DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the species of molecular measurement data and small molecular inhibition in the reply filed on 2/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 17-22 are pending. Claims 1-16 have been cancelled.
An action on the merits is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 17-22 are indefinite over the term “molecular measurement data”. The specification does not define this term. The specification teaches that any molecular measurement data can be used (para 35). In paragraph 36 the specification teaches that sequence data, methylation data, mRNA or protein expression data can be measured (para 36). As such the term can broadly encompass any data that measures molecularly including but not limited to these examples. The term, however, could include other data including the size of the subclones, the fractional of the subclones based upon particular data, or any number of other data measurements. The specification, however, has not described such measurements. Although any measurement can be made the specification has not provided which of these measurements provide the functionally critical data for determination of precision cancer therapy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17-22 are indefinite over the steps of claim 17. Claim 17 requires “exposing a patient with an initial cancer treatment or treatment interval”. In particular this phrase is unclear as it is not clear if the claims are intending to administer a treatment to the patient or if the claim intends to encompass the breadth of “exposing” which would include providing a prescription. As such it is not clear if the initial patient has been administered an “initial cancer treatment or treatment interval”.
Claims 17-22 are indefinite over “a first sample obtained before…and a second sample”. The steps of the claims do not require a first or second sample obtained from the patient and as such it is not clear how to identify such cancer subclones.
Claims 17-22 are indefinite over the comparing step of claim 17. The comparison step only requires comparing characteristics, whereas the identifying steps requires identifying an eradicated cancer cell subclone. As such it is not clear which characteristics are being compared.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the judicial exception of an abstract idea without significantly more. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons that follow.
Note that the unpatentability of laws of nature was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme Court in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., No. 10-1150 (March 20, 2012).
The unpatentability of abstract ideas was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme court in Bilski v. Kappos, No. 08-964, 2010 WL 2555192 (June 28, 2010) and in Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014).
Applicant’s attention is directed to the USPTO January 7, 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (i.e., “PEG”) available at URL:
<https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01-07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf>.
Regarding Step 1 of the PEG, the claims are directed to the statutory category of a process.
Regarding Step 2A, prong one, the claims recite the judicial exception of an abstract idea. The step of “exposing a patient with an initial cancer treatment or treatment interval” is considered to have an embodiment of an abstract idea. As noted above this step can be interpreted as providing a prescription and as such would be considered abstract. The step of identifying does not require an active step of isolating the samples and as such can be interpreted as reading a data print out. The step of comparing would be considered data manipulation that can be performed by the mine. The step of administering the precision cancer therapy is considered an active step.
Regarding Step 2A, prong two, having determined that the claims recite a judicial exception, it is then determined whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Herein, the claims do not recite additional steps or elements that integrate the recited judicial exceptions into a practical application of the exception(s). The steps of administering the precision cancer therapy is considered an active step, is not considered an integration as rather, it is using any routine and conventional methods of treating patients with cancer therapy. It is noted that regardless of the comparison step, the patient is treated. As such this step is considered a general step of applying as it is not integrated into the judicial exception.
Regarding Step 2B, the next question is whether the remaining elements/steps – i.e., the non-patent-ineligible elements/steps - either in isolation or combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Herein, the claims as a whole are not considered to recite any additional steps or elements that amount to significantly more than routine and conventional activity and do not add something “significantly more” so as to render the claims patent-eligible. The additionally recited steps are routine in the prior art. The claims are using a known method of analysis. Wu et al (WO2016048952 March 31, 2016) teaches that CLL is an disease wherein resistant clones leads to resistance to therapy (para 6). Wu et al. teaches changing treatment based upon this comparison (para 87). Wu et al. teaches that the therapy is targeted therapy including imatinib which is a small molecule inhibitor (para 100).
For the reasons set forth above, when the claims are considered as a whole, the claims are not considered to recite something significantly more than a judicial exception and thereby are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al (WO2016048952 March 31, 2016).
With regard to claim 17, Wu et al. teaches that CLL is a disease wherein resistant clones leads to resistance to therapy (para 6). Wu et al. teaches exposing a patient with an initial cancer treatment (para 32). Wu et al. teaches blood samples before and after treatment (para 28-30, 32). Wu et al. teaches measuring data in these samples to determine resistant cancer subclones (para 49, 50 and 59). Wu et al. teaches measurement of molecular measurement data including mutation calling and somatic copy number (para 71-72). Wu et al. teaches changing treatment based upon this comparison (para 87). Although Wu et al. does not specifically recite “precision treatment”, the term would encompass a change of treatment to a treatment that was not used prior.
With regard to claim 18, Wu et al. teaches a method of comparing eradicated subclones, resistant subclones based upon sequence data (para 81-82).
With regard to claims 19-20, Wu et al. teaches that the therapy is targeted therapy including imatinib which is a small molecule inhibitor (para 100).
With regard to claim 21, Wu et al teaches converting subclones by inhibiting expression of a gene (para 47, 44, 87).
With regard to claim 22, Wu et al. teaches a method of converting resistant cancer cell subclones to eradicable based upon inhibiting expression as Wu et al. teaches imatinib, Wu et al. teaches a treatment for cancer cells that are resistant (para 28, 33-35).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682