DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Amendment, filed on 07/30/2026.
This action is made FINAL.
2. Claims 30-49 are pending in the case. Claims 30, 48 and 49 are independent claims. Claims 30-31, 33-36, 38, 41-43, 4 5-46 and 48-49 have been amended. Claims 1-29 and 50-224 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, p. 24, filed July 30, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 30-49 under35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Vishal Punwani et al., US 2022/0124286 A1; and an additional new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nicholas Henderson et al., US 2024/0104877 A1.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30-32, 43, 45, and 47-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vishal Punwani et al., US 2022/0124286 A1.
Independent claim 30, Punwani discloses a method comprising: at a computer system in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices (i.e. computing devices with display and input device - Fig. 3 “302, 304”): while displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a representation of a first video at a first docked position in a first virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein the first docked position is fixed in the first virtual three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to switch from displaying the first virtual three-dimensional environment to displaying a second virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. while displaying a video mosaic in a first virtual environment, e.g. library, user selects to switch environment - Fig. 1C “102, 126”; Fig. 9 “900, 920”; Para 156); and
in response to detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs: ceasing display of the first virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. input to switch the environment stops display of the first environment to load a second environment - Fig. 9 “910”; Para 158); and
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein a representation of the first video is displayed at a second docked position in the second virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein the second docked position is fixed in the second virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. display the video mosaic in a second environment - Fig. 9 “920”; Para 156, 158; Fig. 1C “126”).
Claim 31, Punwani discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the first docked position is at a first location in the first virtual three-dimensional environment that has a first spatial arrangement relative to a viewpoint of a user of the computer system, and the second docked position is at a second location in the second virtual three-dimensional environment that has a second spatial arrangement relative to the viewpoint of the user of the computer system, different from the first spatial arrangement (i.e. video mosaic of users are in positions in the second virtual environment that are different from their respective position in the first virtual environment - Fig. 9 “900, 920”).
Claim 32, Punwani discloses the method of claim 30, further comprising: before detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an environment picker interface in the first virtual three- dimensional environment, wherein detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs includes detecting a first input directed to the environment picker interface that includes one or more representations of virtual three-dimensional environments available for display, and wherein the first input is directed to a representation of the second virtual three-dimensional environment in the environment picker interface (i.e. display menu of selectable virtual environments, from which user selects to switch the virtual environment - Fig. 1C “126”; Fig. 9 “900, 920”; Para 158).
Claim 43, Punwani discloses the method of claim 30, wherein display of the representation of the first video is maintained while switching from displaying the first virtual three- dimensional environment to displaying the second virtual three-dimensional environment (Fig. 9 “910”; Para 158).
Claim 45, Punwani discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the first sequence of one or more inputs selects the second virtual three-dimensional environment from a plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first video is associated with a first application, the plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments is a first plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments (i.e. user inputs correspond to navigating/interacting with virtual environment – Para 28; environment options provided – Fig. 1C “126”), and in accordance with a determination that the first video is associated with a second application, different from the first application, the plurality of available virtual three- dimensional environments is a second plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments, different from the first plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments (i.e. user inputs correspond to navigating/interacting with virtual environment – Para 28; differing environment options provided – Fig. 1C “126”).
Claim 47, Punwani discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the first virtual three-dimensional environment is associated with a first content source and the second virtual three-dimensional environment is associated with a second content source, different from the first content source (i.e. first environment, e.g. library; second environment, e.g. house – Fig. 1C “126”).
Independent claim 48, the claim is similar in scope to claim 30. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 30 applies herein.
Independent claim 49, the claim is similar in scope to claim 30. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 30 applies herein.
Claim(s) 30-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nicholas Henderson et al., US 2024/0104877 A1.
Independent claim 30, Henderson discloses a method comprising: at a computer system in communication with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices (i.e. computing device including display and input device - Fig. 1J): while displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a representation of a first video at a first docked position in a first virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein the first docked position is fixed in the first virtual three-dimensional environment, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to switch from displaying the first virtual three-dimensional environment to displaying a second virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. Fig.7C “727, 732, 745”); and
in response to detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs: ceasing display of the first virtual three-dimensional environment (Fig. 7C “732”); and
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein a representation of the first video is displayed at a second docked position in the second virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein the second docked position is fixed in the second virtual three-dimensional environment (Fig 7D “745”).
