DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-34 have been cancelled. Claims 1-17 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20260254571 A1 to Muraoka et al. (hereinafter “Muraoka”).
As per claim 1, Muraoka discloses a method of operating a radio unit (RU) shared by multiple distributed units (DUs) of a radio access network (RAN) (Muraoka Fig. 1), the method comprising: transmitting, by one or more computing devices, a modified synchronization signal block (SSB) (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.), wherein the modified SSB includes: a first SSB including time and frequency synchronization information for the multiple DUs for sharing the RU (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.); and at least a second SSB different from the first SSB, wherein the second SSB includes access information specific to a corresponding DU of the multiple DUs sharing the RU (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.).
As per claim 3, Muraoka discloses the method of claim 1, wherein functionalities of the shared RU are implemented using the one or more computing devices (Muraoka Fig. 16 and [0140]).
As per claim 4, Muraoka discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the modified SSB comprises transmitting the first SSB and the at least the second SSB in an information burst (Muraoka [0012,0075]), wherein the information burst includes multiple portions and each of the multiple portions of the information burst is associated with an individual DU of the multiple Dus (Muraoka [0012,0075-0076]).
As per claim 5, Muraoka discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first SSB comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) (Muraoka [0063,0114,0120,0126,0131) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (Muraoka [0063,0114,0120,0126,0131).
As per claim 6, Muraoka discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the access information in the second SSB comprises information indicative of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) associated with the corresponding DU (Muraoka [0063,0114,0120,0126,0131).
As per claim 7, Muraoka discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the PBCH comprises a master information block (MIB) associated with the corresponding DU (Muraoka [0064,0132]).
As per claim 8, Muraoka discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the MIB comprises information of a system information block (SIB) associated with an operator of the corresponding DU (Muraoka [0064,0132]).
As per claim 9, Muraoka discloses an apparatus for operating a radio unit (RU) shared by multiple distributed units (DUs) of a radio access network (RAN) (Muraoka Fig. 1, 16, 17, 18) the apparatus comprising: one or more computing devices (Muraoka Fig. 1, 16, 17, 18), the one or more computing devices being configured to transmit a modified synchronization signal block (SSB) (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.), wherein the modified SSB includes a first SSB and a least a second SSB different from the first SSB, wherein the first SSB includes time and frequency synchronization information for the multiple DUs for sharing the RU (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.), and wherein the second SSB includes access information specific to a corresponding DU of the multiple DUs sharing the RU (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.).
As per claim 11, Muraoka discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more computing devices are configured to implement functionalities of the shared RU (Muraoka Fig. 16 and [0140]).
As per claim 12, Muraoka discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein transmitting the modified SSB comprises transmitting the first SSB and the at least the second SSB in an information burst (Muraoka [0012,0075]), wherein the information burst includes multiple portions and each of the multiple portions of the information burst is associated with an individual DU of the multiple DUs (Muraoka [0012,0075]).
As per claim 13, Muraoka discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first SSB comprises a primary synchronization signal (PSS) and a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) (Muraoka [0063,0114,0120,0126,0131).
As per claim 14, Muraoka discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the access information in the second SSB comprises information indicative of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) associated with the corresponding DU (Muraoka [0063,0114,0120,0126,0131).
As per claim 15, Muraoka discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the PBCH comprises a master information block (MIB) associated with the corresponding DU (Muraoka [0064,0132]).
As per claim 16, Muraoka discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the MIB comprises information of a system information block (SIB) associated with an operator of the corresponding DU (Muraoka [0064,0132]).
As per claim 17, Muraoka discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium for operating a radio unit (RU) shared by multiple distributed units (DUs) of a radio access network (RAN), the non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more computing devices (Muraoka Fig. 1, 16, 17, 18, [0157]), and upon such execution cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations comprising transmitting a modified synchronization signal block (SSB) (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.), wherein the modified SSB includes a first SSB and at least a second SSB different from the first SSB, wherein the first SSB includes time and frequency synchronization information for the multiple DUs for sharing the RU (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.), and wherein the second SSB includes access information specific to a corresponding DU of the multiple DUs sharing the RU (Muraoka Fig. 1, 2, and [0063] FIG. 2 conceptually shows the SSB beam sweep performed by the TRPs 31 to 33 in a single cell (cell 51). To allow UEs 40 to select the best beam for initial access, each of the TRPs 31 to 33 uses a beam sweep 300. Specifically, each TRP transmits multiple SSBs, changing the beam direction each time it transmits an SSB. Each SSB contains a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and PBCH DMRS. In a case where multiple TRPs are arranged in a single cell, at least one of these TRPs may transmit only one SSB beam. In other words, at least one of the multiple TRPs in the cell may intermittently transmit one SSB beam in a predetermined direction at a predetermined cycle without performing a beam sweep.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476