DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-6, 12, 16-18, and 20 objected to because of the following informalities: each of the claims includes at least one instance of the limitation “the bus”, correct all instances of “the bus” to ‘the single-wire serial bus’ to maintain consistent terminology throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the priority" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because claim is dependent up claim 1 there is no first instance of just ‘a priority’ in these claims, the previous limitations relating to priority are in reference to “a highest data sending priority.” The previous instance of “a priority” in any claims is in claim 5 which is not in the chain of dependence of claim 12.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the target device" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no first instance of ‘a target device’. Claims 17-18 also include instances of the limitation, and claim 19 is dependent on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ngo et al. (US Pub. 2020/0366248), hereinafter referred to as Ngo, in view of Kessler et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0124763), hereinafter referred to as Kessler.
Referring to claim 1, Ngo discloses a communications method for a target device in a communications system with a single-wire serial bus (Fig. 2, single-wire bus 36), comprising: accessing the single-wire serial bus in the communications system, wherein the communications system includes a plurality of devices (fig. 2, peer devices P1-N) connected via the bus, no master device is set in the communications system (the single-wire bus 36 to function based on a P2P bus architecture, as opposed to the conventional master-slave bus architecture, [0034]), and the plurality of devices is configured to obtain a use right of the bus by competition (a single-wire P2P bus contention and arbitration mechanism employed by the single-wire P2P bus apparatus 32 that allows the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) to contend for access to the single-wire bus 36, [0035]); determining whether the target device has a highest data sending priority among at least one first candidate device, wherein the at least one first candidate device includes all devices to send data in the communications system at a current moment (peer devices 34(1)-34(N) may assert a bus contention indication(s)…only one of the selected peer devices (also referred to as “bus winning peer device”) with a highest bus access priority can gain access to the single-wire bus, [0033]); and executing, based on a result of the determining, a sending mode or a silent mode of the target device, wherein in the sending mode, the target device sends target data to the bus within a first duration and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first duration ends (the first peer device 34(1) will become the bus-winning peer device due to the highest bus access priority, [0045]; bus winning peer device can start communicating one or more protocol telegrams 50 at time T.sub.X…After the bus winning peer device completes communicating the protocol telegrams 50, [0047-0048]), in the silent mode, the target device is in a data receiving state or an idle state within the first duration (all of the second peer devices 34(2)-34(N) are required to refrain from initiating telegram communication over the single-wire bus 36, [0045]).
While Ngo teaches durations of sending, the sending durations appear to be dictated by the number of protocol telegrams to be communicated and not a “preset duration”. Therefore, Ngo does not appear to explicitly disclose the sending within a first preset duration and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first preset duration ends. As well, while Ngo teaches peer-to-peer communication of telegrams, Ngo is silent regarding the architecture of the telegram and therefore does not appear to explicitly disclose the telegram “specifies a receiving device”.
However, in a similar endeavor of peer communication, Kessler discloses sending within a first preset duration and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first preset duration ends (each slave device transmits data in a designated time slot, [0221]), and specifying a receiving device (node addressing mode (NAM) field…normal (i.e., unicast to a specific slave device specified in the NODE address field), [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ngo and Kessler before him or her, to modify the peer communication system of Ngo to include the time slots and addressing of Kessler in order to coordinate communication between devices.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to coordinate communication among slave devices (Kessler: [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ngo and Kessler to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
As to claim 2, Ngo discloses the executing of the sending mode or the silent mode of the target device includes: determining that the result of the determining is that the target device has the highest data sending priority; and executing the sending mode (the first peer device 34(1) will become the bus-winning peer device due to the highest bus access priority, [0045]; bus winning peer device can start communicating one or more protocol telegrams 50 at time T.sub.X, [0047]).
As to claim 3, Ngo discloses the executing of the sending mode or the silent mode of the target device includes: determining that the result of the determining is that the target device does not have the highest data sending priority; and executing the silent mode (all of the second peer devices 34(2)-34(N) are required to refrain from initiating telegram communication over the single-wire bus 36, [0045]).
As to claim 4, Ngo discloses wherein in the sending mode, the target device sends an end code (fig. 1B, Bus Park) to the bus at a target moment (fig. 1B, after frame check sequence), to instruct at least one second candidate device in the communications system to each determine whether the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one second candidate device, wherein the at least one second candidate device includes all devices to send data in the communications system at the target moment (After the bus winning peer device completes communicating the protocol telegrams 50, the single-wire bus 36 returns to the fast-charge state and the idle state. In this regard, any of the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) may start asserting the bus contention indication again, [0048]).
