DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: pulsatile wall motion is not mentioned in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,093,199 to Brown (hereinafter “Brown”), as evidenced by “Pulsatile Wall Motion (PWM) Measurements after Endovascular Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm Exclusion are not Useful in the Classification of Endoleak” by Lindblad et al. (hereinafter “Lindblad”) and “Reduced Pulsatile Wall Motion of Abdominal Aortic Aneurysms after Endovascular Repair” by Malina et al. (hereinafter “Malina”).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-8; and Col. 4, line 33 - Col. 12, line 31) a method of treating a vascular aneurysm in an artery (see Col. 7, line 61 - Col. 8, line 6), the method comprising positioning a support (30) along at least a portion of at least one vascular segment adjacent to the vascular aneurysm (see Fig. 8 and Col. 5, lines 48-59) to reduce pulsatile wall motion of the artery (see Col. 5, lines 18-63 and Col. 7, line 61 - Col. 8 line 21, the device is used to provide an endovascular repair of the aneurysm such that the aneurysm is isolated from blood flow by endografting - as evidenced by both Lindblad and Malina in their abstract's conclusion sections and in their papers as a whole, endografting an aneurysm inherently results in reduced pulsatile wall motion, therefore, Brown's method would inherently result in reduced pulsatile wall motion of the artery since it is treating the aneurysm with endografting to isolate the aneurysm from blood flow).
Brown further discloses (claims 2-5 and 8-9) wherein the reduced pulsatile wall motion of the artery causes reduced axially tethering forces on the vascular aneurysm; wherein the reduced pulsatile wall motion causes reduced axial stress on the vascular aneurysm; wherein the reduced pulsatile wall motion of the at least one vascular segment causes a reduced stiffness gradient towards the vascular aneurysm; and wherein the reduced pulsatile wall motion causes reduced cyclic strain of the vascular aneurysm; wherein growth of the vascular aneurysm following the reduced pulsatile wall motion of the artery is reduced relative to growth of the vascular aneurysm in the absence of the reduced pulsatile wall motion of the artery; wherein inflammation in the artery following the reduced pulsatile wall motion of the artery is reduced relative to inflammation in the artery in the absence of the reduced segmental stiffening of the artery (see Col. 5, lines 18-63 and Col. 7, line 61 - Col. 8 line 21, and as discussed above, there is inherent reduced pulsatile wall motion of the artery - the claim language establishes that reduced pulsatile wall motion results in reduced axially tethering forces and axial stress of the vascular aneurysm, a reduced stiffness gradient, a reduced cyclic strain; reduced growth after treatment; and reduced inflammation are inherent results of treating the aneurysm - it has been held that newly discovered results of known processes directed to the same purpose are not patentable because such results are inherent, see In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607 (CCPA 1978), accordingly, since Brown discloses the same method steps as claimed directed to the same purpose of treating an aneurysm, the recognition of newly discovered results as a result of the reduced pulsatile wall motion (reduced axially tethering forces, reduced axial stress, reduced stiffness, reduced cyclic strain, reduced growth, and reduced inflammation) would not constitute patentable subject matter because such results are inherent); (claim 7) wherein the positioning the support comprises implanting an intravascular stent at the at least one vascular segment (see Fig. 8 and Col. 11, lines 16-28); (claim 10) wherein the at least one vascular segment comprises a vascular segment upstream of the vascular aneurysm or a vascular segment downstream of the vascular aneurysm (see Fig. 8); (claim 11) wherein the at least one vascular segment comprises a vascular segment upstream of the vascular aneurysm and a vascular segment downstream of the vascular aneurysm (see Fig. 8); (claim 12) wherein the support is a physical structure applied within or outside of the at least one vascular segment (see Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of US 2010/0241214 A1 to Holzer et al. (hereinafter “Holzer”).
