column of application icons in the second interface. Figure 13 (c) shows that the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first and second columns in the second interface. Application icon. Figure 13 (d) shows that the first screen of the mobile phone's folding screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 13 (a) to Figure 13 (b), and from Figure 13 (b) to Figure 13 (c) , Switch from Figure 13 (c) to Figure 13 (d); [0192], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the third screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic picture displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from Fig. 13 (d) to Fig. 13 (c), and from Fig. 13 (c) to Fig. 13 (b) as shown in Fig. 13. Figure 13(b) switches to Figure 13(a). The main screen of the mobile phone in the folded state shown in Figure 13 (a) may also display the lock screen interface or the interface of the last running application of the mobile phone, which is only an example here; as shown, the number of columns after adjustment (C2) is show to be determined by following the formula C2 = ws * C1; C1 (the quantity of columns before adjustment) is multiplied by a width stretch factor (the ratio of the width of the second screen to the width of the first screen), such that when the screen size is doubled the number of columns is doubled)
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein: the terminal device is a foldable device; the first size is a screen size of the foldable device in a folded state; and the second size is a screen size of the foldable device in an unfolded state (Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0159], Assuming that when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the mobile phone displays an interface as shown in FIG. 9B. The mobile phone can display the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen and the second interface 903 in the second display area. The second interface 903 includes the application icon of the setting application, the application icon of the WeChat application, the application icon of the QQ application, and the application icon of the Alipay application; [0183], In response to the process of changing the mobile phone from the folded state to the unfolded state, as shown in (b) in Figure 12, (c) in Figure 12, and (d) in Figure 12, the mobile phone can display one in the second display area Or a dynamic picture with multiple second application icons appearing column by column; [0185], as shown in Figure 12 (a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic screen displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from (d) in Fig. 12 to (c) in Fig. 12, and switched from (c) in Fig. 12 to (b) in Fig. 12 as shown in Fig. 12. Figure 12(b) switches to Figure 12(a); [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen. When the mobile phone is in the unfolded state, the first screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In response to the unfolding and folding processes of the mobile phone, as shown in Figure 13 (b), Figure 13 (c) and Figure 13 (d), the mobile phone can display the application icons in the first interface and the application icons in the second interface A dynamic picture that appears column by column. As shown in Figure 13 (b), the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first column of application icons in the second interface. Figure 13 (c) shows that the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first and second columns in the second interface. Application icon. Figure 13 (d) shows that the first screen of the mobile phone's folding screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 13 (a) to Figure 13 (b), and from Figure 13 (b) to Figure 13 (c) , Switch from Figure 13 (c) to Figure 13 (d); [0192], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the third screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic picture displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from Fig. 13 (d) to Fig. 13 (c), and from Fig. 13 (c) to Fig. 13 (b) as shown in Fig. 13. Figure 13(b) switches to Figure 13(a). The main screen of the mobile phone in the folded state shown in Figure 13 (a) may also display the lock screen interface or the interface of the last running application of the mobile phone, which is only an example here)
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 8. Consequently, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 9, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 8, further comprising:
wherein: the foldable device is an inward foldable device; the first screen is an inner screen of the inward foldable device; and the second screen is an outer screen of the inward foldable device (Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0066], please refer to FIG. 3, which is a schematic diagram of a product form of an electronic device 100 that is folded inward according to an embodiment of the present application. Fig. 3(a) is a schematic diagram of the electronic device 100 folded inward when it is fully unfolded. The electronic device 100 can be folded along the folding edge in the direction shown in Fig. 3(a) to form the first and second screens shown in Fig. 3(b). The electronic device 100 can continue to be folded in the folding direction to form Figure 3(c) shows the form of the fully folded electronic device 100. After the electronic device 100 is completely folded, the first screen and the second screen are opposite, and the first screen and the second screen are invisible to the user. In Figure 3 401 shown in (c) is a line on the plane where the first screen and the second screen are in contact. In addition, the electronic device that is folded inward may further include a third screen, and the third screen is arranged on the back of the first screen or