While the communication architecture of Ngo includes an end of the command , “ target moment is an end moment”, the end moment of the sending durations of Ngo appear to be dictated by the number of protocol telegrams to be communicated and not a “first preset duration.” Therefore, Ngo does not appear to explicitly disclose and end moment of the first preset duration or earlier.
However, in a similar endeavor of peer communication, Kessler discloses and end moment of a first present duration (each slave device transmits data in a designated time slot, [0221]).
The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
As to claim 5, Ngo discloses each device in the communications system corresponds to a feature code, and the feature code represents a priority of the device (the peer devices 34(1)-34(M) are assigned a number of bus access priorities P.sub.1-P.sub.N, [0032]); and the determining whether the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one first candidate device includes: broadcasting the feature code of the target device to the bus, wherein when the target device broadcasts the feature code of the target device, another device of the at least one first candidate device synchronously broadcasts its feature code (the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) are configured to broadcast a number of bus request telegrams 42(1)-42(N), respectively, in a sequential order determined by the bus access priorities P.sub.1-P.sub.N. In, [0042]), after completion of broadcasting the feature code of the target device, receiving a next bit signal transmitted via the bus (fig. 3B, closing SOS 52, [0050]), and determining, based on the next bit signal, whether the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one first candidate device (Each of the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) may be configured to monitor and/or decode all of the bus request telegrams 42(1)-42(N) to help determine whether any peer device 34(1)-34(N) with a higher bus access priority has requested access the single-wire bus 36, [0045]).
As to claim 13, Ngo discloses a priority corresponding to each device in the communications system is a preset fixed priority, and different devices correspond to different priorities (peer devices 34(1)-34(M) are assigned a number of bus access priorities P.sub.1-P.sub.N, respectively, with P.sub.1 being the highest bus access priority and P.sub.N being the lowest bus access priority (P.sub.1>P.sub.2>P.sub.3> . . . >P.sub.N), [0032]).
Referring to claim 16, Ngo discloses a device for accessing a communications system with a single-wire serial bus (Fig. 2, single-wire bus 36), the device to: access the single-wire serial bus in the communications system, wherein the communications system includes a plurality of devices (fig. 2, peer devices P1-N) connected via the bus, no master device is set in the communications system (the single-wire bus 36 to function based on a P2P bus architecture, as opposed to the conventional master-slave bus architecture, [0034]), and the plurality of devices is configured to obtain a use right of the bus by competition (a single-wire P2P bus contention and arbitration mechanism employed by the single-wire P2P bus apparatus 32 that allows the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) to contend for access to the single-wire bus 36, [0035]), determine whether the target device has a highest data sending priority among at least one first candidate device, wherein the at least one first candidate device includes all devices to send data in the communications system at a current moment (peer devices 34(1)-34(N) may assert a bus contention indication(s)…only one of the selected peer devices (also referred to as “bus winning peer device”) with a highest bus access priority can gain access to the single-wire bus, [0033]), and execute, based on a result of the determining, a sending mode or a silent mode of the target device, wherein in the sending mode, the target device sends target data to the bus within a first duration, and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first duration ends (the first peer device 34(1) will become the bus-winning peer device due to the highest bus access priority, [0045]; bus winning peer device can start communicating one or more protocol telegrams 50 at time T.sub.X…After the bus winning peer device completes communicating the protocol telegrams 50, [0047-0048]), and in the silent mode, the target device is in a data receiving state or an idle state within the first duration (all of the second peer devices 34(2)-34(N) are required to refrain from initiating telegram communication over the single-wire bus 36, [0045]).
Ngo discloses a mobile device embodiment, but is silent regarding the specific architecture of a processor, instruction storage, and processor execution of instruction; therefore, Ngo does not appear to explicitly disclose at least one storage medium, storing at least one set of instructions and configured to communicate with another device; and at least one processor communicatively connected to the at least one storage medium, wherein during operation, the at least one processor executes the at least one set of instructions. Additionally, while Ngo teaches durations of sending, the sending durations appear to be dictated by the number of protocol telegrams to be communicated and not a “preset duration”. Therefore, Ngo does not appear to explicitly disclose the sending within a first preset duration and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first preset duration ends. As well, while Ngo teaches peer-to-peer communication of telegrams, Ngo is silent regarding the architecture of the telegram and therefore does not appear to explicitly disclose the telegram “specifies a receiving device”.
