DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-14-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to the argument: “Kuang determines the location of an end user device (e.g., phone, tablet, etc.), not the location of an access point as recited in claim 1. See Kuang at para. [0089]-[0092]. Further, Kuang expressly states that "a great advantage of Wi-Fi fingerprint positioning is that positioning can be implemented by collecting a fingerprint database only in a positioning area without a need to obtain a deployment location of an AP." See Kuang at para. [0004]. In other words,Kuang teaches away from determining a set of access point coordinates that relate to a location of the access point in the region. Therefore, Kuang does not disclose "determining a set of access point coordinates, the set of access point coordinates relating to a location of the access point in the region," as recited in claim 1.”; the examiner’s position is that par. 0004 is Kuang’s admitted prior art, not necessarily his invention and the claims do not limit any particular type of determination, as long as the coordinate has any relation to the location of the access point it will read on the claim, including sampling location and/or sub-area. If the relation of the present application is different, the examiner invites the applicant to include the differences in the claims for proper consideration.
Regarding the argument: “Kuang merely detects access points - it does not compute or request their location coordinates. In particular, Kuang detects the BSSIDs of the nearby access points (not the location/coordinates of the nearby access points) and compares the BSSIDs of the nearby access points to a pre-built fingerprint database of BSSIDs to determine the location of an end user device. See Kuang at para. [0089]-[0092]. Therefore, Kuang does not disclose "matching the extracted access point identifier with a corresponding established access point identifier associated with the region, wherein matching the extracted access point identifier includes linking the determined set of access point coordinates with the corresponding established access point identifier," as recited in claim 1.”; the examiner’s position is that applicant’s arguments are more detailed than the actual claim limitations. First, the claim does not require to compute or request their location coordinates of the access point, as indicated in the prior paragraph the determination is for coordinates related to the access point. The argument admits that Kuang determine the location of an end user device which is based on the location of the access points; thereby, determining the location of the end user device require a determination of the location of the access points.
The rejection of record stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuang 20200045665.
As to claim 1, Kuang discloses a method for provisioning access point locations, the method comprising:
detecting one or more signals being emitted in a region [a received signal strength indicator RSSI that is calculated when the Wi-Fi broadcast frame is received by the terminal device] (see par. 0081, 0087);
determining whether the one or more detected signals is associated with an access point [a sampling terminal device to collect a fingerprint database at a sampling point based on the BSSID] (see par. 0081, 0087); for each determined access point, (1) extracting an access point identifier [a sampling terminal device to collect a fingerprint database at a sampling point based on the BSSID] (see par. 0081, 0087); and (2) determining a set of access point coordinates, the set of access point coordinates relating to a location of the access point in the region [The location coordinates represent coordinates of the sampling point in a coordinate system] (see par. 0088); and matching the extracted access point identifier with a corresponding established access point identifier associated with the region, wherein matching the extracted access point identifier includes linking the determined set of access point coordinates with the corresponding established access point identifier [The server compares a BSSID of an AP received by the terminal device with BSSIDs in the M reference AP sets, to determine a target reference AP set corresponding to a sub-area in which the terminal device is located.] (see par. 0089-0092).
As to claim 2, Kuang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein determining whether the one or more detected signals is associated with the access point includes analyzing packet capture data and RF measurements across one or more transmission frequencies [inherent limitation] (see par. 0087-0091).
As to claim 3, Kuang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the extracted access point identifier includes a BSSID or AP name associated with the access point (see par. 0077, 0081, 0088).
As to claim 4, Kuang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the determined set of access point coordinates include a set of x, y coordinates for a particular level of a premises (see par. 0087-0088, 0091).
As to claim 5, Kuang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the established access point identifier is provided by a third-party management system as part of a set of unique identifiers for each access point located in the region [For examination purposes the server is a third-party management system from the perspective of the mobile device] (see par. 0077, 0081).
As to claim 6, Kuang discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising providing a map of a location of each access point within the region (see par. 0087).
Regarding claims 7-12, they are the corresponding device claims of method claims 1-6. Therefore, claims 7-12 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
As to claim 13 and 20, Kuang discloses the device/system of Claim 1/12, wherein providing the map of the location includes correlating a set of coordinates of a floor plan of the region with the determined set of access point coordinates [fingerprint database may be understood as a pre-drawn signal map] [plurality of sub-areas that are separated in terms of space, for example, different floors] [a mapping relationship between location coordinates and a wireless signal fingerprint is established.] (see par. 0087-0088).
Regarding claims 14-19, they are the corresponding device claims of method claims 1-6. Therefore, claims 14-19 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zuo 20220369278 discloses monitoring wifi data for positioning and reporting purposes.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647