the second screen. It is understandable that, for an electronic device that is folded inward, when in the folded state, the third screen is visible to the user. When the electronic device is in the folded state, the interface is displayed on the third screen, and when the electronic device is in the unfolded state, the interface can be displayed on the first and second screens; [0189], for a mobile phone that is folded inward, the mobile phone includes a third screen as a main screen and displays a first interface; [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen. When the mobile phone is in the unfolded state, the first screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In response to the unfolding and folding processes of the mobile phone, as shown in Figure 13 (b), Figure 13 (c) and Figure 13 (d), the mobile phone can display the application icons in the first interface and the application icons in the second interface A dynamic picture that appears column by column. As shown in Figure 13 (b), the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first column of application icons in the second interface. Figure 13 (c) shows that the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first and second columns in the second interface. Application icon. Figure 13 (d) shows that the first screen of the mobile phone's folding screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 13 (a) to Figure 13 (b), and from Figure 13 (b) to Figure 13 (c) , Switch from Figure 13 (c) to Figure 13 (d); [0192], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the third screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic picture displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from Fig. 13 (d) to Fig. 13 (c), and from Fig. 13 (c) to Fig. 13 (b) as shown in Fig. 13. Figure 13(b) switches to Figure 13(a). The main screen of the mobile phone in the folded state shown in Figure 13 (a) may also display the lock screen interface or the interface of the last running application of the mobile phone, which is only an example here; see also [0182-0185])
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 9. Consequently, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 8, further comprising:
wherein: the foldable device is an outward foldable device; the first screen is a screen of the outward foldable device in the folded state; and the second screen is a screen of the outward foldable device in the unfolded state (Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0064], For example, please refer to FIG. 2, which is a schematic diagram of a product form of an electronic device 100 that is folded outwards according to an embodiment of the present application. (A) in FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram of the electronic device 100 folded outward when it is fully unfolded. The electronic device 100 can be folded along the folding edge in the direction shown in Fig. 2(a) to form the first screen and the second screen shown in Fig. 2(b), and the electronic device 100 can continue to be folded along the folding edge to form FIG. 2(c) shows the form of the electronic device 100 after being completely folded. After the electronic device 100 is completely folded, the first screen and the second screen are opposite to each other; [0182], For the above-mentioned mobile phone folded outwards, when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen or the second screen of the mobile phone is used as the main screen and the first interface is displayed. In this case, when the mobile phone is in the folded state or the unfolded state, the folding screen is visible to the user; [0183], as shown in (a) of FIG. 12, when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the first screen, and the second screen may be black. The first screen serves as the first display area, and the second screen serves as the second display area. The first interface includes a plurality of first application icons, such as App icon1-App icon9 in Figure 12 (a). In response to the process of changing the mobile phone from the folded state to the unfolded state, as shown in (b) in Figure 12, (c) in Figure 12, and (d) in Figure 12, the mobile phone can display one in the second display area Or a dynamic picture with multiple second application icons appearing column by column. As shown in Figure 12 (b), when the angle between the first screen and the second screen of the mobile phone is the first preset angle, the second screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the second interface, as shown in Figure 12 App icon10, App icon13 and App icon16 shown in (b). When the angle between the first screen and the second screen of the mobile phone is the second preset angle, the second screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the second interface, which is added in 12 (b) App icon11, App icon14 and App icon17 are displayed, as shown in Figure 12 (c). When the mobile phone is in the expanded state, the second screen of the mobile phone displays all three columns of application icons in the second interface, as shown in Figure 12 (d). In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 12 (a) to Figure 12 (b), and from Figure 12 (b) to Figure 12 (c) , Switch from Figure 12 (c) to Figure 12 (d); [0185], as shown in FIG. 12(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen serves as the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the animations displayed on the mobile phone may switch from FIG. 12(d) to FIG. 12(c), switch from FIG. 12(c) to FIG. 12(b), and switch from FIG. 12(b) to FIG. 12(a); see also [0189-0192])
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 10. Consequently, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Shin et al. (US 20180081398 A1, published 03/22/2018), hereinafter Shin.
