Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 5th, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on August 5th, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “a thickness at each point of the protective film has variation, a deviation with respect to a minimum limit size of the thickness at the each point in the thickness at the each point falls within a range of a tolerance of the thickness at the each point”, but it is unclear what is meant by this phrase in light of the specification. It is unclear what is meant by “has variation”. Technically, a single point at a single location has a single thickness, which means that there is no variation in thickness (at least with respect to that point). It is possible the phrase “has variation” is made with respect to multiple points (i.e., different points have different thicknesses). However, this interpretation, while more reasonable, is countered by the claimed phrase “within a minimum limit size of the thickness at the each point” – a single point only has a single thickness, in which case, it is not clear how the claimed minimum limit size is determined.
In turning the present specification for guidance, Figure 3 of the present drawings appear to provide the most relevant information. The frame of reference for measuring thickness, however, remains unclear. Figure 3 depicts observation with respect to two points, specifically, and appears limited to observation to two specific points. The claim does not recite this manner of observation/measurement. In addition to the preceding concerns, it is noted that the phrases “the each point” and “the thickness” technically lack antecedent basis. The claim appears to implicitly presume the presence of multiple points and thicknesses, but it is not clear which points and thicknesses, specifically, are being claimed. In the interest of compact prosecution, the claim will be interpreted as directed to the presence of any thickness which meets the claimed tolerance to an arbitrarily specified minim limit size.
Claims 2-16 are rejected as indefinite due to dependence on indefinite claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the phrase “the metallic layer that is referred to as a first metallic layer later”, which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear what is meant by “later”. The claim essentially states that the claimed metallic layer will be referred to as a first metallic layer at some point in the future claim set, but it does not specify when. The phrase “the metallic layer that is referred to as a first metallic layer” could be interpreted as specifying a specific “the metallic layer” among several layers meeting “the metallic layer”, which could imply the existence of multiple metallic layers meeting this claim, which would prompt an issue of antecedent basis. In the interest of compact prosecution, the claims will be interpreted such that the phrase “the metallic layer” coincides with “the first metallic layer”. In addition, claim 4 recites “the dielectric layer”, “the metallic layer”, and “the buffer layer” each lack antecedent basis. In the interest of compact prosecution, these phrases will be interpreted as directed to “a dielectric layer”, “a metallic layer”, and “a buffer layer”.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 6 and 7 both recite ranges which expand outside the range of claim 5, from which claims 6 and 7 depend. Claim 6 states a minimum value of thickness of 75 nm or less, which includes values below the end point of 25 nm according to claim 5. Claim 7 states a minimum value of thickness of 50 nm or more, which includes values above the end point of 50 nm according to claim 5. Therefore, claims 6 and 7 fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (WO2019189109A1). Yamamoto is read from an English machine translation which has been placed in the application file.
With regards to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a coated glass substrate comprising a glass base material such as float glass plate (i.e., a plate glass having a coated surface) including a coated film and a thin low-emission film (i.e., a coated surface and low-emissive film disposed on the surface) including silver and a dielectric layer (i.e., includes a metallic layer and a dielectric layer), and further including a coating located on the thin low-emission film (i.e., a protective film is disposed on the low-emissive film – note that, technically, any film is a protective film, as it serves a protective function), the thin film including silica layers (i.e., the protective film is based on silica) (Yamamoto – Translation: abstract; page 4, “(Base Material)” section, first paragraph, “(Thin Film)” section, first paragraph, “(Coating)” section, first paragraph; page 5, paragraphs “When the film functions as a low radiation film…” and “When the film is disposed on the coating…”). As best understood, the “thin film” of Yamamoto includes the layers necessary to meet both the claimed protective film and low-emissive film (i.e., the “thin film” of Yamamoto appears to be made of a combination of layers meeting the claimed low-emissive film and claimed protective film). Yamamoto further discloses its thin film as having a roughness (i.e., a thickness at each point of the protective film has variation) (Yamamoto: page 3, “Next, ΔE* at two points…”). The present claim does not define the location at which thickness is measured, nor does the claim disclose the location of the measured minimum limit size. The measured limit size need not even be a minimum limit of the structure (i.e., it can be an arbitrarily-decided value). Since the minimum thickness limit amounts to a value which may be selected by a person of ordinary skill, it is submitted that specifying a “minimum limit size” which is the same as that as the measured thickness leads to the claim being met (i.e., and therefore, any structure with variation technically meets this limitation). With respect to the claimed color difference, it is noted that the claim provides no means at all for measuring color difference. Technically, any structure has a color difference ΔE of 0 across all points when placed in absolute darkness (i.e., as best understood, the claimed ΔE is a function of lighting). Therefore, it is submitted that the coated glass substrate of Yamamoto meets this limitation. Alternatively, it is noted that lighting conditions not specified by the claim may be arbitrarily adjusted to meet his limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Wuillaume et al (US2014/0098415A1).
