DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 5, line 2: “substantially” is indefinite and vague in its relationship to the direction of the cable (i.e. what does it mean by reciting “substantially parallel”?).
The examiner will interpret the phase without term “substantially”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 10-11, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Przybylski (US 2019/0072419) in view of Cumming et al. (US 2005/0206530).
Re claims 1, 2: Przybylski teaches a smart chiller system (1000) comprising a smart chiller (636) serving as a housing, a processing circuit (1006) serving as a circuit board; and a communication interface (1080) having an antenna coupled to the processing circuit (see fig. 10; paragraphs 0132-0138).
However, Przybylski fairly suggest that the antenna mount is disposed over and spaced apart from a perimeter of the circuit board.
Cumming teaches a distribution cabinet (250) serving as a housing comprising an electronic box (405) serving as an antenna mount wherein the electronic box connected to circuit board via mounting connections (415) and the electronic box is disposed over and spaced apart from a perimeter of the circuit board, an antenna (315) positioned at an exterior of the housing; and a cable (320) extending from the antenna mount to the antenna via a hole in the housing (see figs. 4 and 8; paragraphs 0058, 0061-0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Cumming to the teachings of Przybylski in order to provide connecting means such as electronic box for connecting antenna via the cable therewith.
Re claim 5 and 6: Although, Przybylski as modified by Cumming teaches the chiller having the antenna mount, they fail to teach that the particular arrangement of the connection of the cables. However, it would have been an obvious design variation well within the ordinary skill in the art failing to provide any unexpected results for connecting the antenna to the antenna mount using the cable that is oriented in various direction in respect to the circuit board, and therefore an obvious expedient.
Re claim 7: The chiller further comprising a refrigeration circuit (1060) serving as a control board spaced apart from the circuit board (1006), wherein the control board is configured to output control signals to cooling components (1064 and 1068) of the chiller, and wherein the circuit board is configured to enable communications between the chiller and a network external (600) to the chiller (i.e., the actuation signals cause the refrigeration circuit to output signals to increase/decrease cooling, paragraph 0138)(figs. 6 and 10; paragraphs 0133-0138).
Re claim 10: The chiller comprising a housing containing the circuit board, wherein the housing comprises a door (not particularly disclosed) openable to provide access to the circuit board from outside the housing.
Re claim 11: The chiller further comprising an ethernet port coupled to the circuit board at a perimeter of the circuit board (paragraph 0128).
Re claim 19: The chiller further comprising a refrigeration circuit (1060) serving as a control board spaced apart from the circuit board (1006), wherein the circuit board is programmed to execute an algorithm that determines a control setting to be used by the control board (i.e., the actuation signals cause the refrigeration circuit to output signals to increase/decrease cooling, paragraph 0138), wherein the control board has insufficient computing resources to execute the algorithm (fig. 10).
Re claim 20: Przybylski teaches a smart chiller system (1000) comprising a processing circuit (1006) serving as a circuit board; and a communication interface (1080) having an antenna coupled to the processing circuit (see fig. 10; paragraphs 0132-0138).
However, Przybylski fairly suggest that the antenna mount is connected to the antenna via a cable.
Cumming teaches a distribution cabinet (250) serving as a housing comprising an electronic box (405) serving as an antenna mount wherein the electronic box connected to circuit board via mounting connections (415) and the electronic box is disposed over and spaced apart from a perimeter of the circuit board, an antenna (315) positioned at an exterior of the housing; and a cable (320) extending from the antenna mount to the antenna via a hole in the housing (see figs. 4 and 8; paragraphs 0058, 0061-0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Cumming to the teachings of Przybylski in order to provide connecting means such as electronic box for connecting antenna via the cable therewith. Also, such method (i.e., installing a circuit board and coupling an antenna mount at a factory, delivering to a building, and connecting/establishing wireless communication network at the building site using the antenna) is well known in the art for manufacturing and installing the equipment such as chiller, that is, manufacturing the equipment at the factory by installing required the components such as circuit board at the factory and connecting the circuit board to the network wirelessly at the building site after delivering the equipment to the building site are well-known in the art, and therefore an obvious expedient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-18 are allowed.
Claims 3-4, 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of prior art teaches the chiller comprising an additional antenna positioned at an exterior of the housing and an additional cable extending from the antenna mount to the additional antenna via the hole or an additional hole in the housing, wherein the circuit board is configured to receive an update from the control board via the network and install the update on the control board, and a first cable extending from the antenna mount to the first antenna and a second cable extending from the antenna mount to the second antenna; a first device separate from the chiller and communicable with the circuit board via the first antenna using a first type of wireless communication; and a second device separate from the chiller and communicable with the circuit board via the second antenna using a second type of wireless communication as set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Malfavon (US 2022/022747) teaches a device having a plurality of wireless communication transceivers, Park et al. (US 12184444) teaches the system for controlling a plurality of equipments, and Rogers (US 2018/0261915) teaches a physical enclosure having components inside therein.
/SEUNG H LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876