However, in a similar endeavor of peer communication, Kessler discloses sending within a first preset duration and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first preset duration ends (each slave device transmits data in a designated time slot, [0221]), and specifying a receiving device (node addressing mode (NAM) field…normal (i.e., unicast to a specific slave device specified in the NODE address field), [0202]). As well, Kessler discloses a processor, instruction storage, and processor execution of instruction embodiment, see [0290].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ngo and Kessler before him or her, to modify the peer communication system of Ngo to include the time slots and addressing of Kessler in order to coordinate communication between devices.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to coordinate communication among slave devices (Kessler: [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ngo and Kessler to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
As to claim 17, Ngo discloses wherein in the sending mode, the target device sends an end code (fig. 1B, Bus Park) to the bus at a target moment (fig. 1B, after frame check sequence), to instruct at least one second candidate device in the communications system to each determine whether the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one second candidate device, wherein the at least one second candidate device includes all devices to send data in the communications system at the target moment (After the bus winning peer device completes communicating the protocol telegrams 50, the single-wire bus 36 returns to the fast-charge state and the idle state. In this regard, any of the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) may start asserting the bus contention indication again, [0048]).
While the communication architecture of Ngo includes an end of the command , “ target moment is an end moment”, the end moment of the sending durations of Ngo appear to be dictated by the number of protocol telegrams to be communicated and not a “first preset duration.” Therefore, Ngo does not appear to explicitly disclose and end moment of the first preset duration or earlier.
However, in a similar endeavor of peer communication, Kessler discloses and end moment of a first present duration (each slave device transmits data in a designated time slot, [0221]).
The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
As to claim 18, Ngo discloses each device in the communications system corresponds to a feature code, and the feature code represents a priority of the device (the peer devices 34(1)-34(M) are assigned a number of bus access priorities P.sub.1-P.sub.N, [0032]); and the determining whether the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one first candidate device includes: broadcasting the feature code of the target device to the bus, wherein when the target device broadcasts the feature code of the target device, another device of the at least one first candidate device synchronously broadcasts its feature code (the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) are configured to broadcast a number of bus request telegrams 42(1)-42(N), respectively, in a sequential order determined by the bus access priorities P.sub.1-P.sub.N. In, [0042]), after completion of broadcasting the feature code of the target device, receiving a next bit signal transmitted via the bus (fig. 3B, closing SOS 52, [0050]), and determining, based on the next bit signal, whether the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one first candidate device (Each of the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) may be configured to monitor and/or decode all of the bus request telegrams 42(1)-42(N) to help determine whether any peer device 34(1)-34(N) with a higher bus access priority has requested access the single-wire bus 36, [0045]).
Referring to claim 20, Ngo discloses a communications system, comprising: a single-wire serial bus (Fig. 2, single-wire bus 36), and a plurality of devices (fig. 2, peer devices P1-N) connected to the bus, wherein no master device is set in the communications system (the single-wire bus 36 to function based on a P2P bus architecture, as opposed to the conventional master-slave bus architecture, [0034]), and the plurality of devices obtain a use right of the bus by competition (a single-wire P2P bus contention and arbitration mechanism employed by the single-wire P2P bus apparatus 32 that allows the peer devices 34(1)-34(N) to contend for access to the single-wire bus 36, [0035]), and when the communications system is in operation, a target device of the plurality of devices executes the following steps: accessing the single-wire serial bus in the communications system, wherein the communications system includes a plurality of devices connected via the bus, no master device is set in the communications system, and the plurality of devices is configured to obtain a use right of the bus by competition; determining whether the target device has a highest data sending priority among at least one first candidate device, wherein the at least one first candidate device includes all devices to send data in the communications system at a current moment (peer devices 34(1)-34(N) may assert a bus contention indication(s)…only one of the selected peer devices (also referred to as “bus winning peer device”) with a highest bus access priority can gain access to the single-wire bus, [0033]); and executing, based on a result of the determining, a sending mode or a silent mode of the target device, wherein in the sending mode, the target device sends target data to the bus within a first duration, and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first duration ends (the first peer device 34(1) will become the bus-winning peer device due to the highest bus access priority, [0045]; bus winning peer device can start communicating one or more protocol telegrams 50 at time T.sub.X…After the bus winning peer device completes communicating the protocol telegrams 50, [0047-0048]), and in the silent mode, the target device is in a data receiving state or an idle state within the first duration (all of the second peer devices 34(2)-34(N) are required to refrain from initiating telegram communication over the single-wire bus 36, [0045]).