Claim 31, Henderson discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the first docked position is at a first location in the first virtual three-dimensional environment that has a first spatial arrangement relative to a viewpoint of a user of the computer system (i.e. virtual content in first position, e.g. left of table - Fig. 7C “727”), and the second docked position is at a second location in the second virtual three-dimensional environment that has a second spatial arrangement relative to the viewpoint of the user of the computer system, different from the first spatial arrangement (i.e. virtual content in second position, e.g. above table - Fig. 9A “926a”).
Claim 32, Henderson discloses the method of claim 30, further comprising: before detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an environment picker interface in the first virtual three- dimensional environment, wherein detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs includes detecting a first input directed to the environment picker interface that includes one or more representations of virtual three-dimensional environments available for display, and wherein the first input is directed to a representation of the second virtual three-dimensional environment in the environment picker interface (i.e. select environment - Fig. 11B, 11D; display textual representation of environment - Fig. 13F; Para 344).
Claim 33, Henderson discloses the method of claim 32, further comprising: prior to detecting the first input directed to the environment picker interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to a system controls interface that is displayed in the first virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein the system controls interface includes one or more controls for controlling the first video (Fig. 11B “1148, 1146”); and in response to detecting the second input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the environment picker interface in the first virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. user interface A – Fig. 11 B “1152”).
Claim 34, Henderson discloses the method of claim 33, further comprising: before detecting the second input, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a third input directed to the representation of the first video; and in response to detecting the third input directed to the representation of the first video, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the system controls interface in the first virtual three-dimensional environment (Fig. 11B “1148”; Fig. 11B; Para 340).
Claim 35, Henderson discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the system controls interface includes one or more media playback controls for controlling playback of the first video (Fig. 11B “1148”), the method further comprising: while displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the system controls interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a third input directed to a first control of the one or more media playback controls; and in response to detecting the third input, controlling playback of the first video in a first manner corresponding to the first control (Fig. 11A; Para 331).
Claim 36, Henderson discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the system controls interface includes a selectable element for displaying a content picker interface, the content picker interface including one or more representations of content items available for display in the first virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. user interface A – Fig. 11 B “1152”), the method further comprising: while displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the system controls interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a fourth input directed to the selectable element for displaying a content picker interface (i.e. repeat previously performed steps – Para 48; Fig. 11B, 11C); and
in response to detecting the fourth input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the content picker interface in the first virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. repeat previously performed steps – Para 48; Fig. 11B, 11C).
Claim 37, Henderson discloses the method of claim 33, further comprising, in response to detecting the second input, ceasing display of the system controls interface (Fig. 11B, 11C).
Claim 38, Henderson discloses the method of claim 37, further comprising: after detecting the second input and while the system controls interface is not displayed, detecting a third input directed to the representation of the first video (Fig. 11B, 11C); and in response to detecting the third input, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the system controls interface in the first virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. repeat previously performed steps – Para 48; Fig. 11B, 11C).
Claim 39, Henderson discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the first virtual three-dimensional environment corresponds to a first simulated time of day of a first simulated physical space (i.e. day - Fig. 7C “745”), and the second virtual three-dimensional environment corresponds to a second simulated time of day, different from the first simulated time of day, of the first simulated physical space (i.e. night - Fig. 7D “745”).
Claim 40, Henderson discloses the method of claim 30, further comprising: in response to detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs: in accordance with a determination that the second virtual three-dimensional environment is associated with a plurality of viewing positions, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a viewing position control interface (Fig. 7A1 “798”);
while displaying the viewing position control interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to the viewing position control interface (Fig. 7A “720”; Para 214); and
in response to detecting the second input: in accordance with a determination that the second input indicates a first viewing position of the plurality of viewing positions in the second virtual three-dimensional environment, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the second virtual three-dimensional environment from the first viewing position (Fig. 15A, 15A1; Para 524); and in accordance with a determination that the second input indicates a second viewing position of the plurality of viewing positions in the second virtual three-dimensional environment, different from the first viewing position, displaying via the one or more display generation components, the second virtual three-dimensional environment from the second viewing position (Fig. 15B; Para 524).