Regarding claim 4, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 3. However, Zheng fails to expressly disclose wherein the dynamic loading manner is a dynamic loading manner of sliding up and down. In the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches:
wherein the dynamic loading manner is a dynamic loading manner of sliding up and down (Shin Figs. 1-15; [0182-0183], Referring to FIG. 12, example screen 1201 may show an example of a UI (hereinafter, referred to as a first UI) provided in a case where the electronic device 100 operates based on a basic screen mode in a horizontal operation mode (e.g., a horizontal mode). For example, example screen 1201 may show a case where the form of the display 131 of the electronic device 100 is a folded form (or a basic form, or a shrunk form); [0185-0186], As illustrated in example screen 1203, the second UI may provide a home screen (hereinafter, referred to as a second home screen) different from the first home screen. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may install, in addition to applications, mini applications (herein, referred to as a widget) 1215, 1225, 1235, 1245, and 1255 which are associated with or independent of the applications; [0187-0188], the second home screen may include a form that is a vertically expanded form of the first home screen. According to various embodiments, the second home screen may include first icons (first objects, or application icons) 1210, 1220, 1230, 1240, and 1250 of the first home screen and second icons (widgets) 1215, 1225, 1235, 1245, and 1255 associated with applications corresponding to the first icons 1210, 1220, 1230, 1240, and 1250. According to an embodiment, the second icons 1215, 1225, 1235, 1245, and 1255 may be provided in areas adjacent to respectively corresponding first icons 1210, 1220, 1230, 1240, and 1250. For example, the second icons 1215, 1225,1 235, 1245, and 1255 may be provided adjacent to one side (e.g., the lower side, in FIG. 12) of the corresponding first icons 1210, 1220, 1230, 1240 and 1250, respectively; [0193], In the example of FIG. 12, the display 131 is expanded in the lower direction and widgets associated with icons are set to the lower side of the icons, but embodiments may vary, and the present disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, as described with reference to FIG. 2, widgets may be displayed in association with corresponding icons in the right side empty area, the left side empty area, the lower side empty area, or the upper side empty area of the corresponding icons, corresponding to a direction in which the display 131 expands. For example, the electronic device 100 may display widgets 1215, 1225, 1235, and 1245, associated with icons 1210, 1220, 1230, and 1240 to be adjacent to the right side, the left side, the upper side, or the lower side of corresponding icons 1210, 1220, 1230, and 1240, according to an expansion direction of the display 131)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the dynamic loading manner is a dynamic loading manner of sliding up and down as suggested in Shin into Zheng. Doing so would be desirable because an electronic device may have a limited size for portability, and the size of a display thereof is thus limited. Accordingly, in recent years, various types of electronic devices have been developed to provide an expanded screen of an electronic device, by means of multiple displays. For example, a plurality of displays are provided to provide an expanded screen by means of multiple displays. Further, with the implementation of multiple displays, there is an increasing need to develop a user interface (UI) corresponding to the multiple displays and the operation thereof (see Shin [0005]). Aspects of the present disclosure are to address at least the above-mentioned problems and/or disadvantages and to provide at least the advantages described (see Shin [0007]). The electronic device according to various embodiments may contribute to improving the usability, convenience, and competitiveness of the electronic device (see Shin [0241]).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Zheng teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein: the one or more controls comprise a second control; a layout type of the second control is a list layout; the second control comprises a plurality of elements presented in a dynamic loading manner; and adjusting the one or more controls based on the layout type of the one or more controls comprises adjusting, by the terminal device, a quantity of the elements in the second control based on a height stretch factor (Zheng Figs. 1-15; [0117], It can also be used to identify the posture of electronic devices, and apply to applications such as horizontal and vertical screen switching, pedometers, etc; [0159], Assuming that when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface 901 shown in (a) of FIG. 9A is displayed. In response to the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the mobile phone displays an interface as shown in FIG. 9B. The mobile phone can display the first interface 901 in the first display area of the folding screen and the second interface 903 in the second display area. The second interface 903 includes the application icon of the setting application, the application icon of the WeChat application, the application icon of the QQ application, and the application icon of the Alipay application; [0183], In response to the process of changing the mobile phone from the folded state to the unfolded state, as shown in (b) in Figure 12, (c) in Figure 12, and (d) in Figure 12, the mobile phone can display one in the second display area Or a dynamic picture with multiple second application icons appearing column by column; [0185], as shown in Figure 12 (a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic screen displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from (d) in Fig. 12 to (c) in Fig. 12, and switched from (c) in Fig. 12 to (b) in Fig. 12 as shown in Fig. 12. Figure 12(b) switches to Figure 12(a); [0190], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the first interface is displayed on the third screen. When the mobile phone is in the unfolded state, the first screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In response to the unfolding and folding processes of the