While Ngo teaches durations of sending, the sending durations appear to be dictated by the number of protocol telegrams to be communicated and not a “preset duration”. Therefore, Ngo does not appear to explicitly disclose the sending within a first preset duration and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first preset duration ends. As well, while Ngo teaches peer-to-peer communication of telegrams, Ngo is silent regarding the architecture of the telegram and therefore does not appear to explicitly disclose the telegram “specifies a receiving device”.
However, in a similar endeavor of peer communication, Kessler discloses sending within a first preset duration and stops sending the target data to the bus when the first preset duration ends (each slave device transmits data in a designated time slot, [0221]), and specifying a receiving device (node addressing mode (NAM) field…normal (i.e., unicast to a specific slave device specified in the NODE address field), [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ngo and Kessler before him or her, to modify the peer communication system of Ngo to include the time slots and addressing of Kessler in order to coordinate communication between devices.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to coordinate communication among slave devices (Kessler: [0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ngo and Kessler to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ngo in view of Kessler, as applied to claims 1-5, 13, 16-18, and 20 above, further in in view of Rinne et al. (US Pub. 2012/0163429), hereinafter referred to as Rinne.
As to claim 6, Ngo discloses the bus is at a first level in an idle state (fig. 3A-B, IDLE).
While Ngo discloses the feature code in teaching the priorities, Ngo is silent regarding the specific embodiment and therefore does not appear to explicitly disclose at least one second level that is consecutive in time, and a quantity of bits at the second level is positively correlated with the priority.
However, in a similar endeavor of priority communication, Rinne teaches slaves winning arbitration based on the value of the slave address and the slave address is a quantity of bits (DSS device address (decimal 127=binary 1111111), [0066]) and priority going to the slave with the lowest address (see [0074-0075]), which in combination with Ngo teaches at least one second level that is consecutive in time, and a quantity of bits at the second level is positively correlated with the priority.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ngo, Kessler, and Rinne before him or her, to substitute the priority identification anticipated by Ngo with the device address scheme of Rinne because Ngo contained arbitration scheme which differed from the claimed invention by the substitution of an explicit use of priority correlated bits, Rinne demonstrates the use of address bits being correlated to priority to win an arbitration scheme was known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substitute one priority determination information for another and the result would have been a predictable bus arbitration scheme.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2143.I.B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ngo, Kessler, and Rinne to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
As to claim 7, while Ngo teaches the use of a feature code, Ngo alone does not appear to explicitly disclose the exact embodiment of the feature code further includes a start code, and the start code is located before the at least one second level; and feature codes corresponding to different devices include a same start code. However, Ngo depicts a command structure that “includes a start code and the start code is located before the at least one second level” (fig. 1B, SOS 24 located before the slave address); and as demonstrated in the rejections above, Rinne teaches a priority feature code corresponding to the device address. Therefore the combination would result in the SOS and arbitration slave address conforming to the claimed feature code format, and the teaching Ngo that each device has a corresponding priority would in combination with Rinne teach “feature codes corresponding to different devices include a same start code.” The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious remains as indicated above.
As to claim 8, the combination of Ngo, Kessler, and Rinne discloses determining, based on the next bit signal, whether the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one first candidate device includes: determining that the next bit signal is at the first level; and determining that the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one first candidate device (Rinne: consider a system consisting of 3 DSS slaves with addresses 10, 99, and 125… the lowest address will win arbitration …the sequence then is DSS slave #10 will win arbitration…DSS slave #99 will win arbitration over #125…the last slave device DSS slave #125 will win arbitration in cycle #127 ; [0074-0079]). The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious remains as indicated above.
As to claim 9, the combination of Ngo, Kessler, and Rinne discloses wherein the determining, according to the next bit signal, whether the target device has the highest data sending priority among the at least one first candidate device includes: determining that the next bit signal is at the second level; and determining that the target device does not have the highest data sending priority among the at least one first candidate device (Rinne: consider a system consisting of 3 DSS slaves with addresses 10, 99, and 125… the lowest address will win arbitration …the sequence then is DSS slave #10 will win arbitration…DSS slave #99 will win arbitration over #125…the last slave device DSS slave #125 will win arbitration in cycle #127 ; [0074-0079]). The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious remains as indicated above.
