DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 11/26/2024 has been entered. Claim 1 is cancelled. New claims 2-16 are added and pending. Claims 2, 7, and 12 are independent. Claims 3-6, 8-11, and 13-16 are dependent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/26/2024 and 04/23/2025 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pico (US 20180188960) hereinafter Pico in view of Shamis (US 20170149890) hereinafter Shamis.
Regarding claim 2, Pico teaches a method comprising: intercepting message, the intercepted message to be associated with at least one transaction (i.e. receive a memory access command (e.g., a read or a write operation) from a computing host device, [0036]); and determining, based at least in part upon the intercepted message, processing to be carried out in association with the at least one transaction (i.e. determine whether to redirect a memory access command received from a host computing device to a replacement memory partition based on the contents of the memory, [0089] and address redirection logic may be operable to determine an address of an incoming memory access command from a computing host device and determine which memory partition the command should be sent to, [0056]).
However, Pico does not explicitly disclose a network switch; a remote direct memory access (RDMA) message.
However, Shamis teaches a network switch (i.e. client node to communicate with physical networking hardware such as RDMA-enabled switch of the network to send the appropriate RDMA message (e.g., various sequences of reads, writes and CAS operations) across the network, [0073]): a remote direct memory access (RDMA) message (i.e. receiving remote direct memory access (RDMA) message or request, [0081]).
Based on Pico in view of Shamis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Shamis to the system of Pico in order to enable a remote device or process to directly read and write memory of a remote computing device without interrupting the CPU(s) of the remote computing device, [0001]).
Regarding claim 3, Pico teaches a remote memory pool is to be involved in the at least one transaction (i.e. the number of memory partitions that are available for the particular storage device. In various embodiments, the host may constrain its requests to the available memory partitions, [0060]).
Regarding claim 4, Pico teaches the processing comprises redirection of the at least one transaction (i.e. redirecting a memory access command from a host computing device, [0073]).
Regarding claim 5, Pico teaches the network switch is to access directory data in association with the determining, the processing and/or the at least one transaction (i.e. If the logic 308 determines that at least one enable bit is set, then each time the logic 308 receives an incoming command, a determination is made by the logic 308 as to whether the partition address in the incoming command is mapped to a replacement address (e.g., by accessing table 300 or other mapping structure). In a particular embodiment, the incoming partition address may be compared against each entry in the table 300 that includes a replacement enable bit that is set, [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Pico teaches the at least one transaction is to comprise cache memory access (i.e. perform memory access operations, e.g., reading a target memory cell and/or writing to a target memory cell, [0042]).
Regarding claims 7-16, the limitations of claims 7-16 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-6. Pico further teaches at least one non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing instructions to be executed by at least one machine associated with a network switch (i.e. a non-transitory medium to store code adapted to be executed by the micro-controller, [0081]); a network switch comprising: processing circuitry (i.e. BL control logic 216 includes BL switch circuitry 224. In some embodiments, BL control logic 216 may include sense circuitry, e.g., sense circuitry 222. BL control logic 216 is configured to select one or more BLs for reading and/or writing operations, [0046]). Therefore, the limitations of claims 7-16 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1-6 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US 20200226077), The RDMA message is received by a target NIC and then provided to the target system via a target system via a local network fabric such as PCEi, Infiniband®, iWarp, Fiber Channel, RoCE.
PETERSON et al. (US 20190042144), redirector device 180 may determine to enable adaptive routing in response to performing a self-diagnostic and determining that the self-diagnostic has not detected any errors, in response to determining that other redirector devices 180 are present in the system 100, and/or based on other factors.
Tsirkin (US 20160350261 A1), providing deduplication support for remote direct memory access (RDMA) memory includes detecting that a first memory page and a second memory page are identical.
Rao et al. (US 20080010409), a switch simply performs redirection for data transfer traffic and the cache module serves a cache engine. In the switch redirected embodiment, the cache module needs to include a processing mechanism for providing a cache engine.
/AW/
AYELE F. WOLDEMARIAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2447
12/11/2025
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447