Claim 41, Henderson discloses the method of claim 40, wherein: the viewing position control interface includes a first control element for controlling a distance of a viewing position of a user of the computer system from the representation of the first video at the second docked position in the second virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. select a viewpoint – Para 653; Fig. 19H); the second input indicates the first viewing position, having a first distance from the second docked position in the second virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein the second input uses the first control element to select the first viewing position (i.e. display the environment from the first spatial arrangement corresponding to the selected /current viewpoint – Para 653; Fig. 19F to H); and the second input indicates the second viewing position, having a second distance from the second docked position in the second virtual three-dimensional environment that is different from the first distance, wherein the second input uses the first control element to select the second viewing position (i.e. changing display of the environment to a spatial arrangement corresponding to the selected viewpoint – Para 653; Fig. 19F to H).
Claim 42, Henderson discloses the method of claim 40, wherein: the viewing position control interface includes a second control element for controlling a viewing angle of the representation of the first video at the second docked position from a viewing position of [[the]]a user of the computer system, the second input indicates the first viewing position, having a first viewing angle relative to the second docked position in the second virtual three-dimensional environment, wherein the second input uses the second control element to select a first viewing position, and the second input indicates the second viewing position, having a second viewing angle relative to the second docked position in the second virtual three-dimensional environment that is different from the first viewing angle, wherein the second input uses the second control element to select the second viewing position (i.e. providing differing viewing angle into virtual environment - Fig. 15A; Para 473).
Claim 43, Henderson discloses the method of claim 30, wherein display of the representation of the first video is maintained while switching from displaying the first virtual three- dimensional environment to displaying the second virtual three-dimensional environment (Fig. 7C, 7D “727, 745”).
Claim 44, Henderson discloses the method of claim 43, wherein switching from displaying the first virtual three-dimensional environment to displaying the second virtual three-dimensional environment includes gradually reducing a visual prominence of the first virtual three-dimensional environment, and gradually increasing a visual prominence of the second virtual three- dimensional environment (i.e. adjust visual prominence, e.g. opacity, when switching virtual environment - Para 726; Fig. 22A).
Claim 45, Henderson discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the first sequence of one or more inputs selects the second virtual three-dimensional environment from a plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments, wherein: in accordance with a determination that the first video is associated with a first application, the plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments is a first plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments (i.e. the plurality of selectable representations include graphics, text, and/or media corresponding to virtual scenes, such as a virtual beach, a virtual jungle, and/or a virtual boardroom. In some embodiments, in response to detecting a selection input directed to a respective representation of the plurality of selectable representations – Para 977; Fig. 28T), and in accordance with a determination that the first video is associated with a second application, different from the first application, the plurality of available virtual three- dimensional environments is a second plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments, different from the first plurality of available virtual three-dimensional environments (i.e. the plurality of selectable representations include graphics, text, and/or media corresponding to virtual scenes, such as a virtual beach, a virtual jungle, and/or a virtual boardroom. In some embodiments, in response to detecting a selection input directed to a respective representation of the plurality of selectable representations – Para 977; Fig. 28T).
Claim 46, Henderson discloses the method of claim 30, further comprising: in response to detecting the first sequence of one or more inputs: ceasing display of the representation of the first video in the first virtual three-dimensional environment (Fig. 28O; Para 941); and displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the representation of the first video in the second virtual three-dimensional environment (i.e. display the video with the virtual environment corresponding to the day setting selected – Para 941).
Claim 47, Henderson discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the first virtual three-dimensional environment is associated with a first content source and the second virtual three-dimensional environment is associated with a second content source, different from the first content source (i.e. one source is a bright light source, another source is a dark/colored source – Fig. 22F; Para 708).
Independent claim 48, the claim is similar in scope to claim 30. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 30 applies herein.
Independent claim 49, the claim is similar in scope to claim 30. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 30 applies herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615