As to claim 10, the combination of Ngo, Kessler, and Rinne discloses the first level is a high level and the second level is a low level (NOTE: Rinne teaches binary bit addresses, 1 the high level, and 0 being the low level; the first and second level are arbitrary as long as the information is conveyed and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that assigning the first and second level as claimed or inverted would have been an obvious alternative embodiments ).
As to claim 11, the combination of Ngo, Kessler, and Rinne discloses the first level is a low level and the second level is a high level (NOTE: Rinne teaches binary bit addresses, 1 the high level, and 0 being the low level; the first and second level are arbitrary as long as the information is conveyed and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that assigning the first and second level as claimed or inverted would have been an obvious alternative embodiments ).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ngo in view of Kessler, as applied to claims 1-5, 13, 16-18, and 20 above, further in in view of Koike et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0196998), hereinafter referred to as Koike.
As to claim 12, the combination of Ngo in view of Kessler does not appear to explicitly disclose adjusting the priority if the target device does not obtain the use right of the bus within a second preset duration, wherein an adjusted priority is higher than the priority before the adjustment, and the second preset duration is greater than the first preset duration.
However, Koike discloses adjusting the priority if the target device does not obtain the use right of the bus within a second preset duration, wherein an adjusted priority is higher than the priority before the adjustment (When the number of times (number of defeat times) the request packet 41_1 of the bus master 11_1 is rejected exceeds the predetermined threshold value…the adding circuit 77 adds a predetermined value to the priority (Mst.priority) of the request packet 41_1 to adjust the priority, and outputs the adjusted priority (Mod.priority) to the arbitration circuit, [0065]), and the second preset duration is greater than the first preset duration (the priority adjustment circuit 73 shown in FIG. 4 is initialized (step S1). At this time, the count value (i.e., the number of defeat times) of the counter 78 is set to “0.”…the threshold value supplied from the table 75 is “7” and the number of defeat times is “0,” which does not satisfy “threshold value<number of defeat times”; [0071-0073]).
Ngo, Kessler, and Koike are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor, bus arbitration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ngo, Kessler, and Koike before him or her, to modify the bus arbitration of Ngo to include the priority adjustment of Koike in order to avoid extensive latency in accessing the bus.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve latency of buss access (Koike: [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ngo, Kessler, and Koike to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
As to claim 14, the combination of Ngo, Kessler, and Koike discloses a priority corresponding to each device in the communications system is related to data currently to be sent by the device (Koike: the priority of each request packet is set between “0” and “15.”, [0070]). The suggestion/motivation to combine remains as indicated above.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ngo in view of Kessler, as applied to claims 1-5, 13, 16-18, and 20 above, further in in view of Blum et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0215374), hereinafter referred to as Blum.
As to claim 15 and 19, while Ngo teaches the system relates to mobile device embodiments and Kessler teaches audio relate embodiments, the combination does not appear to explicitly disclose, the plurality of devices includes at least two of a headphone holder, a left headphone, and a right headphone.
However, Blum discloses the plurality of devices includes at least two of a headphone holder (docking station, [0018]), a left headphone, and a right headphone (fig. 13, left temple…speaker 229…right temple…speaker 239, [0123]).
Ngo, Kessler, and Blum are analogous art because they are from the same field endeavor, single wire device interconnects.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Ngo, Kessler, and Blum before him or her, to implement the mobile device of Ngo as the headphone embodiment of Blum because the headphone embodiment is representative of a mobile device and the prior art of Ngo, Kessler, and Blum demonstrate that the prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, which is the bus arbitration scheme applies functionally the same to a variety of mobile device system; one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would result in a predictable bus arbitration among headphone components connected to a bus.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (see MPEP2143.I.A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ngo, Kessler, and Blum to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The US Pub. No. 2004/0233917 of Rocas et al. is pertinent to single-wire interfacing and communication between peer devices.
The examiner has cited particular column, line, and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in its entirety as potentially teaching of all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
Applicants seeking an interview with the examiner, including WebEx Video Conferencing, are encouraged to fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form (http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html). See MPEP §502.03, §713.01(11) and Interview Practice for additional details.
Contact Information
/ERIC T OBERLY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2184