DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being disclosed by Chamdani et al (hereinafter Chamdani), US Patent 7110394 B1 (publication date September 2006).
As per claim{s} 21, 31, 37, Chamdani discloses substantial features of the claimed invention, such as a switching fabric board (Chamdani: e.g., Network Switch Fabric_134) [col 1, L58 – col 2, L10) [Fig. 1],
wherein the switching fabric board is a first switching fabric board connected to a first network device (Chamdani: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Network Switch Fabric_134 is communicatively coupled to one or more ‘network devices’, such as Client Computer_110, Server_118,120,122, RAID_126, JBOD_128 and/or Tape Backup_132) [col 1, L58 – col 2, L10) [Fig. 1] (e.g., the Network Switch fabric 134 includes one or more ‘base racks’ (not shown) capable of switching signals. Each ‘base rack’ includes a number of ports such that a signal received into one port can be directed to an appropriate destination port coupled to a ‘destination component’ such as a Server 118 or a RAID 126) [col 1, L66 – col 2, L4) [Fig. 1], and the first switching fabric board comprises a first connector (Chamdani: e.g., ‘port connector{s}’ comprising a particular Base rack) [col 2, L27] and a first communication circuit (Chamdani: e.g., each ‘base rack’ includes a ‘Switch card’ in communication with a ‘Line card’ across a ‘Backplane’ {communication circuit}, the line card having at least an external port) [Abstract] (e.g., Line Card #0_202 [Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0] BackPlane_203 [Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0] Switch Card #0_204 [Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0] Line Card #1_202, for example) [col 2, L11-18 ; Fig. 2];
wherein the first connector is connected to the first communication circuit based on a first signal cable (Chamdani: e.g., Port 0 / Port 7 connector{s} of Base Rack 200, for example) [Fig. 2] (e.g., It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that ‘fiber optic cables’ are preferred for Connectors 405 because they offer low signal attenuation, are less susceptible to noise, and are compact and highly flexible and therefore easier to install. Of course, electrically conductive Connectors 405 can also be employed) [col 7, L3-18; Fig. 5];
and wherein the first communication circuit is further configured to connect to a second communication circuit (Chamdani: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Base Rack_200 comprising Line Card #0_202, BackPlane_203, Switch Card #0_204 and Line Card #1_202 is further ‘communicatively coupled’ or in communication to Base Rack_201 also comprising its own / respective ‘communication circuit {i.e. Line Card #0_202, BackPlane_203, Switch Card #0_204 and Line Card #1_202}) [Fig. 2] (e.g., ‘Multiple Base racks’ can be used to ‘form’ a Network switch fabric 134 to provide redundancy, to increase switching capacity, or to accommodate more components than can be handled by a single base rack…FIG. 2 illustrates how two Base racks 200, 201 of the prior art can be ‘cascaded’ together as part of a Network switch fabric 134) [col 7, L11-45; Fig. 2], the second communication circuit is connected to a first switching chip, the first switching chip has a first data forwarding capability (Chamdani: e.g., Rack_201 comprises its own / respective ‘communication circuit {i.e. Line Card #0_202, BackPlane_203, Switch Card #0_204 and Line Card #1_202} ) [Fig. 2], and the second communication circuit and the first switching chip are configured on a second switching fabric board (Chamdani: e.g., Base Rack _201) [Fig. 2] (e.g., ‘Multiple Base racks’ can be used to ‘form’ a Network switch fabric 134 {communication / fabric board} to provide redundancy, to increase switching capacity, or to accommodate more components than can be handled by a single base rack…FIG. 2 illustrates how two Base racks 200, 201 of the prior art can be ‘cascaded’ together as part of a Network switch fabric 134) [col 7, L11-45; Fig. 2] connected to a second network device (Chamdani: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Network Switch Fabric_134 is communicatively coupled to one or more ‘network devices’, such as Server_118,120,122, RAID_126, JBOD_128 and/or Tape Backup_132) [col 1, L58 – col 2, L10) [Fig. 1].
Claim(s) 31 recite(s) substantially the same limitations / features as claim 1, but from the perspective of receiving and forwarding packet data through the ‘switching fabric board’ circuitry to implement / accomplish the method as in claim 1, which is nonetheless also expressly disclosed by Chamdani (above), and the claim is accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 37 recite(s) substantially the same limitations / features as claim 1, is distinguishable only by its statutory category (system), and accordingly rejected on the same basis.