Brown discloses the invention substantially as set forth above but fails to specifically disclose, with respect to claim 6, wherein the positioning the support comprises applying a surgical adhesive to the at least one vascular segment. Holzer discloses, in the same field of endeavor, the known use of applying a surgical adhesive to at least one vascular segment to position a support (porous structure 104) for the purpose of delivering an adhesive so that the porous structure can be securely adhered to the lumen wall (see [0226]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brown's support 30 with the adhesive taught by Holzer in order to deliver an adhesive so the support can be securely adhered to the lumen wall.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-19 and 20-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10, 11, 16 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,779,964. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims only differ by using the limitation “selectively reducing cyclic strain” instead of “increasing the mechanical stiffness”, but as set forth below, the specification of ‘964 establishes that these are inversely proportional to each other and thus increasing the mechanical stiffness from the ‘964 claims would correlate to a reduction in cyclic strain” in the current claims.
Regarding claim 13, '964 claim 10 recites a method of minimizing growth of a vascular aneurysm in an artery (Col. 22, lines 20-21), the method comprising selectively reducing cyclic strain (see Col. 11, lines 29-30, looking at the spec. to determine the definition of cyclic strain as used in the claims, the spec. makes clear that mechanical stiffening is equivalent to reduced cyclic strain) of at least one vascular segment adjacent to the vascular aneurysm such that the vascular aneurysm is not directly treated (Col. 22, lines 21-25).
Regarding claim 20, '964 claim 18 recites a method of treating a vascular aneurysm (C22L46), the method comprising reducing cyclic strain (see Col. 11, lines 29-30, looking at the spec. to determine the definition of cyclic strain as used in the claims, the spec. makes clear that mechanical stiffening is equivalent to reduced cyclic strain) on at least one aneurysm-adjacent vascular segment by positioning a stiffening device or stiffening composition at the at least one aneurysm-adjacent vascular segment and not at the vascular aneurysm (C22L46-52)
Regarding the dependent claims, there is correspondence as follows (noting that for claims 14 and 16, because the claims recite that reducing the cyclic strain results in the claimed inherent characteristics, then the claims of ‘964 would also result in those inherent characteristics).
Current claim #
14
15
16
17
18
19
21
22
'964 claim #
10
10
10
11
10
16
19
20
Claims 13-19 and 20-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-14, 19-20, and 23-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,135. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims only differ by using the limitation “selectively reducing cyclic strain” instead of “increasing the mechanical stiffness”, but as set forth below, the specification of ‘135 establishes that these are inversely proportional to each other and thus increasing the mechanical stiffness from the ‘135 claims would correlate to a reduction in cyclic strain” in the current claims.
Regarding claim 13, '135 claim 13 recites a method of minimizing growth of a vascular aneurysm in an artery (Col. 22, lines 45-46), the method comprising selectively reducing cyclic strain (see Col. 11, lines 31-32, looking at the spec. to determine the definition of cyclic strain as used in the claims, the spec. makes clear that mechanical stiffening is equivalent to reduced cyclic strain) of at least one vascular segment adjacent to the vascular aneurysm such that the vascular aneurysm is not directly treated (Col. 22, lines 45-49).
Regarding claim 20, '135 claim 23 recites a method of treating a vascular aneurysm (C23L18), the method comprising reducing cyclic strain (see Col. 11, lines 29-30, looking at the spec. to determine the definition of cyclic strain as used in the claims, the spec. makes clear that mechanical stiffening is equivalent to reduced cyclic strain) on at least one aneurysm-adjacent vascular segment by positioning a stiffening device or stiffening composition at the at least one aneurysm-adjacent vascular segment and not at the vascular aneurysm (C23L18-C24L4)).
Regarding the dependent claims, there is correspondence as follows (noting that for claims 14 and 16, because the claims recite that reducing the cyclic strain results in the claimed inherent characteristics, then the claims of ‘135 would also result in those inherent characteristics).
Current claim #
14
15
16
17
18
19
21
22
'135 claim #
13
13
13
14
20
19
23
224
Conclusion
/SHAUN L DAVID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771