mobile phone, as shown in Figure 13 (b), Figure 13 (c) and Figure 13 (d), the mobile phone can display the application icons in the first interface and the application icons in the second interface A dynamic picture that appears column by column. As shown in Figure 13 (b), the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first column of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first column of application icons in the second interface. Figure 13 (c) shows that the first screen of the folding screen of the mobile phone displays the first and second columns of application icons in the first interface, and the second screen of the folding screen displays the first and second columns in the second interface. Application icon. Figure 13 (d) shows that the first screen of the mobile phone's folding screen displays the first interface, and the second screen displays the second interface. In the process of the mobile phone changing from the folded state to the unfolded state, the folding screen display screen of the mobile phone is switched from Figure 13 (a) to Figure 13 (b), and from Figure 13 (b) to Figure 13 (c) , Switch from Figure 13 (c) to Figure 13 (d); [0192], as shown in Figure 13(a), when the mobile phone is in the folded state, the third screen is the main screen. When the mobile phone is in the folding process, the dynamic picture displayed by the mobile phone can be switched from Fig. 13 (d) to Fig. 13 (c), and from Fig. 13 (c) to Fig. 13 (b) as shown in Fig. 13. Figure 13(b) switches to Figure 13(a). The main screen of the mobile phone in the folded state shown in Figure 13 (a) may also display the lock screen interface or the interface of the last running application of the mobile phone, which is only an example here)
However, Zheng fails to expressly disclose adjusting the one or more controls based on the layout type of the one or more controls comprises adjusting, by the terminal device, a quantity of rows of the elements in the second control based on a height stretch factor. In the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches:
adjusting the one or more controls based on the layout type of the one or more controls comprises adjusting, by the terminal device, a quantity of rows of the elements in the second control based on a height stretch factor (Shin Figs. 1-15; [0182-0183], Referring to FIG. 12, example screen 1201 may show an example of a UI (hereinafter, referred to as a first UI) provided in a case where the electronic device 100 operates based on a basic screen mode in a horizontal operation mode (e.g., a horizontal mode). For example, example screen 1201 may show a case where the form of the display 131 of the electronic device 100 is a folded form (or a basic form, or a shrunk form); [0185-0186], As illustrated in example screen 1203, the second UI may provide a home screen (hereinafter, referred to as a second home screen) different from the first home screen. According to an embodiment, the electronic device 100 may install, in addition to applications, mini applications (herein, referred to as a widget) 1215, 1225, 1235, 1245, and 1255 which are associated with or independent of the applications; [0187-0188], the second home screen may include a form that is a vertically expanded form of the first home screen. According to various embodiments, the second home screen may include first icons (first objects, or application icons) 1210, 1220, 1230, 1240, and 1250 of the first home screen and second icons (widgets) 1215, 1225, 1235, 1245, and 1255 associated with applications corresponding to the first icons 1210, 1220, 1230, 1240, and 1250. According to an embodiment, the second icons 1215, 1225, 1235, 1245, and 1255 may be provided in areas adjacent to respectively corresponding first icons 1210, 1220, 1230, 1240, and 1250. For example, the second icons 1215, 1225,1 235, 1245, and 1255 may be provided adjacent to one side (e.g., the lower side, in FIG. 12) of the corresponding first icons 1210, 1220, 1230, 1240 and 1250, respectively; [0193], In the example of FIG. 12, the display 131 is expanded in the lower direction and widgets associated with icons are set to the lower side of the icons, but embodiments may vary, and the present disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, as described with reference to FIG. 2, widgets may be displayed in association with corresponding icons in the right side empty area, the left side empty area, the lower side empty area, or the upper side empty area of the corresponding icons, corresponding to a direction in which the display 131 expands. For example, the electronic device 100 may display widgets 1215, 1225, 1235, and 1245, associated with icons 1210, 1220, 1230, and 1240 to be adjacent to the right side, the left side, the upper side, or the lower side of corresponding icons 1210, 1220, 1230, and 1240, according to an expansion direction of the display 131)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated adjusting the one or more controls based on the layout type of the one or more controls comprises adjusting, by the terminal device, a quantity of rows of the elements in the second control based on a height stretch factor as suggested in Shin into Zheng. Doing so would be desirable because an electronic device may have a limited size for portability, and the size of a display thereof is thus limited. Accordingly, in recent years, various types of electronic devices have been developed to provide an expanded screen of an electronic device, by means of multiple displays. For example, a plurality of displays are provided to provide an expanded screen by means of multiple displays. Further, with the implementation of multiple displays, there is an increasing need to develop a user interface (UI) corresponding to the multiple displays and the operation thereof (see Shin [0005]). Aspects of the present disclosure are to address at least the above-mentioned problems and/or disadvantages and to provide at least the advantages described (see Shin [0007]). The electronic device according to various embodiments may contribute to improving the usability, convenience, and competitiveness of the electronic device (see Shin [0241]).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeon (US 20140137041 A1) see Figs. 1-17 and [0086-0094].
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143