As per claim{s} 22, 38, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board wherein the first switching fabric board and the second switching fabric board are a same switching fabric board (Chamdani: e.g., FIG. 3 is a logical diagram illustrating a Base rack_300 of the present invention. The Base rack 300 includes ‘one or more Line cards’_202 in communication with ‘one or more Switch cards’_204 across a {shared / same} ‘Backplane’ 203, and one or more Service Processor Cards (SPC) 305 also in communication via backplane 203. Each Line card 202 includes one or more ports 310 for receiving and transmitting packets. Each port 310 is coupled in series first to a Gigabit Interface Converter (GBIC) 320, then to a PHY chip 330, and lastly to a Packet Processing ASIC (PP) 340. The PP 340 is further coupled to SRAM 342, to a Network Processor Unit (NPU) 344 coupled to a DRAM 346, and to the Backplane 203… Each Switch card 204 includes one or more Flow Control ASICs (FLC) 350 coupled to the Backplane 203) [col 3, L48-62; Fig. 3] (e.g., Switching Device_400, 500) [col 6, L28-56; Figs. 4 & 5].
As per claim{s} 23, 39, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board wherein the first switching fabric board further comprises a second connector (Chamdani: e.g., Some of the ports on the first base rack 200 are connected to ports on second base rack 201 by Connectors 205, of which only one is shown for simplicity) [col 2, L11-18; Fig. 2], and the second connector is connected to the first switching chip (Chamdani: e.g., also expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Connector 205 connecting Base Racks 200 and 201 is also communicatively connected to the Switch Card #0 _204 of each base rack) [Fig. 2].
As per claim{s} 24, 40, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board wherein the first switching fabric board and the second switching fabric board are different switching fabric boards (Chamdani: e.g., (e.g., ‘Multiple Base racks’ can be used to ‘form’ a Network switch fabric 134 {communication / fabric board} to provide redundancy, to increase switching capacity, or to accommodate more components than can be handled by a single base rack…FIG. 2 illustrates how two Base racks 200, 201 of the prior art can be ‘cascaded’ together as part of a Network switch fabric 134) [col 7, L11-45; Fig. 2].
As per claim{s} 25, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board wherein the first switching fabric board further comprises a first forwarding circuit (Chamdani: e.g., Switch Card{s} #0…#3_204 of Base Rack 300, for example) [col 6, L28-38; Fig. 4], the first connector is connected to the first forwarding circuit (Chamdani: e.g., Connector{s}_405) [col 6, L39-57; Fig. 5], and the first forwarding circuit is further connected to the first communication circuit based on the first signal cable (Chamdani: Line Card #0…#15_202 [Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0] Switch #0…#3_204 of Base Rack 300, for example) [Fig. 4] (e.g., It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that ‘fiber optic cables’ are preferred for Connectors 405 because they offer low signal attenuation, are less susceptible to noise, and are compact and highly flexible and therefore easier to install. Of course, Electrically conductive connectors 405 can also be employed {i.e., ‘copper cables’}) [col 7, L3-8; Fig. 5].
As per claim{s} 26, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board
wherein the first switching fabric board further comprises a second switching chip (Chamdani: e.g., each Switch card 204 {i.e., Switch #0…#3_204 of Base Rack 300} includes one or more Flow Control ‘ASIC’s (FLC) 350) [col 5, L51-58; Fig. 3] and a third communication circuit (Chamdani: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Base Rack_300 comprises Line Card #0…#15_202, BackPlane_203, Switch Card #0…#3_204 in communication / communicatively coupled to each other}) [Fig. 2], and the second switching chip has a second data forwarding capability (Chamdani: e.g., The Line card 202 is responsible for all packet processing, as described below, before ‘forwarding’ the packet in one or many cells to a Switch card 204 via Backplane 203) [col 3, L65-68; Fig. 3];
wherein the second switching chip is connected to the third communication circuit based on a second signal cable (Chamdani: e.g., It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that ‘fiber optic cables’ are preferred for Connectors 405 because they offer low signal attenuation, are less susceptible to noise, and are compact and highly flexible and therefore easier to install. Of course, Electrically conductive connectors 405 can also be employed {i.e., ‘copper cables’}) [col 7, L3-8; Figs. 4 & 5]; and
wherein the third communication circuit is further configured to connect to a fourth communication circuit, the fourth communication circuit is connected to a third connector, and the fourth communication circuit and the third connector are configured on a third switching fabric board (Chamdani: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Base Rack_300 comprises Line Card #0…#15_202, BackPlane_203, Switch Card #0…#3_204 which is in communication / communicatively coupled to each other is also communicatively coupled with Base Racks_301,302,303 having the same communication components/ circuitry {base racks may be ‘cascaded’ together or combined / integrated as a ‘switching device’}) [col 6, L28-58; Fig. 4 & 5 ] connected to a third network device (Chamdani: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Network Switch Fabric_134 is communicatively coupled to one or more ‘network devices’, such as Server_118,120,122, RAID_126, JBOD_128 and/or Tape Backup_132) [col 1, L58 – col 2, L10) [Fig. 1].
