DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1-23-2025 and 7-24-2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the vehicle of claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 21, the phrase “configured for mounting to a vehicle” makes the claim indefinite as the claim is a result but provides no information as to what the configuration is.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franzini, et. al., U.S. Patent Number 10,854,993, published December 1, 2020 in view of Howe, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0305693, published September 30, 2021.
As per claim 1, Franzini discloses a phased array antenna comprising: a base plate; and a plurality of radiating elements, wherein a first radiating element of the plurality of radiating elements comprises: a signal ear projecting outwardly from the first curved surface; and a ground ear projecting outwardly and spaced in at least a circumferential direction of the first surface of the base plate from the signal ear, wherein a first surface of the signal ear facing a first surface of the ground ear is parallel to the first surface of the ground ear (Franzini, Fig. 2A, Fig. 5 and Col. 17, lines 1-5).
Franzini fails to disclose the base being curved.
Howe teaches a curved base for phase array antenna elements (¶51).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a curved base as Franzini discloses various configurations for the base (Col. 9, lines 1-67) and a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As per claim 2, Franzini as modified by Howe discloses the phased array antenna of claim 1, wherein a second surface of the signal ear is configured to capacitively couple with a first surface of a ground ear of a second radiating element, wherein the second surface of the signal ear faces away from the first surface of the signal ear and is not parallel to the first surface of the signal ear (Franzini, Col. 7, lines 41-47).
As per claims 3-6, Franzini as modified by Howe discloses the various arrangement of the ears, posts and bases (Franzini, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to use various configurations as it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As per claim 7, Franzini as modified by Howe further discloses the unit cell of claim 1, wherein the base plate forms at least a portion of a hollow cylinder (Howe, Fig. 5D).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form a cylinder as a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
As per claim 8, Franzini as modified by Howe further discloses the unit cell of claim 1, wherein the signal ear comprises a first post projecting outwardly from the first curved surface, wherein the first post is electrically isolated from the base plate (Franzini, Col. 7, lines 21-40 where the word “pillar” is in place of “post”).
As per claims 9-15 and 22, Franzini as modified by Howe further disclose various configurations of base, ears and feed lines (Franzini, Fig. 3-8 showing various configurations).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the antenna element positions limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 16, Franzini as modified by Howe further discloses the phased array antenna of claim 1, further comprising a third radiating element, wherein the third radiating element projects outwardly from the first curved surface of the base plate, wherein the third radiating element is positioned orthogonally to the first radiating element (Franzini, Col. 7, lines 7-20 and Howe, ¶51).
As per claim 17, Franzini as modified by Howe further discloses the phased array antenna of claim 13, wherein the third radiating element comprises a signal ear and a ground ear, and wherein a plane associated with first surface of the signal ear of the third radiating element intersects a center of curvature of the first curved surface, wherein the first surface of the signal ear of the third radiating element is positioned on a post of the signal ear of the third radiating element facing a surface on a post of the ground ear of the third radiating element (Franzini, Col. 7, lines 7-20 and Howe, ¶51).
As per claims 18-20, Franzini as modified by Howe further discloses the antenna of claim 1 providing various cylinder and sphere shapes (Howe, Fig. 5D and Fig. 9).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use various curved shapes, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Franzini and Howe.
As per claim 21, Franzini as modified by Howe further discloses the phased array antenna of claim 1, wherein the phased array antenna is configured for mounting to a vehicle (Howe, ¶41).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use in a car in order to gain the benefit of have radar capability in a vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646