With regards to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses a coated plate glass as applied to claim 1 above (see above discussion). Yamamoto does not appear to disclose its low-emissive film as including a plurality of dielectric layers which include a first dielectric layer positioned between the coated surface of the plate glass and the metallic layer, and a second dielectric layer positioned between the metallic layer and the protective film.
Wuillaume is directed to a low-emissive coating located above a glass substrate, the low-emissive coating comprising at least three dielectric layers formed of silicon nitride, including one dielectric layer position between the glass substrate and a silver layer (i.e., a plurality of dielectric layers including a first dielectric layer positioned between the glass plate and the metallic layer, and a second layer positioned above the metallic layer) (Wuillaume: abstract; para. [0039]; Fig. 1). Wuillaume further notes that other layers may be placed above and below the low-emissive coating (i.e., the first dielectric layer may be more specifically positioned between a coated surface of a plate glass and a metallic layer, and a second dielectric layer may be more specifically positioned between the metallic layer and the protective film) (Wuillaume: para. [0039]; Fig. 1). The particular low-emissive coating of Wuillaume is found to have improved durability and thermal stability (Wuillamue: para. [0009]). Yamamoto and Wuillaume are analogous art in that they are related to the same field of endeavor of glass substrates having low-emission properties. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected the low-emissive coating of Wuillaume for the low-emissive thin film of Yamamoto, in order to provide improved durability and thermal stability (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 3, Wuillaume depicts its low-emissive coating as further including a plurality of NiCr layers (i.e., buffer layers), including a first buffer layer positioned between a first silicon nitride layer and a first silver layer (i.e., between the first dielectric layer and the metallic layer), a second NiCr layer positioned between the first Ag layer and the second silicon nitride layer (i.e., positioned between the metallic layer and the second dielectric layer) (Wuillame: Fig. 1). As best understood, the buffer layers of Wuillaume are thicker than its dielectric layers (Wuillame: Fig. 1). A person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have selected these particular layers and their compositions in order to provide improved durability and thermal stability (see above discussion). The composition of the dielectric, metallic, and buffer layers are identical to those of the claimed invention (i.e., the specification selects NiCr for its buffer layers, silver for its metallic layers, and silicon nitride for its dielectric layers). A composition and its properties are inseparable, per MPEP 2112. Therefore, the first buffer layer, first dielectric layer, metallic layer, second buffer layer, and second dielectric layer are each expected to have compositions meeting the refractive indices of the present claim.
With regards to claim 4, Wuillame further depicts the inclusion of a second Ag layer (i.e., second metallic layer) positioned above the second dielectric layer (i.e.., a second metallic layer positioned between the second dielectric layer and the protective film), and the inclusion of a third dielectric layer positioned above the second Ag layer (i.e., positioned between the second metallic layer and the protective film), such that a dielectric layer and adjacent metallic layer are connected by a buffer layer (Wuillame: Fig. 1). The composition of the dielectric, metallic, and buffer layers are identical to those of the claimed invention (i.e., the specification selects NiCr for its buffer layers, silver for its metallic layers, and silicon nitride for its dielectric layers) (see above discussion). A composition and its properties are inseparable, per MPEP 2112. Therefore, the first buffer layer, first dielectric layer, metallic layer, second buffer layer, and second dielectric layer are each expected to have compositions meeting the refractive indices of the present claim.
Claims 5-7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above.