As per claim{s} 27, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board wherein the third communication circuit is connected to the fourth communication circuit based on an optical fiber or a cable (Chamdani: e.g., It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that ‘fiber optic cables’ are preferred for Connectors 405 because they offer low signal attenuation, are less susceptible to noise, and are compact and highly flexible and therefore easier to install. Of course, Electrically conductive connectors 405 can also be employed {i.e., ‘copper cables’}) [col 7, L3-8; Fig. 5].
As per claim{s} 28, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board wherein the first switching fabric board further comprises a fourth connector, and the fourth connector is connected to the second switching chip based on a third signal cable (Chamdani: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Base Rack_300 comprises Line Card #0…#15_202, BackPlane_203, Switch Card #0…#3_204 which is in communication / communicatively coupled to each other is also communicatively coupled with Base Racks_301,302,303 having the same communication components/ circuitry ) [col 6, L28-58; Figs. 4 & 5].
As per claim{s} 29, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board wherein the first switching fabric board further comprises a second forwarding circuit, the fourth connector is connected to the second forwarding circuit, and the second forwarding circuit is connected to the second switching chip based on the third signal cable (Chamdani: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates in one aspect wherein Base Rack_300 comprises Line Card #0…#15_202, BackPlane_203, Switch Card #0…#3_204 which is in communication / communicatively coupled to each other is also communicatively coupled with Base Racks_301,302,303 having the same communication components/ circuitry ) [col 6, L28-58; Figs. 4 & 5].
As per claim{s} 30, Chamdani discloses the switching fabric board wherein the first communication circuit is connected to the second communication circuit based on an optical fiber or a cable (Chamdani: e.g., It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that ‘fiber optic cables’ are preferred for Connectors 405 because they offer low signal attenuation, are less susceptible to noise, and are compact and highly flexible and therefore easier to install. Of course, Electrically conductive connectors 405 can also be employed {i.e., ‘copper cables’}) [col 7, L3-8; Fig. 5].
As per claim{s} 32, Chamdani discloses the method wherein after the sending the first data to the second communication circuit by using the first communication circuit, the method further comprises: sending the first data to the first switching chip by using the second communication; and forwarding the first data to a second connector of the first switching fabric board by using the first switching chip, wherein the second connector is configured to connect to a second service fabric board (Chamdani: e.g., Accordingly, FIG. 2 also illustrates how a packet introduced into a port of the first base rack 200 would be routed to a port on the second base rack 201. After ‘ingress’, for example through port 0 coupled to a line card #0 202, the packet passes through the backplane 203 to a Switch card 204. Switch card 204 sends the packet back through the backplane 203 and through line card #1 202 to another port, here port 15, that is dedicated to communicating with the second base rack 201. The packet then travels over Connector 205 and enters second base rack 201 at another port, here port 23. Lastly, the packet is sent from a third line card #0 202 in second base rack 201 to a second switch card 204 and finally to a fourth line card #1 202 from which it emerges through the appropriate port {i.e., Port 24 or 31]. It will be appreciated that a modern SAN 100 may comprise ‘hundreds to thousands of transmission lines’ {connectors}, and accordingly, to switch a packet between any two of these transmission lines requires ‘cascading together’ potentially ‘hundreds of base racks 200’ in the manner shown) [col 2, L23-43; Fig. 2].
