Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the or each neck mount” and “the or each support arm” in line 5, should read “the at least neck mount” and “the support arm”, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the neck mount” in last line, should read “the at least neck mount”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the neck mount” in line 2, should read “the at least neck mount”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the respective support arm and/or neck mount” in line 1-2, should read “the support arm and/or the at least one neck mount”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at least one neck mount” in line 2 and “the respective neck mount” in last line, should read “the at least neck mount”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the one or more support arms" in the first line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation " the one or more support arms" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Godard (US 2022/0266685 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Godard teaches a truck (Para [0002]), comprising a vessel mount structure (1) extending from a chassis of the truck (Para [0023]), the vessel mount structure provides at least one neck mount (7) that is mounted to an axial end of an elongated pressure vessel for thereby suspending the elongated pressure vessel to the chassis (Fig 1), wherein the vessel mount structure comprises a support arm (S1) extending laterally from the or each neck mount towards the chassis (Fig 2 Annotated), wherein the or each support arm is coupled to the respective neck mount by a coupling arrangement (8), said coupling arrangement deformable in the lateral direction towards the vehicle, for guiding a movement of the respective neck mount relative to the support arm along a predefined trajectory (Para [0030]- [0031]), wherein an end stop (E1) is provided on the chassis and spaced from the elongated pressure vessel (Fig 1 Annotated), and arranged for abutting a cylindrical body section of the elongated pressure vessel, in case of an impact on the elongated pressure vessel (when 8 breaks due accident or crash, 3 will abut E1 by gravity, Para [0030]- [0031] and Fig 1 Annotated).
Regarding claim 2, Godard teaches that the coupling arrangement comprises one or more guide members, each guide member having a first end attached to the support arm and a second end attached to the respective neck mount (Fig 2 Annotated).
Regarding claim 5, Godard teaches that the coupling arrangement is arranged for guiding the neck mounts along the predefined trajectory over a stroke that is larger than a spacing between the elongated pressure vessel and the end stop (Para [0030]- [0031] and Fig 1 Annotated).
Regarding claim 6, Godard teaches that the coupling arrangement provides a collapse structure that is collapsible in the lateral direction, wherein the collapse structure is arranged for collapsing when an impact force on the elongated pressure vessel exceeds a collapse threshold (Para [0030]- [0031] and Fig 1 Annotated).
Regarding claim 7, the coupling arrangement comprises plastically deformable hinges (Para [0030]- [0031] and Fig 2).
Regarding claim 8, Godard teaches that the coupling arrangement together with the respective support arm and/or neck mount are formed from a single part (Fig 2 Annotated).
Regarding claim 11, Godard teaches that the end stop comprises a contact surface that is normal (horizontal) to the predefined trajectory (vertical due to weight of the reservoir 3, Annotated Fig 1).
Regarding claim 13, Godard teaches that the contact surface is concave and has a radius of curvature that is equal to or larger than a radius of curvature of the cylindrical body section (Annotated Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godard (US 2022/0266685 A1) in view of Zimmerman et al. (US 2017/0101003 A2 ) hereinafter, Zimmerman.
Regarding claim 15, Godard teaches the truck of claim 1. However, Godard does not teach that the chassis comprises a pair of cross beams that extend laterally between a pair of longitudinal chassis members, and wherein at least one of the one or more support arms connects to the chassis at or near the pair of cross beams.
Zimmerman teaches that the chassis comprises a pair of cross beams (C1) that extend laterally between a pair of longitudinal chassis members (L1), and wherein at least one of the one or more support arms connects to the chassis at or near the pair of cross beams (Fig 1A Annotated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Godard’s truck, in view of Zimmerman, with support arm connects to the chassis at or near the pair of cross beams, for more stable and secure connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 9-10, 12, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 3 recites that the coupling arrangement comprises a pair of guide members, each guide member extending separately from the other guide member between the neck mount and the support arm, for thereby forming a four-bar mechanism.
Claim 9 recites that wherein a buckle element extends laterally between at least one neck mount and the chassis, wherein the buckle element is arranged for buckling in response to the respective neck mount moving towards the chassis along the predefined trajectory.
Claim 12 recites that the contact surface is provided on a tab that extends from the chassis along a vertical direction in a cantilevered fashion.
Claim 14 recites that the coupling arrangement comprises a second rectangular tube extending between the first rectangular tube and the neck mount in a vertical direction perpendicular to the lateral direction, and wherein the second rectangular tube is collapsible in the lateral direction by a cut-out locally weakening the second rectangular tube.
Since the prior art (e.g. Godard) teaches mounting structure that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Fig 4 of the examined disclosure shows the mounting structure, which is different than the mounting structure taught by the prior art of record (Fig. 1 of Godard and Fig. 1A of Zimmerman, etc.)
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teach trucks with a vessel mount structure of interest.
/HOSAM SHABARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3618