With regards to claim 5, Yamamoto discloses a coated glass as applied to claim 1 above (see above discussion). Yamamoto discloses its protective film as having a thickness (i.e., inclusive of a minimum thickness value) of 5 nm or more and 500 nm or less (Yamamoto: abstract). This range overlaps the claimed range of 25 nm or more and 200 nm or less, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 6, Yamamoto discloses its protective film as having a thickness (i.e., inclusive of a minimum thickness value) of 5 nm or more and 500 nm or less (see above discussion). This range overlaps the claimed range of 75 nm or less, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 7, Yamamoto discloses its protective film as having a thickness (i.e., inclusive of a minimum thickness value) of 5 nm or more and 500 nm or less (see above discussion). This range overlaps the claimed range of 50 nm or more, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 17, Yamamoto discloses a coated glass substrate comprising a glass base material such as float glass plate (i.e., a plate glass having a coated surface) including a coated film and a thin low-emission film (i.e., a coated surface and low-emissive film disposed on the surface) including silver and a dielectric layer (i.e., includes a metallic layer and a dielectric layer), and further including a coating located on the thin low-emission film (i.e., a protective film is disposed on the low-emissive film – note that, technically, any film is a protective film, as it serves a protective function), the coating being made of silica (i.e., the protective film is based on silica) (Yamamoto – Translation: abstract; page 4, “(Base Material)” section, first paragraph, “(Thin Film)” section, first paragraph, “(Coating)” section, first paragraph; page 5, paragraphs “When the film functions as a low radiation film…” and “When the film is disposed on the coating…”). As best understood, the “thin film” of Yamamoto includes the layers necessary to meet both the claimed protective film and low-emissive film (i.e., the “thin film” of Yamamoto appears to be made of a combination of layers meeting the claimed low-emissive film and claimed protective film). Yamamoto further discloses its thin film as having a roughness (i.e., a thickness at each point of the protective film has variation) (Yamamoto: page 3, “Next, ΔE* at two points…”). With respect to the claimed color difference, it is noted that the claim provides no means at all for measuring color difference. Technically, any structure has a color difference ΔE of 0 across all points when placed in absolute darkness (i.e., as best understood, the claimed ΔE is a function of lighting). Therefore, it is submitted that the coated glass substrate of Yamamoto meets this limitation. Alternatively, it is noted that lighting conditions not specified by the claim may be arbitrarily adjusted to meet his limitation. Yamamoto does not appear to disclose the claimed thickness variation, specifically. However, Yamamoto discloses a roughness range which has no bound below (i.e., tends towards zero), in the same manner as the claim (see above discussion). As best understood, the thickness variation range resulting from the roughness range of Yamamoto would overlap the claimed range, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.05 (see above discussion).
Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Wuillaume et al. This ground of rejection is made separate from the grounds of rejection over Yamamoto as applied to claim 1 above, for the purposes of clarity, as additional portions/embodiments of the Yamamoto reference are used with respect to claim 5 compared to claim 1.
With regards to claim 8, Yamamoto teaches a coated plate according to claim 5 above (see above discussion). Yamamoto does not appear to disclose the nine-layer structure of present claim 8.
Willaume discloses a nine-layer structure comprising, laminated from a glass substrate towards a protective film, a silicon nitride layer (first dielectric layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / Ag layer (first metallic layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / silicon nitride layer (second dielectric layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / Ag layer (second metallic layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / silicon nitride layer (third dielectric layer) (Willaume: Fig. 1). Willaume further discloses thickness ranges (in the same order as claimed, from bottom to top), 10 to 50 nm (vs 10 to 70 nm for first dielectric layer), 1 to 4.5 nm (vs 1 to 20 nm buffer layer), 9 to 16.5 nm (vs 1 to 30 nm for first metallic layer), 1 to 4.5 nm (vs 1 to 20 nm buffer layer), 30 to 140 nm (vs 10 to 120 nm second dielectric layer), 0.5 to 2.2 nm (vs 1 to 20 nm buffer layer), 5 to 11.5 nm (vs 1 to 30 nm second metallic layer), 0.8 to 3 nm (vs 1 to 20 nm buffer layer), and 10 to 50 nm (vs 10 to 70 nm third dielectric layer). Note that Wuillaume discloses its values in angstroms, and values in nanometers are obtained by simply dividing each value in angstroms by 10. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected the nine-layer structure of Wuillaume (inclusive of its ranges) in order to provide improved durability and thermal stability (see above discussion). The ranges taught by Wuillaume overlap the claimed ranges, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 9, Willaume discloses a nine-layer structure comprising, laminated from a glass substrate towards a protective film, a silicon nitride layer (first dielectric layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / Ag layer (first metallic layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / silicon nitride layer (second dielectric layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / Ag layer (second metallic layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / silicon nitride layer (third dielectric layer) (Willaume: Fig. 1). Willaume further discloses thickness ranges (in the same order as claimed, from bottom to top), 10 to 50 nm (vs 16 to 48 nm for first dielectric layer), 1 to 4.5 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), 9 to 16.5 nm (vs 8 to 20 nm for first metallic layer), 1 to 4.5 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), 30 to 140 nm (vs 51 to 99 nm second dielectric layer), 0.5 to 2.2 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), 5 to 11.5 nm (vs 5 to 20 nm second metallic layer), 0.8 to 3 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), and 10 to 50 nm (vs 10 to 45 nm third dielectric layer). Note that Wuillaume discloses its values in angstroms, and values in nanometers are obtained by simply dividing each value in angstroms by 10. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected the nine-layer structure of Wuillaume (inclusive of its ranges) in order to provide improved durability and thermal stability (see above discussion). The ranges taught by Wuillaume overlap the claimed ranges, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 10, Willaume discloses a nine-layer structure comprising, laminated from a glass substrate towards a protective film, a silicon nitride layer (first dielectric layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / Ag layer (first metallic layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / silicon nitride layer (second dielectric layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / Ag layer (second metallic layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / silicon nitride layer (third dielectric layer) (Willaume: Fig. 1). Willaume further discloses thickness ranges (in the same order as claimed, from bottom to top), 10 to 50 nm (vs 16 to 48 nm for first dielectric layer), 1 to 4.5 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), 9 to 16.5 nm (vs 8 to 12 nm for first metallic layer), 1 to 4.5 nm (vs 5 to 9 nm buffer layer), 30 to 140 nm (vs 51 to 99 nm second dielectric layer), 0.5 to 2.2 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), 5 to 11.5 nm (vs 12 to 20 nm second metallic layer), 0.8 to 3 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), and 10 to 50 nm (vs 10 to 45 nm third dielectric layer). Note that Wuillaume discloses its values in angstroms, and values in nanometers are obtained by simply dividing each value in angstroms by 10. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected the nine-layer structure of Wuillaume (inclusive of its ranges) in order to provide improved durability and thermal stability (see above discussion). The ranges taught by Wuillaume overlap the claimed ranges, or alternatively, are substantially close to the claimed ranges, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 11, Willaume discloses a nine-layer structure comprising, laminated from a glass substrate towards a protective film, a silicon nitride layer (first dielectric layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / Ag layer (first metallic layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / silicon nitride layer (second dielectric layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / Ag layer (second metallic layer) / NiCr layer (buffer layer) / silicon nitride layer (third dielectric layer) (Willaume: Fig. 1). Willaume further discloses thickness ranges (in the same order as claimed, from bottom to top), 10 to 50 nm (vs 16 to 48 nm for first dielectric layer), 1 to 4.5 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), 9 to 16.5 nm (vs 12 to 20 nm for first metallic layer), 1 to 4.5 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), 30 to 140 nm (vs 51 to 99 nm second dielectric layer), 0.5 to 2.2 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), 5 to 11.5 nm (vs 5 to 18 nm second metallic layer), 0.8 to 3 nm (vs 1 to 9 nm buffer layer), and 10 to 50 nm (vs 10 to 45 nm third dielectric layer). Note that Wuillaume discloses its values in angstroms, and values in nanometers are obtained by simply dividing each value in angstroms by 10. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have selected the nine-layer structure of Wuillaume (inclusive of its ranges) in order to provide improved durability and thermal stability (see above discussion). The ranges taught by Wuillaume overlap the claimed ranges, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 12, the composition and structure taught by the combination of Yamamoto and Wuillaume is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention (i.e., identical layers with identical compositions are used) (see above discussion). A structure’s composition and its properties are inseparable, per MPEP 2112. Therefore, the structure of Yamamoto and Wuillaume is expected to possess the claimed a* and b* values.
With regards to claim 13, the composition and structure taught by the combination of Yamamoto and Wuillaume is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention (i.e., identical layers with identical compositions are used) (see above discussion). A structure’s composition and its properties are inseparable, per MPEP 2112. Therefore, the structure of Yamamoto and Wuillaume is expected to possess the claimed a* and b* values.
With regards to claim 14, the coated plate glass is disclosed as a glass layer (i.e., a single plate glass) (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 15, the composition and structure taught by the combination of Yamamoto and Wuillaume is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention (i.e., identical layers with identical compositions are used) (see above discussion). A structure’s composition and its properties are inseparable, per MPEP 2112. Therefore, the structure of Yamamoto and Wuillaume is expected to possess the claimed reflectance properties.
With regards to claim 16, the composition and structure taught by the combination of Yamamoto and Wuillaume is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention (i.e., identical layers with identical compositions are used) (see above discussion). A structure’s composition and its properties are inseparable, per MPEP 2112. Therefore, the structure of Yamamoto and Wuillaume is expected to possess the claimed reflectance properties.
Conclusion
/E.W./
Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783