As per claim{s} 33, Chamdani discloses the method wherein the sending, by using the first connector, the first data to the first communication circuit based on the first signal cable comprises: sending the first data to a first forwarding circuit of the first switching fabric board by using the first connector; and sending, by using the first forwarding circuit, the first data to the first communication circuit (Chamdani: e.g., Accordingly, FIG. 2 also illustrates how a packet introduced into a port of the first base rack 200 would be routed to a port on the second base rack 201. After ‘ingress’, for example through port 0 coupled to a line card #0 202, the packet passes through the backplane 203 to a Switch card 204. Switch card 204 sends the packet back through the backplane 203 and through line card #1 202 to another port, here port 15, that is dedicated to communicating with the second base rack 201. The packet then travels over Connector 205 and enters second base rack 201 at another port, here port 23. Lastly, the packet is sent from a third line card #0 202 in second base rack 201 to a second switch card 204 and finally to a fourth line card #1 202 from which it emerges through the appropriate port {i.e., Port 24 or 31]. It will be appreciated that a modern SAN 100 may comprise ‘hundreds to thousands of transmission lines’ {connectors}, and accordingly, to switch a packet between any two of these transmission lines requires ‘cascading together’ potentially ‘hundreds of base racks 200’ in the manner shown) [col 2, L23-43; Fig. 2].
based on the first signal cable (Chamdani: e.g., It will be appreciated by those skilled in the art that ‘fiber optic cables’ are preferred for Connectors 405 because they offer low signal attenuation, are less susceptible to noise, and are compact and highly flexible and therefore easier to install. Of course, Electrically conductive connectors 405 can also be employed {i.e., ‘copper cables’}) [col 7, L3-8; Fig. 5].
As per claim{s} 34, Chamdani discloses the method wherein the method further comprises:
receiving second data by using a second switching chip of the first switching fabric board; forwarding, by using the second switching chip, the second data to a third communication circuit of the first switching fabric board based on a second signal cable (Chamdani: e.g., FIG. 3 is a logical diagram illustrating a Base rack_300 of the present invention. The Base rack 300 includes ‘one or more Line cards’_202 in communication with ‘one or more Switch cards’_204 across a {shared / same} ‘Backplane’ 203, and one or more Service Processor Cards (SPC) 305 also in communication via backplane 203. Each Line card 202 includes one or more ports 310 for receiving and transmitting packets. Each port 310 is coupled in series first to a Gigabit Interface Converter (GBIC) 320, then to a PHY chip 330, and lastly to a Packet Processing ASIC (PP) 340. The PP 340 is further coupled to SRAM 342, to a Network Processor Unit (NPU) 344 coupled to a DRAM 346, and to the Backplane 203… Each Switch card 204 includes one or more Flow Control ASICs (FLC) 350 coupled to the Backplane 203) [col 3, L48-62; Fig. 3] and sending the second data to a fourth communication circuit by using the third communication circuit, wherein the fourth communication circuit is configured to send the second data to a third connector (e.g., using the component configuration of Switching Device_400, 500, for example) [col 6, L28-56; Figs. 4 & 5].
.
As per claim{s} 35, Chamdani discloses the method wherein the receiving the second data by using the second switching chip comprises: receiving, by using the second switching chip, the second data that is sent by a fourth connector of the first switching fabric board based on a third signal cable (Chamdani: e.g., FIG. 3 is a logical diagram illustrating a Base rack_300 of the present invention. The Base rack 300 includes ‘one or more Line cards’_202 in communication with ‘one or more Switch cards’_204 across a {shared / same} ‘Backplane’ 203, and one or more Service Processor Cards (SPC) 305 also in communication via backplane 203. Each Line card 202 includes one or more ports 310 for receiving and transmitting packets. Each port 310 is coupled in series first to a Gigabit Interface Converter (GBIC) 320, then to a PHY chip 330, and lastly to a Packet Processing ASIC (PP) 340. The PP 340 is further coupled to SRAM 342, to a Network Processor Unit (NPU) 344 coupled to a DRAM 346, and to the Backplane 203… Each Switch card 204 includes one or more Flow Control ASICs (FLC) 350 coupled to the Backplane 203) [col 3, L48-62; Fig. 3], wherein the fourth connector is configured to connect to a third service fabric board (e.g., using the component configuration of Switching Device_400, 500, for example) [col 6, L28-56; Figs. 4 & 5].
As per claim{s} 36, Chamdani discloses the method wherein the receiving, by using the second switching chip, the second data that is sent by the fourth connector based on the third signal cable comprises: receiving the second data sent by the fourth connector by using a third forwarding circuit; and receiving, by using the second switching chip, the second data that is sent by the third forwarding circuit based on the third signal cable (Chamdani: e.g., using the component configuration of Switching Device_400, 500, for example) [col 6, L28-56; Figs. 4 & 5].
Conclusion
/GLENFORD J MADAMBA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451